DEAKIN UNIVERSITY, GEELONG, VICTORIA - REVIEWS

Geelong, VictoriaLOCATION
UniversitySCHOOL TYPE
Estd 1974Established Year
  37330Enrollment

College rating

based on 15 students ratings

8.3/10

8.8/10academic
8.7/10infrastructure
8.1/10placements
8.6/10faculty
8.1/10extracurricular
7.5/10accommodation

Reviews

avatar image
Kayla, AUSTRALIA Optometry
Deakin University
Current student , Batch : 2022
9
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

SCIENCES AT DEAKIN'S

It had the optometry course I wanted and the course is accelerated, so it only takes 3.5 years to complete my bachelors and masters instead of the normal 5. More of a rural area and not in the city. Lots of placement and overseas options.


Course Curriculum - 

Really good because it covers all the basic science and physics in the first year, then moves into more subjects specific to optometry in the second year. the third year is structured really well as we get six months of placement.

9 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
9 /10
infrastructure
10 /10
accomodation/food
9 /10
placement
8 /10
extracurricular
03, Aug 2019 read more
avatar image
Hannan haddad, PHILIPPINES Master of architecture
Deakin University
Current student , Batch : 2020
8.7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

LIFE AT DEAKIN

I had friends over in this university that told me about the facilities and the good reputation of this school. They have a good Architecture program and have well-established professors that teach in my chosen course.


Course Curriculum - 

The structure of the curriculum depended on how you wanted it to be. You can choose your own electives so long as you take the core subjects that are needed for the course. You can choose up to a maximum of 4 electives or 4 credit points.

10 /10
academic
10 /10
faculty
10 /10
infrastructure
7 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
7 /10
extracurricular
03, Nov 2019 read more
avatar image
Akash, INDIA Master of information technology
Deakin University
Alumna/alumnus , Batch : 2018
7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

LIFE AT DEAKIN UNIVERSITY

As Deakin is Ranked the #1 university for skills development in Victoria, Deakin University's course curriculum integrates real-world expertise with practical skills to give our students a competitive edge. Moreover, Deakin is ranked among the top 1% of universities worldwide. In addition, Deakin is a global leader ranked in the top 1% in a number of study areas, including accounting and finance, architecture, education, environmental science, law, nursing, medicine, and sports management.


Course Curriculum - 

Deakin?s Geelong Innovation Precinct has cutting edge research infrastructure and capability in materials engineering and fiber science. It includes the Australian Future Fibres Innovation and Research Centre and the world's leading carbon fiber research line, Carbon Nexus, as well as first-class research facilities for robotics and simulation, energy technology, metals manufacturing, design, and modeling. The Centre for Advanced Design in Engineering Training (CADET) provides some of the best future-focused engineering and design facilities in the Australian university sector and in regional Australia. CADET facilities include additive manufacturing technologies, CNC machining centers, 3D printers, a virtual reality lab, a chemical, corrosives and material lab, a high voltage lab and design and realization studios.

8 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
5 /10
infrastructure
6 /10
accomodation/food
7 /10
placement
7 /10
extracurricular
03, Nov 2019 read more
avatar image
Sandra joseph, PAKISTAN Masters in teaching
Deakin University
Current student , Batch : 2019
7.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

DEAKIN UNIVERSITY STUDENT REVIEW

Great programs and qualified staff. I always wanted to travel to Australia as I have my family residing here too. A beautiful country with friendly people. Deakin University was the first university to offer me an enrollment. The others followed suit later.


Course Curriculum - 

Going well. It's pretty extensive and planned meticulously. Placements offer great first-hand exposure to the teaching life and are acquaint you with the expectations and duties as an Australian teacher.

9 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
9 /10
infrastructure
5 /10
accomodation/food
5 /10
placement
7 /10
extracurricular
03, Dec 2019 read more
avatar image
Natalie, AUSTRALIA Bachelor of medical imaging
Deakin University
Current student , Batch : 2022
8.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

MEDICAL IMAGING EXPERIENCE AT MY UNIVERSITY

It was the closest university to my home that had my course. It also has a good reputation among workplaces in producing work-ready students. It has a beautiful campus that isn't too metro but it's also not so tiny.


Course Curriculum - 

So far the curriculum has been fantastic. It's interesting, specific to our future work and the lecturers are great at delivering the content. I highly value the problem based learning part of the curriculum as it allows time in small groups to ask questions and helps consolidate knowledge from all subjects in a practical way.

9 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
10 /10
infrastructure
7 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
13, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Alexandra jaksic, AUSTRALIA Commerce
Deakin University
Current student , Batch : 2021
8.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

GO UNI!

Not sure! The layout of the university was so so amazing and it just attracted me because of the location and all my friends were going there and they offer you online support as well so I was always going to go.


Course Curriculum - 

It's good I mean I'm not too sure at the moment because it's really early in the year but you feel like they are really trying to push us and see if we can understand the basics of my course which is really challenging!

8 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
9 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
9 /10
extracurricular
14, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Mansi, INDIA Bachelor of commerce
Deakin University
Current student , Batch : 2020
8.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

KNOWING DEAKIN

Best uni heard of and also like the study pattern here; the way everything goes and also the tutors are understanding. Some of the tutors have a great depth of their subjects and it is really fun to learn in such an environment.


Course Curriculum - 

The course curriculum is quite vast and organized into trimesters which has 4 units in each. You can these units according to your own convenience and choice. The units are all linked to your course.

8 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
10 /10
infrastructure
5 /10
accomodation/food
9 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
16, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Nuventhi de mel, SRI LANKA Biomedical science
Deakin University
Current student , Batch : 2021
10
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

NUVENTHI REVIEWS

It had a 2 + 2 pathway from my home country Sri Lanka so I could study part of the degree in Sri Lanka and save the cost of the degree a lot. and also it has a good reputation. I have 3 other family members who also study at this university and they too recommended it. And anyway I wanted to migrate to Australia and higher education is a good way to migrate. Then I can get a work visa. And with me, another friend of mine from Sri Lanka also came to Deakin. So I had a friend from the beginning too. And it's a beautiful campus. There are nice and big buildings and a water fountain, beautiful sceneries, a lot of trees, Deakin cube. Also, there are a lot of extracurricular activities. A lot of sports, games and other societies.


Course Curriculum - 

It is very good. Good standards and give us a broad knowledge of subject matters and everything else like leadership skills Team spirit presentation skills which helps out a future career. Exams are also very standard. Assignments are also good standard. I like it. And it suits the modern world mainly

10 /10
academic
10 /10
faculty
10 /10
infrastructure
10 /10
accomodation/food
10 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
26, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Brittany, AUSTRALIA Bachelor of communications
Deakin University
Current student , Batch : 2020
10
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

DEAKIN UNIVERSITY ROX

I can study online and not have to visit the campus. I can study online and not have to visit the campus. I can study online and not have to visit the campus. I can study online and not have to visit the campus. I can study online and not have to visit the campus.


Course Curriculum - 

I really enjoy it, it is current and I can see the relevance to the fields in which I want to pursue a career in once I have completed the degree and graduated. It is interesting and not too dry. There are a few exams which are great! I can't see their relevance to modern day life.

10 /10
academic
10 /10
faculty
10 /10
infrastructure
10 /10
accomodation/food
10 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
18, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Ishwaar, AUSTRALIA Bachelor of laws
Deakin University
Current student , Batch : 2021
7.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

DEAKIN UNIVERSITY REVIEW

Deakin has consistently been the best teaching university in Victoria. Meaning that their lecturers regularly get voted the best in the state. Deakin also offers a wide range of support at their campuses and provides a brilliant atmosphere encouraging student success


Course Curriculum - 

It's fantastic. The course has been set out to ensure students succeed. It's quite difficult but if you don't like a challenge then you shouldn?t be doing Law anyway. Deakin?s Law course is fantastic for those who genuinely want to learn and challenge themselves.

9 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
7 /10
infrastructure
5 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
5 /10
extracurricular
18, Mar 2019 read more

Load More Reviews
Apply Now DOWNLOAD BROCHURE  
INTERESTED IN THIS COLLEGE ?
Get free counselling

Follow & Share this college to get information about admission

FACULTY, SCHOOLS AND CAMPUSES
Deakin Business School melbourne, Victoria
COLLEGES IN VICTORIA, AUSTRALIA
La Trobe University Melbourne, Victoria
Monash University Melbourne, Victoria
RMIT University Melbourne, Victoria
Swinburne University of Technology Melbourne, Victoria
University of Melbourne Melbourne, Victoria
NEAREST RANKED COLLEGES