North Orissa University Renamed After Maharaja Srirama Chandra Bhanja Deo, Check Details Here

Durgesh Rai logo

Durgesh Rai

Content Curator

North Orissa University: The government of Odisha on Wednesday renamed North Orissa University after the name of former Maharaja/ Mayurbhanj, Sriram Chandra Bhanja Deo. 

The Chief Minister of Odisha, Naveen Patnaik stated that the government will speed up the development works of the library for North Orissa University

Odisha is celebrating the 150th birth anniversary of the Mayurbhanj/ Maharaja, this year. The Maharaja Sriram Chandra Bhanja Deo has contributed a lot to the establishment of the state. 

Read: North Orissa University (NOU) Admission 2020: Courses, Fees, Application Form, Eligibility

The SCB Medical College in Cuttack was also relabeled after the name of Sriram Chandra Bhanja Deo. Established in 1998, North Odisha University is a public university with its main campus located at Baripada.

The varsity extends over to two districts, Keonjhar and Mayurbhanj. There are 103 colleges affiliated with the University. University caters to the demand for higher education, offering several professional and general degree courses. The University offers higher education on-campus as well as via distance education. 

Check: North Orissa University Result 2020: pg entrance, 1st/2nd/3rd year​