Bachelor of Arts [BA] (Comparative Literature)
Field of Study:
₹68.2 L/Yr
Cornell University Bachelor of Arts in Comparative Literature is a four-year, full-time, in-person degree in Ithaca requiring 120 credits and a strong secondary-school record. August 2027 tuition is unpublished; 2026-27 tuition was US$73,946 (INR 70.38 Lakhs), as a prior-cycle reference.
The major trains students to compare texts, theory, film and media across cultures through substantial work in original languages. It best fits multilingual readers who want an adaptable humanities curriculum and can sustain close reading, analytical writing and advanced language study.
- Students choose either Comparative Literary Studies or Literary, Visual and Media Studies while retaining a common foundation in comparison and theory.
- The 30-credit major leaves room for another major, study abroad or complementary coursework within the broader 120-credit Bachelor of Arts degree.
- An optional senior essay creates a supervised research route for students considering graduate study, publishing or other writing-intensive work.
Current Admission Status
Applications for the August 2027 intake are Not Yet Open. International student deadline: 2 January 2027, expected from Cornell’s published recurring schedule.
Cornell publishes the Common Application opening in August and does not state a portal cutoff timezone. Indian applicants should prepare school documents before August and treat Cornell’s portal timestamp as controlling once the cycle opens.
Also Check: Cornell University Admission
Cornell BA Comparative Literature Fees and Living Costs 2027
August 2027 tuition has not been published on Cornell’s checked undergraduate cost page. The table therefore uses Cornell’s 2026-27 amount only as prior-cycle planning context and does not project a 2027-28 charge.
| Cost item | Official amount | INR equivalent |
|---|---|---|
| Undergraduate tuition, 2026-27 prior-cycle reference | US$73,946 | INR 70.38 Lakhs |
| First-year application fee, current published | US$85 | INR 8,090 |
All INR conversions in the article use a conversion rate of USD 1 = INR 95.18 as of 15 June 2026. Rates fluctuate daily, verify before applying.
The tuition reference excludes living expenses and cannot support a confirmed 2027-28 total. Indian families should use US$73,946 (INR 70.38 Lakhs) only as a lower planning anchor, then retain a contingency until Cornell publishes the new rate.
Cost of Living in Ithaca for Comparative Literature Students
Cornell International Services estimates graduate living expenses at US$37,418 (INR 35.61 Lakhs) for 2026-27. This is the closest current official international-student planning figure, not a residence quote or an undergraduate bill.
| Expense | Monthly (USD) | Monthly (INR) |
|---|---|---|
| Combined living estimate | US$3,118 | INR 2.97 Lakhs |
| Annual total | US$37,418 | INR 35.61 Lakhs |
Adding the two 2026-27 references gives a prior-cycle planning illustration of US$111,364 (INR 1.06 Crore) for tuition and living costs. The arithmetic is US$73,946 plus US$37,418 and excludes travel, insurance and later fee changes.
Verify the target fee on the official cost-to-attend page. Families should wait for the 2027-28 rate before fixing a four-year borrowing requirement because neither this one-year illustration nor future annual increases are confirmed.
ROI reality: The prior-cycle first-year tuition and living illustration already exceeds INR 1 Crore, so admission without sufficient aid creates substantial exchange-rate and four-year funding exposure.
Cornell BA Comparative Literature Admission 2027
Cornell admits students to the College of Arts and Sciences, while the Comparative Literature major itself has no prerequisites for declaration. Applicants must present a demanding secondary curriculum, required testing and evidence that their interests match cross-cultural literary study.
Academic Eligibility and Course Preparation
Cornell publishes no minimum percentage or grade point average for first-year admission. Indian applicants should therefore submit their complete CBSE, CISCE or state-board record, and Cornell makes the official equivalency decision in the school context.
| Requirement | Published expectation | Applicant meaning |
|---|---|---|
| Secondary record | Official transcript with completed and in-progress courses | Submit the school-issued record through an accepted channel |
| Standardized test | SAT or ACT required for fall 2026 entry and later | August 2027 applicants must include one accepted test |
| Major declaration | No Comparative Literature prerequisites | Students declare after enrolment through the department process |
| Major standard | Minimum C in each course counted toward the major | Language and theory coursework must meet this floor |
Academic fit depends on more than broad interest in books because half of the major’s minimum 30 credits involves works read in languages other than English. A strong application should connect existing language study and analytical writing to one of the two available curricular tracks.
English Language Proficiency
International applicants may need an approved English proficiency test. Cornell publishes IELTS Academic 7.5 and a TOEFL iBT minimum of 100 only for tests taken before January 2026. The readable first-year page does not state a post-21 January 2026 TOEFL scale threshold.
| Route | Published threshold | Important condition |
|---|---|---|
| IELTS Academic | Overall 7.5 | Use this currently stated route when a test is required |
| TOEFL iBT before January 2026 | Total 100 on the legacy 0 to 120 scale | This does not establish a threshold for a newly taken 2026 test |
- Indian applicants needing a fresh test can prioritise IELTS because Cornell states a current usable threshold for that examination.
- Applicants considering TOEFL after 21 January 2026 should verify Cornell’s published scale before booking and must not self-convert the legacy score.
- Students should allow time for score delivery before the chosen application deadline because the submitted file must document every required component.
Test policy note
The current first-year page does not provide a post-21 January 2026 TOEFL conversion. Verify the target-cycle rule on the official first-year admissions page before choosing TOEFL.
Tip for Indian students: Language preparation matters twice because it can satisfy admission evidence and support original-language reading across half of the major coursework.
Cornell BA Comparative Literature Application 2027
The programme has one August 2027 intake through Cornell’s first-year process. Cornell publishes recurring month-and-day deadlines without target-year labels, so the 2026 and 2027 dates below are expected calendar placements rather than confirmed target-cycle dates.
| Application stage | Expected deadline | Published decision timing |
|---|---|---|
| Early Decision application and international aid | Expected 1 November 2026 | Mid-December |
| Early Decision supporting materials | Expected 13 November 2026 | Mid-December |
| Regular Decision application and international aid | Expected 2 January 2027 | Late March |
| Regular Decision supporting materials | Expected 19 January 2027 | Late March |
Cornell does not publish a deadline hour or timezone on the checked page, so no reliable IST conversion is possible. Indian applicants should submit before the calendar date begins in Ithaca and confirm the portal timestamp when the 2027 cycle opens.
How to Build a Course-Specific Application
The Common Application file includes the Cornell supplement, an official transcript, a school report, a counsellor recommendation and two teacher recommendations. For Comparative Literature, the written material should demonstrate how the applicant compares texts or media across languages instead of presenting reading as an unsupported pastime.
- Choose Early Decision only when Cornell is the binding first choice and the estimated aid process can support the cost.
- Use one recommendation from a teacher who can evidence close reading, argument development or sustained writing rather than merely reporting a grade.
- Connect language study to original-language analysis because that curricular requirement distinguishes this major from a general literature pathway.
- Complete the financial-aid application with the admission file because international students cannot request institutional aid later if they omit it initially.
Check Out: Cornell University Profile
Application tip: The expected Early Decision and Regular Decision dates share the same aid deadline as the application, making funding documents part of application strategy rather than a later task.
Cornell BA Comparative Literature Scholarships 2027
Cornell offers international undergraduates need-based aid rather than a published merit award for Comparative Literature. International admission is need-aware, but Cornell states that admitted students can receive support meeting their demonstrated financial need.
| Funding route | Who can be considered | Application route and timing |
|---|---|---|
| Cornell undergraduate financial aid | Admitted international students with demonstrated need | Apply for aid with the admission application |
| Tata Scholarship | Admitted students who attended secondary school in India and qualify for need-based aid | Submit the admission application and CSS Profile by the chosen admission deadline |
| Levitan Family Scholarship | Admitted students educated outside the United States who require significant need-based aid | Enter consideration through the undergraduate aid process |
No fixed 2027-28 award amount is published for these routes because support follows assessed need. Cornell states that its aid offers may combine grants, work-study and reasonable student loans, so the award letter must be tested against the family’s available funds.
The Tata Scholarship supports about 20 scholars at any point and can continue for up to eight semesters while financial need remains. Comparative Literature does not receive Tata’s stated preference for selected science, social-science and professional areas, so eligible applicants should not treat nationality as an award guarantee.
- Request aid during the original application because an international student who omits it cannot seek undergraduate aid from Cornell later.
- Prepare the CSS Profile and family financial evidence before the admission deadline because the aid and application calendars coincide.
- Compare the final grant, work-study and loan components against the prior-cycle cost illustration before accepting a binding Early Decision offer.
Read More: Cornell University Scholarships
Scholarship reality: Need-based aid can materially change affordability, but international need-aware review and unfixed award values make a complete aid application essential before any enrolment commitment.
Cornell BA Comparative Literature Salary 2027
Cornell does not publish a Comparative Literature salary or placement rate, so course-level repayment cannot be calculated responsibly. The closest official evidence is Cornell’s Class of 2025 university-wide undergraduate outcome, which includes many degrees with different labour-market paths.
| Evidence scope | Class of 2025 outcome | INR equivalent |
|---|---|---|
| University-wide undergraduates with known outcomes | 72.1% knowledge rate | Not applicable |
| University-wide employed or in graduate school | 91.3% within six months | Not applicable |
| University-wide full-time US employment | US$89,055 mean base salary | INR 84.76 Lakhs |
Source: Cornell University Career Development, undergraduate Class of 2025 overview.
The salary is self-reported, excludes international salaries and represents only graduates employed full-time in the United States. It is not a Comparative Literature graduate salary, so applicants should use the dashboard’s major filter when sufficient responses become available.
Academic Value and Career Tradeoffs
The curriculum builds original-language interpretation, theory and sustained writing through two distinct tracks. Those capabilities can support publishing, communications, education, law preparation or further study, but Cornell provides no course-specific hiring probability for any route.
- The prior-cycle one-year cost illustration exceeds INR 1 Crore, so applicants should avoid borrowing on the assumption that the university-wide salary applies to this major.
- The optional 50-page senior essay can strengthen a research or graduate-school portfolio, but it adds substantial independent work without a published salary premium.
- The media track can pair textual analysis with film or visual study, so students targeting communications roles should build practical projects alongside required theory courses.
- Students considering an India return should map language and writing skills to named roles before enrolling because Cornell publishes no India-specific Comparative Literature outcomes.
Actual take-home pay depends on location, taxes and work authorization, while the reported figure is gross base salary. Applicants should test any offer through an official federal and state tax calculator rather than treating the survey mean as disposable income.
Honest take: Comparative Literature offers clear academic depth but sparse course-level employment evidence, making portfolio design and funding terms more decision-useful than a university-wide salary average.
US Visa for Cornell BA Comparative Literature Students 2027
International students normally study under the F-1 visa. This STEM-designated degree can support 12 months of Optional Practical Training followed by a 24-month extension when all eligibility rules are met. The visa does not itself create permanent residence, and any later employment route requires separate employer and immigration eligibility.
- Optional Practical Training provides up to 12 months of relevant employment, so students should connect proposed roles directly to Comparative Literature coursework.
- The STEM extension can add 24 months when the degree classification, employer and training plan satisfy current federal requirements.
- H-1B sponsorship remains a separate process, and the cached statutory salary reference of US$60,000 (INR 57.11 Lakhs) is not a guaranteed offer or universal prevailing wage.
- An eligible spouse may accompany the student in dependent status, but the family should verify current work rights and funding requirements before accepting admission.
There is no fixed graduation-to-permanent-residence timeline because permanent residence depends on a separate qualifying category and case circumstances. Health insurance is mandatory, so students must keep that charge separate from Cornell’s combined living estimate when evaluating funding.
Read More: United States Study Guide
Visa reality: The potential 36-month work window improves time for relevant experience, but it does not repair an unaffordable funding plan or guarantee employer sponsorship.
Cornell’s Comparative Literature BA best fits multilingual students who want theory-led comparison across literature, film and media. Its flexible tracks support tailored academic development, while original-language work creates a demanding preparation requirement. The main tradeoff is a high cost without course-specific salary evidence. Applicants should align language preparation, aid documents and the selected decision plan before the August 2027 application opens.
Cornell BA Comparative Literature FAQs
Ques. Is Cornell’s Comparative Literature BA suitable without advanced language study?
Ans. The major has no declaration prerequisite, but half of its minimum 30 credits requires original-language study. Applicants lacking advanced preparation should assess whether their four-year plan can accommodate language development alongside theory and track requirements.
Ques. Should an Indian applicant choose Early Decision for this course?
Ans. Early Decision makes sense only when Cornell is the binding first choice and the family can act on the aid offer. Because aid documents share the expected 1 November deadline, funding preparation must precede the commitment.
Ques. What is a realistic first-year budget for Cornell Comparative Literature?
Ans. The 2026-27 tuition and living references total US$111,364 (INR 1.06 Crore) as a prior-cycle planning illustration. This excludes unconfirmed insurance, travel and 2027-28 changes, so it cannot serve as a final target-year budget.
Ques. Can the Tata Scholarship fund this BA for an Indian student?
Ans. Eligible Indian-school applicants with demonstrated need enter consideration by applying for admission and aid together. Comparative Literature lacks the stated programme preference attached to several other fields, so applicants need a backup funding plan.
Ques. Does the STEM designation guarantee three years of US work?
Ans. No, it creates potential eligibility for 12 months of Optional Practical Training and a 24-month extension under current rules. Employment must remain relevant and compliant, while later sponsorship and permanent residence require separate approvals.
Important Alert
- Early Decision Application Deadline for 2027 Intake - Nov 1, 2026
Tuition Fees
| Year | 1st Year Fees |
|---|---|
| Tuition Fees | ₹6816593 (USD 71266) |
Other Expenses
| Head | Avg Cost Per Year |
|---|---|
| Housing | ₹1266980 (USD 13246) |
| Food | ₹682176 (USD 7132) |
Previous Year Tuition Fees
| Year | 1st Year Fees |
|---|---|
| 2025 | ₹6816593 (USD 71266) |
| 2024 | ₹6540547 (USD 68380) |
Important Dates
| Event | Application Date |
|---|---|
| Early Decision Application Deadline for 2027 Intake | Nov 1, 2026 |
| Regular Decision Application Deadline 2027 Intake | Jan 2, 2027 |
Scores Required
Required Document List
Complete Application
Application Fee
Official Transcripts
English Language Requirements
Documentation of Financial Support
Three Recommendation Letter


Do you think the Rankings are wrong ? Report Here
TOP Scholarships
| Scholarship name | Award amount | Eligibility |
|---|---|---|
| Cornell Endowed Scholarships | Varies | Undergraduate students who are eligible for a Cornell grant may also be eligible for named endowed scholarships. |
Key Resources for Your Study Abroad Journey
Scholarship Grants & Financial Aids
| Name | Scholarship Per Student | Level of Study | Type | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ritchie-Jennings Memorial Scholarship Program | Scholarship per student₹ 9.6 L/Yr$10,000 | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeMerit-Based | |
| Axol Science Scholarship | Scholarship per student₹ 1.9 L/Yr$2,000 | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeCompany-Sponsored | |
| VueVille Future Technology Scholarship | Scholarship per student₹ 95,650/Yr$1,000 | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeMerit-Based | |
| R&D Systems Scholarship | Scholarship per student₹ 1.4 L/Yr$1,500 | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeMerit-Based | |
| BL Mandhana Scholarships | Scholarship per student₹ 9.6 L/Yr$10,000 | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeMerit-Based | |
| Go Clean Scholarship | Scholarship per student₹ 3.3 L/Yr$3,500 | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeMerit-Based |
Similar Programs
| Program | Important Date | Total Fees | Median Exams Score | Action |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Early Decision Application Deadline for 2027 Intake (1st Nov 2026) Regular Decision Application Deadline 2027 Intake (2nd Jan 2027) | INR 68.2 L/Yr USD 71,266 /Yr |
| ||
-- | INR 61.9 L/Yr USD 64,730 /Yr |
| ||
-- | INR 58.3 L/Yr USD 60,946 /Yr |
|
Do you think the Dates are wrong ? Report Here














.jpeg?h=32&w=32&mode=fit)




Comments