UNIVERSITY OF OTTAWA - [UOTTAWA], OTTAWA, ONTARIO - REVIEWS

Ottawa, OntarioLOCATION
UniversitySCHOOL TYPE
Estd 1848Established Year
  41951Enrollment

College rating

based on 35 students ratings

7.6/10

8/10academic
7.5/10infrastructure
7.7/10placements
7.5/10faculty
8.3/10extracurricular
6.4/10accommodation

Reviews

avatar image
Sarah, CANADA Business
University of Ottawa
Current student , Batch : 2020
8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

UOTTAWA REVIEW

I chose the University of Ottawa because they offered a coop program. I also chose this school because I felt that as I wanted to go into account the fact that their business program allowed you to specialize early on was a plus.


Course Curriculum - 

Some classes could be more up to date as some material in relation to technology is no longer relevant while other courses as long as they are taught by professors who understand the material well and want the students to learn are beneficial.

7 /10
academic
6 /10
faculty
9 /10
infrastructure
7 /10
accomodation/food
10 /10
placement
9 /10
extracurricular
03, Dec 2019 read more
avatar image
Nihal osman, CANADA Bachelors of science in nursing
University of Ottawa
Current student , Batch : 2022
9.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

UNIVERSITY OF MANITOBA - SUPPORTIVE FACULTY

This university allows me to live at home. Also, it's one of the best post-secondary institutions in Canada. The faculty for the program is great. The university also has collaborations with several hospitals in Ottawa. This allows for more clinical placements and more post-graduate opportunities.


Course Curriculum - 

The course curriculum is a bit heavy. However, the professors are very understanding and try to make sure you understand the content well. The professors are always available after hours if you need more clarity. The university also offers study sessions for most of the more difficult courses.

9 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
10 /10
accomodation/food
9 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
18, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Tabeena saleem, CANADA Political science
University of Ottawa
Current student , Batch : 2020
8.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

UNIVERSITY OF OTTAWA PROGRAM REVIEW

Ottawa is the capital city and where Parliament is, though it was a good idea to study politics and make connections in the heart of where it all happens. Also a good chance to learn French in a bilingual city


Course Curriculum - 

For my specific program, I like that the course structure is relatively more open as you go into your upper years. I have a wide variety of courses to choose from which usually has multiple class timings.

10 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
6 /10
infrastructure
10 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
9 /10
extracurricular
18, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Natasha, CANADA International development and globalization
University of Ottawa
Current student , Batch : 2021
7.7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

UOTTAWOW!!!

As I'm studying a field that is constantly changing under our feet, I opted for the University of Ottawa for its unique experience in the capital city of Canada. Additionally, I like the city for its small-town feels but big city infrastructure.


Course Curriculum - 

The School of International Development and Global Studies is fairly new, and as a result, I feel that the curriculum is underdeveloped in the junior years. In the first two years, one must take a starter course for international development for each year. So far, I find that these courses are incredibly similar and result in content overlapping. I do know that the School is aware and that formal steps to remedy this (such as documenting student's opinions by conducting focus groups) are taking place.

8 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
7 /10
infrastructure
6 /10
accomodation/food
7 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
18, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Rhian, CANADA Nursing
University of Ottawa
Current student , Batch : 2021
7.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

UNIVERSITY OF OTTAWA, GOOD EXPERIENCE IN A BIG CITY

I knew I wanted to go to a University outside of my home town. I also wanted to go to enroll in a well-known Nursing program. Going to a school in a bigger city was also something I was looking for. My first choice school was McMaster but as I didn't get in for Nursing, I chose to go to my second choice school which was the University of Ottawa and I am very happy with the decision I made as it has been a good fit for me.


Course Curriculum - 

I think the curriculum is interesting and applicable. There are a couple of classes I think are just filler classes and should not be required. The organization of the laboratory classes is deplorable and a big source of stress for many of the students.

7 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
7 /10
infrastructure
9 /10
accomodation/food
10 /10
placement
7 /10
extracurricular
20, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Samantha, CANADA Commerce
University of Ottawa
Current student , Batch : 2022
8.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

UOFO REVIEW

Offers a great business program also in a great city right downtown Ottawa. Many specialities to choose from within the commerce program. Ottawa is also the capital city so there are lots of places to visit and there is always something to do downtown.


Course Curriculum - 

I believe that some courses should not be mandatory for this program especially since we specialize in our program. For example, I feel as if I should not have to take human resources because I'm in finance, but I do agree that having knowledge of every part of a business is helpful

9 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
9 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
9 /10
placement
9 /10
extracurricular
27, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Emma e., CANADA Accounting
University of Ottawa
Current student , Batch : 2020
7.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

POSITIVE UNIVERSITY EXPERIENCE - UNIVERSITY OF OTTAWA

It was close to my family and got good ratings for the program that I was looking to attend. I also really liked the campus and being right downtown. I knew a lot of friends who were attending.


Course Curriculum - 

We cover relevant information that is applicable in the workplace. Some courses could be designed better.

8 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
9 /10
infrastructure
7 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
8 /10
extracurricular
27, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Kora, CANADA Bachelor of science in nursing
University of Ottawa
Current student , Batch : 2021
8.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

A PEEK INTO NURSING AT UOTTAWA!

It is in my hometown so I could save money on living costs my first year, they have an amazing nursing program with many affiliate hospitals and they offer to school in French which for me was important.


Course Curriculum - 

The course curriculum is very challenging, there are lab components, clinical and theory. It takes some adjusting and some serious time management skills but the content is fascinating. There is a lot of content learned very quickly.

9 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
6 /10
accomodation/food
10 /10
placement
7 /10
extracurricular
28, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Canesha blake, CANADA Misa
University of Ottawa
Current student , Batch : 2020
5.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

A COOL COLLEGE GIRL

The program is a business and technology program. I knew business is very important and technology will rule the world in the future. In high school, I also assumed there will always be a job in this field.


Course Curriculum - 

I think the course curriculum needs to be more hands-on and condensed into a 3-year program. I believe they make it longer as it makes more money. I have found out that a similar program in college would have been much better for me.

4 /10
academic
2 /10
faculty
7 /10
infrastructure
1 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
30, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Kasandra paul, CANADA Chemistry
University of Ottawa
Current student , Batch : 2021
7.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

ADD ON COURSES AT OTTAWA

I decided to go to this university because it was the only that offered French and English classes meaning that I could complete my assignments in either language and not be penalized. It is also the closest university to my family which I didn't want to leave.


Course Curriculum - 

The course curriculum is pretty tough and some classes shouldn't be part of it because I personally find them irrelevant to the course I'm taking. Such as taking linear algebra for chemistry is useless because that math won't ever be used in that context.

8 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
7 /10
infrastructure
6 /10
accomodation/food
6 /10
placement
8 /10
extracurricular
15, Apr 2019 read more

Load More Reviews
Apply Now DOWNLOAD BROCHURE  
INTERESTED IN THIS COLLEGE ?
Get free counselling

Follow & Share this college to get information about admission

COLLEGES IN ONTARIO, CANADA
Algoma University Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario
Carleton University Ottawa, Ontario
OCAD University Toronto, Ontario
University of Waterloo Waterloo, Ontario
University of Windsor Windsor, Ontario
NEAREST RANKED COLLEGES