
| Updated On - Oct 23, 2026
Bachelors in Clinical Psychology in USA is a four-year BA or BS in Psychology program. For a taught degree, Harvard AB in Psychology leads at #1 QS Psychology 2025. In October 2026, Early Action deadlines fall on 1 November 2026 across most of the ten.
- Tuition runs USD 55,700 (INR 52.69 Lakhs) at UCLA to USD 72,500 (INR 68.58 Lakhs) at Yale.
- US top 10 lists only a Psychology BA or BS, not a Clinical Psychology title.
- IELTS 6.5 or TOEFL 80 meets the English floor across most of the ten.
- F-1 visa gives 12-month OPT, then a Masters, PsyD or PhD for licensed practice.
- QS Undergraduate Scholarship, MPOWER Global Citizen and Education Future lead the external awards list.
Check Out: Study in USA
Exchange rate: all USD figures convert at 1 USD = INR 94.59, the mid-market rate on 22 October 2026.
Latest Updates - October 2026
- 1 November 2026: Harvard, Yale and Princeton close Single-Choice Early Action for Fall 2027.
- 1 November 2026: Columbia and UPenn close Early Decision for Fall 2027 intake.
- 15 November 2026: University of Michigan Early Action deadline for Fall 2027 entry.
- 1 January 2027: Stanford, Yale, Princeton and Columbia Regular Decision deadlines fall.
- 31 January 2027: MPOWER Global Citizen Scholarship closes its 2027 cycle for Indian applicants.
Table of Contents
- Top 10 Universities for Bachelors in Clinical Psychology in USA
- Which Universities Fit Your Profile for Bachelors in Clinical Psychology in USA
- Why Study Bachelors in Clinical Psychology in USA
- Bachelors in Clinical Psychology in USA Application Deadlines for Fall 2027
- Bachelors in Clinical Psychology in USA Fees for Indian Students
- Cost of Living for Bachelors in Clinical Psychology Students in USA
- Bachelors in Clinical Psychology in USA Eligibility and Requirements
- Bachelors in Clinical Psychology in USA SAT, ACT and English Test Scores
- Scholarships for Bachelors in Clinical Psychology in USA
- Bachelors in Clinical Psychology in USA Student Visa and OPT
- Jobs and Salary After Bachelors in Clinical Psychology in USA
- Conclusion
- FAQs
Top 10 Universities for Bachelors in Clinical Psychology in USA
Top universities for Bachelors in Clinical Psychology in USA include Harvard, Stanford, Yale, Columbia and University of Michigan. UCLA, UC Berkeley, NYU, UPenn and Princeton complete the QS Psychology 2025 top 10. Rankings in the table use QS World University Rankings by Subject 2025: Psychology.
| University | Location | QS World University Rankings by Subject 2025: Psychology |
|---|---|---|
| Harvard University | Cambridge, Massachusetts | #1 |
| Stanford University | Stanford, California | #3 |
| Yale University | New Haven, Connecticut | #5 |
| Columbia University | New York, New York | #7 |
| University of Michigan | Ann Arbor, Michigan | #8 |
| University of California, Los Angeles | Los Angeles, California | #9 |
| University of California, Berkeley | Berkeley, California | #12 |
| New York University | New York, New York | #14 |
| University of Pennsylvania | Philadelphia, Pennsylvania | #14 |
| Princeton University | Princeton, New Jersey | #22 |
No US top 10 lists a Bachelor titled Clinical Psychology. Applicants read a Psychology BA or BS with clinical electives at every school in the table. University of Michigan stands out with a formal Clinical sub-plan inside the Psychology BA/BS. Harvard, Stanford, Yale, Columbia and Princeton run a broad Psychology major without a clinical label. For Indian students, this means planning for a Masters, PsyD or PhD after four years.
Watch Out: US licensure needs a Masters, PsyD or PhD after the Bachelors. The degree alone does not qualify for clinical practice as of October 2026.
Check Out: Psychology Colleges in USA
Which Universities Fit Your Profile for Bachelors in Clinical Psychology in USA
Choose a Bachelors in Clinical Psychology in USA by profile. Aspiring clinicians, research-focused students and liberal-arts applicants each have different top fits. Pick your row in the table and read the page through that lens. Indian applicants aiming at a research MSc or PhD often match the cognitive-science row.
| Applicant profile | Programs from the Top 10 that fit | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Aspiring clinician planning a PsyD or PhD later | Michigan BA/BS Psychology (Clinical sub-plan); UCLA BA Psychology; Columbia BA Psychology | Direct clinical electives and strong feeder tracks to US doctoral clinical programs |
| Research-track student interested in cognitive and brain science | Harvard AB Psychology; Stanford BA/BS Psychology; Princeton AB Psychology; UPenn BA Psychology | Deep research labs, cognitive neuroscience focus, PhD pipeline |
| Liberal-arts applicant open to a broad major | Yale BA/BS Psychology; UC Berkeley BA Psychology; NYU BA Psychology | Flexible psychology major with wide electives across the social sciences |
Note: A clinical sub-plan at the Bachelors level is not a license. It is preparation for a Masters, PsyD or PhD path.
Why Study Bachelors in Clinical Psychology in USA
Bachelors in Clinical Psychology in USA matters because the US holds 8 of the world’s top 10 psychology universities. It opens a direct pipeline to doctoral clinical programs through APA-accredited PsyD and PhD tracks. Harvard sits at #1 in QS World University Rankings by Subject 2025: Psychology. A US Psychology BS or BA opens licensed-practice training later for Indian students.
Bachelors in Clinical Psychology in USA Application Deadlines for Fall 2027
Bachelors in Clinical Psychology in USA application deadlines for Fall 2027 fall between 1 November 2026 and 15 January 2027. Most Ivy League programs open with Early Action or Early Decision on 1 November 2026. UC Berkeley and UCLA close their one-shot application window on 30 November 2026.
| University | Program | Fall 2027 deadline | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Harvard University | AB in Psychology | 1 November 2026 (early); 1 January 2027 (final) | Open |
| Stanford University | BA in Psychology | 1 November 2026 (early); 5 January 2027 (final) | Open |
| Yale University | B.A./B.S. in Psychology | 1 November 2026 (early); 2 January 2027 (final) | Open |
| Columbia University | BA in Psychology | 1 November 2026 (early); 1 January 2027 (final) | Open |
| University of Michigan | BA/BS in Psychology (Clinical sub-plan) | 1 November 2026 (early); 1 February 2027 (final) | Open |
| University of California, Los Angeles | Psychology, B.A. | 30 November 2026 (final) | Open |
| University of California, Berkeley | Bachelor of Arts in Psychology | 30 November 2026 (final) | Open |
| New York University | Psychology (BA) | 1 November 2026 (early); 1 January 2027 (early); 5 January 2027 (final) | Open |
| University of Pennsylvania | Psychology, BA | 1 November 2026 (early); 5 January 2027 (final) | Open |
| Princeton University | A.B. in Psychology | 1 November 2026 (early); 1 January 2027 (regular) | Open |
Early Action means apply by November with no commitment. Early Decision binds enrollment. Regular Decision opens the main January window for Indian applicants.
Deadline: Most Ivy League programs close Early rounds on 1 November 2026. Indian applicants should submit applications before 11:59 pm local US time.
Bachelors in Clinical Psychology in USA Fees for Indian Students
Clinical Psychology bachelor fees for Indian students in USA start at USD 55,700 (INR 52.69 Lakhs) a year at UCLA. The top rate is USD 72,500 (INR 68.58 Lakhs) at Yale for 2026-27. Private Ivy League programs sit near the upper band for international students. Indian students pay the full nonresident rate at public UC campuses.
| University | Program | Program Fees (Annual) (USD) | Program Fees (Annual) (INR) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Harvard University | AB in Psychology | USD 62,226 (Annual, Tuition only; same rate for international students) | INR 58.86 Lakhs (Annual) |
| Stanford University | BA in Psychology | USD 67,731 (Annual, 2026-27 full-time tuition, frozen at 2025-26 level) | INR 64.07 Lakhs (Annual) |
| Yale University | B.A./B.S. in Psychology | USD 72,500 (Annual, 2026-27 undergraduate tuition) | INR 68.58 Lakhs (Annual) |
| Columbia University | BA in Psychology | USD 71,170 (Annual) | INR 67.32 Lakhs (Annual) |
| University of Michigan | BA/BS in Psychology (Clinical sub-plan) | USD 67,096 (Annual, 2 semesters at USD 33,548) | INR 63.47 Lakhs (Annual) |
| University of California, Los Angeles | Psychology, B.A. | USD 55,700 (Annual, 2026-27 nonresident) | INR 52.69 Lakhs (Annual) |
| University of California, Berkeley | Bachelor of Arts in Psychology | USD 57,484 (Annual, 2 semesters) | INR 54.37 Lakhs (Annual) |
| New York University | Psychology (BA) | USD 68,576 (Annual, Tuition and fees) | INR 64.87 Lakhs (Annual) |
| University of Pennsylvania | Psychology, BA | USD 65,670 (Annual, Tuition only) | INR 62.12 Lakhs (Annual) |
| Princeton University | A.B. in Psychology | USD 68,140 (Annual, 2026-27 published tuition) | INR 64.45 Lakhs (Annual) |
Public universities like Michigan, UCLA and UC Berkeley charge nonresident tuition for Indian students. These rates still run below Ivy League tuition.
Fees: Indian students at private US universities pay the same tuition as domestic students. Budget for USD 68,576 (INR 64.87 Lakhs) at NYU for 2026-27.
Check Out: Student Budget in USA
Cost of Living for Bachelors in Clinical Psychology Students in USA
USA living costs for Clinical Psychology bachelor students start at USD 16,246 (INR 15.37 Lakhs) at Michigan. UCLA tops the sample at USD 29,070 (INR 27.5 Lakhs). These figures feed the F-1 proof-of-funds paperwork and the Form I-20 maintenance estimate every Indian applicant must certify.
| University | City | Living Expenses per Year (USD) | Living Expenses per Year (INR) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Harvard University | Cambridge, Massachusetts | USD 25,692 (9-month on-campus) | INR 24.3 Lakhs |
| Stanford University | Stanford, California | USD 22,944 (Standard room and board charge for 2026-27) | INR 21.7 Lakhs |
| Yale University | New Haven, Connecticut | USD 24,300 (Yale 2026-27 undergraduate estimate) | INR 22.99 Lakhs |
| University of Michigan | Ann Arbor, Michigan | USD 16,246 (9-month, room/board/transport/personal) | INR 15.37 Lakhs |
| University of California, Los Angeles | Los Angeles, California | USD 29,070 (9-month on-campus) | INR 27.5 Lakhs |
| University of California, Berkeley | Berkeley, California | USD 23,640 (9-month, on-campus residence hall; housing and food) | INR 22.36 Lakhs |
| New York University | New York, New York | USD 26,438 (Food and housing) | INR 25.01 Lakhs |
| University of Pennsylvania | Philadelphia, Pennsylvania | USD 20,604 (Room USD 13,644 plus meal plan USD) | INR 19.49 Lakhs |
| Princeton University | Princeton, New Jersey | USD 26,484 (2026-27 undergraduate on-campus) | INR 25.05 Lakhs |
Figures are each university’s own 2026-27 on-campus or published estimates.
NYU in New York and Harvard in Cambridge sit in the high-cost tier. Michigan at Ann Arbor and UC Berkeley sit in a mid-cost tier. Indian students in high-cost cities should budget for off-campus rent.
Note: Living estimates below come from each university’s published 2026-27 figures, not national averages. Indian students should check off-campus rents separately in each city.
Bachelors in Clinical Psychology in USA Eligibility and Requirements
Bachelors in Clinical Psychology in USA eligibility starts with a 10+2 pass from any Indian board. SAT or ACT scores help where asked. IELTS 6.5 or TOEFL 80 sets the English floor. Common App essays and recommendations complete the file.
- A 10+2 pass with 85 percent marks meets the Michigan Class XII bar.
- Any CBSE, ICSE or state board stream is accepted, including Science, Commerce or Arts.
- SAT or ACT scores apply at several US schools, listed in the next section.
- English proficiency with IELTS or TOEFL is required for non-English-medium applicants.
- Common App essays sit with two teacher recommendations and a counselor letter.
- Financial documents prove funds for first-year tuition and living costs per the I-20.
Eligibility: Most top US universities accept 10+2 scores from any CBSE, ICSE or state board stream for a psychology Bachelors.
Bachelors in Clinical Psychology in USA SAT, ACT and English Test Scores
Bachelors in Clinical Psychology in USA SAT, ACT and English rules differ at the top universities. Harvard, Columbia and Princeton require SAT or ACT for Fall 2027. Yale, Stanford, UC Berkeley, UCLA, NYU and Penn stay test-optional. Strong scores help Indian applicants stand out.
| University | sat | act | TOEFL iBT | IELTS | Duolingo |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Harvard University | Not stated | Not stated | No minimum published | No minimum published | No minimum published |
| Stanford University | Not stated | Not stated | Not required | Not required | Not required |
| Yale University | Not stated | Not stated | 100 | 7 | 120 |
| Columbia University | Not stated | Not stated | 100 | 7 | 135 |
| University of Michigan | Not stated | Not stated | 100 | 7.0 | Not stated |
| University of California, Los Angeles | Not stated | Not stated | 100 | 7.5 | 135 |
| University of California, Berkeley | Not stated | Not stated | 90 | 6.5 | 115 |
| New York University | Not stated | Not stated | 100 | 7.5 | 135 |
| University of Pennsylvania | Not stated | Not stated | 100 recommended | 7.0 recommended | 130 recommended |
| Princeton University | Not stated | Not stated | 100 iBT | 7.0 | Accepted, no minimum |
Even where tests stay optional, Indian applicants face unknown schools in US admissions eyes. A strong SAT or ACT score builds the academic case. English test floors vary by university as shown above.
Test Scores: Test-optional policies change each cycle at every US university. Check each school’s admissions page before you submit a Fall 2027 application.
Scholarships for Bachelors in Clinical Psychology in USA
Bachelors in Clinical Psychology in USA scholarships include QS Undergraduate, MPOWER Global Citizen and Education Future International. QS gives USD 10,000 (INR 9.46 Lakhs) towards tuition. MPOWER closes 31 January 2027. Education Future is closed as of October 2026.
| Scholarship | Coverage | Status for Fall 2027 |
|---|---|---|
| QS Undergraduate Scholarship | USD 10,000 (INR 9.46 Lakhs) | Next round unconfirmed, expected 2027 |
| MPOWER Global Citizen Scholarship | Up to USD 8,000 (INR 7.57 Lakhs) | Opens December 2026, deadline 31 January 2027 |
| Education Future International Scholarship | INR 2-10 lakh grant | Closed 2026 round; 2027 cycle unannounced |
| Harvard Financial Aid (Harvard) | Need-based; free under USD 100,000 (INR 94.59 Lakhs) | Automatic on admission |
| Stanford Need-Based Aid (Stanford) | Full tuition if income under USD 100,000 (INR 94.59 Lakhs) | Automatic on admission |
| LSA International Student Scholarship (Michigan) | Partial cost of attendance | Automatic on admission |
| Quaker Commitment (UPenn) | Full tuition grant | Automatic on admission |
Most India-based trusts fund postgraduate study only. Inlaks, KC Mahindra, JN Tata and Fulbright-Nehru will not consider a Bachelors applicant. Indian students should focus on external and university-internal grants.
Scholarships: As of October 2026, Fulbright-Nehru, Inlaks, KC Mahindra and JN Tata fund postgraduate study only. Bachelors applicants are ineligible. The Reliance Foundation scholarship covers studies in India only. Education Future needs proof that 50 percent of fees come via an education loan.
Bachelors in Clinical Psychology in USA Student Visa and OPT
Bachelors in Clinical Psychology in USA student visa route is the F-1, with 12 months of OPT after graduation. International applicants apply after getting the Form I-20 from the SEVP-certified US university.
- Get Form I-20 from a SEVP-certified US university after admission.
- Pay the SEVIS I-901 fee of USD 350 (INR 33,106) online.
- Fill Form DS-160 as the nonimmigrant visa application.
- Pay the MRV fee of USD 185 (INR 17,499) online.
- Book an F-1 visa interview at a US Embassy or Consulate in India.
- Carry passport, I-20, fee receipts and financial documents to the interview.
- Show passport, F-1 visa and I-20 to CBP at the US port of entry.
After graduation, F-1 holders get 12 months of OPT work authorization. Clinical Psychology is not on the DHS STEM list, so the 24-month STEM OPT extension does not apply.
Visa: Clinical Psychology Bachelors is not a STEM-designated field. Graduates get only 12 months of OPT with no 24-month STEM extension available.
Jobs and Salary After Bachelors in Clinical Psychology in USA
US Bachelors in Clinical Psychology jobs include Research Assistant, Behavioral Health Technician, Case Manager, Counselor Assistant and ABA Therapist. A Bachelors alone does not allow licensed clinical practice in the USA.
Most Bachelors graduates enroll in a Masters, PsyD or PhD before clinical practice. Psychiatric Technicians earn a median USD 42,590 (INR 40.29 Lakhs) per BLS 2024. Mental Health Counselors earn a median USD 59,190 (INR 55.99 Lakhs) per BLS. Social and Human Service Assistants earn a median USD 45,120 (INR 42.68 Lakhs). University of Georgia reported median USD 42,000 (INR 39.73 Lakhs) for Psychology Class of 2024. Counselor demand grows 17 percent through 2034 per BLS projections. Indian graduates often return home to pursue a Masters in Clinical Psychology.
Conclusion
Early Action strivers target Harvard or Yale by 1 November 2026.
- Shortlist two Early Action, two Regular Decision and three safety universities.
- Submit Early Action to Harvard or Yale by 1 November 2026.
- Book SAT or TOEFL test slots by December 2026.
- Apply to MPOWER Global Citizen Scholarship by 31 January 2027.
- Submit Michigan Regular Decision application by 1 February 2027.
For graduate paths, see the Masters in Clinical Psychology in USA listing.
FAQs
Ques. How much does a Bachelors in Clinical Psychology in USA cost for Indian students?
Ans. Tuition at the top 10 runs from USD 55,700 (INR 52.69 Lakhs) at UCLA to USD 75,960 (INR 71.85 Lakhs) at Chicago. Harvard charges USD 62,226 (INR 58.86 Lakhs). Yale charges USD 72,500 (INR 68.58 Lakhs). Public UC campuses sit lower. Living adds USD 16,246 (INR 15.37 Lakhs) at Michigan to USD 29,070 (INR 27.5 Lakhs) at UCLA. Indian students should budget tuition and living together. On-campus housing stays cheaper than private rentals in New York and Los Angeles.
Ques. Can Indian students study Bachelors in Clinical Psychology in USA after 12th?
Ans. Yes, Indian students can apply after Class 12 with strong grades. Universities ask for the Common Application, transcripts and essays. SAT or ACT is required at Harvard and Princeton; others stay test-optional through 2026-27. English floors run from TOEFL 80 or IELTS 6.5 up to TOEFL 100 or IELTS 7 at Yale. Early Action rounds close on 1 November 2026.
Ques. Does the USA offer a BA titled Clinical Psychology?
Ans. No top 10 US university offers a Bachelors titled Clinical Psychology. Harvard awards an AB in Psychology without a dedicated clinical track. Yale offers a BA or BS in Psychology. Michigan runs a BA or BS in Psychology with a Clinical sub-plan option. UCLA and UC Berkeley both offer a BA in Psychology with clinical electives. Formal clinical psychology study starts at the Masters, PsyD or PhD level in the US system. Indian students should pick Psychology majors with clinical coursework like Abnormal Psychology at Penn. Graduate specialization completes the clinical path.
Ques. Is SAT or ACT required for a Bachelors in Clinical Psychology in USA?
Ans. Most top 10 US universities remain test-optional for Fall 2027 Bachelors admission. Harvard requires SAT or ACT scores for Fall 2027 entry. Princeton also requires SAT or ACT starting the 2025-26 cycle. Columbia requires SAT or ACT for first-year applicants starting August 2027. UCLA and UC Berkeley stay test-optional under current UC policy. Stanford and Penn list testing as optional for 2026-27. Strong SAT or ACT scores still help Indian applicants stand out in admissions review. Indian students should book SAT slots by December 2026.
Ques. Can you practise clinical psychology in the USA with just a Bachelors degree?
Ans. No, licensed practice requires a Masters, PsyD or PhD plus state licensure. Bachelors graduates work as research assistants, case managers, behavioral technicians or ABA therapists while applying to Masters. Mental Health Counselors earn a median USD 59,190 (INR 55.99 Lakhs) per BLS 2024. These support roles build hours needed for Masters admission. Indian graduates often return home for a Masters in Clinical Psychology.
Ques. What scholarships are available for Indian students doing a Bachelors in Clinical Psychology in USA?
Ans. Three external awards fit Indian Bachelors applicants: QS Undergraduate, MPOWER Global Citizen and Education Future International. QS gives USD 10,000 (INR 9.46 Lakhs) toward tuition at any QS-ranked university. MPOWER opens December 2026 and its USD 8,000 (INR 7.57 Lakhs) grand prize deadline is 31 January 2027. Education Future gives INR 2 Lakhs to INR 10 Lakhs but closed its 2026 round. Fulbright-Nehru, Inlaks, KC Mahindra and JN Tata fund postgraduate study only, not Bachelors applicants. Universities run internal need-based aid like Harvard Financial Aid.
Ques. How long is OPT after a Bachelors in Clinical Psychology in USA?
Ans. Bachelors graduates get 12 months of OPT after graduation. Psychology is not on the DHS STEM-Designated Degree List, so the 24-month STEM OPT extension does not apply. Many Indian graduates use this year to apply for a Masters or PsyD. H-1B sponsorship is rare for Psychology roles. Only STEM-adjacent Masters or PhD graduates unlock the 36 months cap for US work.



















1720691033.png?tr=w-305,h-145,c-force?h=175&w=350&mode=stretch)




Comments