UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA - [UCSB], SANTA BARBARA, CALIFORNIA - REVIEWS

Santa Barbara, CaliforniaLOCATION
UniversitySCHOOL TYPE
Estd 1891Established Year
  23983Enrollment

College rating

based on 5 students ratings

7.3/10

8.7/10academic
6.8/10infrastructure
5.7/10placements
8.2/10faculty
8.3/10extracurricular
6.3/10accommodation

Reviews

avatar image
Juan arias, USA Economics and accounting
University of California
Current student , Batch : 2022
6.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA'S: GREAT EXPERIENCE

It was a good fit considering my major, career path, and overall personality. The economics program is one of the best out of the UCs, plus it was the best Econ program I got into. Since I want to work on Wall Street, I thought networking at UC was a vital part of my education. My personality is not only academic but outgoing so when I visited and saw that the atmosphere fit my personality perfectly, I knew it was going to be a good fit.


Course Curriculum - 

I think the quarter system here is very challenging and fast paced, but there's lots of resources that you can use to excel academically. Plus most of the programs here are ranked very highly, in comparison to other schools, making sure students retain the knowledge when they graduate.

8 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
5 /10
infrastructure
4 /10
accomodation/food
7 /10
placement
7 /10
extracurricular
07, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Morgan w, USA Economics
University of California
Current student , Batch : 2020
5.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

THE CAMPUS IS VERY PRETTY AND PROFESSORS ARE VERY INTELLIGENT AND WELL-RESPECTED, ESPECIALLY IN THE ECONOMICS AND TMP PROGRAMS.

They offered the best financial aid package. Also, the beachside location of Isla Vista, the college town adjacent to the school, was very appealing. Academics were also important when choosing school.


Course Curriculum - 

The curriculum isn?t too difficult, but they grade on a top 6% get an A scale, which means even if you get an A in the course, you might get a B or lower on your transcript it's a bad grading standard in that employers won?t know whether or not you actually understand the material.

8 /10
academic
10 /10
faculty
4 /10
infrastructure
3 /10
accomodation/food
7 /10
placement
3 /10
extracurricular
07, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Kiara, USA Undergraduate
University of California
Current student , Batch : 2021
7.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

UCSB REALITY

The financial aid, the location, and the reputation of the school. I didn't expect to be admitted into UCSB but after I did, I jumped at the chance to attend because they also gave me pretty decent financial aid. I also liked the college and the fact that it had the majors I wanted to study (English and Chicano Studies).


Course Curriculum - 

I like it. The courses offered are good and they could be expanded in terms of intersectionality and being a little more with the times. The Chicano studies classes that I take are much more recent meanwhile the focus for English is rather bland and boring.

8 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
7 /10
infrastructure
5 /10
accomodation/food
6 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
15, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Julie hostetter, USA Bs chemistry
University of California
Current student , Batch : 2020
6.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

UC SANTA BARBARA REVIEW

UCSB has a great reputation and a diverse student body. Its campus is located right on the beach and students are friendly and fun. There is a good party scene as well as great academics and there is always something to do around campus.


Course Curriculum - 

The curriculum is challenging. There is definitely no such thing as an easy A at this school. In my major especially, it's hard to even pass classes and I have had to retake a few classes. However, if you are disciplined and work hard you should be able to graduate.

8 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
6 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
2 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
26, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Jose meraz, USA Spanish
University of California
Alumna/alumnus , Batch : 2014
9
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

GAUCHOS FOR LIFE

Well, there are many reasons I chose this college and that is because I wanted to get out of the city and explore a different environment and also because they had a good minor in education which is the field I am working on right now.


Course Curriculum - 

My opinion on the class curriculum is that it was pretty easy for me to get the classes I needed because I already had some units when entering UC Santa Barbara. Lasses were not full and I was able to interact with my professors during office hours a lot.

10 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
10 /10
infrastructure
10 /10
accomodation/food
5 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
28, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Jose luis, USA Global studies
University of California
Alumna/alumnus , Batch : 2014
8.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

REVIEW

One of the reasons I chose UC Santa Barbara as a college to go to is because of its close proximity to the ocean and because I wanted to experience the social life on campus which I heard was pretty good at UC Santa Barbara. My experience was amazing because there were tons of things to do like go out for dinner, party on the weekend or going to town for great food. Also, I chose UCSB as my college because before I came here I visited the campus just once and fell in love with the scenery.


Course Curriculum - 

UC Santa Barbara offers many great programs and classes for students that are great whether they are for your major or just recreation you get to enjoy each one of them since the professors are really down to earth and are willing to spend time with you. Some classes get full but that is why you have sections and get shorter classes with some really good TA's. I took Geography with Professor Sweeney and he has a lot of knowledge on the subject and he is also a pretty fun guy.

10 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
9 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
7 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
28, Mar 2019 read more
Apply Now DOWNLOAD BROCHURE  
INTERESTED IN THIS COLLEGE ?
Get free counselling

Follow & Share this college to get information about admission

COLLEGES IN CALIFORNIA, USA
NEAREST RANKED COLLEGES