Deshabandhu Mahavidyalaya was established in 1973 under the aegis of Chittaranjan Locomotive Works, Hindustan Cables Ltd. and a group of philanthropists and affiliated to University of Burdwan. It is a registered academy of the University Grants Commission imparts instructions on Honours and general degree courses in Science, Humanities and Commerce streams and professional degree courses in BBA (Hons) & BCA (Hons).

  • Deshabandhu Mahavidyalaya is accredited by National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC)
  • It is recognized by Government of West Bengal and accredited by SAAC


  • Department of Bengali
  • Department of Economics
  • Department of English
  • Department of Hindi
  • Department of Political Science
  • Department of Mathematics
  • Department of Physics
  • Department of Chemistry
  • Department of Botany
  • Department of Management

Extracurricular Activities

  • National Cadet Corps (NCC)
  • National Service Scheme (NSS)


The students' magazine "OIKOTAN" is brought out annually. It provides students with a powerful medium for expressing their creativity in Bengali, English and Hindi