UNIVERSITY OF ALBERTA - [UOFA], EDMONTON, ALBERTA - REVIEWS

Edmonton, AlbertaLOCATION
UniversitySCHOOL TYPE
Estd 1908Established Year
  39470Enrollment

College rating

based on 21 students ratings

7.5/10

8.2/10academic
8/10infrastructure
7/10placements
8/10faculty
7/10extracurricular
6.5/10accommodation

Reviews

avatar image
Hatem, CANADA Mining engineering
University of Alberta
Current student , Batch : 2022
8.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

UNIVERSITY OF ALBERTA'S ENGINEERING FACULTY

Because of the great reputation they have, the relative affordability, and the amazing engineering program (especially the Mining engineering one, which always ranks highly in the world). Another reason is the university's proximity to my home in Calgary.


Course Curriculum - 

I think it depends on the type of program we are talking about. For mine, I find that the course curriculum is overall well developed and tailored towards my specific major and that it sets you up enough to succeed in the future.

8 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
10 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
7 /10
placement
8 /10
extracurricular
03, Dec 2019 read more
avatar image
Carmen chan, CANADA Physical therapy
University of Alberta
Alumna/alumnus , Batch : 2014
8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

UNIVERSITY LIFE IN HINDSIGHT

I live in the same city and I did not want to move out of my parent's house. I also got accepted into the physical therapy program there. I had done my undergraduate degree at the UofA so I was familiar with the institution.


Course Curriculum - 

It was actually very good in hindsight. At the time, I wanted to learn more specific topics, but they did exactly what they set out to do turn us into generalists. When I started working, that's when the concepts were applied. I'm actually grateful for how they taught the curriculum.

8 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
10 /10
infrastructure
5 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
8 /10
extracurricular
13, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Kevin mbui, KENYA Electrical engineering
University of Alberta
Current student , Batch : 2022
8.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

ELECTRICAL ENGINEERING AT UNIVERSITY OF ALBERTA AS AN INTERNATIONAL STUDENT.

Recommended by a family member. One of my cousins is an alumnus of the University of Alberta. Also, the college advisor at my high school also recommended. The scholarships offered drove me to choose this over other schools I was accepted to.


Course Curriculum - 

Good, Interesting, Challenging, Fun, Makes me think a lot. Highly accredited university/faculty. Lots of relevant information and knowledge is distributed to hundreds of students.

9 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
10 /10
infrastructure
5 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
9 /10
extracurricular
25, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Sankalp saini, CANADA Engineering
University of Alberta
Current student , Batch : 2022
7.7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

UNIVERSITY OF ALBERTA: A STUDENTS PERSPECTIVE

It was the closest school to my home with the best engineering program. The engineering program in my home cities university was not as good and did not have the same number of opportunities and disciplines.


Course Curriculum - 

The course curriculum is very intense and complicated. It is clearly meant to weed out weaker students. But it is challenging enough to be a reputable engineering university. I am only in the first year, I don't have enough choices in my program yet but that will soon change.

9 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
9 /10
infrastructure
6 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
7 /10
extracurricular
27, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Itachi uchina, CANADA Engineering
University of Alberta
Current student , Batch : 2024
4.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

REVIEWS OF UNIVERSITY OF ALBERTA

Not only is the university of Alberta becoming a prestigious school, I feel like it would be beneficial to stay somewhere close to home so it's convenient. And I don't have to move out so it takes that stress away too.


Course Curriculum - 

A lot of the content we learn is just useless to job in general as everybody already knows. I'm just wasting my time by learning anything I'm not going to use and it's a very popular job, which makes no sense.

7 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
5 /10
infrastructure
1 /10
accomodation/food
5 /10
placement
1 /10
extracurricular
14, Apr 2019 read more
avatar image
Adam, CANADA Faculty of engineering
University of Alberta
Current student , Batch : 2021
8.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

STUDY AT UNIVERSITY OF ALBERTA

I opted for this university for a chance to be successful in the future and help others.


Course Curriculum - 

My opinion on the course curriculum is that the course could be more self-explanatory to make it easier for students to understand and more projects than what we are doing so we know what to do later on in our dream career.

8 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
9 /10
placement
7 /10
extracurricular
22, Apr 2019 read more
avatar image
Mahrukh, CANADA Business
University of Alberta
Current student , Batch : 2021
9.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

UNIVERSITY OF ALBERTA REVIEW

Close, reasonable tuitions, good programs, it was 3rd in all of Canada. It has a good mental health program and really good advisors. It's also pretty and big! I had lots of fun clubs and lots of things to do!


Course Curriculum - 

The Course Curriculum is okay.

10 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
9 /10
infrastructure
9 /10
accomodation/food
10 /10
placement
8 /10
extracurricular
25, Apr 2019 read more
avatar image
Taiye alawiye, ALBERTA Physiology
University of Alberta
Current student , Batch : 2022
8.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

ONE OF THE BEST SCHOOLS IN CANADA

I really wanted to go to this university because it was Alberta and I wanted to go somewhere that was known for being one of the top schools in the country. And I wanted to go to a school that was not too far away from my parents.


Course Curriculum - 

It is challenging at times but overall it's exciting to learn new things. The professors know exactly how to structure midterms and assignments in a way that's not all that difficult but you have to apply to learn from the course material.

8 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
10 /10
accomodation/food
7 /10
placement
9 /10
extracurricular
30, Nov -0001 read more
avatar image
Makayla joy, CANADA Pharmacology
University of Alberta
Current student , Batch : 2022
6.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

PHARMACOLOGY AT UOFA

The program was very specific and was offered at very few schools in Canada. it was away from home but still close to the family that I didn't feel entirely alienated. The program, however, is not what I expected and now I'm reconsidering my choice.


Course Curriculum - 

The curriculum seems intense but is in line with the caliber of the university. The programs are extremely information based, cramming as much into your brain as possible and can be extremely overwhelming.

9 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
9 /10
infrastructure
7 /10
accomodation/food
5 /10
placement
3 /10
extracurricular
30, Nov -0001 read more
avatar image
Aiden, CANADA Immunology and infection
University of Alberta
Current student , Batch : 2019
5.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

UNIVERSITY LIFE

The University of Alberta is close to the family for me. It is located in Edmonton where my grandparents and cousins live. I also chose U of A because of its reputation and status among universities in Canada are exemplary.


Course Curriculum - 

It is very challenging. I struggle a lot with the amount of work we get but I love the topics. Because I am so fascinated by immunology it makes the struggle worth it. The classes are also solely based on exams for the most part which I do not like.

6 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
5 /10
infrastructure
3 /10
accomodation/food
3 /10
placement
7 /10
extracurricular
30, Nov -0001 read more

Load More Reviews
Apply Now DOWNLOAD BROCHURE  
INTERESTED IN THIS COLLEGE ?
Get free counselling

Follow & Share this college to get information about admission

FACULTY, SCHOOLS AND CAMPUSES
COLLEGES IN ALBERTA, CANADA
The King's University Edmonton, Alberta
University of Calgary Calgary, Alberta
Athabasca University Athabasca, Alberta
MacEwan University Edmonton, Alberta
Mount Royal University Calgary, Alberta
NEAREST RANKED COLLEGES