CARLETON UNIVERSITY, OTTAWA, ONTARIO - REVIEWS

Ottawa, OntarioLOCATION
UniversitySCHOOL TYPE
Estd 1942Established Year
  30416Enrollment

College rating

based on 19 students ratings

7.4/10

8.2/10academic
7.8/10infrastructure
6.5/10placements
7.9/10faculty
7.4/10extracurricular
6.6/10accommodation

Reviews

avatar image
Ashley, CANADA Criminology
Carleton University
Current student , Batch : 2022
6.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

CARLETON UNIVERSITY - GREAT TEACHING ASSISTANCE

Wanted to study in a city that would be good for what I desire to be in life( studying to become a lawyer in hopes of being in the SCC, specific program at the school had good reviews and wanted to experience Ottawa.


Course Curriculum - 

Course Curriculum varies on the course, some courses have extremely good ways of explaining the context where others you?re basically teaching yourself. The teaching assistants are very helpful and personally I believe all classes should have tutorials as it brings students to ask questions instead of trying to understand then curriculum themselves.

8 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
1 /10
accomodation/food
5 /10
placement
9 /10
extracurricular
29, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Karla, CANADA Commerce
Carleton University
Current student , Batch : 2020
7.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

UNIVERSITY AND THE FREEDOM OF EXPLORATION.

It was really close to my house and also where I work part-time during school and full time during the summer. It helps me avoid paying rent. They also offered me a good scholarship and accept pretty early on.


Course Curriculum - 

My opinion on the course curriculum at my school is that it is actually great. You have a lot of classes which you are required to take for your major but you also have a lot of freedom to explore different courses.

7 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
9 /10
infrastructure
7 /10
accomodation/food
5 /10
placement
7 /10
extracurricular
17, Apr 2019 read more
avatar image
Meghan, CANADA Global and international studies
Carleton University
Current student , Batch : 2020
7.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

THE LIFE OF MEG

I toured the city and fell in love with the tone that was set and everything it had to offer. The environment is super student friendly and there is always something new and interesting happening. Plus the program was exactly what I wanted.


Course Curriculum - 

I think that the curriculum is perfectly fitted to all global and international specialties. It also provides lots of opportunities for involvement and expanding one's knowledge through diverse experiences.

9 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
9 /10
infrastructure
6 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
8 /10
extracurricular
03, Dec 2019 read more
avatar image
Kalim shariff, INDIA Electrical and computer engineering
Carleton University
Current student , Batch : 2019
8.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

INTERNATIONAL STUDENT REVIEW

Good education and good faculty. And an excellent environment with good infrastructure and helping people in the university as my friends joined before I joined which helped me in joining the university.


Course Curriculum - 

It should be focused on a single course instead of so many courses. So that one can concentrate on the course and learn the course practically without just reading the course. So that one can gain more practical knowledge which helps in getting a job.

8 /10
academic
10 /10
faculty
9 /10
infrastructure
9 /10
accomodation/food
4 /10
placement
9 /10
extracurricular
16, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Angelique, CANADA Psychology
Carleton University
Current student , Batch : 2022
7.7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

AMAZING SCHOOL, HIGHLY RECOMMEND

This college is closer to my house in Clarence Creek. It had the program I was looking for which was psychology (other schools did not have that exact program). It was a campus that was easy to get to and to get around.


Course Curriculum - 

I believe the course curriculum is pretty standard, there are some things missing such as certain key points in the psychology class (More information on all fields). So far, I think the curriculum is amazing.

8 /10
academic
10 /10
faculty
7 /10
infrastructure
9 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
4 /10
extracurricular
18, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Meagan breault, CANADA Master of arts
Carleton University
Current student , Batch : 2020
7.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

CARLETON FIRST YEAR OPINIONS

The supervisor fit my project the best. The department also had many other scholars who were specialists in the field that I wanted to study. I also wanted to try living and studying in a new city. Ottawa seemed like a good choice.


Course Curriculum - 

It could be reworked a little. I think that the courses should not be a full year but rather a half year. Also, if you pass the language requirement then you shouldn't have to take classes throughout the year still.

8 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
7 /10
infrastructure
6 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
7 /10
extracurricular
31, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Tity, CANADA Law
Carleton University
Current student , Batch : 2021
5.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

REVIEW OF CARLETON UNIVERSITY

I decided on this university because I am an international student and I do not have my nuclear family living in the same country as I am but I do have an uncle who lives in the city which my school is located so I thought it would be important to live close to family in case I needed any assistance or guidance in this new country. Also, it was one of the schools which had a pre-law program that seemed good. I also had friends in the school and I do not have it easy when it comes to making friends so I thought it would be important for me to go to a school where I already had friends just to make my experience easier to deal with it.


Course Curriculum - 

The curriculum is fairly easy in relation to other courses and stories which I heard before getting into university. It can be very overwhelming at times because of the numerous reading which is assigned for the different courses. When a person is taking 5 courses which is usually the average amount, and each course has 323-page readings as well as restate and assignment it is hard to keep up with but the stress is part of the college experience I guess.

8 /10
academic
6 /10
faculty
7 /10
infrastructure
4 /10
accomodation/food
4 /10
placement
6 /10
extracurricular
23, Apr 2019 read more
avatar image
Gerald amenyah, CANADA Computer science
Carleton University
Current student , Batch : 2020
7.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

UNIVERSITY LIFE OF THE REALEST

I chose this particular school because Carleton university offered me a scholarship. I also like the atmosphere in Ottawa as it is very similar to that of my hometown. The third reason for my selection of Carleton is because they have a very good athletics department.


Course Curriculum - 

I believe that the course curriculum for computer science is very challenging as well as very intuitive. We are tasked over 4 years to learn several programming languages, as well as apply them outside of the coding interface through computer logic.

9 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
7 /10
infrastructure
6 /10
accomodation/food
7 /10
placement
9 /10
extracurricular
24, Apr 2019 read more
avatar image
Emilie, CANADA Sociology
Carleton University
Current student , Batch : 2019
5.7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

CARLETON RAVENS

Great programs offered to the students. I was originally deciding against Ottawa University and Carleton then I Chose Carleton because they seem to focus a little more on the needs of the students and providing help where they can whereas you seemed to be on your own at Ottawa.


Course Curriculum - 

The curriculum is normally pretty fair. The workload can definitely be divided a bit better between the semester to ensure that the students aren't struggling as hard as when they are when all of the final assignments and exams are all at the same time.

7 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
7 /10
infrastructure
5 /10
accomodation/food
4 /10
placement
4 /10
extracurricular
25, Apr 2019 read more
avatar image
Sara, CANADA Bachelor of arts [b.a] history
Carleton University
Current student , Batch : 2021
8.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

CARLETON REVIEW

It’s in Ottawa, which is very helpful for my major. So much history has happened here and is happening. I also really liked how close the campus is. It’s really contained but still big enough that you feel like you’re somewhere new.


Course Curriculum - 

I like all my courses. They have all been very well taught and informative. I always learn new things in them and, for the most part, they are taught in a way that I can learn from. There are many supports for academics here as well.

8 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
7 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
9 /10
extracurricular
17, Sep 2019 read more

Load More Reviews
Apply Now DOWNLOAD BROCHURE  
INTERESTED IN THIS COLLEGE ?
Get free counselling

Follow & Share this college to get information about admission

FACULTY, SCHOOLS AND CAMPUSES
COLLEGES IN ONTARIO, CANADA
Algoma University Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario
OCAD University Toronto, Ontario
University of Waterloo Waterloo, Ontario
University of Windsor Windsor, Ontario
Brescia University College London, Ontario
NEAREST RANKED COLLEGES