DALHOUSIE UNIVERSITY - [DAL], HALIFAX, NOVA SCOTIA - REVIEWS

Halifax, Nova ScotiaLOCATION
UniversitySCHOOL TYPE
Estd 1818Established Year
  19000Enrollment

College rating

based on 21 students ratings

7.6/10

8.3/10academic
7.7/10infrastructure
7.3/10placements
8/10faculty
7.6/10extracurricular
6.3/10accommodation

Reviews

avatar image
Ewen, CANADA Science
Dalhousie University
Current student , Batch : 2022
9.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

EWEN'S REVIEW

The program was the one I wanted and it was in a city and had lots of things to do. Also, the school has a good reputation and an excellent program. The school also had excellent professors and very hardworking staff.


Course Curriculum - 

The course curriculum is very demanding and wants to get the most from students. It is very well laid out and is always challenging students without feeling too overwhelming. When it is feeling over wheeling there is lots of extra help.

9 /10
academic
10 /10
faculty
10 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
9 /10
placement
9 /10
extracurricular
13, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Javier, CANADA Music
Dalhousie University
Current student , Batch : 2022
6.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

DALHOUSIE: ACADEMICS WITHOUT COMMUNITY

They gave me the largest scholarship of all the schools I applied for. The voice Professor here is also really good and had a stunning career. The people I knew who were in the program were also very positive about it.


Course Curriculum - 

I think the curriculum is good. There are some parts such as the keyboard and aural skills which I think could use an update, but overall I am enjoying my program. I wish there was more choice in what to take in the first year, but I think all my classes are important.

8 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
7 /10
infrastructure
4 /10
accomodation/food
5 /10
placement
5 /10
extracurricular
13, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Olivia old, CANADA Kinesiology
Dalhousie University
Current student , Batch : 2020
6.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

UNIVERSITY IN A NUTSHELL

Known for excellent science programs, it's one of the biggest universities around me and provides people with a lot of opportunities. I wanted to venture out of the school my friends were attending and be able to make new friends.


Course Curriculum - 

I think it's fair, it teaches you what is useful to succeed in future careers or courses. The information is interesting and is what you will use when you leave university. The teachers know what they're talking about.

7 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
6 /10
infrastructure
4 /10
accomodation/food
6 /10
placement
7 /10
extracurricular
13, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Mariam, EGYPT Bachelor of science - psychology
Dalhousie University
Current student , Batch : 2020
7.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

MY REVIEW

I opted for this college because of the high ratings it has and because of the diversity of its student population. The quality of education is also really high and very research focused. Moreover, I love it because my friends are also a part of my community and I get to maintain these relationships


Course Curriculum - 

It's very advanced and helps an individual I'm being set up for their future in the career they desire, in this case, psychology, by preparing you for the real world and any challenges you might face. They offer very advanced courses Ke experiential learning that help you see how science is addressed daily without experiments.

9 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
4 /10
accomodation/food
7 /10
placement
7 /10
extracurricular
15, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Gabby furlotte, CANADA Commerce co-op
Dalhousie University
Current student , Batch : 2019
6.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

UNIVERSITY EXPERIENCE AND EXPENDITURES REVIEW

It's close to home and within my budget. I also really liked the co-op program that is offered as part of my degree. I also thought Dalhousie sounded prestigious so that was another reason I took it, rather than going to one of the other local universities around me (SMU).


Course Curriculum - 

I find it is challenging enough. I enjoy the classes I pick, however, some of the mandatory classes aren't as interesting for me, although I understand why I need to take them (to be well rounded in different areas of business).

7 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
7 /10
infrastructure
5 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
4 /10
extracurricular
19, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Chris, CANADA Kinesiology
Dalhousie University
Current student , Batch : 2019
7.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

THE UNIVERSITY EXPERIENCE

This particular university is quite nearby to where I live which is a big factor (I wanted to stay in Nova Scotia). I also heard a lot of good things about the kinesiology program before beginning my degree here at Dalhousie.


Course Curriculum - 

Good. Everything I need it to be. However, there are a few courses that are required that don't really help me with what I want to do in the future. I always wouldn't mind if there were a little more upper year course options.

8 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
7 /10
infrastructure
7 /10
accomodation/food
5 /10
placement
8 /10
extracurricular
26, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Cassidy, CANADA Neuroscience and theatre
Dalhousie University
Current student , Batch : 2020
8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

DALHOUSIE 101 - A MIX BETWEEN ARTS AND SCIENCES

I received the most money in scholarships at Dalhousie. I was also interested in the medical science program which I got accepted to. It was close to home so I would still be close to my family which was a plus.


Course Curriculum - 

The medical science program was very hard and the curriculum forced us to take some of the worst classes at dal. I switched to neuroscience and this program has been a lot better. The courses are interesting and not too hard. Theatre courses are very fun and engaging.

9 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
9 /10
infrastructure
7 /10
accomodation/food
7 /10
placement
7 /10
extracurricular
26, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Riley brum, CANADA Commerce
Dalhousie University
Current student , Batch : 2019
7.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

DALHOUSIE, GREAT EXPERIENCE

I chose this university because of the location and the program that was offered. The program included a Co-op program which will help me in the future with a future career in this field as it is very competitive.


Course Curriculum - 

I think that the course curriculum is interesting, however, it is challenging at times. There is a lot of group work which helps boost morale and teamwork skills which are important for the workforce. It also helps with problem-solving skills.

9 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
7 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
7 /10
extracurricular
27, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Aidan, CANADA Engineering
Dalhousie University
Current student , Batch : 2021
5.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

REVIEW OF SCHOOLING

It was close to where I'm from and both my parents went there and took the same program. It was also the only school that offered the full bachelor program near where I live and I like Halifax so I wanted to go to school here.


Course Curriculum - 

It's good too many classes and a lot of them don't seem useful. There should be less useless classes and only take 5 classes instead of 6. Other than the course load being too heavy it's good. I think they should start discipline-specific classes earlier.

6 /10
academic
3 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
5 /10
accomodation/food
4 /10
placement
7 /10
extracurricular
04, Jan 2019 read more
avatar image
August pearson, CANADA Biochemistry
Dalhousie University
Current student , Batch : 2019
8.7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

DALHOUSIE UNIVERSITY - A GREAT EXPERIENCE

I love the city. It's a beautiful place, and right by the ocean. There's a ton of activities and events available. The food is great. It's very student-friendly. The school has great buildings. They also provide really nice student support.


Course Curriculum - 

Really nice quality courses. The curriculum goes extremely in depth, especially for all of the upper year courses I've taken. Some of the introductory courses seemed too broad, but that goes away in upper-level years.

9 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
9 /10
infrastructure
9 /10
accomodation/food
6 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
14, Apr 2019 read more

Load More Reviews
Apply Now DOWNLOAD BROCHURE  
INTERESTED IN THIS COLLEGE ?
Get free counselling

Follow & Share this college to get information about admission

FACULTY, SCHOOLS AND CAMPUSES
Dalhousie Medical School halifax, Nova Scotia
Schulich School of law halifax, Nova Scotia
COLLEGES IN NOVA SCOTIA, CANADA
Saint Mary's University Halifax, Nova Scotia
Acadia University Wolfville, Nova Scotia
Cape Breton University Sydney, Nova Scotia
Mount Saint Vincent University Halifax, Nova Scotia
NSCAD University Halifax, Nova Scotia
NEAREST RANKED COLLEGES