Get $150 Scholarship!

JAMES COOK UNIVERSITY - [JCU], TOWNSVILLE, QUEENSLAND - REVIEWS

Townsville, QueenslandLOCATION
UniversitySCHOOL TYPE
Estd 1961Established Year
  11882Enrollment

College rating

based on 5 students ratings

8.8/10

8.4/10academic
8.8/10infrastructure
8.6/10placements
9.4/10faculty
9.2/10extracurricular
8.6/10accommodation

Reviews

FILTER BY
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL

POPULAR TAGS

course
faculty
semester
accommodation
bachelor
health
industry
information
structure
technology
attention
option
period
professor
system
avatar image
Ana, AUSTRALIA Bachelor of surgery bachelor of medicine
James Cook University
Current student , Batch : 2023
8.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

WHAT IT'S LIKE TO STUDY IN TOWNSVILLE

I got to know about JCU through a lot of research and word of mouth. Graduating from school was stressful enough and I needed to make sure I knew what options were available for me. After asking around, I got to know about the admission process through a friend of a friend. I asked absolutely everything I could think of about the university and the course, as she was currently studying there and was my best reference. The admission process included an application that asked all the questions expected when entering a medical degree. The admission process also included an interview as well as consideration of our final OP (or ATAR if outside QLD) grade. There were no application fees, except that of the QTAC website. I applied for several colleges before graduating but chose JCU after some deliberation. I believed it was the best university for the type of medical degree I wished to acquire. I opted for this program because it has a great focus on rural health and medicine. In the long term, I wish to study overseas in developing countries, so I decided to go to JCU to get a head start and learn particularly about rural and tropical medicine to help me in the future. When applying for JCU, they do not consider the UMAT score, all you need to apply is a good final grade twelve grade, complete an application and be available for an interview. Regarding batch sizes when applying, they take around 10,000 applications last I heard, and interview around 2000 people. The grade size of my year began with around 250 people. Now, I am in the second year and we have a size of around 200 students studying in my year.


Course Curriculum - 

I find the course curriculum to be quite enjoyable. Although it is a bit full-on, that is to be expected considering it is a medical degree. As it is an undergraduate course it is organized a little differently than that of a postgraduate course. The first 3 years are preclinical and are largely made up of learning about the body and diseases in a lecture room and class environment. However, during this time you are also expected to complete clinical skill hurdles and learn how to take histories, vital signs and perform various examinations. You also have quite a several placements during the holidays. From 4th to 6th year, the course becomes a lot more practical. You spend a lot of time learning directly in hospitals and have a lot more placements. Thus, I find the curriculum to be quite good. It has an appropriate balance of science and practical medical skills to keep you motivated.

8 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
10 /10
accomodation/food
10 /10
placement
9 /10
extracurricular
03, Sep 2019 read more
D
Deval vora, INDIA Master of engineering
James Cook University
Current student , Batch : 2020
8.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

COURSE AND FACULTY AT JCU

Course structure & it's situated in a regional area so it is an easy life & I can interact with more people and make connections easily with native people! I also need international exposure! I live in Cairns.


Course Curriculum - 

The subject course is nice & the professor can individually pay attention to students which makes it easy. It also helps to clear all the doubts & I can mail them at any time to ask doubt about the assignment.

8 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
9 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
8 /10
extracurricular
31, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Nikhil somanathan nair, INDIA Mba in leadership
James Cook University
Current student , Batch : 2021
8.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

JAMES COOK UNIVERSITY, STUDYING AND LIVING

The Australian experience and ranking. An Australian experience would count for a lot back in my home country of India. The university I chose is also a very reputed one and a very established one. Also, I get two years of temporary residency which will give me a chance to put my theoretical knowledge into practical skills.


Course Curriculum - 

Adequate and to the point. It largely covers the basics required to manage large corporations and touches base with modern problems like sustainability in the industry. The course offers plenty of assignments that require a very practical approach.

7 /10
academic
10 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
30, Mar 2019 read more
C
Cs, AUSTRALIA Nursing
James Cook University
Current student , Batch : 2021
10
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

JCU REVIEW

This college was the closest to my rural residence and most advertised to schools in my area. It also offers great health facilities and the option for extra study after completing my degree. There are plenty of work opportunities as it is connected to the local hospitals.


Course Curriculum - 

It is great. All information is relevant and can be used in all aspects of clinical practice. All practical classes are offered in the first week to ensure engagement is still high. There is plenty of help available including PASS classes.

10 /10
academic
10 /10
faculty
10 /10
infrastructure
10 /10
accomodation/food
10 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
26, Mar 2019 read more
N
Nishanth, INDIA Mit
James Cook University
Current student , Batch : 2019
8.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

BEST UNIVERSITY IN TOWN - JCU REVIEW

Diversity bin campuses, they have campuses in multiple locations and allowed us to transfer between them which let us experience everything in all possible ways. And the diversity in teaching staff helped us to explore more.


Course Curriculum - 

It's well designed and suited to the current trend of technology. The way it was taught was organized and planned correctly to meet industry standards. The assessments are designed to make us think and work.

9 /10
academic
10 /10
faculty
10 /10
infrastructure
6 /10
accomodation/food
7 /10
placement
9 /10
extracurricular
17, Mar 2019 read more
Apply Now DOWNLOAD BROCHURE  
INTERESTED IN THIS COLLEGE ?
Get free counselling

Follow & Share this college to get information about admission

FACULTY, SCHOOLS AND CAMPUSES
COLLEGES IN QUEENSLAND, AUSTRALIA
Australian Catholic University Brisbane, Queensland
Griffith University Brisbane, Queensland
Queensland University of Technology Brisbane, Queensland
University of Queensland Brisbane, Queensland
Bond University Gold Coast, Queensland
NEAREST RANKED COLLEGES