M.B.A at American Public University [AMERICAN PUBLIC U], Charles Town Fees, Entry Requirement & Application Deadline

M.B.A from American Public University

Charles Town, West VirginiaLocation
UniversitySchool type
Estd1991established year
46420enrollment
Private

Master of Business Administration [M.B.A]

2 years
full time
On Campus

Field of Study

$13,650 /Yr

Study Abroad Team's profile photo

Study Abroad Team

Updated on - Aug 13, 2026

American Public University Master of Business Administration (MBA) is a 33-credit online graduate degree based in Charles Town, West Virginia, with no physical campus. Full-time students typically finish in about two years, while the university allows up to seven years to complete the master’s degree. Applicants need a bachelor’s degree or higher from a recognized institution, and the calculated 2026 total is US$16,795 (INR 16.02 Lakhs) for the September 2026 start.

The Council for Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA) framework identifies the institutional recognition used for this graduate admission route. It is the accreditation reference used by the university when reviewing master’s applications. The curriculum combines artificial intelligence practices, managerial economics, finance, marketing and strategic management with 19 concentration tracks and a final capstone. The structure suits Indian professionals who need asynchronous online study, but it does not suit anyone seeking a U.S. campus, student visa or post-study work route.

  • Monthly course starts let working applicants align the first class with a job or family schedule.
  • The MBA offers 19 concentration tracks, including analytics, finance, artificial intelligence in business and global supply chain management.
  • The online format removes a United States relocation requirement for international students who can study from their home country.

Current Admission Status

Applications for the September 2026 intake are Open. International student deadline: 04 September 2026.

The university lists the next course start as 07 September 2026 and offers monthly starts. Indian applicants should confirm the portal cutoff time because the page gives a date but no time zone.

American Public University MBA Fees and Living Costs 2026

The standard 2026 direct-cost estimate for the online MBA is US$16,795 (INR 16.02 Lakhs), before any eligible grant or transfer-credit reduction. It is calculated from 33 credits at US$470 per credit (INR 44,839), a US$935 technology fee (INR 89,200) and a US$350 graduation fee (INR 33,390).

Target-cycle fee context: The table uses the standard master’s rate and current fee components shown by the MBA estimator for the 2026-27 academic year. It excludes course materials, personal costs and discounts not confirmed for this applicant.

Fee componentAmount (USD)INR equivalent
Standard master’s tuition per creditUS$470INR 44,839
33-credit tuitionUS$15,510INR 14.80 Lakhs
Technology feeUS$935INR 89,200
Graduation feeUS$350INR 33,390
Application feeUS$0INR 0
Calculated direct-cost totalUS$16,795INR 16.02 Lakhs

All INR conversions in the article use a conversion rate of USD 1 = INR 95.4011 as of 13 August 2026. Rates fluctuate daily, verify before applying.

Source: American Public University online MBA tuition estimator and current fee policy.

Because the programme is online, the direct-cost figure is not an international campus tuition bill. Indian applicants do not need U.S. relocation or housing in West Virginia to enroll, which shifts the main funding question from migration cost to tuition and home-country study expenses.

  • Up to 15 transfer credits may be accepted, but the university reserves the decision, so request a written evaluation before lowering the direct-cost estimate.
  • The university provides ebooks at no cost, but course materials, supplies, equipment and software can still fall outside the estimate.
  • The standard total is before the Opportunity Grant and other eligibility-based discounts, so keep the undiscounted amount in your funding plan until the award is confirmed.

Cost of Living in Charles Town for MBA Students

The university’s 2026-27 Cost of Attendance uses off-campus housing and food plus personal expenses as an annual budgeting allowance, not a charge for this online MBA. It reports no standard transportation amount, and international students studying from India should replace the location-based allowance with their actual home-country budget.

ExpenseMonthly (USD)Monthly (INR)Annual (USD)Annual (INR)
Housing and foodUS$797.33INR 76,066US$9,568INR 9.13 Lakhs
Personal expensesUS$250.67INR 23,914US$3,008INR 2.87 Lakhs
Official living-cost subtotalUS$1,048.00INR 99,980US$12,576INR 12.00 Lakhs

The same 2026-27 page lists a graduate course-material allowance of US$250 per course (INR 23,850), while ebooks are provided at no cost for eligible graduate students. This allowance is an education cost, not part of the living-cost subtotal.

Calculated all-in budget: A two-year U.S.-location illustration adds the US$12,576 annual living allowance (INR 12.00 Lakhs) twice. It adds this amount to the US$16,795 direct-cost estimate (INR 16.02 Lakhs), producing US$41,947 (INR 40.02 Lakhs) before travel, insurance and home-country internet costs.

American Public University has no physical campus, so an Indian applicant should not treat the U.S.-location illustration as a relocation requirement. Use the actual monthly cost of studying from your residence country instead.

Read More: USA cost of living planning for students

Online budget note

American Public University’s housing and food allowance is a federal-aid budgeting figure rather than a charge for this online MBA. Keep the direct tuition reserve separate and replace the location-based estimate with your own rent, food, internet and workspace costs.

Key insight: The standard MBA direct-cost calculation is US$16,795 (INR 16.02 Lakhs), while the online mode avoids mandatory U.S. relocation. Use the direct-cost figure as the loan baseline, then add only the living expenses you will actually incur.

American Public University MBA Admission 2026

Admission requires a bachelor’s degree or higher from an institution whose accreditation is recognized by the Council for Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA). Prior work experience, a business bachelor’s degree, the Graduate Management Admission Test (GMAT) and the Graduate Record Examinations (GRE) are not required for this MBA. These tests therefore do not form part of the standard MBA selection file.

Indian applicants with a non-U.S. degree must submit an official degree-only verification report directly from an educational agency to the university. The report must verify that the qualification is equivalent to a U.S. bachelor’s degree from an institutionally accredited institution.

Academic Eligibility for American Public University MBA

The academic file is based on degree equivalency rather than a published percentage cutoff. The current graduate requirements page also asks for a legible color copy of a valid government-issued photo ID.

RequirementPublished ruleIndian applicant action
Bachelor’s degreeBachelor’s degree or higher requiredSubmit the degree certificate and complete transcript
Institutional recognitionAccreditation must be recognized by CHEACheck that the awarding institution is officially recognized
Non-U.S. qualificationOfficial degree-only verification report requiredAsk the educational agency to send the report directly to the university
Business backgroundUndergraduate business study is not requiredUse a different bachelor’s discipline if the degree is equivalent
MBA-specific GPAThe current MBA pages do not publish a minimum GPASubmit the full transcript rather than inventing a converted cutoff
Entrance testsGMAT and GRE are not requiredDo not arrange either test for the standard MBA application
Identity documentLegible color copy of a valid government-issued photo IDPrepare a clear passport or other accepted identity document

The university does not publish a minimum GPA for this MBA, so Indian applicants should not convert a percentage into a target score. The decisive risk is document equivalency because a degree-only report must verify a U.S.-equivalent bachelor’s degree before registration can proceed.

The 33-credit curriculum starts with BUSN604 Fundamentals of Business Analysis unless a business bachelor’s degree carries one of the listed business accreditations. In that case, the university may substitute one master’s elective, so request the exemption in writing before course planning.

Accreditation by the Accreditation Council for Business Schools and Programs (ACBSP) is a programme feature rather than an admissions shortcut. It signals that the MBA has a business-specific accreditation framework, while the applicant’s own bachelor’s equivalency remains a separate review.

English Language Proficiency for American Public University MBA

English-language proficiency is required when the admissions team determines it is necessary, and the university publishes graduate minimum components for IELTS Academic, TOEFL and Duolingo.

IELTS means International English Language Testing System. Indian applicants should expect to submit a score unless they qualify for a listed exemption through a prior U.S. degree, U.S. English-composition course or another official exception.

English testGraduate minimum printed by the universityValidity or submission detail
IELTS AcademicReading 6.5 and Writing 6.5Test must be less than two years old
TOEFL Internet Based TestReading 24 and Writing 27Test must be less than two years old; overall score not stated
Duolingo English Test105Validity period is not stated
TOEFL Paper Based Test550 with TWE of 4.5Test must be less than two years old

TOEFL means Test of English as a Foreign Language. The current policy prints TOEFL Internet Based Test Reading 24 and Writing 27, with the result less than two years old. The university does not publish an overall score or the revised 1.0 to 6.0 scale.

TWE means Test of Written English. Do not self-convert the published TOEFL components after 21 January 2026; ask the admissions team which score report format it will accept for September 2026 registration.

  • Book IELTS or TOEFL early enough to retest while the result remains valid for registration.
  • Use the Duolingo route only after confirming that the current approved vendor list still accepts it for your file.
  • Send an official TOEFL score report with university code 5315 when using that test.

Eligibility reality

No public GPA, GMAT or GRE cutoff makes the file more flexible, but degree verification and component-level English evidence remain hard gates. Ask the admissions team to confirm a three-year Indian degree and any exemption before paying for an evaluation or registering.

Tip for Indian students: The strongest file pairs a complete Indian bachelor’s record with direct degree verification and the exact English components printed by the university. Confirm unusual degree structures and TOEFL reporting format before the 04 September 2026 registration deadline.

American Public University MBA Application 2026

September 2026 is the next applicant-accessible intake, with classes starting 07 September 2026 and registration due by 04 September 2026. The MBA accepts applications on a rolling basis, and online classes start monthly, so applicants can choose later monthly sessions when the current date is not workable.

American Public University does not publish a fixed decision date or a time-zone cutoff for the register-by date. Indian applicants should submit all documents by 04 September 2026 and confirm the portal’s displayed cutoff with admissions.

Forward-looking intake context: The table lists the next published start and the continuing monthly intake pattern. Individual dates for later months are not shown on the current MBA page, so they should be confirmed before registration.

IntakePublished application or registration dateDecision timingIndian applicant action
September 2026Register by 04 September 2026; classes start 07 September 2026Rolling review; fixed decision date not publishedComplete admission documents before registration
Monthly starts after September 2026Monthly starts are published; individual future dates are not shownRolling review; fixed decision date not publishedAsk admissions for the selected month’s register-by date

The September date is a registration cutoff rather than a conventional competitive round deadline. That distinction matters because a complete degree-verification file can still require follow-up after the online application is submitted.

Application Stages and Documents for Indian Applicants

The application is short, but international documents create the main preparation workload. The university says there is no application fee for master’s-level programs, and an admissions representative guides follow-up after submission.

TCE means Transfer Credit Evaluation. It is optional for graduate transfer credit, but non-U.S. transcripts used for admission need the official evaluation route described by the international admissions page.

  • Submit the online master’s application without an application fee and identify the MBA concentration you want to pursue.
  • Upload a legible color copy of a valid government-issued photo ID with the application documents.
  • Arrange the degree-only verification report when your bachelor’s degree was awarded outside the United States.
  • Send the required English score directly or by the submission route accepted for your admissions record.

The online MBA has no set login times, but weekly assignments and discussion forums still require reliable internet access. The format rewards applicants who can protect a weekly study block, because flexibility does not remove recurring assessment work.

Choose a concentration only after checking the course sequence and your professional objective. The final capstone requires an e-portfolio, so applicants seeking a career change should retain strong course projects as evidence of applied business work.

Read More: USA application timeline and document planning

Timing note

Rolling admission removes a fixed round schedule, but the next published date still controls September 2026 planning. Submit degree verification and English evidence before registration because acceptance does not erase the document gate.

Application tip: Use the monthly format to protect a realistic study schedule, then treat 04 September 2026 as the controlling registration date for the next start. Ask admissions to confirm any later monthly cutoff in writing before choosing that session.

American Public University MBA Scholarships 2026

American Public University does not publish an MBA-specific scholarship amount or target-cycle scholarship deadline. It lists automatic university grants and a Scholarship Universe portal, while many outside awards require separate eligibility and an award letter.

For an Indian applicant, the broadest current route is the Opportunity Grant of 10% off master’s-level tuition for prospective and current students. Other routes depend on military service, emergency-service work, prior study at the university or an employer partnership.

Current published funding context: These routes are listed on the current university funding pages, but no September 2026 award deadline is printed. Do not subtract a grant from the direct-cost estimate until the university confirms eligibility.

Named funding routePublished benefitEligible profileApplication route and timing
Opportunity Grant10% off undergraduate or master’s-level tuitionProspective and current studentsApplied automatically; no fixed target-cycle deadline printed
Everyday Heroes Grant20% tuition grantEmergency services professionals and eligible parents, spouses, legal partners, siblings or dependentsConfirm eligibility with admissions before registration
Veteran Grant15% grant on master’s-level tuitionVeterans and eligible parents, spouses, legal partners, siblings or dependentsProvide status evidence and confirm application timing
Alumni Grant20% tuition reduction; technology fee waived for the first two master’s coursesReturning students with a graduation application date on or after 01 February 2026Only for previous university students returning for a new program
Employer Partnership GrantUnique tuition grant based on the employer partnershipEmployees of participating employersSelect the employer in the application and ask admissions for the current terms

The Opportunity Grant is the only broad route among the named university grants, while the other grants depend on personal status or employer links. An Indian applicant should not count a conditional grant in the funding plan before eligibility is confirmed.

Scholarship Universe requires an ecampus login and matches merit-based, need-based, program-specific and emergency funding opportunities. The university says more than 100 organizations have provided scholarships to its students, but the current page assigns no standard amount or deadline to MBA applicants.

If an outside scholarship is used, the award letter and funds must reach the university before registration. The scholarship page says course registration should occur within 30 days after the university receives the funding, so award processing affects the start date.

  • Create a Scholarship Universe profile after receiving an ecampus login and complete every matching question.
  • Ask admissions to confirm whether the Opportunity Grant applies to your September 2026 MBA registration before lowering the tuition reserve.
  • Use the Everyday Heroes, Veteran or Alumni Grant only when your personal status matches the published condition.
  • Send every outside award letter to the university and select scholarship as the payment method during registration.

Check Out: USA scholarships and funding resources

Funding note

The current grant page gives percentages and conditions, not an MBA-specific award letter or September 2026 deadline. Treat the 10% Opportunity Grant as a possible reduction only after it appears in your student account.

Scholarship reality: The Opportunity Grant can reduce tuition for eligible prospective students, but the university lists no fixed target-cycle deadline. Apply early enough to confirm the grant before registering and keep the full standard estimate available.

American Public University MBA Salary 2026

American Public University publishes no course-specific MBA salary, offer rate or placement report in the current program and assessment pages. As a result, no salary figure below should be treated as a graduate outcome.

The closest official market evidence is from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS). BLS reports occupation-wide medians for May 2024, so these figures describe U.S. workers across employers and experience levels rather than this online MBA cohort.

Evidence scopeCohort or sourceMeasureAmount (USD)INR equivalentApplicant use
External job-market benchmarkManagement analysts, BLS May 2024Median annual wageUS$101,190INR 96.54 LakhsContext for strategy and consulting paths, not a starting salary
External job-market benchmarkProject management specialists, BLS May 2024Median annual wageUS$100,750INR 96.12 LakhsContext for project and operations paths, not a placement outcome
External job-market benchmarkFinancial and investment analysts, BLS May 2024Median annual wageUS$101,350INR 96.69 LakhsContext for finance paths, with experience variation
External job-market benchmarkMarket research analysts, BLS May 2024Median annual wageUS$76,950INR 73.41 LakhsContext for marketing and analytics paths, not an MBA result

Source: American Public University MBA assessment page and U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Outlook Handbook, May 2024 wage data.

American Public University’s assessment page reports program learning outcomes and a 70% proficiency or exemplary target for student artifacts. That is an academic assessment benchmark, not a placement rate, offer rate or salary measure.

For Return on Investment (ROI), the standard direct-cost calculation is US$16,795 (INR 16.02 Lakhs) before discounts. ROI compares the financial exposure with the career value you can realistically use from your location, because this online degree does not create a U.S. work authorization route.

  • The calculated direct cost is US$16,795 (INR 16.02 Lakhs), so model loan installments against current income before enrolling and add actual home-country expenses separately.
  • No course salary or placement rate is published, so use the BLS medians as occupation context only and obtain role-specific salary evidence before borrowing.
  • The online mode requires no relocation but provides no United States post-study work authorization, so do not borrow against United States salary medians without a separate legal work route.
  • Up to 15 transfer credits may be accepted, which could reduce time and tuition, but request a written credit decision before using that saving in your calculation.
  • The Opportunity Grant offers 10% off master’s-level tuition for eligible prospective or current students, but keep the full standard estimate until the discount is confirmed.

Take-home pay varies with gross wage, federal and state tax, benefits and work location. Use the IRS Tax Withholding Estimator before turning a gross median into a repayment plan.

For a U.S.-based plan, the course’s online structure removes the student-visa pathway needed to access U.S. employment. For an India-return plan, the financial case rests on the applicant’s target role and existing work context rather than these U.S. medians.

ROI evidence note

The university reports academic assessment evidence but not MBA employment outcomes. Use the direct-cost calculation and a verified job offer or India salary benchmark for repayment planning, not an occupation-wide median.

ROI reality: The MBA’s standard direct cost is measurable, but its graduate salary and placement evidence is not published. The rational decision depends on a concrete target role and legal work location, so secure that evidence before treating the degree as an investment.

USA Visa for American Public University MBA Students 2026

This online MBA does not create an F-1 or J-1 student-visa pathway. American Public University states that international students do not need to enter the United States and that it does not issue I-20 or DS-2019 forms for these visas.

The result is important for Indian applicants: there is no U.S. visa fee, Student and Exchange Visitor Information System (SEVIS) fee, health-surcharge requirement or visa-maintenance figure attached to this online enrollment. Optional Practical Training (OPT) is the U.S. work authorization linked to eligible F-1 study.

  • Because the MBA has no I-20 or F-1 status, OPT and its post-study work window do not apply to this course.
  • An employer-sponsored United States specialty-occupation route would be separate, and no course-linked salary threshold is created by this online MBA.
  • Permanent residence has no programme-linked timeline because the course does not place the student inside a United States student-immigration route.
  • Spouse and dependent visa rules do not attach to this online enrollment because no F-1 or J-1 status is issued.

A separate future move to U.S. study or work would require admission to a visa-eligible program and current government rules. It should not be combined with this MBA budget.

Visa note

The online mode helps applicants who want to remain in India, but it is a hard limitation for anyone whose plan depends on U.S. student status. Choose a visa-eligible course instead if U.S. work authorization is the core goal.

Visa reality: American Public University’s no-I-20 rule means no F-1 study or OPT pathway from this MBA. Treat the program as cross-border online education and verify separate work authorization before planning U.S. employment.

American Public University MBA FAQs

Ques. Is American Public University MBA suitable for an Indian applicant who must study while working?

Ans. Yes, the online MBA has no set login times and uses weekly assignments and discussion forums. Monthly starts can fit an existing work schedule, but the recurring assessment workload still requires a protected weekly study block.

Ques. Can I apply without GMAT, GRE or prior business work experience?

Ans. Yes, the MBA does not require the Graduate Management Admission Test (GMAT), Graduate Record Examinations (GRE) or prior business work experience. You still need an equivalent bachelor’s degree, identity document, any required English evidence and official degree verification for a non-U.S. qualification.

Ques. How should an Indian graduate handle degree verification and English scores?

Ans. Arrange a degree-only verification report sent directly by an educational agency, because the university must confirm U.S. bachelor’s equivalency. The current graduate English policy prints IELTS Academic Reading 6.5 and Writing 6.5, or TOEFL Internet Based Test Reading 24 and Writing 27. Confirm the accepted score-report format before registration.

Ques. What is the realistic 2026 cost after living expenses and grants?

Ans. The calculated standard direct cost is US$16,795 (INR 16.02 Lakhs) for 33 credits, technology and graduation fees. Add only your actual residence-country expenses because the university’s U.S.-location living allowance is not a mandatory charge for online enrollment. Keep the full estimate until a grant or transfer-credit decision is confirmed.

Ques. Can this online MBA provide F-1, OPT or a U.S. post-study work route?

Ans. No, American Public University states that international online students do not need U.S. entry and do not receive I-20 or DS-2019 forms. Optional Practical Training (OPT), an F-1-linked work authorization, therefore does not apply to this MBA. A later U.S. work plan would need a separate visa-eligible route.


Tuition Fees

Year1st Year Fees
Tuition Fees$13650

Previous Year Tuition Fees

Year1st Year Fees
2023$12750

Important Dates

Application Starts Monthly Register For A Course As Early As 5 Months And Up To One Week Before The Course Starts.

Scores Required

600 / 800

Avg. Score in

GMAT

6.5 / 9

Avg. Score in

IELTS

89 / 120

Avg. Score in

TOEFL

3 / 4

Minimum gpa

GPA

  • GMAT/GRE scores are not required for admission, but are accepted.
  • Average GMAT score of students admitted in the college is atleast 600.
  • Student must have atleast 3.0 GPA score in bachelor`s degree


Comments


No Comments To Show

Scholarship Grants & Financial Aids

NameScholarship Per StudentLevel of StudyType
Go Clean ScholarshipScholarship per student$ 3,500/Yr$3,500Level Of StudyBachelorTypeMerit-Based
Business Administration ScholarshipsScholarship per studentVariable AmountLevel Of StudyBachelorTypeMerit-Based
Washington DC ScholarshipsScholarship per studentVariable AmountLevel Of StudyBachelorTypeMerit-Based
BeArt Presets-Academic ScholarshipScholarship per student$ 2,500/Yr$2,500Level Of StudyBachelorTypeMerit-Based
Chuan Ai Lu Engstrom Memorial ScholarshipScholarship per student$ 1,000/Yr$1,000Level Of StudyBachelorTypeMerit-Based
Bharat Petroleum ScholarshipScholarship per studentVariable AmountLevel Of StudyMasterTypeMerit-Based

Similar Programs

ProgramImportant DateTotal FeesMedian Exams ScoreAction
--
USD 13,650 /Yr
  • IELTS: 6.5
  • Duolingo: 105

Do you think the Dates are wrong ?  Report Here

interested in this College ?

Get free counselling