
| Updated On - Oct 23, 2026
Master in Financial Accounting in Canada is a 1 to 2 year MAcc, MPAcc or MMPA degree. For a taught program, University of Toronto MMPA at Rotman leads. In October 2026, the first Fall 2027 deadlines fall between November 2026 and February 2027.
- Tuition runs from CAD 12,894 (INR 8.67 Lakhs) at UBC DAP to CAD 96,480 (INR 64.85 Lakhs) at York Schulich MAcc.
- Toronto MMPA and York MAcc carry CPA accreditation for direct Canadian licensure.
- Toronto ranks #15 but opens only one Fall intake per year.
- PGWP gives up to 3 years of open work after a Masters degree.
- JN Tata Endowment loan scholarships are open until 31 January 2027.
Check Out: Study in Canada
Exchange rate: all CAD figures convert at 1 CAD = INR 67.22, the mid-market rate on 22 October 2026.
Latest Updates - October 2026
- On 31 January 2027, JN Tata Endowment loan scholarship applications close for Fall 2027.
- On 15 January 2027, Queen’s MFin Fall 2027 Round 2 application closes.
- On 1 December 2026, Toronto MMPA Fall 2027 Round 1 deadline falls.
- For Fall 2026, Ontario accounting Masters fees rose 4 to 6 percent.
- QS #2026 ranked University of Toronto #15 for Accounting and Finance.
Table of Contents
- Top 10 Universities for Master in Financial Accounting in Canada
- Why Study Master in Financial Accounting in Canada
- Master in Financial Accounting in Canada Application Deadlines for Fall 2027
- Master in Financial Accounting in Canada Fees for Indian Students
- Cost of Living in Canada for Master in Financial Accounting Students
- Master in Financial Accounting in Canada Eligibility and Requirements
- Master in Financial Accounting in Canada Without GMAT
- CPA Canada Pathway After Master in Financial Accounting in Canada
- Scholarships for Master in Financial Accounting in Canada for Indian Students
- Canada Student Visa and PGWP After Master in Financial Accounting
- Jobs and Salary After Master in Financial Accounting in Canada
- Conclusion
- FAQs
Top 10 Universities for Master in Financial Accounting in Canada
Top universities for Master in Financial Accounting in Canada include Toronto, UBC, McGill, Queen’s and Waterloo. Toronto leads at #15 on QS #2026 Accounting and Finance. UBC and McGill follow at #32 and #54. Queen’s and Waterloo rank #101-150.
| University | Location | QS World University Rankings by Subject 2026: Accounting and Finance |
|---|---|---|
| University of Toronto | Toronto, Ontario | #15 |
| University of British Columbia | Vancouver, British Columbia | #32 |
| McGill University | Montreal, Quebec | #54 |
| Queen’s University | Kingston, Ontario | #101-150 |
| University of Alberta | Edmonton, Alberta | #101-150 |
| University of Waterloo | Waterloo, Ontario | #101-150 |
| Universite de Montreal | Montreal, Quebec | #101-150 |
| Western University | London, Ontario | #101-150 |
| York University | Toronto, Ontario | #101-150 |
| University of Calgary | Calgary, Alberta | #251-300 |
Waterloo and York Schulich offer taught MAcc programs. Toronto Rotman offers the MMPA, a CPA-accredited taught masters. UBC runs the DAP post-bacc for non-accounting graduates. McGill runs a Graduate Certificate in Professional Accounting. Queen’s Smith and Western DAN run short Graduate Diplomas. Alberta and Calgary place accounting inside their MBA. Montreal lists an MSc Administration-Accounting through HEC.
Watch Out: MAcc, MMPA, MFin and Graduate Diploma are not interchangeable credentials. The Toronto MMPA, Waterloo MAcc and York MAcc are the full taught masters. UBC DAP, McGill, Queen’s and Western run shorter CPA conversion diplomas. In October 2026, Indian applicants should pick a target credential before paying fees.
Check Out: Accounting Universities in Canada
Why Study Master in Financial Accounting in Canada
A Master in Financial Accounting in Canada gives Indian students CPA entry and PGWP work rights. Accredited MMPA and MAcc routes feed direct CPA Canada CFE entry. A 2-year Masters route qualifies for the PGWP. Fees sit below USA peers for most Indian applicants.
Master in Financial Accounting in Canada Application Deadlines for Fall 2027
Master in Financial Accounting in Canada application deadlines for Fall 2027 run from November 2026 to June 2027. UBC closes its DAP window on 1 November 2026 for the January intake. McGill’s international deadline is 15 December 2026. Waterloo MAcc accepts files until 1 April 2027.
| University | Program | Fall 2027 deadline | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| University of Toronto | Master of Management & Professional Accounting | 31 January 2027 (final) | Open |
| University of British Columbia | Diploma in Accounting Program (DAP) | 1 November 2026 (final) | Open |
| McGill University | Graduate Certificate in Professional Accounting | 15 December 2026 (final) | Open |
| Queen’s University | Graduate Diploma in Accounting | Not yet published | Awaiting dates |
| University of Alberta | MBA (Accounting specialization) | 15 March 2027 (final) | Open |
| University of Waterloo | Master of Accounting (MAcc) | 1 April 2027 (final) | Open |
| Universite de Montreal | MSc in Administration - Accounting | 15 March 2027 (final) | Open |
| Western University | Graduate Diploma in Accounting | 15 January 2027 (final) | Open |
| York University | Master of Accounting (MAcc) | Not yet published; last cycle closed on 22 October 2026 | Awaiting dates |
| University of Calgary | Full-time MBA, Accounting concentration | 1 March 2027 (final) | Open |
Most Canadian schools run a rolling or final-deadline system, not formal rounds. Alberta and Calgary review MBA files on a rolling basis. Indian students should start IRCC study permit steps once the Letter of Acceptance arrives.
Important Note: Apply in Round 1 by January 2027 where a school runs rounds. This gives your study permit 90 days of lead time. UBC’s 1 November 2026 deadline is first in the calendar. Lock your Letter of Acceptance well before biometrics.
Master in Financial Accounting in Canada Fees for Indian Students
Master in Financial Accounting in Canada fees for Indian students start at CAD 12,894 (INR 8.67 Lakhs) at UBC. The top of the range is York Schulich MAcc at CAD 96,480 (INR 64.85 Lakhs). Universite de Montreal lists no tuition fee. Toronto MMPA has not yet published its 2026-27 international rate.
| University | Program | Program Fees (Annual/Total) (CAD) | Program Fees (Annual/Total) (INR) |
|---|---|---|---|
| University of Toronto | Master of Management & Professional Accounting | Not yet published | Not yet published |
| University of British Columbia | Diploma in Accounting Program (DAP) | CAD 12,894 (Total, 15 courses at CAD 859.57 per 3-credit) | INR 8.67 Lakhs (Total) |
| McGill University | Graduate Certificate in Professional Accounting | CAD 25,015 (Total, 24 credits at CAD 1,042.30 per credit) | INR 16.82 Lakhs (Total) |
| Queen’s University | Graduate Diploma in Accounting | CAD 17,900 (Total, Deposit CAD 500 plus tuition balance CAD) | INR 12.03 Lakhs (Total) |
| University of Alberta | MBA (Accounting specialization) | CAD 37,170 (Annual, International MBA tuition published as CAD 826) | INR 24.99 Lakhs (Annual) |
| University of Waterloo | Master of Accounting (MAcc) | CAD 75,408 (Annual, 3 terms at CAD 25,136 per term) | INR 50.69 Lakhs (Annual) |
| Universite de Montreal | MSc in Administration - Accounting | Not yet published (Annual) | Not yet published (Annual) |
| Western University | Graduate Diploma in Accounting | CAD 18,000 (Total, 1 term at CAD 18,000 (international)) | INR 12.1 Lakhs (Total) |
| York University | Master of Accounting (MAcc) | CAD 96,480 (Total, 4 terms at CAD 24,120) | INR 64.85 Lakhs (Total) |
| University of Calgary | Full-time MBA, Accounting concentration | CAD 87,448.80 (Total, Full-time MBA international tuition, Fall 2025 rate) | INR 58.78 Lakhs (Total) |
Fees sit on annual or total basis. Longer CPA-track programs push totals higher. Toronto MMPA and York MAcc both run beyond a year.
Watch Out: Ontario accounting fees have risen 4 to 6 percent for the Fall 2026 intake. Western, Waterloo and York all sit in Ontario. Indian applicants should budget against the higher 2026-27 figure. Confirm the exact amount with each registrar before paying the deposit.
Check Out: Cost of Studying in Canada
Cost of Living in Canada for Master in Financial Accounting Students
Cost of living in Canada for Master in Financial Accounting students runs from CAD 15,000 (INR 10.08 Lakhs) to CAD 25,000 (INR 16.80 Lakhs) a year. Vancouver and Edmonton sit at the higher end. These figures feed the IRCC proof of funds maintenance rule of CAD 22,895 (INR 15.39 Lakhs) a year.
| University | City | Living Expenses per Year (CAD) | Living Expenses per Year (INR) |
|---|---|---|---|
| University of Toronto | Toronto, Ontario | CAD 34,002 (SGS Master’s first-year living estimate) | INR 22.86 Lakhs |
| University of British Columbia | Vancouver, British Columbia | CAD 20,000 (Typical graduate student in Vancouver) | INR 13.44 Lakhs |
| McGill University | Montreal, Quebec | CAD 20,212 (McGill estimate for single graduate student in) | INR 13.59 Lakhs |
| Queen’s University | Kingston, Ontario | CAD 20,058 (CAD 15,936-24,180/yr) | INR 13.48 Lakhs |
| University of Alberta | Edmonton, Alberta | CAD 28,793 (Annual cost of living in Edmonton including) | INR 19.35 Lakhs |
| University of Waterloo | Waterloo, Ontario | CAD 18,300 (Approx CAD 1,525 per month single graduate) | INR 12.3 Lakhs |
| Western University | London, Ontario | CAD 12,300 (12-month graduate estimate) | INR 8.27 Lakhs |
Figures are each university’s own 2026-27 estimates.
Toronto housing and transit outpace most Canadian cities for Indian students. McGill students in Montreal face moderate monthly outgoings. London, Ontario and Waterloo land lowest in the sampled cities. Alberta’s higher figure covers rent, groceries and transit.
Master in Financial Accounting in Canada Eligibility and Requirements
Master in Financial Accounting in Canada eligibility requires a 4-year bachelor’s with 75 percent and accounting prerequisites. McGill asks CGPA 3.0/4.0 with BCom accounting prerequisites. Waterloo admits only its own BAFM, BMath/CPA or BSc/CPA graduates.
- Four-year honours bachelor’s with 75 percent or CGPA 3.0/4.0 required for most Master programs.
- McGill requires BCom accounting prerequisites with B- minimum in each prerequisite course.
- Alberta and Calgary ask for 2 years of post-degree professional work experience.
- Alberta, Calgary and York require GMAT or GRE scores from Indian applicants.
- Alberta and York set TOEFL iBT 100 or IELTS 7.0 as the English floor.
- York asks prerequisites in Economics, Statistics and Corporate Finance for non-business graduates.
- Documents: transcripts, SOP or essays, two references, CV and English score upload.
Important Note: A 3-year Indian bachelor’s may need a bridging year at most Canadian universities. Confirm the WES ECA policy on the program page before applying.
Master in Financial Accounting in Canada Without GMAT
Master in Financial Accounting in Canada without GMAT is possible at Waterloo, Queen’s, Alberta and Western for strong undergraduates. UBC and McGill also waive the GMAT. Western admits on prerequisite coursework and GPA alone.
| University | GMAT | TOEFL iBT | IELTS | Duolingo |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of Toronto | Not stated | 100 iBT | 7.0 overall | Not stated |
| University of British Columbia | Not stated | 90 | 6.5 | Not stated |
| McGill University | Not stated | 86 | 6.5 | Not stated |
| Queen’s University | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| University of Alberta | Not stated | 100 iBT | 7.0 overall | Not stated |
| University of Waterloo | Not stated | 90 iBT, 25 writing/speaking | 6.5 overall, 6.5 writing/speaking | Not stated |
| Universite de Montreal | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Western University | Not stated | 86 | 7 | Not stated |
| York University | Not stated | 100 iBT | 7.0 overall | Not stated |
| University of Calgary | Not stated | 97 | 7.0 | Not stated |
Waterloo takes only its own CPA-accredited undergraduate graduates. Queen’s uses prerequisite coursework and GPA instead. The table shows each school’s TOEFL and IELTS floor. Indian applicants from English-medium degrees may qualify for a test waiver at UBC, Alberta, York and Western.
CPA Canada Pathway After Master in Financial Accounting in Canada
CPA Canada pathway after Master in Financial Accounting skips the PEP modules. Graduates sit the Common Final Examination (CFE) directly. Western prepares applicants for CPA Canada PEP at advanced standing. Toronto, McGill, Waterloo and Queen’s run named professional accounting Master streams.
CPA PEP applicants take six modules after any accounting undergraduate degree. A CPA accredited Master waives these PEP modules outright. The CFE closes the licensure path for every candidate. CPA India members may use the CPA India to CPA Canada mutual recognition agreement. The MRA still needs practical experience under a Canadian CPA mentor.
Important Note: A CPA accredited Master lets you skip the PEP modules outright. You still sit the Common Final Examination at the end. You also need 30 months of practical experience under a Canadian CPA mentor.
Scholarships for Master in Financial Accounting in Canada for Indian Students
Scholarships for Master in Financial Accounting in Canada for Indian students include JN Tata, KC Mahindra and Aga Khan ISP. Narotam Sekhsaria rounds out the external loan options. McGill’s Douglas Mellor Prize awards CAD 2,300 (INR 1.55 Lakhs) on academic merit.
| Scholarship | Coverage | Status for Fall 2027 |
|---|---|---|
| JN Tata Endowment | Loan up to INR 10 lakh plus grant | Open until 31 January 2027 |
| KC Mahindra Scholarships | Loan INR 5-10 lakh | Closed 31 March 2026; 2027 cycle unannounced |
| Narotam Sekhsaria Scholarship | Loan up to INR 20 lakh | Closed 18 March 2026; 2027-28 cycle unannounced |
| Aga Khan Foundation ISP | 50% grant, 50% loan; tuition plus living | Next round, applications open January 2027 |
| Douglas Mellor Prize (McGill) | CAD 2,300 academic prize CAD 2,300 (INR 1.55 Lakhs) | Awarded on academic merit |
Indian students stack an external loan scholarship with a university entrance award. JN Tata and Narotam Sekhsaria cover large tuition shortfalls.
Watch Out: Inlaks Shivdasani excludes Business and Management from its list. Vanier and Trudeau fund doctoral candidates only. CGS-M is restricted to Canadian citizens and permanent residents. Chevening, Fulbright-Nehru and DAAD fund other countries, not Canada. Indian applicants on a study permit cannot use these awards for this Master.
Canada Student Visa and PGWP After Master in Financial Accounting
The Canada student visa for Master in Financial Accounting is the IRCC study permit. A 2-year program grants up to a 3-year PGWP for open work. Indian applicants file after the Letter of Acceptance arrives.
The Indian study permit file flows through IRCC in sequence. Build proof of funds of CAD 22,895 (INR 15.39 Lakhs) a year beyond tuition.
- Secure a Letter of Acceptance from a Designated Learning Institution.
- Open an IRCC Secure Account for the online application.
- Pay the CAD 150 (INR 10,083) study permit fee at IRCC.
- Add the CAD 85 (INR 5,714) biometrics fee at VFS Canada.
- Attend a medical exam if the visa officer asks.
- Wait for the Port of Entry letter on approval.
The PGWP runs up to 3 years for a 2-year Master’s degree. Programs must run 8 months or more at a DLI. Create an Express Entry profile after a graduate offer.
Important Note: IRCC raised Canada proof of funds to CAD 22,895 (INR 15.39 Lakhs) a year for the 2026 intake. Indian applicants should refresh bank statements before filing the study permit. Each dependent needs separate funds beyond this amount.
Check Out: Canada Student Visa Fees
Jobs and Salary After Master in Financial Accounting in Canada
Jobs after Master in Financial Accounting in Canada include Financial Analyst, Auditor, Tax Associate and Management Accountant roles. The 2025 median hourly wage for Canadian accountants is CAD 40.36 (INR 2,713). Indian graduates pursue CPA Canada.
Big 4 firms (Deloitte, PwC, EY, KPMG) recruit from CPA-accredited Canadian masters. Canadian banks like RBC, TD, Scotiabank, BMO and CIBC run graduate finance programs. Waterloo MAcc reports a starting base of CAD 60,000 (INR 40.33 Lakhs) for 90 percent of 2025 graduates. The top reaches CAD 100,000 (INR 67.22 Lakhs) a year. Financial Analyst median wages reach CAD 43.27 (INR 2,909) an hour. Toronto and Montreal host the deepest hiring pools. The CPA Canada designation widens role options after qualification.
Conclusion
Target Toronto MMPA for CPA depth, Waterloo MAcc for a top salary floor or UBC DAP for non-accounting graduates.
- Shortlist five Canadian universities by November 2026 using fit, fees and CPA accreditation.
- Order the WES ECA credential review for Indian transcripts in November 2026.
- Book the GMAT or request a program waiver by December 2026.
- Submit the Round 1 application for Toronto MMPA by 31 January 2027.
- Start the study permit file within two weeks of the Letter of Acceptance.
FAQs
Ques. What is the cost of Master in Financial Accounting in Canada for Indian students?
Ans. Total tuition for a Master in Financial Accounting in Canada starts at CAD 12,894 (INR 8.67 Lakhs) at UBC. The top of the band is CAD 96,480 (INR 64.85 Lakhs) at York Schulich MAcc. McGill Graduate Certificate costs CAD 25,015 (INR 16.82 Lakhs) total for Indian applicants. Annual living for Indian students starts at CAD 15,000 (INR 10.08 Lakhs) in smaller Canadian cities. Toronto and Vancouver push the living band to CAD 25,000 (INR 16.80 Lakhs) a year. IRCC proof of funds adds CAD 22,895 (INR 15.39 Lakhs) to the file. Add the CAD 150 (INR 10,083) study permit fee at IRCC. Budget the CAD 85 (INR 5,714) biometrics fee for VFS Canada too.
Ques. Is GMAT required for Master in Financial Accounting in Canada?
Ans. GMAT is not universally required across Canadian masters in financial accounting. Waterloo MAcc, Alberta MAcc and Queen’s MFin waive GMAT for Indian applicants with an 80%+ bachelor’s aggregate. Toronto MMPA and Western MPAcc still ask for a competitive GMAT score. Indian applicants should book the GMAT well before Round 1 for Fall 2027. Request a waiver in writing from each school’s admissions office before paying the fee. Factor two to three months of prep time for Indian working professionals. A strong score also offsets fewer accounting prerequisites on the Indian transcript.
Ques. Can I pursue CPA Canada after a Master in Financial Accounting?
Ans. Yes, CPA Canada accreditation lets Indian graduates enter the final CPA stages directly. Toronto MMPA, Western MPAcc, Queen’s MFin and Waterloo MAcc are CPA-accredited taught programs. These programs grant direct entry to the Common Final Examination (CFE). They also grant exemptions from Professional Education Program (PEP) modules. Indian graduates can sit the CFE without the full PEP pathway. Pair this with 30 months of relevant Canadian work for the CPA Canada designation. Non-accredited masters route through the full CPA PEP after graduation. Confirm current CPA Ontario or CPA BC rules before enrollment.
Ques. Can I get a 3-year PGWP after a Master in Financial Accounting in Canada?
Ans. Yes, Indian graduates qualify for a 3-year PGWP after a 2-year Master in Financial Accounting. The PGWP matches program length for Indian graduates. The maximum PGWP is 3 years for programs of 2 years or more. Programs must run at least 8 months at a Designated Learning Institution. Short diplomas like Queen’s Graduate Diploma do not grant a PGWP. Toronto MMPA (24 months), Waterloo MAcc (20 months) and York MAcc (16 months) all qualify. Apply for the PGWP promptly after receiving final transcripts.
Ques. Can I apply with a 3-year Indian bachelor’s and backlogs?
Ans. Most Canadian masters in financial accounting want a 4-year undergraduate degree or an equivalent. Indian 3-year bachelors must file a WES ECA credential review for equivalence. The WES report maps the Indian degree to a Canadian 4-year equivalent. Backlogs are usually tolerated up to 6 to 8 across admissions committees. Indian applicants need a 75%+ aggregate to offset backlogs. A strong GMAT score helps the file at CPA-accredited programs. Call the admissions office before applying if backlogs cross eight. Add a short note of context in the statement of purpose.
Ques. What is the average salary after Master in Financial Accounting in Canada?
Ans. Entry salaries after a Master in Financial Accounting in Canada run CAD 60,000 (INR 40.33 Lakhs) to CAD 85,000 (INR 57.14 Lakhs) a year. Big 4 firms and Canadian banks pay this band to fresh hires. Toronto MMPA graduates reach CAD 110,000 (INR 73.94 Lakhs) at the top. Waterloo MAcc graduates self-report starting base from CAD 60,000 (INR 40.33 Lakhs). Indian hires at Deloitte, PwC, EY and KPMG start in this entry band.
Ques. When should I start the Canada study permit after my offer?
Ans. Indian applicants should start the Canada study permit file within 2 weeks of accepting an offer. Create the IRCC Secure Account the day the Letter of Acceptance arrives. Biometrics and medical steps can run 60 to 90 days combined. Line up biometrics and medicals early for a Fall 2027 campus start. Pay the CAD 150 (INR 10,083) study permit fee at IRCC. Add the CAD 85 (INR 5,714) biometrics fee at VFS Canada. Keep CAD 22,895 (INR 15.39 Lakhs) proof of funds ready for the file.























Comments