UNIVERSITY OF BRITISH COLUMBIA - [UBC], VANCOUVER, BRITISH COLUMBIA - REVIEWS

Vancouver, British ColumbiaLOCATION
UniversitySCHOOL TYPE
Estd 1908Established Year
  55887Enrollment

College rating

based on 17 students ratings

7.6/10

8.2/10academic
8.5/10infrastructure
7/10placements
7.7/10faculty
7.9/10extracurricular
6.1/10accommodation

Reviews

avatar image
Allan kwong, CANADA Applied science
University of British Columbia
Current student , Batch : 2022
2.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

HIGH WORK PRESSURE AT UBC

One of the best for my program, it was also closest province to home. High reputation as I want to better myself through education and give myself the best chance to succeed later in life. Therefore to do this I went to the best university I could.


Course Curriculum - 

Useless and way to difficult for no reason. The load of courses in science is so heavy with maths and physics, and the teachers also don't teach the curriculum properly and the large amounts of students rely on prep courses and other external help to actually learn the content. The work load is also so heavy that we often do not get to go out to achieve or even attempt to achieve a high grade.

4 /10
academic
1 /10
faculty
3 /10
infrastructure
1 /10
accomodation/food
1 /10
placement
5 /10
extracurricular
16, Apr 2019 read more
avatar image
Mandy, CANADA Pharmd
University of British Columbia
Current student , Batch : 2020
7.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

UBC'S PHARM

It is close to where I live and a few of my older friends recommended this program at this college in particular. PharmD allows you to graduate from a 4-year program with a doctorate. Many people complete their undergraduate studies in 2 years and move directly onto PharmD for another 4 years for a grand total of 6 years.


Course Curriculum - 

I think it is pretty close to what I expected when I entered the program. I knew it would be difficult (it is a doctorate, after all) but with enough drive and passion, you can make the 4 short years go by even faster.

8 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
9 /10
infrastructure
6 /10
accomodation/food
9 /10
placement
7 /10
extracurricular
14, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Matthias ong, UNITED STATES Materials engineering
University of British Columbia
Current student , Batch : 2019
7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

REVIEW FOR A MATERIALS ENGINEERING STUDENT AT UBC

I wanted to live on my own, the city of Vancouver is fantastic and the University of British Columbia, especially the faculty of Applied Science (where I was planning to study) was ranked highly in multiple ranking metrics.


Course Curriculum - 

Not bad, learning a lot. I enjoy some of the classes such as Spreadsheet-Based Modeling and Data Analysis; Polymers and Polymer Matrix Composites; Coatings and Surface Modifications; Mechanical Behavior of Materials; Phase Transformations; Structure and Properties Lab.

7 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
7 /10
infrastructure
7 /10
accomodation/food
7 /10
placement
7 /10
extracurricular
18, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Taylor yorke, CANADA Kinesiology
University of British Columbia
Current student , Batch : 2020
4.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

MY EXPERIENCE

I went to a different university first where I graduated with a diploma in kinesiology. I applied to transfer all my credits to UBC to continue and receive a degree for completing two more years. I wanted to live in British Columbia. They are known for having a good kinesiology program.


Course Curriculum - 

I think the information and research that we are presented with are current and accurate. Most of the time we are encouraged to read the articles the information is coming from. I think the curriculum is organized and strong in all the kinesiology courses I am currently in.

6 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
7 /10
infrastructure
4 /10
accomodation/food
4 /10
placement
1 /10
extracurricular
25, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Julia, BRAZIL Faculty of arts
University of British Columbia
Current student , Batch : 2022
8.7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

UBC REVIEWED

UBC has a good program and a good student life as well as a good price that is reasonable for the education that I am getting. I also opted for UBC because I have family ties here since my sister also attends the same university.


Course Curriculum - 

I enjoyed the program I am taking but I do plan on switching faculties to the faculty of science to pursue a geology major. The coordinated arts program was really good although it is very Canada focused and has a preconceived notion that students that undertake this course already have prior knowledge of Canadian politics and history.

10 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
10 /10
infrastructure
6 /10
accomodation/food
7 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
27, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Karina, CANADA Combined major in science
University of British Columbia
Current student , Batch : 2021
6.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

A COLLEGE SUMMARY

It's close by and has a great reputation. The transportation to get there is easy and fairly quick. The campus is very big and the libraries are very nice to study in. There is easy access to food places around campus.


Course Curriculum - 

It's alright, the exams should be weighted so heavily (ex 65%). I enjoy how most of my classes are not project based on a group as those projects are challenging (due to group conflicts that always arise).

8 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
10 /10
infrastructure
5 /10
accomodation/food
4 /10
placement
6 /10
extracurricular
22, Apr 2019 read more
avatar image
Jake yuen, CANADA Political science
University of British Columbia
Current student , Batch : 2022
8.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

UBC HOUSING

The campus is accessible, beautiful and has many facilities to use. Top University in my country for my major. In addition, it provides co-op opportunities and works experiences to connect to an employer.


Course Curriculum - 

It is theoretical over practical but is very informative and interesting to learn. Although it does not provide specific career pathway learning, it provides an overview of a career field in government, politics and the economy.

8 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
9 /10
accomodation/food
7 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
23, Apr 2019 read more
avatar image
Isha, KENYA Faculty of arts
University of British Columbia
Current student , Batch : 2021
8.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

REVIEW FOR UBC

A very good reputation and the major I wanted to go into is very highly ranked in the world. And the program I chose is very versatile and flexible so I can take many electives and be exposed to the other programs as well.


Course Curriculum - 

Varies for every course but very good generally, the courses have good syllabuses and cover lots of material which makes the course very interesting and worthwhile. The courses are very well structured.

8 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
9 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
8 /10
extracurricular
24, Apr 2019 read more
avatar image
Carolyn, CANADA Natural resources conservation
University of British Columbia
Current student , Batch : 2022
8.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

REVIEWING UBC

It had the program I wanted to take. I wanted to do something environmental and I was looking at the other options for environmental degrees and this one fit best. I really like plant and animal biology and this degree seemed to focus on these things.


Course Curriculum - 

It is very applicable and relevant. I enjoyed all my courses and think they are all useful for this degree. I also had a few electives where I could choose any course. I really appreciated this since it gave me opportunities to learn something new.

9 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
10 /10
infrastructure
5 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
24, Apr 2019 read more
avatar image
Rodrigo de vera, CANADA Environmental studies
University of British Columbia
Current student , Batch : 2022
9.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

UBC

I chose this as it was close to home and it was more affordable for me as I could live at home. Also, I liked the campus and the fact that the mountains were just across a bridge, in North Vancouver.


Course Curriculum - 

I find it to be well thought out and pretty well rounded. The course teaches us well on the impacts on the environment by our actions and I find that it prepares us well for a career after graduation.

10 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
10 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
10 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
30, Nov -0001 read more

Load More Reviews
Apply Now DOWNLOAD BROCHURE  
INTERESTED IN THIS COLLEGE ?
Get free counselling

Follow & Share this college to get information about admission

AFFILIATED COLLEGES
Saint Mark's College Vancouver, British Columbia
FACULTY, SCHOOLS AND CAMPUSES
University of British Columbia (Okanagan) kelowna, British Columbia
Sauder School of Business vancouver, British Columbia
COLLEGES IN BRITISH COLUMBIA, CANADA
Fairleigh Dickinson University Vancouver, British Columbia
University Canada West Vancouver, British Columbia
Capilano University North Vancouver, British Columbia
Emily Carr University of Art & Design Vancouver, British Columbia
Kwantlen Polytechnic University Surrey, British Columbia
NEAREST RANKED COLLEGES