Get $150 Scholarship!

UNIVERSITY OF OTTAWA - [UOTTAWA], OTTAWA, ONTARIO - REVIEWS

Ottawa, OntarioLOCATION
UniversitySCHOOL TYPE
Estd 1848Established Year
  41951Enrollment

College rating

based on 40 students ratings

7.6/10

8/10academic
7.5/10infrastructure
7.8/10placements
7.5/10faculty
8.2/10extracurricular
6.5/10accommodation

Reviews

FILTER BY
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL

POPULAR TAGS

faculty
program
professor
course curriculum
exam structure
bus pas
scholarship
science
semester
tuition fee
multiple choice
final exam
meal plan
high school
fee structure
G
Gulab maraj, INDIA Business administration
Telfer School of Management
Alumna/alumnus , Batch : 2019
7.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

MY LEARNING CAPACITY

At Telfer, I was able to receive effective management education and research can only be achieved through both academic and professional engagement and that academic and professional engagement must intersect in meaningful ways in the delivery of programs and in carrying out research. I had applied at the university by paying $100 through an online application form.


Course Curriculum - 

My program was designed to give me the skills, knowledge, and learning experiences we need to prepare for a meaningful, rewarding career. The program also offered me the flexibility to pursue specific subjects and courses that matter most. My college stood by my side to do whatever they can do to help me reach my goals, whatever they may be. The curriculum and intensive program course sequence have been designed to support a high level of coordination and integration, making it possible for me to complete the Telfer MBA and then resume your career.

8 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
7 /10
infrastructure
7 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
7 /10
extracurricular
25, Sep 2020 read more
S
Sarah, CANADA Business
University of Ottawa
Current student , Batch : 2020
8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

UOTTAWA REVIEW

I chose the University of Ottawa because they offered a coop program. I also chose this school because I felt that as I wanted to go into account the fact that their business program allowed you to specialize early on was a plus.


Course Curriculum - 

Some classes could be more up to date as some material in relation to technology is no longer relevant while other courses as long as they are taught by professors who understand the material well and want the students to learn are beneficial.

7 /10
academic
6 /10
faculty
9 /10
infrastructure
7 /10
accomodation/food
10 /10
placement
9 /10
extracurricular
03, Dec 2019 read more
N
Nolan, CANADA Bachelor of commerce [b.com] accounting on-campus
Telfer School of Management
Current student , Batch : 2022
8.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

UOTTAWA

I chose the University of Ottawa's Bachelor of Commerce with a specialization in accounting because of the amazing Co-op program they have and I loved the feel of the university and its location. I learned about the school at the Ontario University Fair and then toured it and it totally lived up to my expectations. I only applied to two universities and got into uOttawa a week after I applied with a pretty large scholarship.


Course Curriculum - 

I am not a huge fan of having to take courses from all aspects of business, such as management, Human Resources, organizational behaviour, marketing, social context of business, etc. I am a numbers person so taking courses with little to no numbers or formulas significantly lowers my averages and CGPA

8 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
10 /10
infrastructure
6 /10
accomodation/food
10 /10
placement
7 /10
extracurricular
11, Nov 2019 read more
K
Kaitlyn wallace, CANADA Bachelor of science in nursing
University of Ottawa
Current student , Batch : 2021
8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

LIFE IN A COLLABORATIVE PROGRAM!

I picked the university of Ottawa because they offer a collaborative program with Algonquin college in the rural area that I live in. Opting to pick this university was the best option for me because it enabled me to save a lot of money. I applied to 3 different universities and it was one fee for all 3 applications. I had a very good grade 12 academic background which enabled me to be accepted into this competitive program.


Course Curriculum - 

In my opinion the course curriculum could be revised. In fact. In the first year we have no clinical experience. It is only theory in the first year. I think starting clinical experiences in the first year would be very helpful for students in the program

8 /10
academic
10 /10
faculty
7 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
9 /10
placement
6 /10
extracurricular
08, Nov 2019 read more
A
Ambika suri, NEPAL Master of business administration
Telfer School of Management
, Batch : 2020
8.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

LEARNING IS REAL EARNING!!

I came to know about this college a year ago when I met an educational consultant regarding study abroad options. After evaluating my profile he told me that Canada would be the best option for me. Then he suggested to me this college because he found the course of my interest. And after paying my application fee of $110, I got an offer letter within a week. I did my registration online.


Course Curriculum - 

I am completely amazed by the MBA course curriculum. Various course-related activities are commenced on weekends which helped me to learn how to work in an industrial environment. Guest lectures are also scheduled. Not only theoretical but I am also gaining practical experience with practitioner-oriented teaching methods.

9 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
9 /10
placement
7 /10
extracurricular
08, Sep 2019 read more
S
Shayna, CANADA Honours in environmental sciences
University of Ottawa
Current student , Batch : 2024
8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

ABOUT UNIVERSITY OF OTTAWA

The school is known as one of the best research institutes and I received an undergraduate research scholarship. It also offered co-op and had many opportunities with the government. The admissions average for my program was also very low for me as I only needed to maintain a 75% in the sciences while I had the 90s. The other schools I apply to, Guelph and Waterloo were a bit more picky with averages.


Course Curriculum - 

I think it is extremely well-formed because I can choose from 3 specializations after first-year. This means I have a say in the curriculum I will study.

8 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
9 /10
infrastructure
6 /10
accomodation/food
9 /10
placement
8 /10
extracurricular
07, Sep 2019 read more
N
Nabil, INDIA Computer science
University of Ottawa
Current student , Batch : 2023
9.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

COMPUTER SCIENCE AT THE UNIVERSITY OF OTTAWA

I chose this university because of the amazing city of Ottawa. I have always been a fan of small towns but didn't want to lose the downtown hectic feel of Toronto, and Ottawa has a mixture of both! It has a crazy amount of multiculturalism and people there are extremely nice and supportive of minorities.


Exams - 

I chose Computer Science as I have a strong passion for coding. Ever since middle school, I have been programming websites, apps, etc. However, I knew a college degree should be my next step to excel in this career. Nowadays, you can't secure a job, even entry-level, without a college degree. Sometimes even a bachelor isn't enough, so this was definitely a well thought out step for me.

10 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
10 /10
infrastructure
6 /10
accomodation/food
10 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
19, Jul 2019 read more
avatar image
Aayeshah ahmad, CANADA Human resource management
University of Ottawa
Current student , Batch : 2021
5.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

ABOUT MY UNIVERSITY

It was the best post-secondary institute that offered this program. Additionally, it was the most convenient place to go as a student. The transit routes were close to where I live, as well as, it doesn't take long to bus there. Not to forget, Telfer is one of the best, and among the top best, business schools in Canada.


Exams - 

To be very honest, I didn't know what to peruse for my post-secondary education. I am not the greatest at math or science subject and don't have much interest in health sciences. I felt like I could see myself working in an HR position with this degree. As well as, there is a decent market for HR careers.

7 /10
academic
5 /10
faculty
6 /10
infrastructure
5 /10
accomodation/food
4 /10
placement
5 /10
extracurricular
17, Jul 2019 read more
M
Mauna tarkan, MALDIVES Bachelor of science [b.sc] biomedical science on-campus
University of Ottawa
Current student , Batch : 2021
7.7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

WELL WORTH IT IN THE END! BIOMEDICAL SCIENCES ARE REWARDING!

I learned about the university mostly through extensive research. I also liked their scholarship options, location and overall student quality of life. My academic background is quite modest, not from a prestigious school however I was a hard worker and graduated top of my class. I ultimately chose uOttawa for their location in Canada's capital and their ranking as one of the top schools in Canada.


Course Curriculum - 

I think the BioMed program has a lot of students and could use more physical science courses, to prepare us better for the future should we not get into medical school. However most professors are very kind and knowledgeable. So far my TAs have been a hit or miss , some great and others pretty mediocre. I like the teaching methods for most professors.

8 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
6 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
9 /10
extracurricular
18, Jun 2019 read more
S
Sepidar golestaneh, CANADA Environmental science
University of Ottawa
Current student , Batch : 2022
7.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

UNIVERSITY OF OTTAWA - REFLECTION FROM A GEEGEE

Staying in Ottawa was an absolute must for me as I wanted to continue living with my parents and not have extra expenses for things such as living accommodations, international fees, etc. For studies of my interest, university was the only option and so it was between Carleton University and the University of Ottawa. Applications for students from Ontario are mostly, if not all, done through OUAC, which allows you to create a profile and apply to universities in Canada. Although the profile making can be tedious at times, it is quite useful. For 3 applications (mandatory), you needed to pay $150, and to apply to more than 3 places/programs, it was an additional $50 per application. I applied to uOttawa for environmental science, and biology, and Carleton for environmental science. I did my application quite early as I knew what general field I wished to pursue my studies in and because I knew that it would increase my chances of getting accepted. I, personally, did not stress about getting accepted as I had achieved and maintained very high grades throughout my secondary school. My average for grade 11, the grade at which Universities in Canada look at for your application, was around a 93. Having applied early with high marks, I was accepted within a month to all 3 of my applications and I chose environmental science at uOttawa shortly after that. I chose uOttawa because I had heard it is much more advanced in STEM fields and that they were building, renovating, and completing new science buildings.


Course Curriculum - 

There are countless teachers and staff for the Faculty of Science, however I have had very little interaction with non-teaching. For teachers in this Faculty, they are all over the spectrum. You have your absolutely incredible teachers that have so much passion and joy teaching their students (and truly wanting them to learn and achieve high grades), then you have your okay teachers who make interesting material seem very drab, and then you have your teachers that will make you hate the subject entirely, threaten to sue you, and embarrass you in front of a 400-person lecture. For first years, you really get some teachers on every part of the spectrum, but those phenomenal ones make everything worth it.

9 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
4 /10
accomodation/food
7 /10
placement
8 /10
extracurricular
17, Jun 2019 read more

Apply Now DOWNLOAD BROCHURE  
INTERESTED IN THIS COLLEGE ?
Get free counselling

Follow & Share this college to get information about admission

FACULTY, SCHOOLS AND CAMPUSES
COLLEGES IN ONTARIO, CANADA
Algoma University Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario
Carleton University Ottawa, Ontario
OCAD University Toronto, Ontario
University of Waterloo Waterloo, Ontario
University of Windsor Windsor, Ontario
NEAREST RANKED COLLEGES