Bachelor of Science [B.S] (Mathematics and Data Science)
Field of Study:
$88,100 /Yr
Bethel University Bachelor of Science in Mathematics and Data Science is a four-year, full-time, on-campus degree in St. Paul, Minnesota, requiring 122 credits. International applicants need secondary-school completion and 3.0 grade average on 4.0 scale; Indian applicants need approximately 75% to 80% or 7.5 to 8.0 on 10. For Spring 2027, applications are open on a rolling basis and annual tuition and fees are US$26,700 (INR 25.48 Lakhs).
The curriculum connects calculus, probability, proof, programming, databases, data mining, machine learning and business analytics. It suits Indian students who want mathematical depth with practical computing, research and internship options. The tradeoff is a demanding quantitative sequence inside a Christian liberal-arts setting, so fit depends on preparation and comfort with faith-based community expectations.
- The 68 to 69-credit major combines mathematics, computer science and business analytics instead of isolating data science from its mathematical foundations.
- Students can build experience through faculty research, internships, peer tutoring, student grading, information technology work and discipline-related clubs.
- Bethel’s Career Commitment adds structured support if an eligible graduate has not secured full-time work or graduate-school admission within six months.
Current Admission Status
Applications for the Spring 2027 intake are Open. International student deadline: Not separately published for Spring 2027; admissions are rolling.
Bethel’s current international page says applications continue until May 1, but it does not attach that date to Spring 2027. Indian applicants should submit a complete file early and confirm the term cutoff with admissions.
Also Check: Bethel international admissions
Bethel Mathematics and Data Science Fees and Living Costs 2027
For the 2026-27 academic cycle, Bethel lists annual tuition and fees of US$26,700 (INR 25.48 Lakhs) for the published full-time credit ranges. The direct-cost estimate also includes housing, food and the student activity fee, so Indian applicants can separate billed costs from broader living expenses.
The figures below apply to the full-time, on-campus undergraduate mode and are the current published rates for Spring 2027 planning. Bethel’s separate cost-of-attendance estimate uses a slightly different tuition and fees allowance, which is identified in the planning calculation below.
Target-cycle direct costs: Bethel’s 2026-27 tuition page publishes the following annual figures for full-time undergraduates.
| Cost item | Official amount (US$) | INR equivalent |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition and fees, 12 to 18 fall credits and 12 to 23 spring credits | US$26,700 | INR 25.48 Lakhs |
| Room, new-student rate | US$7,200 | INR 6.87 Lakhs |
| Food | US$6,550 | INR 6.25 Lakhs |
| Student activity fee, full-time | US$300 | INR 28,629 |
| Total direct costs | US$40,750 | INR 38.89 Lakhs |
Source: Bethel University 2026-27 tuition and costs page.
All INR conversions in the article use a conversion rate of US$ 1 = INR 95.4309 as of 14 August 2026. Rates fluctuate daily, verify before applying.
- The US$40,750 (INR 38.89 Lakhs) direct-cost figure covers the published tuition and fees, room, food and activity fee, but it excludes several personal and academic allowances.
- Bethel charges part-time study at US$1,120 (INR 1.07 Lakhs) per credit, so reducing credits does not create a simple proportionate annual budget.
- The university’s cost-of-attendance estimate is a planning figure rather than a bill, which makes it the better basis for financial-document preparation.
Cost of Living in St. Paul for Mathematics and Data Science Students
Bethel’s official 2026-27 cost-of-attendance page estimates the non-tuition items below for an on-campus student. Monthly values are calculated from the annual estimates, while housing and food also have monthly figures shown by the university.
Living-cost basis: The annual amounts below are official estimates, and the monthly column divides each annual amount by 12 for planning.
| Expense | Monthly (US$) | Monthly (INR equivalent) | Annual (US$) | Annual (INR equivalent) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Housing | US$600.00 | INR 57,259 | US$7,200 | INR 6.87 Lakhs |
| Food | US$545.83 | INR 52,086 | US$6,550 | INR 6.25 Lakhs |
| Books, supplies and equipment | US$103.33 | INR 9,861 | US$1,240 | INR 1.18 Lakhs |
| Miscellaneous personal expenses | US$184.17 | INR 17,576 | US$2,210 | INR 2.11 Lakhs |
| Transportation | US$46.67 | INR 4,454 | US$560 | INR 53,441 |
| Federal, loan, course and miscellaneous fees | US$32.50 | INR 3,102 | US$390 | INR 37,218 |
| Total non-tuition estimate | US$1,512.50 | INR 1.44 Lakhs | US$18,150 | INR 17.32 Lakhs |
Bethel’s official on-campus cost-of-attendance total is US$45,150 (INR 43.09 Lakhs) for the academic year. The calculated all-in planning basis is US$27,000 (INR 25.77 Lakhs) tuition and fees plus US$18,150 (INR 17.32 Lakhs) in other estimates.
That planning total is higher than the direct-cost table because it adds books, transportation, personal spending and estimated fees. Indian applicants should use the on-campus cost-of-attendance figure for a conservative annual budget, then confirm the university’s final invoice and housing assignment.
Read More: Bethel University programmes and fees
Budget note
The published estimates separate billed charges from personal costs. An Indian applicant should reserve funds against the US$45,150 (INR 43.09 Lakhs) on-campus planning total rather than relying only on tuition.
ROI reality: The target-cycle tuition is clear, but the cost-of-attendance estimate adds US$18,150 (INR 17.32 Lakhs) beyond tuition and fees. Use both figures when testing whether the degree fits your funding plan.
Bethel Mathematics and Data Science Admission 2027
Admission uses Bethel’s international undergraduate requirements rather than a separate mathematics entrance test. The programme page does not publish a higher calculus, programming or data-science cutoff, so the academic preparation described in the curriculum remains the main fit check.
For Spring 2027, international applicants need an accredited secondary-school equivalent and an unweighted high-school grade point average (GPA) of 3.0 on a 4.0 scale. For Indian applicants, that is approximately 75% to 80% or a 10-point score of 7.5 to 8.0, plus the required English evidence.
Academic checklist: The following requirements apply to the target full-time undergraduate application.
| Requirement | Bethel requirement | Indian-applicant interpretation |
|---|---|---|
| Secondary education | Graduation from an accredited secondary school or equivalent | Submit the completed Class 12 credential and official academic record. |
| High-school GPA | Minimum unweighted GPA 3.0 on a 4.0 scale | Approximately 75% to 80% or a 10-point score of 7.5 to 8.0; Bethel makes the final equivalency decision. |
| Transfer college GPA | Minimum unweighted college GPA 2.8 on a 4.0 scale | This threshold applies to transfer applicants, not first-year applicants. |
| Academic records | Official high-school and college transcripts where applicable | Non-US records must be evaluated under Bethel’s stated process. |
| Written and faith materials | Personal essay, personal relationship with Jesus Christ and agreement to the Covenant for Life Together | Read the faith and community commitments before choosing the programme. |
The 3.0 grade point average (GPA) floor is an admission minimum, not a prediction of success in proof, calculus, statistics and programming. Applicants with weaker mathematics preparation should address that gap before the first term because the major’s required sequence is concentrated.
Bethel requires international transcripts to be evaluated and directs applicants to World Education Services (WES). WES is an external credential-evaluation service used in the stated process. Send records early because an incomplete evaluation can delay review even when the academic threshold is met.
English Language Proficiency for Indian Applicants
English-test evidence is required when English is not the applicant’s primary language. Bethel exempts students who completed high school in the United States or in an English-instruction setting. It publishes International English Language Testing System (IELTS) and Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) minimums on its international undergraduate requirements page.
Bethel lists TOEFL iBT (internet-based test) 80, TOEFL PBT (paper-based test) 550 and IELTS 6.5. The current page does not publish a post-21 January 2026 TOEFL 1.0 to 6.0 policy. Verify the accepted scale with admissions before booking or submitting a revised-score report.
Published English-test minimums: Scores are shown on the university’s stated scales and are not self-converted.
| Test | Published minimum | Decision meaning |
|---|---|---|
| IELTS | Overall 6.5 | Use this route if it matches your preparation and available test date. |
| TOEFL iBT | 80 | Bethel’s page states the 0 to 120 scale; confirm current acceptance before submission. |
| TOEFL PBT | 550 | The paper-based score remains listed, but applicants should verify test availability and current policy. |
- Arrange transcript evaluation and English testing early because both can affect when Bethel considers an application complete.
- IELTS 6.5 is the clearest published route for many Indian applicants, but the university does not publish a higher course-specific band requirement.
- Do not convert an older TOEFL score into the revised scale yourself because Bethel has not stated that conversion on the checked page.
A programme-specific ranking for mathematics and data science was not identified in the checked ranking sources, so this page does not use a ranking claim.
Check Out: Bethel University profile
Fit note
The formal floor is GPA-based, but the 68 to 69-credit major quickly moves into linear algebra, proof, probability, databases and machine learning. Review those foundations before accepting an offer.
Tip for Indian students: Meeting the 3.0 GPA and IELTS 6.5 minimums establishes eligibility, while the required quantitative sequence determines academic readiness. Use the published checklist and the curriculum together before applying.
Bethel Mathematics and Data Science Application 2027
Bethel uses rolling admissions for most traditional undergraduate programmes, so a complete application can be reviewed after submission rather than waiting for one universal decision round. The university states that there is no application fee and that it begins reviewing following fall and spring terms from 1 August.
For Spring 2027, the checked official pages do not publish a separate international deadline or fixed decision date. The international page mentions May 1 as a general continuation point, but it does not label that date as the Spring 2027 cutoff.
Forward-looking intake timing: The table keeps the current and next fall and spring options visible without converting a general date into a course-specific deadline.
| Intake | Application status | Published international timing | Decision timing |
|---|---|---|---|
| Spring 2027 | Open, rolling | Term-specific deadline not separately published; general admissions are rolling. | No fixed decision date published; review follows completion. |
| Fall 2027 | Open for planning, rolling | The university begins reviewing following fall applications from 1 August; no course-specific international cutoff is published. | No fixed decision date published; review follows completion. |
The current official application page confirms rolling review and the fall and spring cycle language, but it does not provide a separate Mathematics and Data Science calendar. Confirm that the major is available for the selected term before arranging the visa or paying a deposit.
Application stages and completion strategy
Bethel’s application is considered complete when the required form, academic records and written materials are received. Indian applicants should treat transcript evaluation as a timing dependency because a submitted form alone does not establish a complete file.
Required application materials: Use Bethel’s application or the Common Application, then upload the following items through the official process.
| Stage | What the official process says | Indian-applicant action |
|---|---|---|
| Submit application | Bethel application or Common Application; no application fee | Choose Spring 2027 and identify the Mathematics and Data Science major. |
| Send academic records | High-school and applicable college transcripts are required. | Start evaluation for non-US records before the application is submitted. |
| Complete written requirements | Submit an essay about the faith journey and interest in Bethel, plus the Covenant agreement. | Write specific evidence of academic interest and read the community commitment carefully. |
| Submit English evidence | Provide TOEFL or IELTS when English is not primary, unless the stated exemption applies. | Upload the score report that matches the current international requirements page. |
| Review and decision | Applications are reviewed when complete under rolling admissions. | Monitor the portal and respond quickly to requests for missing documents. |
- Submit the complete Spring 2027 file early because rolling review provides no guaranteed late-season decision slot.
- Use Bethel’s official application instructions to verify current form, transcript and testing steps before submission.
- Ask admissions to confirm the Mathematics and Data Science start term because the general calendar does not publish a separate major-level intake table.
Early completion matters more than chasing a projected round because the university’s published process is rolling. A complete file also gives admissions the information needed to assess both the academic record and the faith-based community fit.
Read More: US university application timeline
Timing note
Because Spring 2027 has no separately published international cutoff, treat the rolling status as permission to apply now, not as a reason to delay transcript evaluation or English testing.
Application tip: Bethel publishes rolling review rather than a fixed decision calendar, while the international page does not label May 1 as the Spring 2027 deadline. Submit a complete file early and obtain written term confirmation for the major.
Bethel Mathematics and Data Science Scholarships 2027
Bethel lists several awards that can apply to an international student, but Spring 2027 eligibility and deadlines are not separately confirmed on the checked scholarship pages. The amounts below are current published planning references, and each award requires the applicant to satisfy its own academic, church or performance condition.
Academic Achievement awards are considered during admission under the current published process. The other awards require a qualifying activity or funding partner, so they should be treated as separate funding routes rather than assumed reductions from tuition.
Current published scholarship references: Values are annual unless the award page states otherwise, and Spring 2027 confirmation remains necessary.
| Award | Published value | Applicant profile and route | Cycle or deadline |
|---|---|---|---|
| Dean’s Scholarship | US$3,000 per year (INR 2.86 Lakhs) | New or transfer degree-seeking student; based on the published unweighted GPA bands; considered during admission. | Current published; Spring 2027 confirmation required. |
| Provost’s Scholarship | US$5,000 per year (INR 4.77 Lakhs) | New or transfer degree-seeking student; based on the published unweighted GPA bands; considered during admission. | Current published; Spring 2027 confirmation required. |
| President’s Scholarship | US$7,000 per year (INR 6.68 Lakhs) | New or transfer degree-seeking student; based on the published unweighted GPA bands; considered during admission. | Current published; Spring 2027 confirmation required. |
| Church Partnership Scholarship | Up to US$2,000 per year (INR 1.91 Lakhs) | Full-time first-degree student; requires a qualifying church scholarship match and financial-aid submission. | Current published; Aug 1 deadline shown; Spring 2027 confirmation required. |
| Music Performance Scholarship | Up to US$4,000 per year (INR 3.82 Lakhs) | Open to any major with participation in a qualifying music ensemble. | Fall 2026 page shows a Feb 1 deadline; future-cycle confirmation required. |
The published Academic Achievement bands show Dean’s consideration around 2.90 to 3.49, Provost’s around 3.50 to 3.89, and President’s around 3.90 to 4.00. They use the unweighted 4.0 scale for fall 2026. Bethel does not publish an Indian percentage conversion for these award bands, so the university’s equivalency decision controls.
The Church Partnership award is not a general international grant because it matches a church scholarship dollar for dollar. An Indian applicant needs a participating church and its separate award before treating the amount as available funding.
Music Performance can support a Mathematics and Data Science student because the award is open to any major, but it depends on ensemble participation. The page reviewed is for fall 2026, so Spring 2027 applicants should obtain the next deadline before relying on it.
- Complete the admission file early because the three academic awards are considered through the admission process.
- Ask a participating church to submit the partnership agreement and check before the published Aug 1 deadline if that route applies.
- Contact the music programme before the published Feb 1 fall deadline if ensemble participation makes the performance award relevant.
Check Out: Scholarships for Indian students
Funding note
Do not subtract the largest published award from the target tuition until Bethel confirms the Spring 2027 amount, renewal rules and eligibility for your applicant category.
Scholarship reality: The President’s Scholarship is listed at US$7,000 per year (INR 6.68 Lakhs), but the Spring 2027 award cycle is not separately confirmed. Secure the admission file first, then verify the award in writing.
Bethel Mathematics and Data Science Salary 2027
Bethel does not publish a course-level salary report, graduate offer rate or median for Mathematics and Data Science. The available evidence therefore separates individual alumni examples and school-level support from external market benchmarks, so no figure below should be read as a guaranteed Bethel outcome.
The degree’s career proposition is its combination of mathematical reasoning, programming, data mining, machine learning and business analytics. That mix can support technical or analytical roles, but students still need internships, projects or work experience to turn the curriculum into evidence for employers.
Course and school-level employment evidence
Bethel’s official alumni page identifies individual Mathematics and Data Science graduates in technical roles, while the department describes job placement rates without publishing a current percentage. These examples show possible pathways, not the probability or salary of a typical graduate.
| Evidence scope | Published example or support | Applicant meaning |
|---|---|---|
| Course alumni, individual, 2026 | Zach Pratt, Mathematics and Data Science, Technical Solutions Engineer at Epic Systems | Shows a technical systems pathway after the degree, but not a placement rate. |
| Course alumni, individual, 2024 | Ruth Livingston, Mathematics and Data Science, Software Developer at Federated Insurance | Her listed Python, SQL (Structured Query Language) and Excel work illustrates how computing skills can support software and data roles. |
| School-level department evidence | The mathematics and computer science department reports high job placement rates without a current numeric rate. | Useful as directional context, but insufficient for a salary or payback calculation. |
| School-level Career Commitment | Eligible bachelor’s students receive career coaching, internships and support if they lack full-time work or graduate admission within six months. | Support is a transition resource, not an employment guarantee or course-specific placement statistic. |
Bethel’s Career Commitment may include up to eight graduate credits in selected programmes or transitional employment based on availability. Indian applicants should ask whether the programme, timing and student status qualify before treating that support as a financial fallback.
External role benchmarks and ROI
The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) is a U.S. federal source for occupation-level labour-market data. Its figures describe workers in an occupation, not Bethel graduates from this course.
| Evidence scope | Occupation and measure | Published amount (US$) | INR equivalent |
|---|---|---|---|
| External market benchmark | Data scientists, median annual wage, May 2024 | US$112,590 | INR 1.07 Crore |
| External market benchmark | Operations research analysts, median annual wage, May 2024 | US$91,290 | INR 87.12 Lakhs |
Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics mathematics occupations data.
These medians indicate the scale of relevant U.S. occupations, but they do not establish a starting salary, hiring probability or employer access for this degree. Role, location, experience, work authorization and technical portfolio can change the result materially.
Return on Investment Assessment for Indian Applicants
Return on investment (ROI) analysis starts with the target-cycle cost. The official on-campus estimate is US$45,150 (INR 43.09 Lakhs) for one academic year, before any award or later living-cost change.
- The degree has no published course salary or offer-rate dataset, so reserve funding without assuming that the BLS median will be available after graduation.
- The two individual alumni examples show technical pathways, so build Python, SQL and portfolio evidence during the degree before relying on a job search.
- The BLS data-scientist median is US$112,590 (INR 1.07 Crore); compare your role and location instead of using it as a first-year forecast.
- Bethel states that eligible STEM students may seek a 24-month extension; confirm the major’s qualifying code before using that work window in your funding model.
- No India-return salary evidence is published, so obtain role-specific Indian offers before assuming that American occupation medians transfer to a return-home plan.
Gross wages are not take-home pay because federal, state, payroll and benefit deductions vary. Use the U.S. Internal Revenue Service Tax Withholding Estimator only when its eligibility notes match your tax status.
Outcome note
The strongest published career evidence is pathway-level rather than numerical: two named alumni examples and a broad school support promise. Treat the external wage figures as market context and verify internships, work authorization and role fit.
ROI reality: Bethel provides a mathematically rigorous route into data and analytical work, but it publishes no course salary or offer-rate outcome. Fund the US$45,150 (INR 43.09 Lakhs) annual estimate against evidence you can build, not against an occupation median.
United States Visa for Bethel Data Science Students 2027
The relevant route is the F-1 student visa for full-time university study. Bethel’s undergraduate international guidance states a full course load of 12 credits per term. The university issues Form I-20, the Certificate of Eligibility for Nonimmigrant Student Status, after Student and Exchange Visitor Information System (SEVIS) registration.
After admission, applicants must show financial capacity and follow the current official Student Visa instructions. The required proof of funds is separate from Bethel’s US$45,150 (INR 43.09 Lakhs) on-campus cost-of-attendance estimate. The university budget and visa evidence answer different questions.
Optional Practical Training (OPT) is the post-study work route connected to the major. The standard period can last up to 12 months. Eligible Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) graduates may seek a 24-month extension. The extension depends on programme-code and approval rules.
- The F-1 application fee is US$185 (INR 17,655), and the I-901 SEVIS fee is US$350 (INR 33,401) before visa issuance.
- Bethel states that related employment may use Curricular Practical Training or OPT, so obtain authorization before beginning work and keep the role connected to the programme.
- F-2 dependent status covers a spouse or unmarried minor child, but F-2 dependants are not employment-authorized under the standard rule.
- H-1B specialty-occupation sponsorship uses the higher of the actual or prevailing wage, and no fixed permanent-residency timeline is linked to this course.
Indian applicants should budget the visa and SEVIS charges separately from tuition, housing and living costs. They should also confirm whether the exact Mathematics and Data Science programme qualifies for the STEM extension before treating the additional work period as part of an ROI calculation.
Read More: U.S. post-study work options
Visa reality: The standard OPT window is up to 12 months, with a possible 24-month STEM extension for eligible programmes. Confirm the programme code and work authorization before relying on the extended period.
Bethel’s Bachelor of Science in Mathematics and Data Science fits Indian applicants who want proof-based mathematics combined with programming, analytics and machine learning. The curriculum creates a coherent technical pathway, while research, internships and named alumni examples give students ways to build evidence beyond coursework. The material tradeoff is a high annual budget alongside no published course salary or offer-rate report. Submit a complete Spring 2027 application early, verify the major’s term availability, and confirm scholarships and STEM eligibility before committing funds.
Bethel Mathematics and Data Science FAQs
Ques. Is Bethel Mathematics and Data Science suitable for an Indian student without prior programming?
Ans. It can suit a student with strong mathematical preparation because the curriculum starts with introductory programming and progresses to data structures, databases, data mining and machine learning. Review calculus and coding foundations before enrolment because the major also requires proof, probability and statistics.
Ques. What annual budget should an Indian applicant use for this degree?
Ans. Bethel’s official on-campus cost-of-attendance estimate is US$45,150 (INR 43.09 Lakhs) for one academic year. The US$40,750 (INR 38.89 Lakhs) direct-cost figure is lower because it excludes books, transportation, personal expenses and estimated additional fees.
Ques. Which English score should I submit for the Spring 2027 application?
Ans. Bethel publishes IELTS 6.5, TOEFL iBT 80 or TOEFL PBT 550 when English is not your primary language. Because the current page does not state a revised TOEFL scale after 21 January 2026, verify the accepted score format before sending results.
Ques. Can I apply for Bethel Mathematics and Data Science in Spring 2027?
Ans. The general undergraduate process is open and rolling for fall and spring terms, but no separate Mathematics and Data Science deadline or start-term table is published. Submit a complete file early and ask admissions to confirm Spring 2027 availability for the major.
Ques. What career and post-study work evidence is available?
Ans. Bethel identifies individual alumni in technical roles but does not publish a course salary or offer-rate report. The standard OPT window can last up to 12 months, with a possible 24-month STEM extension after eligibility and authorization checks.
Tuition Fees
| Year | 1st Year Fees |
|---|---|
| Tuition Fees | $88100 |
Other Expenses
| Head | Avg Cost Per Year |
|---|---|
| Compulsory Fees | $352 |
| Total Cost | $352 |
Previous Year Tuition Fees
| Year | 1st Year Fees |
|---|---|
| 2023 | $42930 |
Scholarship Grants & Financial Aids
| Name | Scholarship Per Student | Level of Study | Type | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ritchie-Jennings Memorial Scholarship Program | Scholarship per student$ 10,000/Yr$10,000 | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeMerit-Based | |
| Axol Science Scholarship | Scholarship per student$ 2,000/Yr$2,000 | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeCompany-Sponsored | |
| VueVille Future Technology Scholarship | Scholarship per student$ 1,000/Yr$1,000 | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeMerit-Based | |
| R&D Systems Scholarship | Scholarship per student$ 1,500/Yr$1,500 | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeMerit-Based | |
| BL Mandhana Scholarships | Scholarship per student$ 10,000/Yr$10,000 | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeMerit-Based | |
| Go Clean Scholarship | Scholarship per student$ 3,500/Yr$3,500 | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeMerit-Based |















Comments