Master of Business Administration [M.B.A] (Human Resources)
Field of Study:
$15,104 /Yr
University of Houston-Downtown (UHD) offers Master of Business Administration (M.B.A) Human Resources as a 32-credit graduate degree in Houston, Texas. The full-time international route offers online, in-person or hybrid study, takes as little as one year and requires a bachelor’s degree or equivalent. Calculated 2026-27 programme fees are US$30,002 (INR 28.96 Lakhs) plus the US$80 (INR 7,723) international application fee for Spring 2027.
The specialization combines 17 core MBA credits with 15 Human Resource Management credits covering employment law, talent acquisition, talent management, compensation and strategic HR. Certificate classes run one evening class every eight weeks, so the route suits Indian applicants seeking business breadth with a defined people-management focus. The current official MBA Human Resource Management page identifies candidates entering HRM and seasoned professionals as intended audiences.
- The full-time route permits up to three courses in each eight-week term, which can support a compressed completion plan.
- The five-course HR certificate sequence can be completed over 12 months within the MBA structure.
- Online, in-person and hybrid delivery options let applicants align attendance with their work and relocation constraints.
Current Admission Status
Applications for the Spring 2027 intake are Open. International student deadline: 01 October 2026.
UHD publishes no cutoff time or timezone for this deadline. Complete the file before the date because international admission requires a full-time process and financial documents.
Also Check: UHD graduate admission requirements
UHD MBA Human Resources Fees and Living Costs 2027
The Human Resources route has 32 credits, made up of 17 MBA core credits and 15 HR credits. The current Fall 2026 to Summer 2027 international schedule gives a calculated two-term total of US$30,002 (INR 28.96 Lakhs). The total excludes living costs and may increase if UHD assigns leveling courses.
Target-cycle fee context: The table uses the current international MBA schedule and separates its two-term calculation from a conflicting approximate figure on UHD’s graduate tuition page. The current schedule states that fees are subject to change without notice.
| Cost item | Official foreign amount | INR equivalent | Basis |
|---|---|---|---|
| International MBA schedule, 18 credits | US$16,779.50 | INR 16.20 Lakhs | US$16,006.50 tuition (INR 15.45 Lakhs) + US$728 mandatory fees (INR 70,279) + US$45 international education fee (INR 4,344) |
| International MBA schedule, 14 credits | US$13,222.50 | INR 12.76 Lakhs | US$12,449.50 tuition (INR 12.02 Lakhs) + US$728 mandatory fees (INR 70,279) + US$45 international education fee (INR 4,344) |
| Calculated 32-credit programme total | US$30,002.00 | INR 28.96 Lakhs | US$16,779.50 (INR 16.20 Lakhs) + US$13,222.50 (INR 12.76 Lakhs) |
| International application fee | US$80 | INR 7,723 | Non-refundable graduate application charge for international applicants |
| Conflicting approximate MBA total on graduate tuition page | US$22,044.00 | INR 21.28 Lakhs | Separate calculation dated March 24, 2026; not used because the current fee schedule gives the target-cycle term totals |
All INR conversions in the article use a conversion rate of USD 1 = INR 96.5372 as of 16 August 2026. Rates fluctuate daily, verify before applying.
Source: University of Houston-Downtown AY 2026-27 MBA tuition schedule and MBA Graduate Tuition page.
- The calculated 32-credit total uses two current international term totals, so a different credit distribution should be checked against the published schedule before payment.
- The separate US$22,044.00 (INR 21.28 Lakhs) approximation conflicts with the current schedule, so request a written term-by-term bill before finalising a loan.
- The US$80 (INR 7,723) application charge is separate from tuition and is payable during the international application process.
- Leveling courses are outside the 32-credit total, which means transcript review can extend both the study plan and the budget.
Cost of Living in Houston for MBA Human Resources Students
UHD’s 2026-27 cost page lists US$22,925 (INR 22.13 Lakhs) in annual non-tuition costs for a non-resident graduate living off campus. The official estimate combines living expenses, transportation, miscellaneous expenses and books.
Because the page gives a combined estimate rather than a rent schedule, applicants should not treat it as a published apartment-price range. Monthly values below are calculated by dividing each annual amount by 12.
| Expense | Monthly (USD) | Monthly (INR) | Annual (USD) | Annual (INR) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Living expenses | US$1,233.50 | INR 1.19 Lakhs | US$14,802 | INR 14.29 Lakhs |
| Transportation | US$251.33 | INR 24,263 | US$3,016 | INR 2.91 Lakhs |
| Miscellaneous expenses | US$389.50 | INR 37,601 | US$4,674 | INR 4.51 Lakhs |
| Books, course materials, supplies and equipment | US$36.08 | INR 3,483 | US$433 | INR 41,801 |
| Official non-tuition estimate, calculated | US$1,910.42 | INR 1.84 Lakhs | US$22,925 | INR 22.13 Lakhs |
Adding the 32-credit fee calculation, one official annual non-tuition estimate and the application fee gives a calculated one-year planning budget of US$53,007 (INR 51.17 Lakhs).
The arithmetic is US$30,002.00 (INR 28.96 Lakhs) + US$22,925 (INR 22.13 Lakhs) + US$80 (INR 7,723). This illustration excludes travel, health insurance and any leveling or extended study period.
Read More: U.S. study cost planning
Fee verification note
The current term schedule and the separate approximate tuition page do not agree. Use the current international term rows for planning, then request UHD’s written invoice before accepting a funding offer.
Key insight: A calculated one-year base budget is US$53,007 (INR 51.17 Lakhs), but the official tuition pages conflict. Get a term bill that confirms credits, fees and any leveling before borrowing.
UHD MBA Human Resources Admission 2027
International applicants must use the full-time MBA process because UHD does not offer the part-time MBA route to F-1 students. The current file requires an online application, official transcript, résumé, personal statement, application fee, English evidence and financial documents.
UHD does not publish a minimum GPA or a current GMAT (Graduate Management Admission Test) or GRE (Graduate Record Examinations) threshold on its checked international MBA pages. The current MBA admissions page should therefore control your checklist instead of older score tables.
Intakes and Academic Eligibility for Indian Applicants
The academic baseline is a conferred bachelor’s degree or equivalent, supported by official records. Foreign transcripts require a course-by-course evaluation that includes the GPA from a credential service recognised by UHD.
The table focuses on requirements published for the international full-time route. Since no minimum GPA is stated, UHD or its recognised evaluator makes the academic equivalency decision for each Indian transcript.
| Requirement | Current UHD requirement | Action for Indian applicants |
|---|---|---|
| Degree | Bachelor’s degree conferred, shown on an official transcript | Submit the degree-conferring university’s official record |
| Foreign transcript evaluation | Course-by-course evaluation with GPA from a UHD-recognised credential service | Order the evaluation early and confirm the service is accepted |
| Application file | Online application, résumé, personal statement of approximately 250 to 500 words, official transcript and application fee | State Human Resources as the intended MBA specialization in the statement |
| International study mode | Full-time MBA process required for F-1 applicants; part-time MBA unavailable | Confirm the attendance pattern that will support the Form I-20 |
UHD also requires a sponsor bank statement issued within three months showing at least US$35,000 (INR 33.79 Lakhs). This amount is an I-20 financial document, not a substitute for the official cost-of-attendance estimate.
- Send foreign transcripts for course-by-course evaluation before the Spring 2027 deadline because incomplete files cannot be reviewed.
- Use the 250 to 500 word statement to connect HR interests with talent acquisition, compensation or strategic people management.
- Ask UHD whether your planned online, in-person or hybrid schedule supports F-1 registration before paying tuition.
English Language Proficiency for Indian Applicants
English Language Proficiency (ELP) is the language evidence required for international admission. The current MBA page lists IELTS (International English Language Testing System) 6.5 or TOEFL (Test of English as a Foreign Language) iBT 81.
The current TOEFL iBT policy uses the 0 to 120 scale. It states: “The minimum score needed is 81 for iBT TOEFL.” UHD does not state an India-specific English-medium waiver.
| Test | Published minimum | Scale or policy note |
|---|---|---|
| IELTS | 6.5 | UHD lists the exam minimum without a band breakdown |
| TOEFL iBT | 81 | 0 to 120 scale; current page uses the iBT TOEFL wording |
| English-medium waiver | Not stated for India | Obtain written confirmation before relying on prior English-medium study |
- Book IELTS or TOEFL early enough to receive the official report before 01 October 2026.
- Do not self-convert the TOEFL score to the revised 1.0 to 6.0 scale because UHD currently publishes the 0 to 120 scale.
- Ask for a written waiver decision if your Indian degree was taught in English because the current page does not promise one.
Tip for Indian students: The file is document-led rather than score-led because UHD publishes no minimum GPA or GMAT/GRE benchmark. Secure transcript evaluation, English evidence and the US$35,000 (INR 33.79 Lakhs) financial document before the Spring deadline.
UHD MBA Human Resources Application 2027
The Spring 2027 international application is open with a final deadline of 01 October 2026; UHD publishes no cutoff time or decision date. Fall 2027 follows the recurring international MBA pattern with an Expected 01 May 2027 deadline, while Summer 2027 is not available to international MBA applicants on the current table.
The university publishes the deadline date without a timezone or clock time, so the portal timestamp controls submission. UHD’s current MBA information says a decision can take about two weeks after all required documents arrive, but that is not a fixed decision date.
International MBA Application Deadlines
Target-cycle context: Spring 2027 is the applicant-accessible intake for this page. The Fall date is labelled Expected because it follows the published recurring pattern rather than a separately dated future notice.
| Intake | International application deadline | Decision timing | Application status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Spring 2027 | 01 October 2026 | No fixed date published; about two weeks after a complete file | Open |
| Fall 2027 | Expected 01 May 2027 | No fixed date published | Expected recurring intake |
| Summer 2027 | N/A on the current international MBA table | Not applicable | Not offered to international MBA applicants |
The Spring deadline is the material timing constraint because the file must include transcripts, evaluation, English evidence, personal statement, résumé, passport and financial documents. Missing items can prevent review even when the online application has been submitted.
Application Sequence for Indian Applicants
Start with the online graduate application and pay the international fee, then send the official academic documents through the required evaluation route. The sequence matters because UHD cannot review the admission file until all required items have arrived.
- Submit the online application for the full-time MBA process and identify Human Resources as your intended specialization.
- Arrange the course-by-course transcript evaluation with GPA and send the official report through a UHD-recognised service.
- Upload the 250 to 500 word personal statement and a concise résumé showing measurable work, leadership or project evidence.
- Send the English score, passport copy, affidavit of support and recent sponsor bank statement for the Form I-20 review.
Application strategy: Treat 01 October 2026 as the complete-file deadline rather than the date to begin document collection. A finished evaluation and English report give the admissions team the material needed to review the Human Resources fit.
Timing note
UHD provides a date but no cutoff clock or fixed decision date. Submit the complete file through the portal early enough to resolve transcript, score or financial-document issues before the deadline.
Application tip: Spring 2027 is open until 01 October 2026, but the file requires evaluation, English evidence and funding documents. Finish those dependencies before submitting the online form.
UHD MBA Human Resources Scholarships 2027
No target-cycle international entry scholarship is verified for Spring 2027. The named route that may help an enrolled MBA student is the Graduate Assistantship, while the published Fall 2026 business grant excludes international students.
The assistantship offers a monthly stipend for service and can last one semester with a possible extension. It is therefore post-enrolment funding rather than a guaranteed admission award, so Indian applicants should keep the complete budget available until UHD confirms an offer.
Funding context: The table separates a current assistantship from the prior Fall 2026 grant. The grant is included because its international restriction changes the funding decision, not because it is available for Spring 2027.
| Funding route | Published amount | Eligibility and timing | Use for an Indian applicant |
|---|---|---|---|
| Graduate Assistantship | US$1,200 per month (INR 1.16 Lakhs per month) | Currently enrolled graduate business students in good standing; August start; minimum one semester with possible extension | Ask about international eligibility and apply after enrolment rather than reducing the admission budget |
| Business Graduate Program Grant, Fall 2026 prior cycle | Up to US$1,000 (up to INR 96,537) | Need-based, FAFSA required, at least half-time enrolment and August 1 enrolment; international students not eligible at this time | Do not count this grant toward Spring 2027 funding |
FAFSA means Free Application for Federal Student Aid, the form used for the published Fall 2026 grant criteria. Because that grant excludes international students, submitting FAFSA does not create a Spring 2027 award route for an Indian applicant.
- Model the US$53,007 (INR 51.17 Lakhs) one-year base budget without assistantship relief until a written stipend offer arrives.
- Ask whether the Graduate Assistantship is open to F-1 students because the current page describes enrolled graduate business students without naming a nationality rule.
- For a teaching assistantship, confirm the published academic conditions of 12 completed semester hours, a 3.50 GPA and at least 18 hours remaining.
Read More: U.S. scholarship planning
Funding reality
The current grant is not usable for international Spring 2027 entry, and the assistantship begins after enrolment. Treat both as possible relief only after written confirmation of eligibility, timing and value.
Scholarship reality: The verified international funding plan is self-funded or loan-funded at entry because the available grant excludes international students. Apply for the assistantship after enrolment without lowering the documented budget first.
UHD MBA Human Resources Salary 2027
UHD does not publish salary, offer rate or employment outcomes for the Human Resources MBA path. The closest official evidence is the Class of 2023 business outcomes report, which combines all MBA tracks and therefore serves only as a school-level proxy.
The report covers Summer 2022, Fall 2022 and Spring 2023 graduates, with a 100% knowledge rate and 60% employment rate. Knowledge rate means the share of graduates for whom outcome information was known, so the figures do not establish a Human Resources placement probability.
Market context comes from BLS (Bureau of Labor Statistics), the federal source for occupational wage data. Its May 2024 figures distinguish early-career specialist work from manager roles that typically require five or more years of related experience.
| Evidence scope | Cohort or period | Outcome measure | Salary measure | INR equivalent |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| School-level MBA, all tracks | Class of 2023 | 100% knowledge rate; 60% employment rate | US$75,850 average salary (INR 73.22 Lakhs); US$95,545 maximum salary (INR 92.24 Lakhs) | INR 73.22 Lakhs average; INR 92.24 Lakhs maximum |
| External job-market benchmark, Human Resources specialists | May 2024 BLS data | 6% projected growth from 2024 to 2034; 81,800 annual openings | US$72,910 median annual wage | INR 70.39 Lakhs |
| External job-market benchmark, Human Resources managers | May 2024 BLS data | 5% projected growth; 17,900 annual openings; five or more years of related experience typical | US$140,030 median annual wage | INR 1.35 Crore |
Source: UHD Class of 2023 business outcomes report and BLS May 2024 occupational wage and projection data.
The MBA proxy indicates reported outcomes across a broader cohort, while the specialist benchmark better fits an early HR transition. The manager benchmark is a later-career reference, so using it as an immediate post-MBA salary would overstate the evidence.
Return on Investment for Indian Applicants
Return on Investment (ROI) compares the calculated programme budget with evidence-supported career value. Because Human Resources course outcomes are unpublished, this is a risk analysis rather than a payback forecast.
- The calculated one-year base budget is US$53,007 (INR 51.17 Lakhs), so model borrowing against tuition, living costs and the application fee together.
- The Class of 2023 all-MBA proxy reports US$75,850 (INR 73.22 Lakhs) average salary and 60% employment, so request HR-specific outcomes before treating it as your target.
- The BLS specialist benchmark is US$72,910 (INR 70.39 Lakhs), while the US$140,030 (INR 1.35 Crore) manager benchmark assumes five or more years of related experience.
- Use the standard 12-month OPT period as the base case because STEM eligibility for this MBA Human Resources route is not verified.
- For an India-return plan, use a signed offer in INR rather than United States gross benchmarks when setting a repayment ceiling.
Reported salaries are gross figures rather than take-home pay, and taxes plus location alter cash flow. Use a current tax calculator before setting a repayment assumption from any United States offer.
Outcome scope note
The university reports MBA-wide outcomes but not the Human Resources path. Treat the proxy and BLS figures as planning inputs, then request role-level evidence from the programme or employer before borrowing.
ROI reality: The course’s one-year base budget is US$53,007 (INR 51.17 Lakhs), while its published salary evidence is broader than HR. Use the specialist benchmark for early roles and verify STEM eligibility before counting on a longer work window.
United States Visa for UHD MBA Human Resources Students 2027
Indian applicants normally use the F-1 (Student) visa for the full-time MBA process; the official student visa page lists a US$185 (INR 17,859) application fee. SEVIS (Student and Exchange Visitor Information System) I-901 costs US$350 (INR 33,788), making the two listed government charges US$535 (INR 51,647). SEVIS is the federal student-record system used before the I-20 and visa process. OPT (Optional Practical Training) is degree-related work authorisation with a standard post-completion window of up to 12 months, while STEM extension eligibility remains unverified for this route.
- Confirm whether your online, in-person or hybrid attendance pattern supports the F-1 Form I-20 before counting on post-study work.
- An H-1B specialty-occupation petition needs an employer sponsor and the required wage for the offered role, so verify the job classification and wage.
- F-2 dependent status can cover a spouse and unmarried minor children, but each dependent needs an individual I-20 and cannot work.
- Permanent residence has no fixed course-linked timeline, so keep host-country and India-return repayment cases separate.
Check Out: U.S. post-study work options
Visa reality: The defensible base case is US$535 (INR 51,647) for the listed visa and SEVIS charges plus 12 months of standard OPT. Confirm the attendance pattern and STEM classification before assuming a longer U.S. work window.
University of Houston-Downtown MBA Human Resources suits Indian applicants who want a 32-credit MBA with a defined 15-credit HR specialization and flexible delivery. The core and HR sequence connects business leadership with talent acquisition, compensation and strategic people management for applicants moving toward HR roles. The material tradeoff is a calculated one-year base budget of US$53,007 (INR 51.17 Lakhs) alongside broader MBA salary evidence and unconfirmed STEM extension eligibility. Submit the complete Spring 2027 file by 01 October 2026 after confirming the tuition invoice, attendance pattern, funding position and transcript evaluation.
UHD MBA Human Resources FAQs
Ques. Does UHD MBA Human Resources award an MBA or only an HR certificate?
Ans. The route awards an MBA with a Human Resource Management specialization. It combines 17 MBA core credits with 15 HR credits, making 32 credits overall.
Ques. What budget should an Indian applicant use for Spring 2027?
Ans. Use the calculated one-year base of US$53,007 (INR 51.17 Lakhs). It combines the current 32-credit schedule, one annual non-tuition estimate and the US$80 (INR 7,723) fee. Add leveling or longer-study costs.
Ques. Can an international applicant choose the online Human Resources MBA mode?
Ans. The programme page lists online, in-person and hybrid delivery, but international applicants must use the full-time MBA process. Confirm the attendance pattern that supports the F-1 Form I-20 before choosing online study.
Ques. Can Indian applicants rely on a UHD scholarship for Spring 2027?
Ans. No target-cycle international entry award is verified. The Fall 2026 grant offers up to US$1,000 (up to INR 96,537) but excludes international students. The US$1,200 (INR 1.16 Lakhs) assistantship is post-enrolment and conditional.
Ques. What career evidence and work period should support the ROI model?
Ans. No HR-specific salary report is published. The Class of 2023 all-MBA proxy should be read with the BLS specialist benchmark of US$72,910 (INR 70.39 Lakhs). Use standard 12-month OPT until UHD confirms STEM eligibility.
Tuition Fees
| Year | 1st Year Fees |
|---|---|
| Tuition Fees | $15104 |
Other Expenses
| Head | Avg Cost Per Year |
|---|---|
| Books and supply | $1296 |
| Miscellaneous expenses | $4416 |
Previous Year Tuition Fees
| Year | 1st Year Fees |
|---|---|
| 2023 | $14912 |
Scores Required
- Average GMAT: 600
- Average GPA: 3.30
- GMAT waiver: have an undergraduate GPA of 3.5 or higher,3.5 or higher in their last 60 hours

Do you think the Rankings are wrong ? Report Here
Key Resources for Your Study Abroad Journey
Course Guides
Best MS Courses in USA for International Students in 2025
Executive MBA in USA: Deadlines, Fees, Jobs & Salaries
Masters (MS) in USA: Colleges, Courses, Deadlines, Eligibility & Fees
Scholarship Grants & Financial Aids
| Name | Scholarship Per Student | Level of Study | Type | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bharat Petroleum Scholarship | Scholarship per studentVariable Amount | Level Of StudyMaster | TypeMerit-Based | |
| Comindware Scholarship | Scholarship per student$ 4,000/Yr$4,000 | Level Of StudyApprenticeship | TypeMerit-Based | |
| Forktip Women’s- Innovation Scholarship | Scholarship per studentVariable Amount | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeCollege-Specific | |
| FINCAD Women in Finance Scholarship | Scholarship per student$ 20,000/Yr$20,000 | Level Of StudyMaster | TypeMerit-Based | |
| Jane M. Klausman Women in Business Scholarship | Scholarship per student$ 5,000/Yr$5,000 | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeMerit-Based | |
| Ritchie-Jennings Memorial Scholarship Program | Scholarship per student$ 10,000/Yr$10,000 | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeMerit-Based |
Similar Programs
| Program | Important Date | Total Fees | Median Exams Score | Action |
|---|---|---|---|---|
-- | USD 15,104 /Yr |
| ||
| USD 25,396 /Yr |
| |||
| USD 14,561 /Yr |
| |||
MBA, University of Texas Dallas18 months | USD 44,412 /Yr |
|
Do you think the Dates are wrong ? Report Here













.png?h=32&w=32&mode=fit)





Comments