Get $150 Scholarship!

CARLETON UNIVERSITY, OTTAWA, ONTARIO - REVIEWS

Ottawa, OntarioLOCATION
UniversitySCHOOL TYPE
Estd 1942Established Year
  30416Enrollment

College rating

based on 24 students ratings

7.4/10

8.1/10academic
7.8/10infrastructure
6.6/10placements
7.8/10faculty
7.2/10extracurricular
6.9/10accommodation

Reviews

FILTER BY
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL

POPULAR TAGS

faculty
program
carleton
tuition
campus
exam structure
professor
course curriculum
experience
entrance
bus pas
fee structure
multiple choice
scholarship available
high school
M
Meghan, CANADA Global and international studies
Carleton University
Current student , Batch : 2020
7.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

THE LIFE OF MEG

I toured the city and fell in love with the tone that was set and everything it had to offer. The environment is super student friendly and there is always something new and interesting happening. Plus the program was exactly what I wanted.


Course Curriculum - 

I think that the curriculum is perfectly fitted to all global and international specialties. It also provides lots of opportunities for involvement and expanding one's knowledge through diverse experiences.

9 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
9 /10
infrastructure
6 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
8 /10
extracurricular
03, Dec 2019 read more
V
Vanessa gemmell, CANADA Bachelor communication and media studies on-campus
Carleton University
Alumna/alumnus , Batch : 2019
5.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

AFFORDABLE BUT UNPLEASANT FACULTY

Least expensive University in the Ottawa area. The only other option is Ottawa University and their tutition is almost a third more expensive. This was the only University I applied to, therefore I did not spend a lot of time or money applying to different schools. I believe that the application price was just over $200.


Course Curriculum - 

I have not learned much of what I had wanted to. Once I obtain a position in this field I will definitely need extensive further training and education.

7 /10
academic
2 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
5 /10
accomodation/food
7 /10
placement
4 /10
extracurricular
05, Nov 2019 read more
A
Anthony luo, CANADA Computer systems engineering
Carleton University
Current student , Batch : 2023
7.7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

CARLETON UNIVERSITY - A GOOD LEARNING EXPERIENCE

The biggest reasons are probably that the university was close to home, has a renowned aerospace program, and has a lot of intl. research. I applied for AFM at waterloo as well, as well as engineering for mac; but later decided to turn down AFM because I wasn't interested in the program, and turned down engineering at McMaster because the campus just wasn't as nice as the campus here. I would have chosen to go to UofT (bigger city), but housing prices and the way they handle the grading system there is ridiculous. Carleton was also one of the only universities to allow you to double major in engineering, or add a minor to engineering. UOttawa engineering is incomparable to Carleton engineering.


Course Curriculum - 

I think that the course curriculum could be a little more rigorous, but I come from a background where tests are made for you to average around 60% (for higher mark spread), before they're curved. I think that at Carleton, looking at the course material, the courses in the first and second year prepare you for third and fourth year. I would also like to see a more open first year - If you wanted to take a more rigorous math course because you were interested, you would have to retake first-year courses over the summer because they literally don't give you an option to choose your courses for first-year engineering, which leads to either gaps in knowledge (where one course is the same credit as another, but doesn't cover the same material), or leading to you unable to continue down a certain stream because they choked out your first year.

7 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
7 /10
accomodation/food
7 /10
placement
8 /10
extracurricular
10, Oct 2019 read more
B
Bhavana vidyabhusan, BANGLADESH Mba
Sprott School of Business
, Batch : 2020
8.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

SPROTT SCHOOL OF BUSINESS: FOR YOUR BRIGHT FUTURE

I took admission in Sprott School of Business because of the curriculum of its MBA program. The placement rate of the college is really good and heard a lot about the faculty. I did BBA from a renowned university in Bangladesh and wanted to complete my MBA from abroad. After researching a lot on the internet I decided to apply for the Sprott School of business through the International Student Application, the application fee for the MBA program was $150.


Course Curriculum - 

MBA has an integrated management curriculum, it is designed to teach us all the aspects of business management and strengthen our skill to perform like an expert in the industry. We get the chance to attend conferences, seminars, and many other programs during the course. The course concludes in 16 months only.

9 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
8 /10
extracurricular
24, Sep 2019 read more
A
Ashley cash, CANADA Criminology and criminal justice
Carleton University
Current student , Batch : 2022
8.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

CARLETON UNIVERSITY - GREAT TEACHING ASSISTANCE

Good school for the program I wanted to take, the city I study in is very big in the career path I'm hoping to take. Got a scholarship and award, out of the 5 schools I got accepted to it was the highest amount of money. Wanted to go to this school since I knew I was going to university. I took law in high school and knew that was the path I wanted to take, and within the program, I am in I learn about so many interesting things.


Exams - 

Perfect program in what career path I'm going to take, each semester I take 5 courses, which includes mandatory psychology law criminology and sociology. You must keep a 4 GPA in order to stay in this program which is low, and very easy to maintain. All of the professors in my program are very well educated which makes it a lot easier.

10 /10
academic
10 /10
faculty
10 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
5 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
24, Sep 2019 read more
S
Srikanth katoori, INDIA Master of applied science [m.asc] electrical and computer engineering
Carleton University
Current student , Batch : 2020
9
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

CARLETON'S REVIEW OF AN INTERNATIONAL STUDENT

This is one of the best public universities in the capital city of Canada. I found this university with the help of one of my friends over here in Canada. My graduation score is 76%. I choose Canada over other countries because of the job opportunities over here and also the long term reason for staying as a permanent resident which is very easy if you finish your master's degree. Another advantage of joining this university is you can also do courses from university of Ottawa as these two offer my program as a combined course. I opted for a Master of engineering in electrical and computer engineering because as an ECE background student I want to get into the IT field. So this program is course-based and has courses from both the electronics and computer.


Exams - 

I opted for IELTS and secured 6.5 overall with no band less than 6.

10 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
10 /10
infrastructure
7 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
17, Sep 2019 read more
R
Rish jain, CANADA Bachelor of engineering [b.eng] engineering physics
Carleton University
Current student , Batch : 2024
6.7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

WHY CARLETON UNIVERSITY MAY JUST BE THE SOCIETY YOU ARE LOOKING FOR!!

Well, the university I go to (Carleton University) is the local university. The way I got to know about it is through the internet. I got to know more when my sister started at the university. It was pretty easy getting into the engineering department. I applied around January and I got an offer of admission in one week. The fees were $50, which is the flat line for every application. I applied to a total of 3 universities. I got an offer from all three but I ended up choosing Carleton in the end. Not only is Carleton a good school, but it also was closer to my house and its engineering department is well respected. In terms of my academic background, I think I did pretty well overall. I graduated with a 88% average. It wasn't too hard but wasn't super easy. I did just enough studying to stay a little bit above the average and enjoy my high school years. I joined the program I am in because they allow you to specialize in semiconductor or optical systems in the 4th year, which is my goal. The field of semiconductors is booming and I want to be a part of it. Engineering Physics is probably the hardest course in the Engineering Department because of its overlap with physics courses.


Course Curriculum - 

In my opinion, the course curriculum is extremely hard. It is very easy to fall behind and start losing hope. The curriculum is basically meant to weed out the incompetent students so there is only room for geniuses. I think they should relax it a little bit so that kids can maintain themselves mentally.

9 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
4 /10
infrastructure
7 /10
accomodation/food
5 /10
placement
7 /10
extracurricular
17, Sep 2019 read more
S
Sara, CANADA Bachelor of arts [b.a] history
Carleton University
Current student , Batch : 2021
8.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

CARLETON REVIEW

It’s in Ottawa, which is very helpful for my major. So much history has happened here and is happening. I also really liked how close the campus is. It’s really contained but still big enough that you feel like you’re somewhere new.


Course Curriculum - 

I like all my courses. They have all been very well taught and informative. I always learn new things in them and, for the most part, they are taught in a way that I can learn from. There are many supports for academics here as well.

8 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
7 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
9 /10
extracurricular
17, Sep 2019 read more
T
Taylor plant, CANADA Business
Carleton University
Current student , Batch : 2021
6.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

OPPORTUNITY SEEKER

Studied in Israel for Highschool, had a hard time readjusting back to learning in English. Carleton has a program where you are a full time student, but take 3 courses with extra tutorials and support. It brought my grades up to par and I was accepted into my program. I also knew that financially, it made more sense to be at home. I was originally in international business, where I was to do an exchange, but I swapped into a bcom in order to pursue entrepreneurship. I am keeping my minor in German.


Course Curriculum - 

unbalanced and repetitive

7 /10
academic
6 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
5 /10
accomodation/food
7 /10
placement
6 /10
extracurricular
09, Aug 2019 read more
C
Charandeep om, BANGLADESH Bachelor of commerce in finance
Carleton University
, Batch : 2021
7.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

PERFECT UNIVERSITY FOR HARD WORKING STUDENTS

My sole purpose for joining the University of Carleton was that I knew there was a world out there for me to explore but I doubted that I would fit in. I had to trust myself and the university for that and after two years today, I am a better and more skilled person than I was before. I have seen award-winning researchers graduate and I hope to be one of those. To get admission in this university, I applied through Carleton360 Portal, paid an amount of $76 (application fee).


Course Curriculum - 

The academic syllabus is actually very demanding and only one who can put in that much hard work can actually achieve and go to great heights in his/her career.

9 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
6 /10
extracurricular
06, Aug 2019 read more

Apply Now DOWNLOAD BROCHURE  
INTERESTED IN THIS COLLEGE ?
Get free counselling

Follow & Share this college to get information about admission

FACULTY, SCHOOLS AND CAMPUSES
COLLEGES IN ONTARIO, CANADA
Algoma University Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario
OCAD University Toronto, Ontario
University of Waterloo Waterloo, Ontario
University of Windsor Windsor, Ontario
Brescia University College London, Ontario
NEAREST RANKED COLLEGES