B.S Mathematics - Teaching at Fort Hays State University [FHSU], Hays Fees, Entry Requirement & Application Deadline

Bachelor of Science [B.S] [Mathematics - Teaching] From Fort Hays State University

Hays, KansasLocation
UniversitySchool type
Estd1902established year
15100enrollment
Public

Bachelor of Science [B.S] (Mathematics - Teaching)

4 years
full time
On Campus

$16,811 /Yr

Study Abroad Team's profile photo

Study Abroad Team

Updated on - Aug 14, 2026

Fort Hays State University Bachelor of Science in Mathematics (Teaching) is a four-year, on-campus degree in Hays, Kansas. International applicants need a GPA minimum of 2.5 on 4.0, approximately 62.5% or CGPA 6.25 on 10 for Indian applicants. For Indian applicants, Spring 2027 tuition and fees calculate to US$78,147.60 (INR 74.58 Lakhs) for 120 credits.

The programme combines Calculus I to III, linear algebra, statistics, proof, geometry and higher algebra with secondary mathematics methods and student teaching. Because the plan moves from content knowledge into classroom observation, apprenticeship and student teaching, it suits applicants seeking grades 6 to 12 mathematics teaching preparation. The tradeoff is a demanding mathematics and education sequence, so students seeking a general mathematics degree without teacher preparation may find the teaching emphasis restrictive.

  • A 120-credit plan connects mathematical depth with secondary-education coursework, helping applicants link subject mastery with classroom practice.
  • The Bachelor of Science route does not require the Bachelor of Arts foreign-language component, leaving more room for technical and scientific study.
  • The Noyce Scholars initiative adds specialised training and classroom observation for selected students.

Current Admission Status

Applications for the Spring 2027 intake are Open. International student deadline: 1 November 2026.

FHSU requires a completed application with all admission documents by this date, then issues I-20s through 15 November 2026. Indian applicants should treat November 1 as the completed-document cutoff because transcript shipping and visa preparation follow admission.

Also Check: Fort Hays State University Admission Requirements

Fort Hays Mathematics Teaching Fees and Living Costs 2027

For the Spring 2027 target cycle, on-campus international students are charged the published non-resident rate because FHSU classifies international students as non-residents. The current schedule lists US$651.23 per credit (INR 62,147), so 30 credits calculate to US$19,536.90 (INR 18.64 Lakhs) in annual tuition and fees.

The table separates the per-credit rate, annual base cost, application charge and calculated programme tuition. FHSU also publishes a lower 12-credit-per-semester estimate for immigration financial documentation, so the calculated 120-credit figure is not a guaranteed four-year bill.

Fee itemPublished basisAmount (USD)Amount (INR)
Non-resident on-campus ratePer creditUS$651.23INR 62,147
Non-resident annual base cost30 credits, 15 per semesterUS$19,536.90INR 18.64 Lakhs
International application feeNon-refundable, one submissionUS$50INR 4,772
Other student fees2026-27 estimated cost-of-attendance componentUS$190INR 18,132
Calculated 120-credit tuition and feesUS$651.23 x 120 creditsUS$78,147.60INR 74.58 Lakhs

Source: FHSU 2026-27 tuition schedule and International Tuition and Fees page.

All INR conversions in the article use a conversion rate of US$ 1 = INR 95.4309 as of 14 August 2026. Rates fluctuate daily, verify before applying.

  • The annual base cost uses 30 credits, while the immigration estimate uses 24 credits, so the two published totals answer different planning questions.
  • FHSU tuition and fees can change through the Kansas Board of Regents, so applicants should recheck the rate before accepting the Spring 2027 offer.

Cost of Living in Hays for Mathematics Teaching Students

FHSU’s official 2026-27 international estimate separates tuition from room and board, mandatory health insurance, books, fees and miscellaneous spending. It does not publish a standalone monthly Hays budget, so the monthly figures below are calculated equivalents rather than additional university quotes.

The room-and-board line uses its published nine-month period, while other monthly equivalents divide annual figures by 12. The subtotal therefore provides a planning average and should not be read as a monthly charge from the university.

ExpenseMonthly (USD)Monthly (INR)Annual or published (USD)Annual or published (INR)
Room and board, nine monthsUS$1,080.56INR 1.03 LakhsUS$9,725INR 9.28 Lakhs
Mandatory health insuranceUS$250.00INR 23,858US$3,000INR 2.86 Lakhs
Miscellaneous personal expensesUS$83.33INR 7,952US$1,000INR 95,431
Books and school suppliesUS$58.33INR 5,566US$700INR 66,802
Other student feesUS$15.83INR 1,511US$190INR 18,132
Official non-tuition componentsUS$1,217.92INR 1.16 LakhsUS$14,615INR 13.95 Lakhs

Source: FHSU 2026-27 Undergraduate Estimated Expenses and International Tuition and Fees page.

For a 30-credit year, a calculated planning budget is US$34,151.90 (INR 32.59 Lakhs). This combines US$19,536.90 tuition and fees (INR 18.64 Lakhs) with US$14,615 non-tuition costs (INR 13.95 Lakhs). A four-year illustration is US$136,607.60 (INR 1.30 Crore) before travel, annual fee changes and scholarships. Use it as a planning baseline rather than a guaranteed bill.

Read More: Fort Hays Courses and Fees

Key insight: The official 30-credit base is US$19,536.90 (INR 18.64 Lakhs), but the four-year budget rises after housing, insurance and personal costs. Build funding around the calculated all-in baseline and recheck the fee schedule before payment.

Fort Hays Mathematics Teaching Admission 2027

Admission requires a 2.5 GPA on 4.0, official transcripts and an approved English score. For Indian applicants, the GPA is approximately 62.5% or CGPA 6.25 on 10. The Mathematics (Teaching) curriculum adds a 2.75 major GPA, approximately 68.75% or CGPA 6.88 on 10. University admission therefore does not complete teacher-education progression.

Academic Eligibility and Teacher Education Progression

FHSU applies different document rules to first-time freshmen, international transfers and students transferring from a United States institution. The programme also requires specific grades in foundation education courses before students enter the teacher-education sequence.

Applicant or progression stagePublished requirementIndian applicant readingEvidence or next step
First-time freshman2.5 on a 4.0 scaleApproximately 62.5% or CGPA 6.25 on 10; approximate onlyCurrent high-school transcript and diploma after graduation
Transfer from an international institution2.5 on a 4.0 scaleApproximately 62.5% or CGPA 6.25 on 10; approximate onlyCurrent and previous institutional transcripts, with high-school records if below 24 college credits
Transfer from a U.S. institution2.0 on a 4.0 scale after 24 college creditsApproximately 50% or CGPA 5.00 on 10; approximate onlyTranscript from the current U.S. institution and every prior institution
Mathematics major2.75 GPA on a 4.0 scale and C or better in programme coursesApproximately 68.75% or CGPA 6.88 on 10; approximate onlyProtect the major GPA throughout the mathematics sequence
Teacher-education admission courseworkENG 101 C, ENG 102 B, COMM 100 B, MATH 110 C and MATH 250 CFHSU does not publish Indian equivalents for these letter-grade thresholdsConfirm course substitutions with the teacher-education advisor
  • Indian school-leavers should arrange official English transcripts and the final diploma because FHSU requires records in English or an official English translation.
  • International transfer applicants need a course-by-course evaluation from a National Association of Credential Evaluation Services member only when they want prior coursework considered for transfer credit.
  • FHSU prefers World Education Services evaluations for international transfer credit but accepts other approved evaluation members, so the evaluator choice affects preparation rather than basic admission eligibility.
  • The catalog lists a 2.75 major GPA and C-or-better course rule, making early support important when Calculus, proof and education courses overlap.

FHSU also lists mathematics placement measures for the College Algebra pathway, including Math ACT 22, SAT 540, ALEKS PPL 46 or Accuplacer QAS 263. Indian applicants should ask the academic advisor which institutional measure applies when they do not present one of these tests.

English Language Proficiency Requirements

FHSU’s current undergraduate policy accepts TOEFL iBT 61+, IELTS 5.5+, iTEP 3.6, Duolingo 95 or successful completion of Level 9 at The Language Company. The policy prints TOEFL iBT 61+ without a revised-scale explanation, so verify the score-report format with International Student Services before booking a test.

English test or pathwayUndergraduate requirementIndian applicant action
TOEFL iBT61+Use the scale shown in FHSU’s current policy and verify the accepted report format
IELTS5.5+Check the official score report before submission because no component minimum is published here
iTEP3.6Confirm test availability and direct score delivery before applying
Duolingo95Use the online route only if the test remains acceptable when the application is submitted
The Language CompanySuccessful completion of Level 9Ask whether the intensive English route fits the planned Spring 2027 start
  • FHSU does not accept institutional TOEFL, TOEFL Essentials or institutional completion scores for the listed language requirement.
  • An applicant with 24 or more United States college credits may meet the language requirement after satisfying the admission GPA rule.
  • A native English-speaking country exception and a United States high-school exception with a 2.5 GPA plus two years of English are also published.

For the exact document sequence and current transcript rules, review the FHSU on-campus admission requirements before submitting the application.

Check Out: Study in USA Requirements

Tip for Indian students: The 2.5 admission GPA is only the entry floor, while the 2.75 major GPA and teacher-education grades control progression. Submit verified records early and plan academic support before the Calculus and education sequence becomes intensive.

Fort Hays Mathematics Teaching Application 2027

The Spring 2027 on-campus application window is open with a completed international application deadline of 1 November 2026. FHSU’s detailed page sets 15 November 2026 as the last date for issuing the I-20, while no programme-level decision date is published.

FHSU publishes calendar dates rather than a portal time or timezone, so the date controls and Indian applicants should submit every required document before the stated day. The next Fall cycle remains relevant for applicants who need more time for transcripts, funds or English testing.

Target-cycle context: The dates below apply to on-campus international undergraduate applicants, and Summer 2027 is not permitted for this route.

IntakeCompleted application deadlineLast I-20 issuance dateApplication meaning
Spring 2027, target1 November 202615 November 2026Submit the application and all required documents by the first date
Fall 2027, next cycle1 June 202715 June 2027Useful alternative when Spring preparation cannot be completed
Summer 2027Not permittedNot applicableOn-campus international undergraduate entry is not offered

The application page does not publish a decision date, interview stage or guaranteed response period for this course. Applicants should therefore treat an admission decision and I-20 as separate steps, then schedule visa work after receiving the I-20 rather than relying on an assumed turnaround.

How to Sequence a Spring 2027 Application

FHSU requires a complete file, so the strongest sequence is to prepare academic records and English testing before paying the application fee. The financial form also requires liquid proof for one year, which makes funding documentation a parallel task rather than a post-admission formality.

  • Submit the international undergraduate application with the US$50 (INR 4,772) non-refundable fee and retain the payment record.
  • Send a clear passport identification page after submitting the online application because FHSU lists it as a separate document.
  • Arrange official English transcripts or an approved English translation, then send final records when the school issues them.
  • Request official English-test scores directly from the testing organisation because applicant-uploaded institutional scores are not accepted for the stated requirement.
  • Submit a certified bank statement showing at least US$30,239 (INR 28.86 Lakhs) for one year under the published 12-credit estimate.

Indian applicants who need transfer credit should start the course-by-course evaluation after admission, because FHSU states that international post-secondary credit is not reviewed before admission. Applicants choosing Spring 2027 should also leave time for courier delivery and any translation or evaluation process before November 1.

Deadline verification

The general FHSU admissions page duplicates Spring as October 1 in a summary table, but the exact on-campus requirements page states November 1. Use the specific page and verify the portal date before submission.

Application tip: November 1, 2026 is the completed-file deadline, not merely an online-form milestone. Finish transcripts, scores, passport evidence and the US$30,239 (INR 28.86 Lakhs) financial proof before submission so the I-20 stage can follow by November 15.

Fort Hays Mathematics Teaching Scholarships 2027

International students admitted to FHSU can access several scholarships, with the strongest immediate fit being the US$1,000 per year World Ready International Scholarship (INR 95,431). The checked university pages do not attach every award to Spring 2027, so the values below are current published opportunities rather than guaranteed target-cycle reductions.

Scholarship eligibility differs by first-time status, transfer status, test scores, GPA and on-campus enrollment. Because the B.S. teaching route is on-campus and full-time, Indian applicants should screen those conditions before treating an award as part of the four-year funding plan.

Cycle note: Awards without a named intake are labelled current published, while their target-cycle deadlines must be confirmed after admission.

ScholarshipPublished value (USD)Value (INR)Applicant profileRoute and timing
FHSU World Ready International ScholarshipUS$1,000 per yearINR 95,431 per yearNew, first-time international degree-seeking undergraduate; full-time on campus; 2.5 GPA to maintainAutomatic; current published, target cycle not stated
FHSU Freshmen Scholarship suiteUS$1,500 to US$3,750 per yearINR 1.43 to 3.58 Lakhs per yearFirst-time, full-time, on-campus freshman; award uses ACT or SAT and GPAAutomatic; current published deadline is 30 June; renewable for three additional years
General FHSU Scholarship ApplicationAmount variesAmount variesAny admitted FHSU student with a workday accountApply through the scholarship portal; current portal lists 15 November priority and 15 February final deadlines
Access to Academic Opportunity GrantUS$2,000 to US$4,000 per yearINR 1.91 to 3.82 Lakhs per yearNew, on-campus first-time freshman or transfer student meeting grant criteriaAnnual renewable award; application opening soon and deadline not stated
On-campus Transfer ScholarshipsUS$500 to US$2,250INR 47,715 to 2.15 LakhsNew, incoming, on-campus undergraduate transfer student; cumulative GPA appliesAutomatic after transcript receipt; current published transcript deadline is 30 June

Source: FHSU International Scholarships, Freshman Scholarships and Transfer Costs and Scholarships pages.

  • The World Ready award is the clearest incoming-international option, but its US$1,000 per year (INR 95,431) value covers only a small part of the published annual budget.
  • ACT or SAT scores are not required for international admission, but the Freshmen Scholarship suite uses one of those scores for award selection.
  • The transfer table states that on-campus transfer scholarships are not stackable with other transfer awards, so eligible applicants should compare the qualifying tier before budgeting.
  • The general scholarship portal becomes usable after admission, making the Spring 2027 November 1 application deadline important for access to the funding process.

The current scholarship pages support a layered strategy: secure admission, complete the automatic World Ready assessment and submit the general application. Then check whether a first-time or transfer category applies. Do not subtract a variable award from the calculated US$136,607.60 (INR 1.30 Crore) four-year illustration until FHSU confirms the amount and renewal conditions.

For award conditions, current application routes and international eligibility, review the FHSU international scholarship information after checking the admission status.

Read More: USA Scholarships for International Students

Scholarship reality: The automatic World Ready award is US$1,000 per year (INR 95,431), while larger awards depend on status, scores or a later application. Fund the degree without assuming a scholarship and treat confirmed awards as reductions.

Fort Hays Mathematics Teaching Salary 2027

FHSU does not publish a course-cohort employment report, salary median or placement rate for this B.S. in Mathematics (Teaching) in the checked programme sources. The official programme page identifies middle-school and high-school mathematics teaching plus curriculum and tutoring roles, while the salary figures below are external occupational benchmarks rather than graduate outcomes.

The course is career-oriented, so return on investment (ROI) depends on the relationship between verified study cost, licensing, location and employment access. ROI here means the financial and career value produced after graduation, not a guaranteed payback period.

The calculated four-year tuition, fees and non-tuition baseline is US$136,607.60 (INR 1.30 Crore) before travel, annual changes and scholarships. Optional Practical Training (OPT) is the U.S. work-authorisation route connected to eligible F-1 study, while Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) eligibility can create a longer extension only when the exact degree meets federal rules.

  • The calculated four-year cost is US$136,607.60 (INR 1.30 Crore), so secure funding beyond the World Ready award before treating teaching wages as repayment capacity.
  • The BLS high-school benchmark is US$64,580 gross (INR 61.63 Lakhs); use a current tax calculator before comparing take-home pay with annual costs.
  • BLS projects a 2% decline but 66,200 annual openings, so target districts, state licences and subject-specific vacancies rather than assuming employment.
  • Standard OPT lasts up to 12 months; ask FHSU to confirm STEM eligibility before relying on a 36-month work window.

Employment Evidence and External Salary Benchmarks

The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) is the federal source for the benchmarks in the table. BLS figures describe workers in an occupation, not Fort Hays graduates, and their gross amounts vary with district, state, experience and contract structure.

Evidence scopePublished cohort or periodSalary benchmark (USD)Salary benchmark (INR)Employment context
External market benchmark, high-school teachersBLS median, May 2024US$64,580INR 61.63 LakhsEmployment projected to decline 2% from 2024 to 2034; about 66,200 openings yearly
External market benchmark, middle-school teachersBLS median, May 2024US$62,970INR 60.09 LakhsEmployment projected to decline 2% from 2024 to 2034; about 40,500 openings yearly

Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Outlook Handbook, High School Teachers, May 2024 wage data and 2024-34 projections.

These benchmarks support host-country scenarios but cannot establish a typical Fort Hays salary, offer rate or repayment period. BLS also says public-school teachers need a state-issued licence, so check target-state credential rules despite the course’s student-teaching preparation.

FHSU’s curriculum includes early field experience, apprenticeship, mathematics methods and student teaching. Because FHSU publishes no employer outcomes, offer rates or graduate salary data, build a licensing and job-search plan instead of assuming placement.

Returning to India changes the salary, recognition and licensing basis, so treat U.S. wage benchmarks as host-country context only. Before choosing an India-return plan, verify how the qualification and teaching practice would be recognised for the schools or examinations you intend to target.

For the federal occupational benchmark and its wage definitions, review the BLS high-school teacher profile before using the figures in a financial model.

ROI reality: FHSU offers a structured route into mathematics teaching but publishes no course-cohort salary evidence. Use the US$136,607.60 (INR 1.30 Crore) cost and gross BLS benchmarks only as scenarios, then verify licensure, take-home pay and OPT eligibility.

USA Visa for Fort Hays Mathematics Teaching Students 2027

International students entering this on-campus degree need an F-1 student visa. F-1 is the U.S. nonimmigrant category for full-time academic study; after admission, FHSU issues Form I-20 and the student pays the Student and Exchange Visitor Information System (SEVIS) I-901 fee. SEVIS records the student’s school and status, while the consular application also requires proof of academic preparation and funds.

The Department of State currently lists the F-1 application fee as US$185 (INR 17,655). The I-901 SEVIS fee is US$350 (INR 33,401) for F and M students. Check consular instructions for India before payment because visa requirements can change separately from university admission.

  • FHSU permits on-campus F-1 work up to 20 hours weekly during term, but this income should not replace US$30,239 (INR 28.86 Lakhs) in certified annual funding.
  • Post-completion OPT can last up to 12 months, while any 24-month STEM extension depends on the exact degree classification and an eligible employer.
  • An H-1B route uses the higher actual or prevailing wage rather than a single course threshold, and employment-based permanent residence has no fixed course-linked timeline.
  • A spouse and unmarried minor children may obtain F-2 visas with separate I-20s, but F-2 dependants are not authorised to work.

For current F-1 fees, documents, entry timing and dependent instructions, consult the U.S. Department of State student visa page before making travel arrangements.

Read More: F-1 Student Visa Guide for Indian Students

Visa reality: The F-1 route requires a complete I-20 and financial file, while post-study work and permanent residence remain conditional. Treat the 12-month OPT period as the baseline and verify any STEM extension before relying on longer U.S. employment.

Applicants with strong mathematics preparation who want grades 6 to 12 teaching practice fit this four-year on-campus B.S. pathway. Its sequence joins Calculus, proof, statistics and geometry with observation, apprenticeship and student teaching, which supports subject depth and classroom readiness. The material tradeoff is the calculated US$136,607.60 (INR 1.30 Crore) four-year baseline and uncertain course-level employment evidence, so scholarships cannot be assumed. For Spring 2027, submit the complete international file by 1 November 2026, then verify the I-20, licensing route and any STEM extension before funding travel.

Fort Hays Mathematics Teaching FAQs

Ques. Can Indian applicants apply for the Spring 2027 Mathematics (Teaching) intake?

Ans. Yes, the on-campus international undergraduate route lists 1 November 2026 for completed applications and 15 November 2026 for the last I-20 issuance. Submit transcripts, English scores, passport evidence and financial documents before the first date because FHSU does not publish a separate decision date.

Ques. Is a 2.5 GPA enough for Fort Hays Mathematics (Teaching)?

Ans. A 2.5 GPA on 4.0 is the international undergraduate admission floor, but the mathematics major requires 2.75 and teacher-education courses carry specific C or B grades. Indian applicants should therefore treat the 2.5 threshold as entry eligibility and plan for stronger performance during Calculus, proof and education coursework.

Ques. What budget should an Indian student use for this four-year degree?

Ans. The published 30-credit annual tuition and fee base is US$19,536.90 (INR 18.64 Lakhs). The calculated four-year tuition and fee figure is US$78,147.60 (INR 74.58 Lakhs). Adding published non-tuition components produces a US$136,607.60 (INR 1.30 Crore) planning illustration before travel, annual changes and scholarships.

Ques. Which scholarship is most relevant for a new Indian undergraduate?

Ans. The World Ready International Scholarship is the clearest incoming-international option at US$1,000 per year (INR 95,431). It is automatic for eligible new, first-time, full-time on-campus students. FHSU also lists freshman and general awards, but not every page names Spring 2027, so confirm their amounts and renewal terms after admission.

Ques. Can graduates work in the United States after this Mathematics (Teaching) degree?

Ans. Eligible F-1 graduates may seek up to 12 months of post-completion OPT in work related to the major. Any 24-month STEM extension requires the exact degree and employer to satisfy federal rules. H-1B sponsorship and permanent residence remain conditional, so verify degree classification and state teaching licence before relying on United States employment.


Tuition Fees

Year1st Year Fees
Tuition Fees$16811

Other Expenses

HeadAvg Cost Per Year
Room and board$8374
Health Insurance$2500

Previous Year Tuition Fees

Year1st Year Fees
2023$16530
2021$15890

Scores Required

61 / 120

Avg. Score in

TOEFL

5.5 / 9

Avg. Score in

IELTS

95 / 160

Avg. Score in

Duolingo

2.25 / 4

Minimum gpa

GPA

120

ECTS Credits



Comments


No Comments To Show

Scholarship Grants & Financial Aids

NameScholarship Per StudentLevel of StudyType
Ritchie-Jennings Memorial Scholarship ProgramScholarship per student$ 10,000/Yr$10,000Level Of StudyBachelorTypeMerit-Based
Axol Science ScholarshipScholarship per student$ 2,000/Yr$2,000Level Of StudyBachelorTypeCompany-Sponsored
VueVille Future Technology ScholarshipScholarship per student$ 1,000/Yr$1,000Level Of StudyBachelorTypeMerit-Based
R&D Systems ScholarshipScholarship per student$ 1,500/Yr$1,500Level Of StudyBachelorTypeMerit-Based
BL Mandhana ScholarshipsScholarship per student$ 10,000/Yr$10,000Level Of StudyBachelorTypeMerit-Based
Go Clean ScholarshipScholarship per student$ 3,500/Yr$3,500Level Of StudyBachelorTypeMerit-Based

Similar Programs

ProgramImportant DateTotal FeesMedian Exams ScoreAction
--
USD 16,811 /Yr
  • TOEFL: 61
  • IELTS: 5.5
  • Duolingo: 95

Do you think the Dates are wrong ?  Report Here

interested in this College ?

Get free counselling