Odisha University of Technology and Research (OUTR) is a public unitary technical university under the Government of Odisha. It was established in 1981 as the College of Engineering and Technology, Bhubaneswar (CETB) and was upgraded to university status in 2021 through a State Government Act. OUTR is recognised by the University Grants Commission (UGC) and accredited by the National Board of Accreditation (NBA) for select programmes. It also holds NAAC accreditation at Grade "A".
As per NIRF 2025, OUTR is ranked in the 201 to 300 band in the Overall category.
The university occupies a 100-acre campus at Techno Campus, Ghatikia, Bhubaneswar, Odisha, with residential facilities for both male and female students.
- OUTR offers technical and science programmes across 18 departments:
- B.Tech in CSE, Computer Engineering, IT, AI and Machine Learning, Civil, Mechanical, Mechanical (Robotics), Electrical, ECE, Electronics and Instrumentation, Aerospace, Textile, Metallurgical and Materials, and Biotechnology
- B.Arch and B.Planning (5 years each)
- Integrated B.Sc + M.Sc (5 years) in Applied Chemistry, Applied Physics, and Mathematics and Computing
- MBA (2 years) and MCA (2 years)
- M.Tech in 17 specialisations including CSE, ECE, Structural Engineering, Thermal Engineering, VLSI, and Textile Engineering
- PhD in Engineering, Sciences, and Technology disciplines
The annual B.Tech fees range from INR 51,220 (standard branches) to INR 93,720 (CSE, IT, AI/ML). Over a 4-year programme, total fees work out to approximately INR 2.05 to 3.75 Lakhs.
The university offers Odisha government scholarships including the Medhabruti, Prerna, and TFW (Tuition Fee Waiver) scheme for eligible students.
In the 2024-25 placement season, OUTR recorded a highest offer of INR 24.3 LPA and an average package of INR 7.5 LPA across all branches, with 130 companies participating.
OUTR Admission Dates 2026
Admissions for the 2026-27 session have concluded. B.Tech admission was processed through OJEE 2026 counselling, with JEE Main scores also serving as the qualifying metric for Home State candidates. The table below covers the concluded 2026 cycle milestones.
| Event | Details (2026-27 Cycle - Concluded) |
|---|---|
| OJEE 2026 Application Window | January to March 2026 |
| OJEE 2026 Exam | April to May 2026 |
| OJEE Counselling (B.Tech) | June to August 2026 |
| Admission Confirmation | August 2026 |
| Academic Session Commencement | September 2026 |
The table below lists the entrance exams accepted for each programme family in the 2026 cycle. The 2027-28 cycle will follow a similar structure, with fresh OJEE registration expected to open in January 2027.
| Programme | Entrance Exam | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| B.Tech | OJEE (via JEE Main score) and OJEE direct | OJEE rank; state merit list |
| B.Arch | NATA, JEE Main Paper 2 | Merit-based counselling |
| MBA | OJEE MBA | OJEE rank |
| MCA | OJEE MCA | OJEE rank |
| M.Tech | GATE score; OJEE for non-GATE candidates | GATE score or OJEE rank |
OUTR Courses and Fees
OUTR offers approximately 44 programmes across B.Tech, B.Arch, B.Planning, Integrated B.Sc+M.Sc, MBA, MCA, M.Tech, M.Plan, and PhD. The fee data below reflects annual fees as published by the university for the 2026-27 session; total fees are calculated over the programme duration.
| Course | Duration | Eligibility | Annual Fee | Total Fees (Approx.) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| B.Tech (CSE, IT, AI/ML, Biotechnology) | 4 years | 10+2 PCM with 45%; JEE Main/OJEE | INR 93,720 | INR 3.75 Lakhs |
| B.Tech (Civil, Mechanical, Electrical, ECE, Aerospace, Textile, Metallurgical) | 4 years | 10+2 PCM with 45%; JEE Main/OJEE | INR 51,220 | INR 2.05 Lakhs |
| B.Arch | 5 years | 10+2 with 50%; NATA/JEE Main Paper 2 | INR 51,220 | INR 2.56 Lakhs |
| Integrated B.Sc + M.Sc (Applied Chemistry, Applied Physics, Maths and Computing) | 5 years | 10+2 with 45%; OJEE | INR 51,220 | INR 2.56 Lakhs |
| MBA | 2 years | Graduation with 50%; OJEE MBA | INR 93,720 | INR 1.87 Lakhs |
| MCA | 2 years | Graduation with 50%; OJEE MCA | INR 51,220 | INR 1.02 Lakhs |
| M.Tech (CSE, IT, Industrial Engineering) | 2 years | B.Tech with 55%; GATE/OJEE | INR 93,720 | INR 1.87 Lakhs |
| M.Tech (other specialisations) | 2 years | B.Tech with 55%; GATE/OJEE | INR 51,220 | INR 1.02 Lakhs |
| PhD | 3 to 5 years | PG degree with 55% | INR 55,000 | As per duration |
OUTR’s government-rate fees make it one of the most affordable technical universities in Odisha. The CSE and IT branches carry a higher annual fee of INR 93,720 compared to the INR 51,220 applicable to traditional engineering branches.
OUTR Admission Process
All B.Tech admissions at OUTR are governed by OJEE (Odisha Joint Entrance Examination), conducted by the Odisha government’s examination authority. JEE Main scores are also used to determine OJEE rank for Home State candidates who appeared in JEE Main.
B.Tech Admission
Eligibility for B.Tech requires 10+2 in the Science stream (PCM) with a minimum of 45% aggregate marks for General Category candidates. The admission cycle proceeds as follows:
- Appear in OJEE or use JEE Main score for OJEE rank generation
- Register for OJEE centralised counselling
- Fill branch and institute preferences online
- Seat allotment based on OJEE rank, category, and branch availability
- Report for document verification at the allotted institute
- Pay admission fees to confirm the seat
OJEE closing ranks for B.Tech CSE at OUTR typically fall in the JEE Main rank band of 2 to 5 lakh for General Category Home State candidates. Traditional branches such as Civil and Mechanical close at comparatively higher OJEE ranks.
B.Arch Admission
B.Arch admission requires 10+2 with Mathematics and a valid NATA score or JEE Main Paper 2 score. Candidates are admitted through merit-based OJEE counselling for Architecture seats.
MBA and MCA Admission
MBA and MCA admissions are through OJEE MBA and OJEE MCA entrance exams respectively. MBA eligibility requires graduation with a minimum of 50% marks. MCA requires graduation with Mathematics at degree or 10+2 level. Seats are allocated through centralised OJEE counselling.
M.Tech Admission
M.Tech eligibility requires a relevant B.Tech or BE degree with a minimum of 55% marks. Candidates with a valid GATE score are given preference, with GATE scholars also receiving a stipend through the AICTE-sponsored scheme. Non-GATE candidates may apply through the OJEE M.Tech entrance.
OUTR Placements
OUTR’s Training and Placement Cell operates from its Techno Campus facility. In the 2024-25 placement season, 130 companies visited the campus, making 657 job offers to 497 students. The highest offer stood at INR 24.3 LPA, the average package was INR 7.5 LPA, and the median package was INR 6 LPA.
| Placement Metric | 2024-25 | 2023-24 |
|---|---|---|
| Highest Package | INR 24.3 LPA | INR 25 LPA |
| Average Package | INR 7.5 LPA | INR 8 LPA |
| Companies Visited | 130 | Not disclosed |
| Offers Made | 657 | Not disclosed |
The CSE department secured 68 offers for 50 students in the 2024-25 season, with the department highest at INR 24.3 LPA. The IT department recorded 70 offers with a branch average of INR 6.73 LPA. Top recruiting organisations included TCS, Infosys, Wipro, Accenture, Adani, Aditya Birla Group, Amazon, Analog Devices, and Bosch.
OUTR Rankings
OUTR is ranked in the 201 to 300 band under NIRF 2025 (Overall category). The university holds NAAC Grade "A" accreditation and NBA accreditation for select B.Tech programmes including Civil, Electrical, Electronics and Instrumentation, and Mechanical Engineering.
| Ranking / Accreditation Body | Category | Status (2025) |
|---|---|---|
| NIRF | Overall | 201 to 300 band |
| NAAC | University Accreditation | Grade "A" |
| NBA | UG Programme Accreditation | Civil, Electrical, EI, Mechanical |
OUTR participates in NIRF annually and has consistently held placement in the 201 to 300 band. The state government’s INR 200 crore infrastructure upgrade investment in 2022 is expected to support the university’s bid for a stronger NIRF ranking in subsequent cycles.
OUTR Scholarships
OUTR students have access to Odisha government scholarship schemes as well as university-level financial assistance. Eligibility is based on a combination of academic merit, income criteria, and category reservation.
| Scholarship | Eligibility | Benefit |
|---|---|---|
| Medhabruti (Odisha Govt.) | Odisha domicile; merit-based state scheme | Annual scholarship as per scheme norms |
| Prerna Scholarship (Odisha Govt.) | Below poverty line and merit criteria | Annual scholarship as per scheme norms |
| TFW (Tuition Fee Waiver) | Annual family income below prescribed threshold | 50% tuition fee waiver |
| Post-Matric Scholarship (SC/ST) | SC/ST category; income below INR 2.5 Lakhs per annum | Full tuition fee and maintenance as per scheme |
| OUTR Merit Scholarship | Top 20% of class; merit-based | INR 400 per month |
GATE scholars admitted to M.Tech receive a monthly stipend of INR 12,400 through the AICTE scheme, in addition to any fee concession applicable to their category.
OUTR Campus and Infrastructure
The OUTR campus spans 100 acres at Techno Campus, Ghatikia, in western Bhubaneswar. The location sits within the Bhubaneswar technology and industrial corridor, adjacent to the Software Technology Parks of India (STPI) zone, which supports industry-academia connectivity for placement drives.
Campus facilities include separate Boys’ and Girls’ Hostels at an annual fee of INR 31,660 each, a central library, well-equipped research and computer labs, a sports complex and gymnasium, an auditorium, and 24/7 Wi-Fi coverage across the campus. The university had an annual intake capacity of approximately 1,400 students across its UG programmes prior to the 2021 university upgrade, with intake growing since then.
The Odisha government allocated approximately INR 200 crore in 2022 for campus renovation and infrastructure development, targeting parity with National Institutes of Technology in terms of research output and academic infrastructure.
OUTR vs VSSUT Burla vs Centurion University
Aspirants considering OUTR typically also evaluate VSSUT Burla (another state technical university in Odisha) and Centurion University of Technology and Management (a private deemed university with Odisha roots). All three serve the Odisha engineering aspirant pool, though each carries a different profile.
| Parameter | OUTR, Bhubaneswar | VSSUT, Burla | Centurion University |
|---|---|---|---|
| Type | Public state technical university | Public state technical university | Private deemed university |
| Location | Bhubaneswar, Odisha | Burla (Sambalpur), Odisha | Vizianagaram / Bhubaneswar |
| Established | 1981 (university 2021) | 1956 (university 2009) | 2010 |
| NAAC | Grade "A" | Grade "A" | Grade "A" |
| NIRF 2025 | 201 to 300 (Overall) | 201 to 300 (Engineering) | Not in NIRF Overall top 300 |
| B.Tech Fees | INR 2.05 to 3.75 Lakhs (total) | INR 2 to 3.5 Lakhs (approx. total) | INR 4 to 7 Lakhs (approx. total) |
| Placement Highest (2024-25) | INR 24.3 LPA | Self-reported data available | Self-reported data available |
OUTR’s Bhubaneswar location and NIRF 201 to 300 overall ranking give it a geographic and institutional advantage for students targeting Odisha’s capital city’s IT and industry ecosystem. VSSUT Burla is a strong peer in traditional core engineering disciplines with a longer track record. Centurion University offers a private-sector academic environment with higher fees and a broader programme portfolio, including vocational and skill-based streams.
OUTR FAQs
Ques. What is OUTR’s full name and when was it established?
Ans. OUTR stands for Odisha University of Technology and Research. It was established in 1981 as the College of Engineering and Technology, Bhubaneswar (CETB) and was upgraded to university status in 2021 by the Government of Odisha.
Ques. What is the NIRF ranking of OUTR?
Ans. OUTR is ranked in the 201 to 300 band in the Overall category as per NIRF 2025. The university also holds NAAC Grade "A" accreditation and NBA accreditation for its Civil, Electrical, Electronics and Instrumentation, and Mechanical Engineering programmes.
Ques. How much are the B.Tech fees at OUTR?
Ans. The annual B.Tech fee at OUTR is INR 93,720 for CSE, IT, AI/ML, and Biotechnology, making the total over four years approximately INR 3.75 Lakhs. For traditional engineering branches such as Civil, Mechanical, Electrical, and ECE, the annual fee is INR 51,220, totalling approximately INR 2.05 Lakhs for four years.
Ques. What entrance exam is required for B.Tech admission at OUTR?
Ans. B.Tech admission at OUTR is through OJEE (Odisha Joint Entrance Examination) counselling. JEE Main scores are used to derive the OJEE rank for Odisha Home State candidates. Candidates must register for OJEE counselling and participate in the centralised seat allotment process.
Ques. What is the average placement package at OUTR?
Ans. The average package in the 2024-25 placement season was INR 7.5 LPA, with a median of INR 6 LPA and a highest offer of INR 24.3 LPA. The IT department recorded a branch average of INR 6.73 LPA, and 130 companies visited the campus with 657 total offers.
Ques. Is hostel available at OUTR?
Ans. Yes, OUTR provides on-campus hostel accommodation for both boys and girls at an annual fee of INR 31,660. The hostels are located within the 100-acre Techno Campus at Ghatikia, Bhubaneswar.
Ques. Does OUTR offer scholarships?
Ans. OUTR students can access Odisha government scholarships including Medhabruti, Prerna, and the TFW (Tuition Fee Waiver) scheme. SC/ST students are covered under Post-Matric Scholarship. Merit-performing students in the top 20% of their class receive INR 400 per month from the university. GATE scholars in M.Tech receive a monthly stipend of INR 12,400.
Ques. Is OUTR a good college for engineering in Odisha?
Ans. OUTR is a government technical university with NIRF 201 to 300 Overall ranking, NAAC Grade "A" accreditation, and a strong placement record with an average of INR 7.5 LPA. Its Bhubaneswar location provides direct access to the city’s IT sector for campus placements. The fees are among the lowest in Odisha for engineering, making it a strong value-for-money option for Odisha state aspirants.


![Odisha University of Technology and Research-[OUTR]](https://img.collegedunia.com/public/college_data/images/logos/1756463603Screenshot20250829155546.png?h=71.7&w=71.7&mode=stretch)







Comments
Found 20 Comments
B.Tech {Lateral} Course at OUTR is a 3-year degree. The course is offered On Campus as a full-time program. OUTR B.Tech {Lateral} Course Total Fees is INR 1,78,000. Admissions are offered based on OJEE.
OUTR B.Tech Civil Engineering is offered as 4 Years full-time program, with a total intake of 120 seats. The minimum eligibility criteria for B.Tech are 10+2 with 75% + JEE Main. The total fees for OUTR B.Tech Civil Engineering is INR 1.36 Lakhs for the complete course duration. Admission for B.Tech Civil Engineering at OUTR was open from June 20 to July 28, 2025, covering the application, counselling, and seat allocation process. The final round of OJEE allotment results were announced on August 1, followed by online reporting, fee payment, and document upload until August 6
OUTR has a singular admission procedure to admit students into all its UG and PG courses. There are no provisions for direct admission or a Management Quota. Interested candidates are supposed to appear for the OJEE and JEE Mains examinations, and upon qualification, take part in the OJEE Counselling.
The students must conclude the counselling by filling in a choice of colleges, with OUTR being their top choice. Once selected, the students proceed with the payment of the fee to the university and submit all required documents to finally get a spot in their desired course.
OUTR B.Tech Civil Engineering is offered as 4 Years Full Time program, with total intake of 120 seats. The minimum eligibility criteria for B.Tech is 10+2 with 75% + JEE Main/OJEEE. The total fees for OUTR B.Tech Civil Engineering is INR 1.36 Lakhs for the complete course duration.
OUTR has a singular admission procedure to admit students into all its UG and PG courses. There are no provisions for direct admission or a Management Quota. Interested candidates are supposed to appear for the OJEE and JEE Mains examinations, and upon qualification, take part in the OJEE Counselling.
The students must conclude the counselling by filling in a choice of colleges, with OUTR being their top choice. Once selected, the students proceed with the payment of the fee to the university and submit all required documents to finally get a spot in their desired course.
At Odisha University of Technology and Research, the exact 2024 cutoff for Electrical Engineering (General category) is not listed, but based on trends, it is estimated to be around a 1.5–2.5 lakh JEE Main rank (Home State). Nearby branches like ECE closed at ~1.77 lakh, indicating a similar range.
MBA placements at Odisha University of Technology and Research (OUTR, formerly CET), Bhubaneswar, offer consistent career opportunities with a placement rate of around 60–75% for postgraduate courses. The overall highest package reaches up to INR 24.3 to INR 44.8 LPA, driven by tech giants, while the specific median salary package for the MBA program scales between INR 5 LPA to INR 6 LPA. Prominent regular recruiters operating on campus include Deloitte, TCS, Accenture, Wipro, and IDBI Bank.
CET offers B.Tech under 9 specializations, M.Tech under 16 specializations, M.Sc, MCA, B.Plan and Ph.D courses for which admissions are on the basis of JEE Main, GATE, OJEE entrance exam. You can apply online for the admissions.
Candidate must be 10+2 passed from a recognized board. Admissions are based on JEE Main, and OJEE entrance exam scores. You can c+apply online from the official website of the college.
Check here for the cutoff list at CET Bhubaneswar.
Admission to CET Bhubaneswar M.Sc is done based on merit in the last qualifying exam and not any entrance exam.
No, CET Bhubaneswar doesn’t offer correspondence or distance courses to the students.
You need to wait for the 12th results to be provided by your boards as you would need to produce your original documents during verification.
You just need to have passed 10+2 with minimum aggregate marks for admission to UG courses and bachelor’s with 50% for PG courses.
No, unfortunately, OBC-NCL is not a recognized category under the Odisha Government and thus, your admission to CET will be decided based on your General rank only.
while you can check the official cutoff list on the official website, you can check here to know about 2021 cutoff for OJEE. CET Bhubaneswar Cutoff
The fee for the Bachelor of Technology (B.Tech) is INR 2,35,000 for the duration of 4 years which includes various charges such as examination fees, college development fund, security deposit, medical charges, and other minimal charges.
The admission process for the Bachelor of Technology (B.Tech) in Mechanical Engineering has not yet started for the 2023 – 2027 academic session but is expected to start in the month of march or April. To stay updated, do visit CET Bhubaneswar Admission 2023.
The fee for the Bachelor of Technology (B.Tech) in Civil Engineering is INR 2,35,000 for the duration of 4 years which includes various charges such as examination fees, tuition fees, medical charges, registration fees, college development fund, and other minimal charges.
College Of Engineering And Technology - [CET], Bhubaneswar has 53 Courses with Average Fees 58750 per year. Check here for College Of Engineering And Technology - [CET], Bhubaneswar Fee details of various courses.