$56,821 /Yr
University of New Mexico Bachelor of Nursing (BSN) is a four-year, full-time, on-campus programme in Albuquerque with 122 credits. Freshman Direct-Entry applicants must be current high school seniors with a minimum unweighted GPA of 3.0 and high-school Mathematics, Biology or Chemistry. Fall 2027 tuition is unpublished; 2026-27 non-resident BSN fees were US$163,713.32 (INR 1.57 Crore), as a prior-cycle reference.
The programme trains students through the New Mexico Nursing Education Consortium (NMNEC) curriculum, simulation, clinical intensives and a BSN capstone. That structure suits science-prepared school-leavers who want early College of Nursing affiliation, evidence-based practice and patient-care exposure through UNM Health System. The tradeoff is material academic pressure because direct-entry status is provisional and progression requires a 3.2 GPA across pre-nursing terms.
- The 122-credit plan includes three senior-year clinical intensives and a BSN capstone.
- About 99% of Albuquerque pre-licensure BSN students participate in clinical experiences within the UNM Health System each year.
- Honors electives and research experiences can support applicants who may later pursue graduate nursing study.
Current Admission Status
Applications for the Fall 2027 intake are Open. International student deadline: 01 April 2027, 10:00 PM Mountain Standard Time (02 April 2027, 10:30 AM IST).
The 01 December 2026 priority deadline gives Indian applicants the stronger review position, while the final route considers complete files only if places remain.
Also Check: University of New Mexico admission process
University of New Mexico BSN Fees and Living Costs 2027
Fall 2027 nursing tuition is not yet published on the official target-cycle fee surfaces. The table shows 2026-27 Freshman Direct-Entry BSN charges as prior-cycle planning context.
| Fee item | 2026-27 published amount | INR equivalent |
|---|---|---|
| Cost per credit after admission to Nursing, 1 to 14 credits | US$ 1,262.92 | INR 1.21 Lakhs |
| Block tuition after admission to Nursing, 15 or more credits | US$ 18,943.80 | INR 18.12 Lakhs |
| Estimated nursing course fees | US$ 4,308 | INR 4.12 Lakhs |
| Estimated prerequisite and non-nursing course fees | US$ 148 | INR 14,154 |
| Required Health Sciences Campus fees | US$ 2,156 | INR 2.06 Lakhs |
| Required UNM fees | US$ 4,288 | INR 4.10 Lakhs |
| Total estimated cost for 122 credits | US$ 163,713.32 | INR 1.57 Crore |
| First-freshman tuition discount | US$ 5,000 | INR 4.78 Lakhs |
| Estimated out-of-pocket cost after discount | US$ 158,713.32 | INR 1.52 Crore |
All INR conversions in the article use a conversion rate of USD 1 = INR 95.6349 as of 18 August 2026. Rates fluctuate daily, verify before applying.
Source: University of New Mexico College of Nursing 2026-27 tuition and fee page.
The official 2026-27 estimate covers 122 credits and includes the nursing tuition differential, course fees and required HSC and UNM fees.
UNM also lists a US$5,000 (INR 4.78 Lakhs) discount for first-time Freshman Direct-Entry students, applied during the freshman year.
- Treat the 2026-27 total of US$163,713.32 (INR 1.57 Crore) as prior-cycle context, not a Fall 2027 commitment.
- Add the current UNM international application fee of US$50 (INR 4,782) and any NursingCAS charge shown at checkout.
- Keep US$4,308 (INR 4.12 Lakhs) in the prior-cycle budget for estimated nursing course fees because it is separate from tuition.
Cost of Living in Albuquerque for BSN Students
UNM’s 2027-28 international undergraduate estimate lists annual living categories totalling US$20,838 (INR 19.93 Lakhs), separate from BSN tuition.
The monthly column divides annual official amounts by 12, so it is a calculated planning average rather than a rent quote.
| Expense | Monthly USD | Monthly INR | Annual USD | Annual INR |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Room and board | US$ 1,039.25 | INR 99,389 | US$ 12,471 | INR 11.93 Lakhs |
| Books and supplies | US$ 155.75 | INR 14,895 | US$ 1,869 | INR 1.79 Lakhs |
| Transportation | US$ 208.17 | INR 19,908 | US$ 2,498 | INR 2.39 Lakhs |
| Miscellaneous and health insurance | US$ 333.33 | INR 31,878 | US$ 4,000 | INR 3.83 Lakhs |
| Total living estimate | US$ 1,736.50 | INR 1.66 Lakhs | US$ 20,838 | INR 19.93 Lakhs |
The combined miscellaneous and health insurance line remains a single official estimate, so it should not be split into separate premiums.
As a prior-cycle planning illustration, the published total was US$163,713.32 (INR 1.57 Crore) for 122 credits. The US$5,000 (INR 4.78 Lakhs) discount reduced it to US$158,713.32 (INR 1.52 Crore).
Target fee action
Fall 2027 nursing tuition is unpublished. Verify the target fee on the official College of Nursing fee page when the 2027-28 schedule appears.
Key insight: The prior-cycle BSN estimate reached INR 1.57 Crore before the freshman discount, so wait for the 2027-28 nursing schedule before committing funds.
University of New Mexico BSN Admission 2027
Admission to the Fall 2027 Freshman Direct-Entry BSN is for current high school seniors with high-school Mathematics, Biology or Chemistry. Applicants also need a minimum unweighted GPA of 3.0.
Acceptance is two-stage because applicants first need UNM admission and then a College of Nursing NursingCAS application.
Academic Eligibility for Indian Applicants
UNM does not publish an India-specific percentage conversion for the GPA 3.0 threshold. For planning, treat it as approximately 70% to 75%, or CGPA 7.0 to 7.5 on 10; UNM makes the final equivalency decision.
World Education Services (WES) evaluates foreign academic records before the College of Nursing application. WES is a credential evaluation requirement, not a replacement for UNM’s academic review.
| Admission component | Freshman Direct-Entry requirement | Indian applicant action |
|---|---|---|
| Applicant status | Current high school senior only | Apply during the final school year and provide final records when issued |
| Academic threshold | Minimum unweighted GPA 3.0 on a 4.0 scale, approximately 70% to 75% or CGPA 7.0 to 7.5 on 10 | Submit marksheets and the grading scale for WES evaluation |
| School preparation | Completed high-school Mathematics, Biology or Chemistry | Show subject names and practical work on official records when available |
| International qualification | U.S. upper-secondary equivalent with diploma or satisfactory exit examination results | Provide official secondary records and exit results for equivalency review |
| Application route | UNM international undergraduate application plus College of Nursing NursingCAS application | Complete both stages before nursing review |
Direct entry does not remove progression requirements. Students must stay full time, complete prerequisites, maintain a 3.2 GPA during the first three pre-nursing terms and earn no prerequisite grade below C.
- Order the WES evaluation early because the College of Nursing requires it before the nursing application.
- Ask your school to identify Mathematics, Biology or Chemistry clearly when a board transcript combines subjects under one science heading.
- Choose the Freshman Direct-Entry route only if you are still in secondary school because Sophomore Entry and accelerated BSN options use different criteria.
English Language Proficiency
UNM’s current English-language proficiency (ELP) policy accepts IELTS (International English Language Testing System) at 6.0 and the Duolingo English Test (DET) at 95.
It also lists TOEFL (Test of English as a Foreign Language) at 68 and SAT Reading/Writing at 500. The current page shows TOEFL on the older 0 to 120 scale and gives no post-21 January 2026 1.0 to 6.0 policy, so do not self-convert.
| Accepted route | Minimum listed by UNM |
|---|---|
| IELTS overall | 6.0 |
| Duolingo English Test (DET) | 95 |
| TOEFL, scale shown by UNM | 68 on the 0 to 120 scale |
| SAT Reading/Writing | 500 |
- Book IELTS or DET after checking test availability, score delivery and retest time against the December priority deadline.
- Do not convert TOEFL 68 to the revised 1.0 to 6.0 scale without written confirmation from UNM.
- Keep an approved English test ready because the current UNM page publishes no India-specific English-medium waiver.
International document check
WES evaluation and the two-stage application are material Indian-applicant requirements. Verify the current checklist on the College of Nursing application page before submitting.
Tip for Indian students: A 3.0 GPA clears the published threshold, but the 3.2 progression rule makes first-year science preparation and consistent grades the practical selection risk.
University of New Mexico BSN Application 2027
The Fall 2027 application is a two-stage submission: international applicants apply to UNM Undergraduate Admissions and to the College of Nursing through NursingCAS.
NursingCAS is the centralized nursing application system used for the second stage. The College of Nursing reviews verified files by priority and final deadlines, while international document and visa steps follow separate windows.
The College of Nursing lists a 15 August 2026 opening, a 1 December 2026 priority deadline and a 1 April 2027 final deadline for Fall entry.
The final cutoff is 10:00 PM Mountain Standard Time, equivalent to 10:30 AM IST on 2 April 2027; the portal receipt controls.
| Application stage | Fall 2027 deadline or window | Decision or next step | Applicant meaning |
|---|---|---|---|
| College of Nursing application opens | 15 August 2026 | Start NursingCAS and UNM applications | Build the file before the priority review date |
| College of Nursing priority deadline | 1 December 2026 | Qualified complete applications receive offers 4 to 6 weeks after this deadline | Use this route for stronger review positioning |
| International grades and English scores | January 2027 document window | UNM issues an admission decision after required documents are processed | Send second-to-last grades and approved English scores |
| International scholarship priority | 15 March 2027 | Best consideration when transcripts and English scores are received | Submit complete materials before award availability narrows |
| College of Nursing final deadline | 1 April 2027, 10:00 PM Mountain Standard Time; 2 April 2027, 10:30 AM IST | Complete applications are considered 4 to 6 weeks after the deadline if places remain | Do not rely on this route when the priority file can be completed |
| Visa appointment preparation | April to July 2027 | Use the I-20 and financial documents for the visa process | Keep funding evidence ready before booking travel |
| Arrival in Albuquerque | August 2027 | Attend orientation and begin the Fall term | Arrange housing after the visa is issued |
The priority route is stronger because UNM says complete qualified files are reviewed first, while the final route depends on remaining places.
International applicants should align WES completion with the January document window, then keep April to July available for visa processing.
Application Documents and Sequence
Freshman Direct-Entry NursingCAS materials include unofficial high-school transcripts, official college transcripts when applicable, three short-answer essays and two recommendation letters.
The essays address nursing motivation, diversity and inclusion plus leadership or personal growth, so Indian applicants should prepare evidence beyond marks.
UNM’s international undergraduate application fee is US$50 (INR 4,782); NursingCAS may charge separately at submission.
- Declare Nursing as your intended major on the UNM international undergraduate application before starting the nursing submission.
- Complete WES evaluation and enter every post-secondary course before the College of Nursing reviews the file.
- Draft three specific responses that connect patient-care motivation with diversity, leadership or personal growth.
- Ask recommenders to upload their own letters because applicants cannot submit recommendation files on their behalf.
Check Out: University of New Mexico profile
Application tip: Submit a complete NursingCAS file by 1 December 2026, then use the January document window to finish UNM’s international review without weakening scholarship timing.
University of New Mexico BSN Scholarships 2027
For Fall 2027, UNM automatically considers eligible international undergraduates for one non-stacked scholarship, with target-cycle values of up to US$27,000 (INR 25.82 Lakhs) per year.
The International Amigo and Leadership awards are the relevant published routes for Indian freshmen. Beca Mexico is limited to Mexican citizens and is not an Indian-applicant option.
The table uses UNM’s current 2027-28 scholarship cycle; awards are separate from the unpublished nursing fee schedule.
| Award | Target-cycle value | Eligibility and route |
|---|---|---|
| International Amigo Scholarship | Reduces non-resident tuition to resident tuition; estimated value US$27,000 per year (INR 25.82 Lakhs per year) | Freshman GPA 3.5 on a U.S. scale, or GPA 3.0 plus ACT 26 or SAT 1240; full-time in-person undergraduate study; automatic consideration |
| Leadership Scholarship | Estimated value US$17,000 per year (INR 16.26 Lakhs per year) | Undergraduate GPA 3.0 on a U.S. scale; full-time study; automatic consideration |
Amigo reduces tuition to the resident rate but excludes fees, so the headline value is not a complete fee waiver.
UNM offers only the highest eligible award because these scholarships cannot be stacked with one another or another UNM scholarship.
- Submit transcripts and English scores by the 15 March 2027 Fall scholarship priority date for best consideration.
- Use the Amigo criteria as a funding threshold because a 3.5 GPA or the 3.0 GPA plus ACT or SAT route changes the award category.
- Check Leadership eligibility separately because its published undergraduate requirement is a 3.0 GPA without the Amigo test-score combination.
- Protect renewal by maintaining 15 main-campus credits and at least a 2.5 GPA each semester for up to four freshman years.
Read More: US scholarship and funding guide
Scholarship mechanic
Use the personal award letter to calculate net BSN cost because the Amigo award reduces tuition, while fees and course-related charges remain separate.
Scholarship reality: Amigo can reduce non-resident tuition to the resident rate, but the 2027-28 nursing fee is unpublished. Compare the award letter with the final BSN charge sheet.
University of New Mexico BSN Salary 2027
UNM does not publish a BSN graduate salary or offer rate, so the useful evidence is its 2025 BSN licensure result, school-level retention and an external RN wage benchmark.
These measures show preparation and market context, not a guaranteed job or starting salary for an individual graduate.
| Evidence scope | Published measure | Decision meaning |
|---|---|---|
| Course-level licensure outcome | 85% BSN Registered Nurse pass rate, 2025 calendar year | Use for licensure-preparation risk, not job probability |
| Course-level clinical access | About 99% of Albuquerque pre-licensure BSN students participate in UNM Health System clinical experiences each year | Clinical exposure is a central part of the programme proposition |
| School-level graduate outcome | 92% of recent UNM nursing graduates stay in New Mexico, graduates from 2023-24 | Useful for host-state planning, not a BSN offer rate |
| School-level programme scale | 469 nursing students graduated across all programmes from Summer 2024 through Spring 2025 | Shows institutional scale across nursing, not this course’s cohort size |
UNM’s 85% result measures the 2025 RN licensure pass rate, not graduate offers or salaries.
The 92% stay figure describes all recent nursing graduates, so it signals New Mexico retention rather than a BSN employment guarantee.
External RN Salary Benchmark and BSN ROI
The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) reported a US$93,600 (INR 89.51 Lakhs) median annual wage for registered nurses in May 2024.
That figure is a national market benchmark across employers and education paths, not a UNM graduate salary.
| External market benchmark | May 2024 annual median | INR equivalent |
|---|---|---|
| Registered nurses, all industries | US$ 93,600 | INR 89.51 Lakhs |
| Government, excluding state and local education and hospitals | US$ 106,480 | INR 1.02 Crore |
| Hospitals, state, local and private | US$ 97,260 | INR 93.01 Lakhs |
| Ambulatory healthcare services | US$ 83,780 | INR 80.12 Lakhs |
| Nursing and residential care facilities | US$ 81,820 | INR 78.25 Lakhs |
Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Registered Nurses profile, May 2024.
The 2026-27 non-resident BSN estimate was US$163,713.32 (INR 1.57 Crore) for 122 credits, before the published freshman discount.
Because Fall 2027 nursing tuition and UNM graduate salary outcomes are unpublished, a break-even forecast would be unreliable.
- Use the final 2027-28 nursing fee sheet to calculate net cost because the current full-programme estimate is prior-cycle evidence.
- Compare the published US$5,000 (INR 4.78 Lakhs) freshman discount with the personal award letter before treating the four-year BSN as affordable.
- Budget preparation for the National Council Licensure Examination for Registered Nurses (NCLEX-RN) because the 85% pass rate measures an exam outcome, not employment.
- Compare the BLS median with the intended state and employer sector because a national gross wage does not predict a UNM graduate’s offer.
- Treat India-return planning as a separate verification task because UNM reports US RN licensure and New Mexico retention, not India employment outcomes.
The BLS median is gross pay; take-home varies by location, taxes, insurance and hours, so use a current tax calculator when comparing net pay.
ROI reality: UNM offers a clear 122-credit clinical pathway, but the 2027-28 nursing fee is unpublished. The absent graduate salary report makes funding certainty more important than a headline wage.
US Visa for University of New Mexico BSN Students 2027
Full-time BSN students use an F-1 student visa after UNM issues Form I-20. SEVIS (Student and Exchange Visitor Information System) records the student, and UNM requires one academic year’s funding. The current visa fee is US$185 (INR 17,692), and the I-901 SEVIS fee is US$350 (INR 33,472); check the official student visa instructions before booking an interview. The generic 2027-28 international undergraduate estimate is US$59,688 (INR 57.08 Lakhs), but nursing charges may add, so request the final BSN cost sheet.
- Optional Practical Training (OPT) permits 12 months of BSN-related work; the 24-month STEM (science, technology, engineering and mathematics) extension needs a qualifying degree on the DHS list.
- H-1B (specialty-occupation) sponsorship has no single salary threshold because employers must meet the higher actual or prevailing wage for the role and location.
- The United States offers no fixed course-linked permanent-residence timeline, so employer sponsorship and visa availability remain separate decisions after OPT.
- F-2 status permits an accompanying spouse and unmarried minor children, but F-2 dependants are not authorised to work.
Read More: US post-study work options
Visa reality: The standard post-study window is limited unless a later status qualifies, so align NCLEX-RN timing, licensure and employer sponsorship before graduation.
University of New Mexico BSN Ranking 2027
UNM’s College of Nursing facts page reports a programme-specific U.S. News position, rather than an overall university rank. The page does not name the ranking edition, so treat the displayed positions as context and verify the current edition before citing them in an application.
| Scope | Displayed position | Evidence note |
|---|---|---|
| BSN in New Mexico | No. 1 | U.S. News position displayed on the current facts page; edition not stated |
| Nursing schools nationwide | No. 118 of 686, top 17% | U.S. News position displayed on the current facts page; edition not stated |
Source: University of New Mexico College of Nursing current “By the Numbers” page.
The BSN-specific position supports programme visibility, but it cannot establish licensure success, salary or admission probability. For an Indian applicant, the ranking is useful as a shortlist signal only; the 85% 2025 RN pass rate and prior-cycle fee evidence carry more direct planning weight.
Read More: University of New Mexico nursing rankings
Honest take: The reported BSN position can support initial shortlisting, but the missing edition and unpublished 2027-28 nursing fee make direct source verification essential before committing.
The University of New Mexico BSN fits Indian high-school seniors with science preparation, strong English documentation and the capacity to sustain full-time study. Its 122-credit direct-entry structure combines early nursing affiliation with simulation and clinical exposure through UNM Health System. The material tradeoff is the unpublished Fall 2027 nursing fee, which makes the prior-cycle INR 1.57 Crore estimate a planning reference rather than a commitment. Complete WES, NursingCAS and UNM applications by the 01 December 2026 priority date, then wait for the target fee sheet before accepting an offer.
University of New Mexico BSN FAQs
Ques. Is the University of New Mexico BSN suitable for an Indian Class 12 student?
Ans. It suits a current high-school senior with Math, Biology or Chemistry, an unweighted GPA of 3.0, WES evaluation and complete UNM and NursingCAS applications.
Ques. What should an Indian applicant budget before the 2027-28 BSN fee is published?
Ans. The 2026-27 non-resident nursing estimate was US$163,713.32 (INR 1.57 Crore) for 122 credits. The published freshman discount reduced that figure to US$158,713.32 (INR 1.52 Crore). Add the separate 2027-28 international undergraduate living estimate, then wait for the target nursing fee sheet.
Ques. Which English and academic scores matter most for University of New Mexico BSN admission?
Ans. The published English routes are IELTS 6.0, TOEFL 68, Duolingo 95 or SAT Reading and Writing 500. The admission floor is 3.0 unweighted GPA, but progression requires a 3.2 GPA across the first three pre-nursing terms and no prerequisite grade below C. UNM publishes TOEFL 68 on its current page, so verify the scale before booking a test.
Ques. Should an Indian applicant use the December priority deadline or April final deadline?
Ans. Use the 01 December 2026 priority deadline because complete qualified files receive decisions within four to six weeks after that date. The 01 April 2027 final route is a fallback if places remain. Its portal cutoff is 10:00 PM Mountain Standard Time, or 02 April 2027 at 10:30 AM IST.
Ques. What career and visa outcome can a University of New Mexico BSN applicant use for planning?
Ans. UNM reports an 85% 2025 BSN Registered Nurse pass rate and 92% New Mexico retention for 2023-24 nursing graduates, but not a BSN salary or placement rate. The external May 2024 U.S. median RN wage was US$93,600 (INR 89.51 Lakhs). F-1 graduates normally have up to 12 months of OPT, but neither figure guarantees an offer or sponsorship.
Important Alert
- Priority Application Deadline For Fall Semester - Mar 1, 2027
Tuition Fees
| Year | 1st Year Fees |
|---|---|
| Tuition Fees | $56821 |
Other Expenses
| Head | Avg Cost Per Year |
|---|---|
| Room & Board | $11500 |
| Transportation Expenses | $1500 |
Previous Year Tuition Fees
| Year | 1st Year Fees |
|---|---|
| 2024 | $34129 |
Important Dates
| Event | Application Date |
|---|---|
| Priority Application Deadline For Spring Semester | |
| Final Application Deadline For Spring Semester | |
| Required Document Deadline For Spring Semester | |
| Priority Application Deadline For Fall Semester | Mar 1, 2027 |
| Final Application Deadline For Fall Semester | May 1, 2027 |
| Required Document Deadline For Fall Semester | Jun 1, 2027 |
Scores Required
Required Document List
- Apply to UNM online and pay the $50 application fee.
- Submit your application
- Official transcripts
- Graduation certificates
- English proficiency scores
- Accept your admission offer and submit your financial documents.
- Schedule and attend your visa appointment.
- Finalize your travel plans and secure housing. Arrive on campus!
1546425900.png?h=48&w=101&mode=stretch)
Do you think the Rankings are wrong ? Report Here
TOP Scholarships
| Scholarship name | Award amount | Eligibility |
|---|---|---|
| International Amigo Scholarship | 27000 | Merit-based 3.5 GPA in secondary school (or 3.0 GPA + ACT 26/SAT 1240, or 3.25 GPA with 30+ transfer credits); reduces non-resident tuition to resident rate |
| Leadership Scholarship | 17000 | Merit-based 3.0 GPA in upper secondary/high school coursework; F-1/J-1 visa status required |
Key Resources for Your Study Abroad Journey
Scholarship Grants & Financial Aids
| Name | Scholarship Per Student | Level of Study | Type | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jagdish Bhagwati Fellowship | Scholarship per studentVariable Amount | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeCollege-Specific | |
| Comindware Scholarship | Scholarship per student$ 4,000/Yr$4,000 | Level Of StudyApprenticeship | TypeMerit-Based | |
| Forktip Women’s- Innovation Scholarship | Scholarship per studentVariable Amount | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeCollege-Specific | |
| Ritchie-Jennings Memorial Scholarship Program | Scholarship per student$ 10,000/Yr$10,000 | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeMerit-Based | |
| Axol Science Scholarship | Scholarship per student$ 2,000/Yr$2,000 | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeCompany-Sponsored | |
| VueVille Future Technology Scholarship | Scholarship per student$ 1,000/Yr$1,000 | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeMerit-Based |
















Comments