B.S Materials Science and Engineering with Industrial Experience at Queen Mary, University Of London [QMUL], London Fees, Entry Requirement & Application Deadline

Bachelor [Materials Science and Engineering with Industrial Experience] From Queen Mary, University of London

London, EnglandLocation
UniversitySchool type
Estd1785established year
32000enrollment
Public
Partner [46 Courses]
7.3/10

Bachelor (Materials Science and Engineering with Industrial Experience)

3 years
Full Time
Honours

$43,494 /Yr

£32,950 /Yr
Study Abroad Team's profile photo

Study Abroad Team

Updated on - Aug 22, 2026

Queen Mary, University of London offers Materials Science and Engineering with Industrial Experience as a four-year, full-time BEng (Bachelor of Engineering with Honours) at its Mile End campus. The course requires ABB at A level with two of Mathematics, Physics or Chemistry; Indian equivalents are 75% for CBSE or ISC, 70% West Bengal or 80% other boards. September 2027 tuition is unpublished; 2026-27 tuition was GBP 32,950 per year (INR 43.02 Lakhs), as a prior-cycle reference.

The degree connects mechanics, chemistry, mathematical modelling and materials processing to design projects addressing clean growth, ageing societies and future mobility. Because the four-year route adds an industrial experience year, it suits applicants who want laboratory and project learning followed by workplace exposure. Applicants should be comfortable with sustained quantitative study, group work and an independently competitive placement process.

  • The curriculum includes materials for biomedical applications, sustainability, aerospace and electrochemical engineering.
  • Facilities include materials characterisation, mechanical testing, wet chemistry, nanotechnology and computer modelling laboratories.
  • Professional accreditation supports a route toward Incorporated Engineer registration and partial Chartered Engineer academic requirements.

Current Admission Status

Applications for the September 2027 intake are Not Yet Open. International student deadline: 13 January 2027 at 18:00 UK time, 23:30 Indian Standard Time (IST).

Completed applications through the Universities and Colleges Admissions Service can be submitted from 1 September 2026. Indian applicants should finish academic, English and reference evidence before the equal-consideration cutoff.

Also Check: Queen Mary undergraduate admission

Queen Mary Materials Science Engineering Fees and Living Costs 2027

Target-cycle fee status: Queen Mary states that overseas fees for 2027 entry will appear shortly, so September 2027 tuition is not confirmed. The 2026-27 course page listed GBP 32,950 per year (INR 43.02 Lakhs) for overseas students, which is prior-cycle planning context.

The fee table separates the older published rate from its four-year calculation. Neither amount is a confirmed 2027 charge, so use the official tuition page before accepting an offer or arranging borrowing.

Fee itemGBPINRCycle and interpretation
Annual overseas tuitionGBP 32,950INR 43.02 Lakhs2026-27 prior-cycle reference for JM11
Four-year tuition calculationGBP 131,800INR 1.72 CroreCalculated as 4 x GBP 32,950; not a 2027 fee

All INR conversions in the article use a conversion rate of GBP 1 = INR 130.55 as of 22 August 2026. Rates fluctuate daily, verify before applying.

Verify the target fee on the official Queen Mary tuition fee page.

  • The target-cycle bill should be confirmed before an Indian applicant fixes the loan amount or compares net costs.
  • The prior-cycle calculation excludes possible annual increases and should not be presented as a 2027 quote.
  • Tuition, living costs and visa maintenance funds are separate obligations, so a single combined transfer should not be assumed.

Cost of Living in London for Materials Science Students

Imperial College London estimates a monthly London budget of GBP 1,806 to GBP 1,837 (INR 2.36 Lakhs to INR 2.40 Lakhs). The estimate covers accommodation, food, travel and personal spending, but it excludes tuition and study materials.

Queen Mary accommodation starts around GBP 170 per week (INR 22,194), while the London proxy below shows separate accommodation scenarios. Treat the figures as planning evidence rather than a Queen Mary invoice.

ExpenseMonthly (GBP)Monthly (INR)Nine months (GBP)Nine months (INR)
Accommodation, college-runGBP 1,084INR 1.42 LakhsGBP 9,753INR 12.73 Lakhs
Accommodation, private sectorGBP 1,114INR 1.45 LakhsGBP 10,023INR 13.08 Lakhs
FoodGBP 307INR 40,079GBP 2,764INR 3.61 Lakhs
Travel, Zone 1 to 2GBP 119INR 15,535GBP 1,071INR 1.40 Lakhs
Personal and leisureGBP 297INR 38,773GBP 2,672INR 3.49 Lakhs
TotalGBP 1,806 to GBP 1,837INR 2.36 Lakhs to INR 2.40 LakhsGBP 16,250 to GBP 16,530INR 21.21 Lakhs to INR 21.58 Lakhs

Source: Imperial College London living-cost estimate used as a London planning proxy.

The calculated prior-cycle planning illustration combines four years of the 2026-27 tuition reference with nine months of London living costs for each year. That produces GBP 65,000 to GBP 66,120 (INR 84.86 Lakhs to INR 86.32 Lakhs) for living costs. The overall total is GBP 196,800 to GBP 197,920 (INR 2.57 Crore to INR 2.58 Crore). It excludes visas, travel, study materials and target-cycle fee changes.

Also Check: UK accommodation and living costs

Fee planning note

Because September 2027 overseas tuition is unpublished, treat the calculated prior-cycle range as preparation only and wait for the target fee before finalising borrowing.

Key insight: London living costs can add INR 84.86 Lakhs to INR 86.32 Lakhs across four nine-month periods in this prior-cycle illustration. Confirm the 2027 tuition before building the final funding plan.

Queen Mary Materials Science Engineering Admission 2027

Admission answer: The standard offer is ABB at A level, including at least two of Mathematics, Physics or Chemistry. For Indian applicants, Queen Mary’s mapping equates ABB to 75% for CBSE or ISC, 70% West Bengal or 80% other boards.

The course also accepts 32 International Baccalaureate points with 6,5,5 at Higher Level, including two of the same subjects. General Certificate of Secondary Education English and Mathematics require grade C or 4, while Access applicants need 60 credits with 45 at Level 3.

Indian equivalence context: CBSE means Central Board of Secondary Education, while ISC means Indian School Certificate. Queen Mary’s official mapping covers those boards and named state boards, but it does not publish Indian percentage conversions for International Baccalaureate or Access results.

QualificationPublished requirementIndian applicant interpretationDecision point
A levelsABB, including at least two of Mathematics, Physics or Chemistry75% CBSE or ISC; 70% West Bengal; 80% other boardsDirect standard route
International Baccalaureate Diploma32 points with 6,5,5 at Higher Level, including two of Mathematics, Physics or ChemistryNo QMUL Indian percentage conversion is published; use the points requirementAdmissions decides equivalence
General Certificate of Secondary EducationEnglish and Mathematics at grade C or 4No separate Indian percentage conversion is publishedCheck accepted school evidence
Access to Higher Education Diploma60 credits, including 45 at Level 3 with 18 Distinction and 27 Merit or higherNo Indian percentage conversion is publishedCase-by-case assessment

Applicants with the direct Indian benchmark should foreground Mathematics, Physics or Chemistry results because the subject combination is part of the offer. Queen Mary also lists contextual BBC and enhanced BCC offers, but overseas eligibility must be checked against the applicant’s circumstances.

  • General Studies and Critical Thinking do not count toward the published subject requirement.
  • Indian applicants below the direct route should check whether Queen Mary’s International Foundation Year can provide an eligible pathway.
  • The four-year industrial experience option adds a competitive placement decision after admission, so academic evidence remains important beyond the offer threshold.

English Language Requirements for Materials Science

English requirement: The School of Engineering and Materials Science uses Band 3, with IELTS Academic at 6.0 overall and 5.5 in each component. IELTS means International English Language Testing System. TOEFL means Test of English as a Foreign Language, and PTE means Pearson Test of English.

IELTS measures four language components, TOEFL reports a university-approved scale and PTE provides an academic score profile. Queen Mary accepts specified Indian Standard XII English results, which may remove the need for a separate test when the board and score meet Band 3.

Test or qualificationBand 3 requirementValidity or restrictionIndian applicant action
IELTS Academic, Online or Indicator6.0 overall and 5.5 in each componentValid for two years from course start; standard IELTS General is not acceptedUse Academic or accepted UKVI format
TOEFL iBT or Home Edition from 21 January 20264.5 overall and 4.0 in Writing, Reading, Listening and SpeakingValid for two years; MyBest is not acceptedSubmit the new 1.0 to 6.0 scale
TOEFL iBT taken by 20 January 202679 overall; Writing 17, Reading 18, Listening 17 and Speaking 20Legacy 0 to 120 scale; do not self-convertUse the score policy that matches the test date
PTE Academic, UKVI or Online65 overall and 59 in each componentValid for two years from course startCheck the component scores before sending
CBSE or ISC Standard XII English60%Valid for seven yearsConfirm board evidence with admissions
Selected Indian state-board Standard XII English65%Valid for seven yearsConfirm that the board is on Queen Mary’s accepted list
  • Applicants using IELTS should protect the 5.5 component floor because an overall 6.0 alone does not satisfy Band 3.
  • Applicants taking TOEFL after 21 January 2026 should report the published 1.0 to 6.0 scores rather than converting them from the legacy scale.
  • Indian board applicants should keep the marksheet and board identity ready because validity and acceptance differ by qualification.
Tip for Indian students: ABB is achievable only when the required subject mix is present, while English routes have component floors. Match your board, subjects and test date to the exact row before submitting evidence.

Queen Mary Materials Science Engineering Application 2027

Application route: All undergraduate applications for this course go through the Universities and Colleges Admissions Service (UCAS). UCAS manages the form, reference, personal statement, university choices and key dates for Indian applicants.

September 2027 applications can be submitted from 1 September 2026, while the main equal-consideration deadline is 13 January 2027 at 18:00 UK time. That deadline is 23:30 Indian Standard Time, and the course page lists only the September intake.

Forward-looking timeline: The table retains the UK portal time and gives the Indian equivalent beside each timed cutoff. The UK time controls whether UCAS received the application before the deadline.

StagePublished date and timeApplicant action
Completed applications can be submitted1 September 2026Finalise the form, reference and personal statement
Equal-consideration deadline13 January 2027 at 18:00 UK time, 23:30 ISTSubmit the main application by the cutoff
Extra opens25 February 2027Use Extra only when no offer is held after decisions
Applications sent to universities until30 June 2027 at 18:00 UK time, 22:30 ISTApplications after this point move into Clearing
Last day to add an Extra choice1 July 2027Complete the single-choice Extra route
Clearing opens2 July 2027Check course availability directly through UCAS
Decisions due for applications submitted by 13 January12 May 2027Track Queen Mary’s decision through UCAS
Reply deadline when all decisions arrive by 12 May2 June 2027Accept the firm and insurance choices by the response date
Final date for 2027 entry applications23 September 2027 at 18:00 UK time, 22:30 ISTUse only if the course remains available in Clearing

The January deadline gives an Indian applicant equal-consideration treatment, but a complete application still needs verified marks, English evidence, reference material and a focused statement. Queen Mary’s institution code is Q50, and the course page does not list a separate interview or portfolio requirement.

The 2027 UCAS application fee is GBP 34.50 (INR 4,504) for up to five choices. Keep the fee separate from tuition because it is paid during the application process and is not a Queen Mary charge.

  • Submit before 13 January 2027 if you want the main equal-consideration route rather than relying on later availability.
  • Use 23:30 IST as the practical January cutoff, while retaining 18:00 UK time as the controlling portal time.
  • Prepare the reference and personal statement before submission because UCAS sends the completed form to the chosen universities.

Also Check: UCAS undergraduate application guide

Application tip: Submit a complete UCAS application by 13 January 2027 at 18:00 UK time because the course has one listed intake. Use the later deadlines only when Queen Mary remains available.

Queen Mary Materials Science Engineering Scholarships 2027

Scholarship answer: Queen Mary has published relevant awards, but the 2027-28 values and deadlines are not yet available. The awards below are current published or prior-cycle references, so they must not be subtracted from the unpublished 2027 tuition.

The strongest route for a self-funded international offer holder is the Global Talent Scholarship, subject to its academic threshold. The other awards are conditional on Queen Mary family history or a Kaplan pathway, so they are not general discounts for every Indian applicant.

Cycle context: Global Talent and Kaplan terms below are from 2026-27, while the Children of Alumni Award is current published without a target-cycle label. Recheck the award page after the September 2027 scholarship cycle opens.

AwardValue (GBP)Value (INR)Eligibility and routeCycle and deadline
Global Talent ScholarshipGBP 3,000 per year, up to GBP 12,000INR 3.92 Lakhs per year, up to INR 15.67 LakhsInternational undergraduate offer holder, overseas fee status, fully self-funded, with the published academic threshold; automatic consideration2026-27 prior-cycle terms; deadline not stated
Children of Alumni AwardGBP 1,000 one-offINR 1.31 Lakhs one-offChild of a Queen Mary international alumnus, overseas fee payer and self-funded for at least the award value; flag with the alumni teamCurrent published, cycleless; automatic on enrolment
Kaplan Excellence ScholarshipGBP 5,000INR 6.53 LakhsStudent progressing from Kaplan International College London Foundation Certificate or Kaplan International Digital Pathway; automatic ranking among eligible students2026 prior-cycle terms; deadline not stated

The Global Talent award requires AAA or International Baccalaureate 36 with Higher Level 6,6,6 where an AAB course is specified. An ABB offer alone does not establish eligibility. Its published terms also renew only with an average of 65% or above and do not cover a placement year with reduced tuition.

  • Keep the full September 2027 tuition in the funding plan because no target-cycle award can currently be valued against it.
  • Check the Global Talent academic threshold against the final offer rather than the course’s standard ABB entry requirement.
  • Use the Children of Alumni route only when the family relationship and overseas self-funding conditions can be documented.
  • Use the Kaplan award only after confirming the named pathway and the 2027 award terms.

Also Check: UK scholarships for international students

Scholarship reality: The published awards are conditional and cycle-sensitive, while 2027 tuition is still unpublished. Treat every award as upside funding and arrange the course without assuming a discount.

Queen Mary Materials Science Engineering Placements 2027

Outcome scope: Queen Mary does not publish a course-level salary, graduate offer rate or placement rate for this 2027 route. It does publish placement examples and career roles, while Discover Uni provides broader subject-group evidence.

The industrial experience year is awarded through an application, academic record and interview because placements are highly competitive. The course also develops design, laboratory and modelling skills, which align with the published materials and engineering roles.

Course-specific evidence: The following items come from the course page or its professional-accreditation information. They show preparation and reported destinations, not a guaranteed placement or job.

EvidencePublished detailApplicant meaning
Industrial placement examplesGE, Red Bull, Leonardo, Airbus, GlaxoSmithKline, Roche and Siemens Healthineers are listed among 2026 destinationsExamples show the range of reported host organisations, not placement probability
Published career rolesMaterials Engineer, Metallurgist, Research Scientist, Technical Engineer, Manufacturing Systems Engineer and Patent ExaminerUse the curriculum to test fit with technical, laboratory and manufacturing work
Professional accreditationIOM3 accreditation fully meets academic requirements for IEng and partially meets CEng requirementsUseful for a professional-registration plan, subject to later experience and assessment

The Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining (IOM3) is the accrediting professional body named for the course. Incorporated Engineer (IEng) and Chartered Engineer (CEng) are professional registration levels, not employment guarantees.

Official subject-group outcomes: Discover Uni reports the closest available evidence for Queen Mary’s Engineering and Technology group. The figures are not course-specific, so the scope and cohort appear beside every measure.

MeasurePublished resultINR equivalentScope and cohort
Median salary after 15 monthsGBP 30,000INR 39.17 LakhsEngineering and technology group; graduates 2022-23; 75 people; 64% response
Typical salary after 15 monthsGBP 28,000 to GBP 35,000INR 36.55 Lakhs to INR 45.69 LakhsSame group and cohort; published typical range
Median salary after three yearsGBP 32,500INR 42.43 LakhsLonger-term official dataset; graduates 2015-17; 310 people
Median salary after five yearsGBP 40,500INR 52.87 LakhsLonger-term official dataset; graduates 2015-17; 335 people

Source: Queen Mary Materials Science and Engineering course information and Discover Uni outcomes for the closest official subject-group evidence.

Employment measureResultScope and caution
Work or study after 15 months90%10 students, 85% response; other Materials Technology or Materials Science courses in the subject group
Highly skilled work after 15 months70%10 students; occupation mix from the same subject-group evidence
Occupation mix30% engineering professionals, 20% science and engineering associates, 10% information technology and 10% business or research administrationReported group mix, not a target for this course

Group-level salaries can frame the market, but they cannot establish what this new route will pay. Take-home income varies with tax and personal circumstances, so use a GOV.UK income tax estimator after receiving an actual salary offer.

ROI decision: The calculated prior-cycle tuition and living-cost illustration totals GBP 196,800 to GBP 197,920 (INR 2.57 Crore to INR 2.58 Crore). 2027 tuition remains unpublished, so the course-specific outcome gap makes a conservative funding model essential.

  • The prior-cycle total is a planning illustration, so wait for the 2027 bill before fixing the loan amount or accepting a repayment schedule.
  • The subject-group median of GBP 30,000 (INR 39.17 Lakhs) is not a course outcome, so do not use it as guaranteed payback evidence.
  • The placement year is competitive and has no published income figure, so fund the degree without assuming placement wages.
  • The Graduate Route is 18 months for applications from 1 January 2027, so a UK plan should target skilled sponsorship rather than rely on open-ended work time.
  • IOM3 accreditation supports professional-registration planning, so compare the BEng route with your intended IEng or CEng pathway before choosing it.

Also Check: UK post-study work options

ROI reality: The course offers an industrial experience pathway and professional accreditation, but its published salary evidence is group-level. Secure the 2027 fee and compare verified offers before treating the investment as rational.

UK Visa for Queen Mary Materials Science Students 2027

Visa answer: An Indian student needs a UK Student visa for this full-time degree and must show course funding plus the London maintenance amount. The visa application fee and Immigration Health Surcharge are separate from tuition and university living costs.

The Immigration Health Surcharge (IHS) provides access to specified health services during the visa period. Queen Mary issues a Confirmation of Acceptance for Studies (CAS), which records the course and fee information used in the visa application.

Published visa cost figures: The London maintenance test is a government funds requirement, not a Queen Mary estimate. The table keeps those obligations separate from the Section 2 living-cost proxy.

Visa or funding itemPublished figureINR equivalentApplicant meaning
Student visa application feeGBP 558INR 72,847Pay for the Student visa application
Student IHSGBP 776 per yearINR 1.01 Lakhs per yearPay separately from the visa fee
London maintenance requirementGBP 1,529 per month, up to nine monthsINR 2.00 Lakhs per month, up to INR 17.96 LakhsHold the required funds for 28 days
Graduate Route application feeGBP 937INR 1.22 LakhsPay when applying for post-study permission
Graduate Route IHSGBP 1,035 per yearINR 1.35 Lakhs per yearBudget for the post-study health charge
Skilled Worker salary thresholdGBP 41,700 or the applicable going rateINR 54.44 Lakhs or the applicable going rateThe higher applicable figure controls sponsorship eligibility

The government maintenance amount cannot replace the university’s London budget because the two figures serve different purposes. Keep evidence of funds, tuition payment and the CAS details aligned before submitting the visa application.

  • The Graduate Route lasts 18 months for applications from 1 January 2027, and it can be followed by a qualifying Skilled Worker route.
  • A Skilled Worker application requires an eligible sponsored job and at least GBP 41,700 (INR 54.44 Lakhs), or the higher going rate.
  • Indefinite Leave to Remain (ILR) may follow five years on a qualifying route, subject to the rules applying to that application.
  • Undergraduate students generally cannot bring dependants, except where a government-sponsored exception applies.

Degree-level students can usually work up to 20 hours per week during term time under the Student route, with full-time work permitted during official vacations. Work rights should supplement rather than replace the documented funding requirement.

Visa reality: The Student visa funds test, London living budget and post-study route are separate decisions. Budget the visa charges first, then verify sponsorship prospects against the published Skilled Worker threshold.

Queen Mary Materials Science Engineering Ranking 2027

Subject ranking: Queen Mary states that its Materials Science subject is in the top 10 in the United Kingdom in the 2026 QS World University Rankings by Subject. QS means Quacquarelli Symonds, the ranking publisher named by the university.

The ranking is subject-specific rather than an overall university position, so it gives context for the academic field without proving placement probability or employer preference. The official course page does not publish the exact position within the top-10 band or a prior-edition comparison.

RankingEditionPositionScope
QS World University Rankings by Subject2026Top 10 in the UKMaterials Science subject context stated on the Queen Mary course page

Use the subject result as one academic-context signal because the course’s curriculum and industrial experience year still determine day-to-day fit. It should not replace checking the modules, placement process, fee status and accreditation route.

Key insight: The 2026 subject result supports the course’s academic context, but it does not quantify the exact rank or graduate outcomes. Choose on the verified curriculum and funding evidence.

Queen Mary Materials Science and Engineering with Industrial Experience fits Indian applicants who want quantitative materials study, applied projects and a possible workplace year. The curriculum connects chemistry, mechanics, manufacturing and biomedical or aerospace applications to a professional materials pathway. The material tradeoff is substantial London funding alongside a competitive placement process and no published course-level salary outcome. Confirm the 2027 tuition, prepare the 13 January 2027 UCAS submission and test the funding model against verified offers.

Queen Mary Materials Science and Engineering with Industrial Experience FAQs

Ques. Is this Queen Mary course suitable for an Indian student targeting materials engineering?

Ans. It suits applicants with Mathematics, Physics or Chemistry preparation who want laboratory, modelling and design work. The industrial experience year adds workplace exposure but requires a separate competitive application.

Ques. What English evidence should an Indian applicant prepare?

Ans. Band 3 accepts IELTS Academic at 6.0 overall with 5.5 in each component. It accepts the current TOEFL scale at 4.5 overall with 4.0 in each component or approved Indian Standard XII English results. Match the evidence to the board or test date before submission.

Ques. How should I budget when the September 2027 tuition is unpublished?

Ans. Use the 2026-27 tuition of GBP 32,950 per year (INR 43.02 Lakhs) only as prior-cycle context. The calculated prior-cycle four-year tuition and living illustration is GBP 196,800 to GBP 197,920 (INR 2.57 Crore to INR 2.58 Crore). It is not a 2027 quote.

Ques. When should I submit the Queen Mary application for September 2027?

Ans. Submit through UCAS by 13 January 2027 at 18:00 UK time. That is 23:30 Indian Standard Time. The main form can be submitted from 1 September 2026, and the course page lists one intake.

Ques. Can the course lead to UK employment after graduation?

Ans. The course lists placement destinations and materials-related roles, but its salary and offer evidence is not course-specific. The 18-month Graduate Route provides time to seek eligible work, while longer-term sponsorship depends on a qualifying job.


Tuition Fees

Year1st Year Fees
Tuition Fees$43494 (GBP 32950)

Other Expenses

HeadAvg Cost Per Year
Housing and Board$11669 (GBP 8840)
Total Cost$11669 (GBP 8840)

Previous Year Tuition Fees

Year1st Year Fees
2023$37422 (GBP 28350)

Important Dates

EventApplication Date
UCAS Application Deadline For September 2026 Intake Jan 14, 2026

Ranking

202620252024202320222021202020192018

Collegedunia Study Abroad logo

QS World University logo
Engineering 198 out of 556 in Global Ranking
( #21 out of 39 in UK 2026)

Do you think the Rankings are wrong ?  Report Here

TOP Scholarships

Scholarship nameAward amountEligibility
Global Talent Scholarship – Undergraduate£3,000Have received an Offer for Full time study, on campus course.



Comments


No Comments To Show

Scholarship Grants & Financial Aids

NameScholarship Per StudentLevel of StudyType
VueVille Future Technology ScholarshipScholarship per student$ 1,320/Yr$1,000Level Of StudyBachelorTypeMerit-Based
Forktip Women’s- Innovation ScholarshipScholarship per studentVariable AmountLevel Of StudyBachelorTypeCollege-Specific
Axol Science ScholarshipScholarship per student$ 2,640/Yr$2,000Level Of StudyBachelorTypeCompany-Sponsored
Business Administration ScholarshipsScholarship per studentVariable AmountLevel Of StudyBachelorTypeMerit-Based

interested in this College ?

Get free counselling