Get $150 Scholarship!

UNIVERSITY AT BUFFALO - [UB], BUFFALO, NEW YORK - REVIEWS

Buffalo, New YorkLOCATION
UniversitySCHOOL TYPE
Estd 1846Established Year
  30648Enrollment

College rating

based on 10 students ratings

7.8/10

8.4/10academic
8.1/10infrastructure
7.3/10placements
7.5/10faculty
8.4/10extracurricular
7.3/10accommodation

Reviews

FILTER BY
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL

POPULAR TAGS

faculty
course curriculum
exam structure
school
semester
multiple choice
professor
career
department
interest
knowledge
program
review
science
scholarship
V
Vikrant sidhu, INDIA Mba
University at Buffalo
Alumna/alumnus , Batch : 2017
9.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

MBA AT THE UNIVERSITY AT BUFFALO

During my pre-final year in Engineering, I had decided to move to the States for my masters. It was around this time that I started looking for universities with a decent acceptance rate and relatively better diversity. UaB is the oldest established university in New York hence there was a lot of information I could get my hands onto. The admission process was a bit complicated and I have to start early as the acceptance rate is around 60%.


Course Curriculum - 

The course was really fast-paced.

9 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
10 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
10 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
23, Sep 2020 read more
E
Ellie klein, AMERICA
University at Buffalo
Current student , Batch : 2020
8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

UNIVERSITY AT BUFFALO- STUDENT REVIEW

I chose this college because it's a SUNY school and I pay in-state tuition fees. This is one of the best SUNY schools for scientific research and one of the best public schools in NYS. When applying to college, I originally applied to 12 different schools and I got into about 9 of them. In high school, I took all AP courses and was a part of the national honors society.


Course Curriculum - 

I think that at UB, the mandated course curriculum is unnecessary and a waste of my time. At UB we are required to take a seminar when we enter the school that introduces us to college. During our years here we have two pathways that we need to take 6 courses to complete them. The global and thematic pathways each have different fields of study that they need to satisfy for example arts or diversity courses. Once you complete both of your pathways you have to complete the capstone. The capstone course summarizes all of your mandated courses at UB. We need to provide artifacts for each course and write about them and how they impacted our lives.

8 /10
academic
6 /10
faculty
9 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
9 /10
extracurricular
08, Oct 2019 read more
D
Devakie k dave, INDIA Biological sciences
University at Buffalo
Recently passed out , Batch : 2019
6.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

IS US EDUCATION WORTH THE COST

The scholarship was given to me 50%. Also, the cost of living in Buffalo is cheap. I applied when I was in 11 th grade. They required grades of high school and statement of purpose however SAT and ACT are not a compulsion. Admissions are not that competitive. They also accept transfer admissions. You have to submit LORs too


Course Curriculum - 

It was very rigorous however professors were not good. I was always stressed in my time here.

7 /10
academic
6 /10
faculty
7 /10
infrastructure
6 /10
accomodation/food
5 /10
placement
7 /10
extracurricular
02, Oct 2019 read more
avatar image
Alisa franasiak, UNITED STATES Business administration
University at Buffalo
Current student , Batch : 2023
8.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

UNIVERSITY AT BUFFALO - HORNS UP

University at Buffalo is one of the major colleges around where I was born and raised. I grew up going to basketball and football games. It was only natural that when the time to look for colleges came about, The University at Buffalo was on my list to check out. Once I researched it further, I found that UB had an amazing business program and it had tuition I could afford all while staying local. Not to mention UB social life and 600+ clubs, I felt as though it was the perfect fit for me.


Course Curriculum - 

In my opinion, the curriculum is very well rounded and I feel as though the required courses make us knowledgeable in our field and they are very hands-on and career-oriented.

8 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
7 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
9 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
22, Aug 2019 read more
B
Bridget cross, UNITED STATES Geology
University at Buffalo
Current student , Batch : 2020
7.7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

UNIVERSITY AT BUFFALO REVIEW

The campus and community felt like home. And the school is well known for its academics. The professors and advisors are knowledgeable and helpful. It was easy to make friends and experience different cultures.


Course Curriculum - 

The course curriculum is interesting. The professors make the material interesting and easy to learn and understand. The material is challenging but not overwhelming. No matter what portion of geology you are interested in there are courses available.

10 /10
academic
10 /10
faculty
6 /10
infrastructure
7 /10
accomodation/food
6 /10
placement
7 /10
extracurricular
23, Apr 2019 read more
J
Julia shapiro, UNITED STATES Mathematics
University at Buffalo
Current student , Batch : 2022
10
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

MY EXPERIENCE IN COLLEGE

This college is affordable and has a great math program. I enjoy their classes, they are challenging and require problem-solving. I love a good problem-solving class. Every time I go to class I am required to think outside of the box.


Course Curriculum - 

I love their courses? curriculum, it challenges me and also brings me out of my comfort zone. I have learned more problem solving skills than I had before and I have been exposed to new ideas. The curriculum has opened me up to different classes such as diversity courses.

10 /10
academic
10 /10
faculty
10 /10
infrastructure
10 /10
accomodation/food
10 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
28, Mar 2019 read more
N
Nikhil lala, INDIA Computer science
University at Buffalo
Current student , Batch : 2020
6.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

LIFE AS A UB CSE GRADUATE

Ranking and low tuition. Also, the location seemed better. I have an interest in AI, and this college has a very good course work for it. The UB alums group is huge and holds a lot of value if you are a UB Graduate.


Course Curriculum - 

It's very hectic. I have to take 4 courses each semester. It's a lot of work and I can't get time for anything else. It's very tough managing these courses. You have to be on your game. There are at least 4 submissions a month.

7 /10
academic
5 /10
faculty
10 /10
infrastructure
6 /10
accomodation/food
3 /10
placement
8 /10
extracurricular
25, Mar 2019 read more
R
Rebecca, ERIE Biomedical sciences
University at Buffalo
Alumna/alumnus , Batch : 2017
9.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

FANTASTIC COLLEGE FOR THE COST

Price and location. I got into everywhere I applied but University at Buffalo gave me close to a full ride and I wanted to stay local. I know Ub is a good school and couldn't afford to be in debt for undergrad.


Course Curriculum - 

Very good. The gear you towards medical school and have electives that helped me be prepared. I was far more prepared for med school than my peers coming from other colleges. The electives are a medical school focused.

10 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
10 /10
infrastructure
10 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
09, Mar 2019 read more
Y
Yuhan sun, CHINA Dds
University at Buffalo
Current student , Batch : 2020
4.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

UB REVIEW

The price was the best deal that I got so I chose to save some money by going to UB. Also, it was closer to home so I could live at home and commute to school. It really saved me money in the long run so I wouldn't be in debt.


Course Curriculum - 

The course curriculum is fair but I don't think it?s challenging enough. And to be honest, some of the curriculum I believe is irrelevant to today's application. There are ways the school can better streamline things.

5 /10
academic
4 /10
faculty
3 /10
infrastructure
3 /10
accomodation/food
6 /10
placement
4 /10
extracurricular
09, Mar 2019 read more
M
Matias homar, UNITED STATES Phd in music composition
University at Buffalo, School of Engineering and Applied Sciences
Current student , Batch : 2022
8.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

LIFE AT SUNY UB AS GRAD

I think the program is exceptional, full of opportunities to grow professionally. There are many options to pursue research with other departments. In terms of music is the only university in the US with musicians dedicated to contemporary music.


Course Curriculum - 

It fulfill my expectations. It covers a wide range of topics that I consider fundamental to become a better professional and be more knowledgeable in the field of music as composer, theorist and teacher.

10 /10
academic
10 /10
faculty
9 /10
infrastructure
7 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
9 /10
extracurricular
07, Mar 2019 read more
Apply Now DOWNLOAD BROCHURE  
INTERESTED IN THIS COLLEGE ?
Get free counselling

Follow & Share this college to get information about admission

COLLEGES IN NEW YORK, USA
NEAREST RANKED COLLEGES