Get $150 Scholarship!

UNIVERSITY OF ALBERTA - [UOFA], EDMONTON, ALBERTA - REVIEWS

Edmonton, AlbertaLOCATION
UniversitySCHOOL TYPE
Estd 1908Established Year
  39094Enrollment

College rating

based on 26 students ratings

7.6/10

8.3/10academic
7.9/10infrastructure
7/10placements
8/10faculty
7.2/10extracurricular
7/10accommodation

Reviews

FILTER BY
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL

POPULAR TAGS

faculty
program
school
scholarship
tuition fee
campus
exam structure
course curriculum
interest
support
engineering
multiple choice
science
financial aid
meal plan
J
Jyoti sankar, INDIA Master psychotherapy and spirituality
St. Stephen's College
, Batch : 2020
8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

GLIMPSES OF ST. STEPHEN'S COLLEGE

I was born in Canada but I came to India at a very young age and continued my studies in India. That time I got very interested in spirituality and was interested to know more about it. Later, on seeing this course I could not stop myself from returning back to study spirituality. To get in, I applied at the official website along with a $390 application fee.


Course Curriculum - 

The course very well delivered to my expectation. It covered everything I wanted to know about spirituality and also give you the real life experience and benefits of performing spirituality and meditation regularly.

9 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
7 /10
extracurricular
31, Jan 2020 read more
A
Aygün y. hyazad, AZERBAIJAN Bachelor of commerce [b.com] marketing on-campus
School of Business, University of Alberta
Current student , Batch : 2021
9
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

STAYING AT THE BEST UNIVERSITY

Being a commerce student I always wanted to pursue a marketing degree. After going through the process I selected the School of Business, University of Alberta. I applied to the university with the help of an online application.


Course Curriculum - 

This graduate-level course involves an in-depth study of international business, including issues related to management, marketing, and finance. An up to date course curriculum is provided to us. The latest concepts and theories are included.

9 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
9 /10
infrastructure
9 /10
accomodation/food
9 /10
placement
9 /10
extracurricular
28, Jan 2020 read more
H
Hatem, CANADA Mining engineering
University of Alberta
Current student , Batch : 2022
8.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

UNIVERSITY OF ALBERTA'S ENGINEERING FACULTY

Because of the great reputation they have, the relative affordability, and the amazing engineering program (especially the Mining engineering one, which always ranks highly in the world). Another reason is the university's proximity to my home in Calgary.


Course Curriculum - 

I think it depends on the type of program we are talking about. For mine, I find that the course curriculum is overall well developed and tailored towards my specific major and that it sets you up enough to succeed in the future.

8 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
10 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
7 /10
placement
8 /10
extracurricular
03, Dec 2019 read more
S
Samantha barr, CANADA Bachelor of education [b.ed] elementary education - generalist degree on-campus
University of Alberta
Current student , Batch : 2022
7.7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

ALL ABOUT UNIVERSITY OF ALBERTA

I chose this school because I loved that I was able to move away from home (Calgary) but still be close. I went on a campus tour in my grade 12 year and I knew that I wanted to attend this school. I applied and got in very quickly. The application process was very simple for me. I had a pretty good average in grade 12 which I think helped me to get into my program.


Course Curriculum - 

The course curriculum starts off with two years of very general studies with only three education classes. Then in third and fourth year you get to take all education classes. I like the way this is set out because you do get study topics that are of interest at the start of your degree before really beginning to focus on the education.

9 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
6 /10
infrastructure
7 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
7 /10
extracurricular
10, Nov 2019 read more
S
Samantha barr, CANADA Education
University of Alberta
Current student , Batch : 2022
7.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

UNIVERSITY OF ALBERTA

I really liked the program details of the school, as well as getting to love away from home but not too far from home. I applied to one other school as a backup but once I got into U of A I didn't finish my application. I just liked the overall vibe the school had about it. I went to a very academic school so I was very prepared for university life.


Course Curriculum - 

The curriculum is pretty good for education, it is an advantage having a four-year program that is different from many schools. However, there is not many education programs at the start which is the only unfortunate part of this program here.

9 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
5 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
5 /10
placement
9 /10
extracurricular
15, Oct 2019 read more
avatar image
Het, INDIA Bsc chemical engineering co-op
University of Alberta
Current student , Batch : 2023
8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

UOFA FOR INTERNATIONAL STUDENTS

Researched about universities in Canada, UofA was the cheapest out of the top 5 universities in Canada. The admission process was quite complicated with a lot of documents and forms to be submitted. Application fees was about 250$. I scored 95% percentile in my last year in high school. I roughly applied to 3 universities with getting accepted in all 3.


Course Curriculum - 

It's a very tough curriculum which requires the student to spend a decent amount of time every day studying. It gets tougher as the year passes by

8 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
9 /10
accomodation/food
7 /10
placement
9 /10
extracurricular
01, Oct 2019 read more
M
Michayla, CANADA Pharmacology
University of Alberta
Current student , Batch : 2023
7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

U OF A PHARMACOLOGY

I had a family living in the area, but it was far enough away from home. I had heard great things about their sciences program and their global ranking. The campus is beautiful and extends many city blocks with incredible facilities available for student use. Application fees were expensive, but not outrageous.


Course Curriculum - 

The course curriculum is intense but it's understandable. There are high expectations placed in terms of final grades, hours in and severity of testing. I think the expectations are too high especially for only first-year students still trying to find their footings.

8 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
10 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
7 /10
placement
2 /10
extracurricular
12, Aug 2019 read more
S
Shashank sachdev, INDIA Mathematical and statistical science
St. Joseph's College
Current student , Batch : 2021
8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

AFFORDABLE STAY AT ST. JOSEPH'S COLLEGE

I got to know about St. Joseph's College through a friend of mine and she told me that the Department of Mathematics and Statistics at the College conducts one of the leading Canadian research departments. Keeping this in mind I applied to the college. Apparently I was selected for admission.


Course Curriculum - 

This program is designed to provide me a strong education in the areas of mathematics, finance, economics, and actuarial science. After getting graduate from the course I will be applying for mathematical and statistical techniques course in order to analyze financial products and manage financial risk.

8 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
8 /10
extracurricular
08, Aug 2019 read more
B
Binod rao rampersaud, INDIA Biological science
St. Joseph's College
Current student , Batch : 2021
8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

PERFECT COLLEGE FOR STARTING MY CAREER

The desire of settling down in Canada made me apply for various Canadian colleges and universities. Then I was selected at St. Joseph's College. Following getting the selection letter I took admission to the college and submitted all my documents to the college. Applying through the International Student Application made the process much easier for me.


Course Curriculum - 

My degree offers me a wide variety of majors and minors, allowing me to create a diversified degree based on my interests. The major subjects that I am getting to study are the Science subjects whereas the minor subjects offered include the Arts, Business and Agriculture, Life, and Environmental Sciences.

8 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
8 /10
extracurricular
08, Aug 2019 read more
avatar image
Jay pasrija, INDIA Computer engineering software co-op
University of Alberta
Current student , Batch : 2023
8.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

LET'S MAKE OUR DREAMS COME TRUE !

Unity in Diversity was the foremost reason of choosing this university. Completing higher education in India is not a big deal, but most of the students do not know what to choose as their profession. U of A has the first year as qualifying year. It gives us an opportunity to understand the subjects in depth and that makes more clear about the specific field. I was pretty sure about the computing field but the grades and understanding in the MATLAB (which I did for the first time) made it more clear that I was right ! I belong to a small pilgrimage place, Dakor from Kheda district in Gujarat. Studying in the only English school in whole district, I got ample of opportunities in every field because of the higher illiteracy rates around my hometown. I am glad that I am here with the grace of God and surely, the dedication and hard work of my parents.


Exams - 

The only exam to meet the eligibility requirements is IELTS. The minimum requirement for engineering at U of A in 2018 was 6.5 with no less than 6. It might have changed now. I had 7.0 in IELTS with no less than 6.5 but I have also appeared for SAT which is for bachelor's. It is used for scholarships and especially for admissions in USA universities. I scored 730 in math out of 800 and it was 98th percentile rank among Indian and USA students.

8 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
9 /10
accomodation/food
9 /10
placement
9 /10
extracurricular
02, Aug 2019 read more

Apply Now DOWNLOAD BROCHURE  
INTERESTED IN THIS COLLEGE ?
Get free counselling

Follow & Share this college to get information about admission

AFFILIATED COLLEGES
St. Stephen's College Edmonton, Alberta
FACULTY, SCHOOLS AND CAMPUSES
COLLEGES IN ALBERTA, CANADA
The King's University Edmonton, Alberta
University of Calgary Calgary, Alberta
Athabasca University Athabasca, Alberta
MacEwan University Edmonton, Alberta
Mount Royal University Calgary, Alberta
NEAREST RANKED COLLEGES