Get $150 Scholarship!

MEMORIAL UNIVERSITY OF NEWFOUNDLAND - [MUN], ST. JOHN'S, NEWFOUNDLAND & LABRADOR - REVIEWS

St. John's, Newfoundland & LabradorLOCATION
UniversitySCHOOL TYPE
Estd 1925Established Year
  18204Enrollment

College rating

based on 18 students ratings

7.5/10

8.3/10academic
7.4/10infrastructure
7.1/10placements
8/10faculty
8.2/10extracurricular
6/10accommodation

Reviews

FILTER BY
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL

POPULAR TAGS

faculty
campus
program
tuition
semester
course curriculum
experience
school
interest
residence
exam structure
science
fee structure
internship opportunity
credit hour
Y
Yasmin mannan, NEPAL Marine environmental technology
Marine Institute of Memorial University of Newfoundland
, Batch : 2020
9.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

THE DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL TECHNOLOGY

I got to know about this college from the internet. I had applied to 6 other colleges but this one was my top priority looking at its reputation and brand name. I paid around $120 for the online application along with sending the official transcripts, and a medical certificate as proof of physical fitness.


Course Curriculum - 

The program is structured in a three-year format to be delivered in six academic semesters, two practical skills training sessions, one work term, and one professional orientation session. Some subjects included in the course curriculum were-Technical Communications,-Marine Environment,-Oceanography,-Computer Database and Spreadsheet Applications,-Microbiology-and many more.

10 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
9 /10
infrastructure
9 /10
accomodation/food
9 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
30, Nov 2019 read more
U
Ujwal dev, INDIA Bachelor maritime studies - martitime management on-campus
Marine Institute of Memorial University of Newfoundland
Current student , Batch : 2022
9
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

MY EXPERIENCES AT THE MARINE INSTITUTE OF MEMORIAL UNIVERSITY OF NEWFOUNDLAND

I have always wanted to pursue my bachelor's in Canada. I did a lot of research before getting into this college. I had applied to the college through an online application portal. An application fee of $120 was also paid by me.


Course Curriculum - 

The course curriculum is designed to make us field ready and to acquire some proper managerial skills. Our curriculum gives us information about human resources, economics, marketing, and quality management in today's maritime industry. It is a unique professional degree that provides us with an in-depth understanding of the business as well as the Maine and technology management concepts. It helped me to endure success in the field by molding me into a knowledgeable professional.

10 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
9 /10
accomodation/food
10 /10
placement
8 /10
extracurricular
25, Nov 2019 read more
S
Sukhnivas sigroha, INDIA Maritime studies
Marine Institute of Memorial University of Newfoundland
, Batch : 2022
8.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

LIVING MY BEST LIFE!

After a lot of research on Canadian colleges, I narrowed down this one. A diploma in Maritime studies helped me to easily get through the admission procedure. I had applied to the college through an online application portal. An application fee of $120 was also paid by me.


Course Curriculum - 

The program is designed to make us field ready and acquire proper managerial skills. The curriculum gives us information about human resources, economics, marketing, and quality management in today's Maritime industry. It is a unique professional degree that provides us with an in-depth understanding of the business as well as the Maine and technology management concepts. It helps us endure success in the field by molding us into knowledgeable professionals.

10 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
10 /10
placement
8 /10
extracurricular
25, Nov 2019 read more
M
Melissa mackay, CANADA Bachelor of science [b.sc] psychology on-campus
Memorial University of Newfoundland (Grenfell)
Current student , Batch : 2020
6.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

MY REVIEW OF PSYCHOLOGY AT MEMORIAL

Tuition is the lowest in Atlantic Canada. I connected with the representative that came to my high school. I applied to three universities and ended up selecting St. Mary's for my first year, but decided to transfer to Memorial in my second year, the transfer process was very smooth. I chose Memorial overall based on tuition, the program opportunities (e.g. behavioral neuroscience courses), the city and culture of St. John's, and as a chance to get away from PEI while still maintaining an Atlantic Canada feeling of home. I graduated with a 95% average so if I had went to Memorial straight away I would have qualified for their entrance scholarships.


Course Curriculum - 

The program gives you a lot of choice in terms of the types of psychology courses you choose to engage in. You are required to choose a broad range of topics for a well-rounded knowledge of ideas.

8 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
5 /10
infrastructure
6 /10
accomodation/food
5 /10
placement
7 /10
extracurricular
10, Nov 2019 read more
L
Laura baggs, CANADA Bachelor of arts
Memorial University of Newfoundland
Current student , Batch : 2021
7.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

THE DO'S AND DON'TS OF MEMORIAL UNIVERSITY

In my senior year of high school, a few faculty members who worked in admissions scheduled academic advising appointments with all interested students. I told them that I was interested in pursuing a degree in Communication Studies and they told me about the program requirements and admission requirements for the Bachelor of Arts. I only applied to this school because I wasn't mentally or financially prepared to move away. I knew that there was more opportunity for career advancement if I applied to university and the programs offered at the local colleges didn't interest me. Memorial was the perfect fit. One of the main reasons why people attend Memorial is because of it's relatively low tuition compared to other schools. This point is debatable, however I believe that it's the campus life that convinces people to stay here. It's such an accepting, inviting environment. Everyone around you is willing to answer any questions you may have. It's easy to meet like minded people with all the clubs and extracurricular activities offered every year. It's an inclusive space where anyone no matter their race, ethnicity, sexuality or gender can happily express their true identity to everyone else.


Course Curriculum - 

The professors try their best to make the courses interesting, Your success in the program relies on the professors you pick as well as how much effort you put in. I like that the bachelor of arts degree gives you the opportunity to try every discipline. By doing this you get a real sense of what you are interested in. I remember when I first got to MUN I wanted to pursue a double major in English and Communication studies. Now after doing many folklore courses, I have changed that English Major to a Folklore minor. I grew to dislike English and I wouldn't have known that without trying out other subject matter.

9 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
6 /10
infrastructure
6 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
9 /10
extracurricular
17, Oct 2019 read more
T
Tahnee, CANADA Bachelor of business adminsitration
Memorial University of Newfoundland
Current student , Batch : 2021
6.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

MEMORIAL UNIVERSITY AT A GLANCE

I wanted to move away from home (Nova Scotia) and Memorial was the cheapest option of tuition while still being able to get out of the province. I applied to 3-4 colleges, all of them being local besides Memorial. My graduation score from high school was 85% and I did get into all schools I applied to.


Course Curriculum - 

I believe the course curriculum to be fair. There is room for a lot of electives which was nice. The only thing I really dislike is how many courses require a pre-requisite to get into- which really has dragged my degree from being completed as I can only do 1-2 courses a semester.

6 /10
academic
6 /10
faculty
6 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
7 /10
placement
8 /10
extracurricular
17, Oct 2019 read more
H
Hannah poole, CANADA Bachelor of science [b.sc] biochemistry on-campus
Memorial University of Newfoundland
Current student , Batch : 2023
8.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

STARTED STUDYING AT MEMORIAL UNIVERSITY OF NEWFOUNDLAND !

I chose this university because it is the only one in my province. I also opted for this particular university because Memorial offers affordable tuition fees. I graduated high school with honours and had about a 95% grade 12 average. I am passionate about courses such as chemistry, math and biology and know how good the programs for science at memorial are.


Course Curriculum - 

The science course curriculum is very interesting. My goal is to complete a biochemistry degree. I am thinking of majoring in biochemistry nutrition. The course material for my courses is interesting although challenging at times.

9 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
6 /10
accomodation/food
9 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
17, Oct 2019 read more
S
Summer, CANADA Bachelor of science [b.sc] psychology honours
Memorial University of Newfoundland (Grenfell)
Current student , Batch : 2020
6.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

MEMORIAL UNIVERSITY REVIEW

I applied because of its cheap tuition. They offered me a scholarship because of my high school average of 96%. The application process was simple and there was always someone available to answer questions quickly. I applied to 3 universities, and I received a scholarship for all of them however, the town of St Johns was the most interesting.


Course Curriculum - 

The course curriculum seems fair and provides a variety.

8 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
6 /10
infrastructure
4 /10
accomodation/food
6 /10
placement
4 /10
extracurricular
16, Oct 2019 read more
S
Sunita chander, NEPAL Mba
Memorial University of Newfoundland
, Batch : 2020
8.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

WHY MEMORIAL UNIVERSITY OF NEWFOUNDLAND IS THE BEST PLACE FOR MBA ASPIRANTS?

After completing my Bachelor's Degree in Business Administration I had to do an MBA to shape my career better. I opted for the Memorial University of Newfoundland for my MBA because one of my cousins did her MBA from this college and I knew it has a high placement rate, experienced faculty, and interesting curriculum. She highly recommended me this college and I am satisfied to be here. I applied to the college via the online admission portal and paid the application fee of $120.


Course Curriculum - 

This year of MBA program is designed really well, it prepares us to demonstrate our knowledge and skills at the international level. We are taught broad management concepts that are adaptable to a variety of organizations. Here we learn to develop decision-making, leadership, and team-building skills. We have a wholesome curriculum that prepares us for real-world challenges.

8 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
9 /10
infrastructure
9 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
8 /10
extracurricular
26, Aug 2019 read more
O
Olivia lanphear, CANADA Bachelor of science
Memorial University of Newfoundland
Current student , Batch : 2023
9.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

MUN REVIEW

I found out about this university through my school, there was assembly's held and people from the university came to my school to talk about it and it's programmed, as well as if it was right for us or not. It was $60 to apply to go to MUN, very simple and done by the computer. I applied to 3 universities but I chose MUN because it had the best tuition rates and it offered the degree I was interested in for moving forward in life. I graduated from grade 12 with honours status.


Course Curriculum - 

The course curriculum is good, there are many options to choose from to follow the path that best suits your degree and wants in life.

9 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
10 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
9 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
23, Aug 2019 read more

Apply Now DOWNLOAD BROCHURE  
INTERESTED IN THIS COLLEGE ?
Get free counselling

Follow & Share this college to get information about admission

AFFILIATED COLLEGES
COLLEGES IN NEWFOUNDLAND & LABRADOR, CANADA
Marine Institute of Memorial University of Newfoundland St. John's, Newfoundland & Labrador
College of the North Atlantic St. John's, Newfoundland & Labrador
NEAREST RANKED COLLEGES