Get $150 Scholarship!

DEAKIN UNIVERSITY, GEELONG, VICTORIA - REVIEWS

Geelong, VictoriaLOCATION
UniversitySCHOOL TYPE
Estd 1974Established Year
  37330Enrollment

College rating

based on 16 students ratings

8.3/10

8.8/10academic
8.6/10infrastructure
8.2/10placements
8.6/10faculty
8.3/10extracurricular
7.5/10accommodation

Reviews

FILTER BY
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL

POPULAR TAGS

faculty
exam structure
semester
placement
scholarship
answer
choice
experience
knowledge
course curriculum
trimester
fee structure
research
review
school
A
Abhijit zia, BANGLADESH Bachelor of science (bs)
Deakin College
, Batch : 2020
8.7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

HOW I SPEND MY DAYS AT CLEARY UNIVERSITY

I completed my high school in Bangladesh and decided to move to USA and complete my further studies there. And as one of my relatives suggested to me about this college, and then I researched a bit about it in the internet and gave a visit to it once and then decided to fill up the online application form for $20.


Course Curriculum - 

The course is very well balanced and most important and updated technologies are given the preference. New and updated fields like data science and machine learning are also included in the course for the students to choose. The course also includes basic mathematics and physics as well.

9 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
9 /10
infrastructure
9 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
9 /10
extracurricular
19, Jan 2020 read more
avatar image
Sandra joseph, PAKISTAN Masters in teaching
Deakin University
Current student , Batch : 2019
7.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

DEAKIN UNIVERSITY STUDENT REVIEW

Great programs and qualified staff. I always wanted to travel to Australia as I have my family residing here too. A beautiful country with friendly people. Deakin University was the first university to offer me an enrollment. The others followed suit later.


Course Curriculum - 

Going well. It's pretty extensive and planned meticulously. Placements offer great first-hand exposure to the teaching life and are acquaint you with the expectations and duties as an Australian teacher.

9 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
9 /10
infrastructure
5 /10
accomodation/food
5 /10
placement
7 /10
extracurricular
03, Dec 2019 read more
H
Hannan haddad, PHILIPPINES Master of architecture
Deakin University
Current student , Batch : 2020
8.7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

LIFE AT DEAKIN

I had friends over in this university that told me about the facilities and the good reputation of this school. They have a good Architecture program and have well-established professors that teach in my chosen course.


Course Curriculum - 

The structure of the curriculum depended on how you wanted it to be. You can choose your own electives so long as you take the core subjects that are needed for the course. You can choose up to a maximum of 4 electives or 4 credit points.

10 /10
academic
10 /10
faculty
10 /10
infrastructure
7 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
7 /10
extracurricular
03, Nov 2019 read more
A
Akash, INDIA Master of information technology
Deakin University
Alumna/alumnus , Batch : 2018
7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

LIFE AT DEAKIN UNIVERSITY

As Deakin is Ranked the #1 university for skills development in Victoria, Deakin University's course curriculum integrates real-world expertise with practical skills to give our students a competitive edge. Moreover, Deakin is ranked among the top 1% of universities worldwide. In addition, Deakin is a global leader ranked in the top 1% in a number of study areas, including accounting and finance, architecture, education, environmental science, law, nursing, medicine, and sports management.


Course Curriculum - 

Deakin?s Geelong Innovation Precinct has cutting edge research infrastructure and capability in materials engineering and fiber science. It includes the Australian Future Fibres Innovation and Research Centre and the world's leading carbon fiber research line, Carbon Nexus, as well as first-class research facilities for robotics and simulation, energy technology, metals manufacturing, design, and modeling. The Centre for Advanced Design in Engineering Training (CADET) provides some of the best future-focused engineering and design facilities in the Australian university sector and in regional Australia. CADET facilities include additive manufacturing technologies, CNC machining centers, 3D printers, a virtual reality lab, a chemical, corrosives and material lab, a high voltage lab and design and realization studios.

8 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
5 /10
infrastructure
6 /10
accomodation/food
7 /10
placement
7 /10
extracurricular
03, Nov 2019 read more
K
Kayla, AUSTRALIA Optometry
Deakin University
Current student , Batch : 2022
9
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

SCIENCES AT DEAKIN'S

It had the optometry course I wanted and the course is accelerated, so it only takes 3.5 years to complete my bachelors and masters instead of the normal 5. More of a rural area and not in the city. Lots of placement and overseas options.


Course Curriculum - 

Really good because it covers all the basic science and physics in the first year, then moves into more subjects specific to optometry in the second year. the third year is structured really well as we get six months of placement.

9 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
9 /10
infrastructure
10 /10
accomodation/food
9 /10
placement
8 /10
extracurricular
03, Aug 2019 read more
avatar image
Kabilaash, MALAYSIA Bachelor of architecture and construction management
Deakin University
Current student , Batch : 2023
8.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

MY DEAKIN ADVENTURE

The only University that offers this course in Australia. The course is taught in the Waterfront Campus which is extremely beautiful and a stone's throw away from the beach. The faculty for Architecture is well known in Malaysia for their expertise and Deakin university is recognized by the Malaysian Architecture Board.


Course Curriculum - 

All of them are greatly respected in their field. They push you hard to succeed and as an international student they give you extra care and help you out in case you suffer from homesickness, etc. They are very lenient providing extensions for valid reasons. All in all great people.

9 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
10 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
01, Aug 2019 read more
J
Jennifer, AUSTRALIA Bachelor of arts/commerce
Deakin University
Current student , Batch : 2021
7.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

PERSPECTIVE OF A COMMERCE STUDENT

Commerce degree pretty good and it was the easiest university to get to via public transport.


Course Curriculum - 

The commerce cores are good, it gave me an insight into what commerce major I wanted to do.

8 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
7 /10
accomodation/food
7 /10
placement
6 /10
extracurricular
30, Mar 2019 read more
Z
Zoe, AUSTRALIA Sport science
Deakin University
Current student , Batch : 2021
8.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

HELPFUL UNIVERSITY

I decided to pick Deakin university as it is close to home and provides me with a very good sports science degree, as well as good facilities in the health area, this university also has a very good feel to it and a very good community.


Course Curriculum - 

Currently, the course curriculum at Deakin is good, it has a very large variety of subject choices which is good when it comes to picking units that follow a career path that you want to go into in the future.

8 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
9 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
8 /10
extracurricular
29, Mar 2019 read more
N
Nuventhi de mel, SRI LANKA Biomedical science
Deakin University
Current student , Batch : 2021
10
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

NUVENTHI REVIEWS

It had a 2 + 2 pathway from my home country Sri Lanka so I could study part of the degree in Sri Lanka and save the cost of the degree a lot. and also it has a good reputation. I have 3 other family members who also study at this university and they too recommended it. And anyway I wanted to migrate to Australia and higher education is a good way to migrate. Then I can get a work visa. And with me, another friend of mine from Sri Lanka also came to Deakin. So I had a friend from the beginning too. And it's a beautiful campus. There are nice and big buildings and a water fountain, beautiful sceneries, a lot of trees, Deakin cube. Also, there are a lot of extracurricular activities. A lot of sports, games and other societies.


Course Curriculum - 

It is very good. Good standards and give us a broad knowledge of subject matters and everything else like leadership skills Team spirit presentation skills which helps out a future career. Exams are also very standard. Assignments are also good standard. I like it. And it suits the modern world mainly

10 /10
academic
10 /10
faculty
10 /10
infrastructure
10 /10
accomodation/food
10 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
26, Mar 2019 read more
E
Erin, AUSTRALIA Forensic science/ criminology
Deakin University
Current student , Batch : 2022
8.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

DEAKIN UNIVERSITY REVIEW

Deakin University is the only university in Australia to offer the specific course I am interested in: forensic science combined with criminology. Due to their higher number of campuses, they are able to provide specific courses, making them a very individualized opportunity.


Course Curriculum - 

I think the course curriculum is pretty standard with units covering biology, chemistry, and criminology as well as data and statistics. Doing a combined course I personally find it includes a good range of topics in order to keep further employment opportunities open.

8 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
9 /10
placement
8 /10
extracurricular
26, Mar 2019 read more

Apply Now DOWNLOAD BROCHURE  
INTERESTED IN THIS COLLEGE ?
Get free counselling

Follow & Share this college to get information about admission

AFFILIATED COLLEGES
Deakin College Melbourne, Victoria
FACULTY, SCHOOLS AND CAMPUSES
Deakin Business School melbourne, Victoria
COLLEGES IN VICTORIA, AUSTRALIA
La Trobe University Melbourne, Victoria
Monash University Melbourne, Victoria
RMIT University Melbourne, Victoria
Swinburne University of Technology Melbourne, Victoria
University of Melbourne Melbourne, Victoria
NEAREST RANKED COLLEGES