MCMASTER UNIVERSITY, HAMILTON, ONTARIO - REVIEWS

Hamilton, OntarioLOCATION
UniversitySCHOOL TYPE
Estd 1887Established Year
  31843Enrollment

College rating

based on 19 students ratings

8.1/10

8.8/10academic
8.7/10infrastructure
7.3/10placements
8.2/10faculty
8.4/10extracurricular
7.3/10accommodation

Reviews

avatar image
Rija asif, CANADA Computer engineering
McMaster University
Current student , Batch : 2021
8.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

UNIVERSITY REVIEW - EXTENDED ENGINEERING PROGRAM

It offered me a good scholarship and research grant as well as a reputable program. McMaster University was also in a good location in the sense that I could live away from home but still be able to visit my parents every weekend.


Course Curriculum - 

The course curriculum is developed well however it could be taught more effectively if there were more instructional assistants and better resources. It is a very cut throat program and should be extended to 5 years instead of 4.

9 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
6 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
30, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Jasmine fong, CANADA Social work
McMaster University
Current student , Batch : 2019
9
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

MC MASTER UNIVERSITY PLACEMENTS AND ITS IMPACTS

McMaster has a well known program and it was closer to home. Mcmaster was also one of the few that allowed second year access into the program without prior experience or degree. It?s also a university that has been accredited with the college of social workers.


Course Curriculum - 

I don?t believe that courses adequately prepared students for their placements. I think that within the years prior to placement, courses focused on theory. However didn't adequately prepare students on how to manage some of the impacts from placements.

9 /10
academic
10 /10
faculty
9 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
10 /10
placement
8 /10
extracurricular
31, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Stephanie wang, CANADA Pnb
McMaster University
Current student , Batch : 2021
9
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

FREE AND FAIR ENVIRONMENT AT MCMASTER

The school is close to home, so I could be closer to my family members such as my parents. I enjoyed the fact that the college was also well known. the tuition is cheaper than other options in Ontario and in my area.


Course Curriculum - 

I like it most of the time. Sometimes I don't like being in a large lecture hall with a lot of students and only one professor. The course grading is pretty fair overall. I like my lab courses a lot.

9 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
9 /10
infrastructure
9 /10
accomodation/food
9 /10
placement
9 /10
extracurricular
04, Jan 2019 read more
avatar image
Rachel pollock, CANADA Political science
McMaster University
Current student , Batch : 2019
7.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

WHAT I THINK OF MCMASTER UNIVERSITY

I thought the campus was really beautiful. Additionally, it was very close to my family while still being out of the city. I enjoyed the academic standing the school holds. Additionally, I had heard good things about the political science program.


Course Curriculum - 

I really enjoy the course curriculum. I believe it challenges me and helps me be a better student. I enjoy the readings, as well as the assignments that are within the course curriculum. The courses are relevant to the program.

10 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
9 /10
infrastructure
6 /10
accomodation/food
7 /10
placement
7 /10
extracurricular
15, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Bishoy sefin, CANADA Software engineering
McMaster University
Current student , Batch : 2021
8.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

LIFE OF BEESH

McMaster has a Great campus that allows students to live freely and enjoy their time at school. Besides the campus, there are many great opportunities for students at this school ranging from co-op to research initiatives.


Course Curriculum - 

The course curriculum could be done better, but overall provides a basis for students to be successful which means that professors strive to prepare students for the real world by providing as much exposure to the real world as possible.

10 /10
academic
6 /10
faculty
10 /10
infrastructure
5 /10
accomodation/food
9 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
18, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Rumsha, TORONTO Electrical engineering
McMaster University
Current student , Batch : 2022
9
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

ENGINEERING AT MCMASTER U REVIEW

The community was really welcoming and there were a lot of ways to get involved. Furthermore, McMaster University is recognized in Canada and worldwide. I always wanted to go to a prestigious institution.


Course Curriculum - 

The course curriculum was excellent in the first year. We got exposure to various types of engineering since it was general in the first year and this gave us an opportunity to see what type of engineering we liked before applying. However, as we start the specialize the streams and curriculum changes more yearly.

10 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
10 /10
infrastructure
10 /10
accomodation/food
6 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
15, Apr 2019 read more
avatar image
Bula a, CANADA Electrical engineering
McMaster University
Current student , Batch : 2022
8.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

BULA'S OPINION ON MCMASTER UNIVERSITY

The campus was excellent and the environment, in general, felt nice. I found that the engineering program at McMaster was quite up to par with some of the top universities here in Canada. I believe when I graduate, I will feel like my undergrad was not a waste of time.


Course Curriculum - 

The course curriculum seems to be a bit out of date but overall the professors seem to keep everything up to date give or take a few things. The mathematics department likes to not give formula sheets so the students understand the formula instead of just plugging and chugging them.

10 /10
academic
10 /10
faculty
10 /10
infrastructure
6 /10
accomodation/food
5 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
24, Apr 2019 read more
avatar image
Ramina koma, CANADA Commerce
McMaster University
Alumna/alumnus , Batch : 2018
8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

MY TIME AT MCMASTER

It had an internship program and was a good distance from my house. I loved the look and feel of the campus. It was a big campus but still felt cozy because of the way the buildings looked. I read good things about the school on the internet and was highly ranked in the province and country.


Course Curriculum - 

The curriculum improved since I started. We had to take computer science in the first year which was not a helpful course but they took it out now. We didn't take any accounting courses in the first year which was not helpful at all.

7 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
9 /10
infrastructure
9 /10
accomodation/food
9 /10
placement
7 /10
extracurricular
25, Apr 2019 read more
avatar image
Coleton reeds, CANADA Commerce
McMaster University
Current student , Batch : 2021
9
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

GREAT MEDIUM SIZED UNIVERSITY

I enjoy the size of the campus which is relative to a medium sized campus. It is easily navigatable during the first week of school. The furthest classes were only an 8-minute walk which was absolutely perfect because you could go back to back classes with no problem. I also opted for this University because I believed they had a great Commerce program and it would help me reach my career goal of doing something in the Finance area.


Course Curriculum - 

Very interesting material, I enjoy the content that each course has to offer. Ultimately, I would say it is nicely structured where you can sample the different strands of business to see what you enjoy the most.

10 /10
academic
10 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
10 /10
accomodation/food
6 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
28, Apr 2019 read more
avatar image
Laura, CANADA Business
McMaster University
Alumna/alumnus , Batch : 2017
7.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

MCMASTER BUSINESS

Reputation and status of the university. Also, was close to my house so I could drive and save money rather than living in Hamilton and paying rediculous rent amounts. Some of my friends went there as well.


Course Curriculum - 

I like it because there are lots of options available to take. If you're in business you can take electives in other subjects like anthropology or sociology. Online classes are also available so it gives us flexibility.

7 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
7 /10
accomodation/food
9 /10
placement
7 /10
extracurricular
30, Nov -0001 read more

Load More Reviews
Apply Now DOWNLOAD BROCHURE  
INTERESTED IN THIS COLLEGE ?
Get free counselling

Follow & Share this college to get information about admission

FACULTY, SCHOOLS AND CAMPUSES
COLLEGES IN ONTARIO, CANADA
Algoma University Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario
Carleton University Ottawa, Ontario
OCAD University Toronto, Ontario
University of Waterloo Waterloo, Ontario
University of Windsor Windsor, Ontario
NEAREST RANKED COLLEGES