Birbhum Mahavidyalaya was established in 1979. In 1987 the college was converted into a co-educational Degree College and Birbhum Mahila Mahavidyalaya was renamed as Birbhum Mahavidyalaya. The college is governed by the Department of Higher Education, Office of the D.P.I., Government of West Bengal and the University of Burdwan.

  • The college has been successfully accredited by the National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC)
  • It was recognized University Grants Commission (UGC). The institution imparts instructions in Higher Education in Honors and General Course in English, Bengali, Geography, Sanskrit, Political Science, History, Philosophy and General Course in Sociology and Education


  • Department of English
  • Department of Bengali
  • Department of Sanskrit
  • Department of Philosophy
  • Department of History
  • Department of Political Science
  • Department of Geography
  • Department of Sociology
  • Department of Education