Tribhuvan Sahkari University (TSU), formerly the Institute of Rural Management Anand (IRMA), is India’s first cooperative university, established in 2025 through a Parliament Act in Anand, Gujarat. IRMA itself was founded in 1979 with support from the National Dairy Development Board (NDDB), and the institution carries five decades of rural and cooperative management expertise into its new university status. TSU is recognised by the University Grants Commission (UGC).
As per NIRF Management 2025, TSU is ranked 54 in the Management category.
TSU is located in Anand, Gujarat, the heartland of India’s cooperative movement and home to Amul (GCMMF). The residential campus gives students direct proximity to cooperative institutions, the National Dairy Development Board, and agribusiness networks operating out of the Anand-Ahmedabad corridor.
TSU offers a single flagship postgraduate programme: the MBA in Development Management and Cooperation (MBA-DMC), a two-year residential programme with four specialisations:
- Agribusiness Management — supply chain, food processing, agri-input, and commodity markets
- Banking and Finance — cooperative banking, rural credit, NABARD-linked finance
- Cooperative Management — cooperative federations, dairy cooperatives, housing, and multi-state cooperatives
- Rural Management — development organisations, government programmes, and NGO management
The total MBA-DMC fee is INR 16,43,800 for the two-year residential programme, uniform across all four specialisations. Hostel charges add INR 1,40,000 for the full two years.
The 2025 placement season recorded a highest offer of INR 31.84 LPA and a mean CTC of INR 15.64 LPA. Over 130 recruiters participated, making 339 offers to a batch of 250 students.
TSU Admission Dates 2027
TSU admissions for the 2026-28 batch have concluded. The 2027-29 cycle opens after the CAT 2026 cycle closes. All dates below are tentative and based on the prior admission cycle. CAT 2026, the primary gateway, is on November 29, 2026.
| Event | Date (2027-29 Cycle) |
|---|---|
| CAT 2026 Exam | November 29, 2026 |
| CAT 2026 Result | December 24, 2026 (Tentative) |
| XAT 2027 Registration Last Date | December 6, 2026 |
| XAT 2027 Exam | January 3, 2027 |
| CMAT 2027 Exam | January 24, 2027 (Tentative) |
| TSU Application Opens | December 2026 (Tentative) |
| TSU Application Last Date | January 2027 (Tentative) |
| TSUWAT (Written Ability Test) | February 2027 (Tentative) |
| Personal Interview | February to April 2027 (Tentative) |
| Session Start | July 2027 (Tentative) |
The table below shows the accepted exams and selection criteria for the MBA-DMC programme at TSU.
| Programme | Accepted Exams | Selection Stages |
|---|---|---|
| MBA-DMC (all 4 specialisations) | CAT, XAT, CMAT, CUET-PG, GATE, GMAT, GRE | Entrance score shortlist, then TSUWAT and Personal Interview |
TSU Courses and Fees
TSU currently offers a single postgraduate programme: the MBA in Development Management and Cooperation (MBA-DMC), available in four specialisations. All specialisations carry an identical fee structure. The two-year residential fee is INR 16,43,800, with hostel and mess costs billed separately.
| Course | Duration | Eligibility | Total Fees |
|---|---|---|---|
| MBA - Agribusiness Management | 2 years (residential) | Graduation with 50% (45% for reserved categories) + CAT/XAT/CMAT/CUET-PG/GATE/GMAT/GRE | INR 16,43,800 |
| MBA - Banking and Finance | 2 years (residential) | Same as above | INR 16,43,800 |
| MBA - Cooperative Management | 2 years (residential) | Same as above | INR 16,43,800 |
| MBA - Rural Management | 2 years (residential) | Same as above | INR 16,43,800 |
Hostel charges are INR 1,40,000 for the full two-year period (INR 70,000 per year). A refundable mess deposit of INR 1,00,000 is charged for two years, with a variable monthly mess expense of INR 4,500. The all-in cost over two years, excluding the refundable deposit, comes to approximately INR 19,91,800.
TSU Admission Process
TSU follows a two-stage selection process. Stage 1 is the national entrance exam shortlist. Stage 2 is the TSUWAT (Written Ability Test) and Personal Interview. There is no management quota, and there is no proprietary TSU entrance exam.
Eligibility
Candidates must hold a bachelor’s degree (any discipline) with a minimum of 50% aggregate from a recognised university. Reserved category candidates (SC, ST, OBC-NC, EWS, PwD) need a minimum of 45%. Final-year graduation students may apply, provided all exams are cleared before the session starts in July.
- Accepted entrance exams: CAT, XAT, CMAT, CUET-PG, GATE, GMAT, and GRE
- No minimum work experience required. Candidates with and without experience may apply.
- Application fee: INR 2,000 (General/OBC/EWS), INR 1,500 (SC/ST/PwD)
Selection Process
TSU shortlists candidates based on entrance exam scores. Shortlisted candidates appear for the TSUWAT and Personal Interview, conducted at 16 centres across 15 states. Academic profile, work experience in the cooperative or rural sector, and regional diversity are weighted in the PI stage.
- Stage 1: Entrance exam score shortlist (CAT/XAT/CMAT percentile)
- Stage 2: TSUWAT (Written Ability Test) and Personal Interview
- Final selection: Composite score of entrance exam, WAT, PI, academic record, and work experience
Candidates with a background in agriculture, cooperative banking, NGOs, or rural development agencies find their work profile highlighted during the PI stage, given TSU’s sector focus.
TSU Placements
TSU (formerly IRMA Anand) placements have shown consistent growth over the past two cycles. The 2025 placement season saw 339 offers made to a batch of 250 students, with 100% placement and participation from 130+ recruiters.
| Metric | 2025 Placement Season | 2024 Placement Season |
|---|---|---|
| Highest CTC | INR 31.84 LPA | Not disclosed |
| Mean CTC | INR 15.64 LPA | INR 14.14 LPA |
| Median CTC | INR 15.80 LPA | INR 15.00 LPA |
| Total Offers | 339 | Not disclosed |
| Participating Recruiters | 130+ | Not disclosed |
| Placement Rate | 100% | 100% |
The BFSI sector led placements at 39% of the batch, driven by cooperative banks, NABARD, HDFC Bank, and rural finance institutions. The remaining batch was placed in agribusiness, development organisations, and government-linked entities. Confirmed top recruiters include Amul (GCMMF), HDFC Bank, ITC, Adani, PwC, EY, NABARD, UNDP, IFAD, CARE India, Oxfam, and BRAC.
TSU’s cooperative and rural management positioning attracts a distinct recruiter set that includes multilateral development organisations (UNDP, IFAD), cooperative federations (Amul, state dairy cooperatives), agribusiness conglomerates, and rural development agencies. This recruiter profile differs from general MBA institutions and reflects the sector-specific nature of the MBA-DMC programme.
TSU Rankings
TSU carries the institutional ranking legacy of IRMA Anand, which has consistently appeared in management rankings. As per NIRF Management 2025, TSU is ranked 54 among management institutions in India. Outlook India 2026 ranked TSU at 19 in the management category.
| Ranking Body | Category | 2025 Rank | 2026 Rank |
|---|---|---|---|
| NIRF | Management | 54 | Not yet released |
| Outlook India | Management | Not available | 19 |
The gap between the NIRF rank (54) and the Outlook India rank (19) reflects differences in ranking methodology. NIRF weights research output and financial resources heavily, while Outlook India incorporates employer reputation and sector-specific factors. TSU’s cooperative and rural management programme is unique in India, which limits direct peer comparison in general management rankings.
TSU Campus and Infrastructure
TSU is located in Anand, Gujarat, the cooperative capital of India and home to Amul and the National Dairy Development Board (NDDB). The fully residential campus provides hostel accommodation, with single and double occupancy options, high-speed internet, and common study areas. The mess operates at a monthly rate of INR 4,500 on the current schedule.
The location in Anand gives TSU students direct access to cooperative institutions, agri-research centres, and the operational infrastructure of India’s largest dairy cooperative network. Field immersion placements and live projects at cooperative and rural organisations form a core part of the MBA-DMC curriculum.
TSU vs IIFM Bhopal vs MANAGE Hyderabad
A candidate focused on rural, cooperative, or development management careers typically compares TSU Anand with the Indian Institute of Forest Management (IIFM), Bhopal, and the National Institute of Agricultural Extension Management (MANAGE), Hyderabad. All three are government-supported management institutions with a development sector focus.
| Parameter | TSU Anand | IIFM Bhopal | MANAGE Hyderabad |
|---|---|---|---|
| Established | 1979 (IRMA), reconstituted 2025 | 1999 | 1987 |
| Location | Anand, Gujarat | Bhopal, Madhya Pradesh | Hyderabad, Telangana |
| Programme | MBA-DMC (Cooperative, Rural, Agri, Banking) | MBA (Forestry Management) | PGDM (Agribusiness Management) |
| Sector Focus | Cooperative institutions, rural development, agribusiness | Forest sector, natural resource management | Agricultural extension, agribusiness, government schemes |
| NIRF Management 2025 | 54 | Ranked (specific rank not verified) | Ranked (specific rank not verified) |
| MBA-DMC Total Fee | INR 16,43,800 | Not verified | Not verified |
TSU’s cooperative and banking-sector placement strength (BFSI at 39%, Amul, NABARD, HDFC Bank) distinguishes it from IIFM and MANAGE, which have stronger placement reach into forest/environment sector and government agriculture extension programmes respectively. TSU is the only institution of the three that positions candidates directly into cooperative management roles — a sector growing in scale with the expansion of cooperative banks, dairy federations, and multi-state cooperatives.
TSU FAQs
Ques. Is TSU (Tribhuvan Sahkari University) the same as IRMA Anand?
Ans. Yes. Tribhuvan Sahkari University (TSU) is the reconstituted form of the Institute of Rural Management Anand (IRMA). IRMA was founded in 1979 and was India’s leading rural management institution. In 2025, it was reconstituted as India’s first cooperative university through a Parliament Act and renamed Tribhuvan Sahkari University. The MBA-DMC programme continues the tradition of IRMA’s PGDM-RM.
Ques. What is the NIRF rank of TSU Anand?
Ans. As per NIRF Management 2025, Tribhuvan Sahkari University (TSU) is ranked 54 in the Management category. Outlook India 2026 ranks TSU at 19 in management.
Ques. What is the total MBA fee at TSU Anand?
Ans. The total MBA-DMC fee at TSU Anand is INR 16,43,800 for the full two-year residential programme. This is uniform across all four specialisations: Agribusiness Management, Banking and Finance, Cooperative Management, and Rural Management. Hostel charges add INR 1,40,000 for the two years, and mess costs run at INR 4,500 per month.
Ques. Which entrance exam is required for TSU MBA admission?
Ans. TSU accepts scores from CAT, XAT, CMAT, CUET-PG, GATE, GMAT, and GRE. There is no separate TSU entrance exam. Shortlisted candidates appear for the TSUWAT (Written Ability Test) and a Personal Interview. The application fee is INR 2,000 for General category and INR 1,500 for SC/ST/PwD candidates.
Ques. What is the average placement salary at TSU Anand?
Ans. The 2025 placement season recorded a mean CTC of INR 15.64 LPA and a median of INR 15.80 LPA for the batch of 250 students. The highest offer was INR 31.84 LPA. Over 130 recruiters made 339 offers, achieving 100% placement. Top recruiters included Amul (GCMMF), HDFC Bank, NABARD, ITC, PwC, UNDP, and BRAC.
Ques. When do TSU MBA admissions open for the 2027-29 batch?
Ans. TSU applications for the 2027-29 batch are expected to open in December 2026 (tentative), after CAT 2026 results are declared. CAT 2026 is scheduled for November 29, 2026. The session for the 2027-29 batch is expected to begin in July 2027. All dates are tentative and will be confirmed on the official TSU portal.









![MBA/PGDM | admission | 2024 | Narsee Monjee Institute of Management Studies - [NMIMS Deemed to be University]](https://img.collegedunia.com/public/college_data/images/logos/1506323004Logo.jpg?h=72&w=72&mode=stretch)




![MBA/PGDM | admission | 2024 | Indian Institute of Management - [IIMC]](https://img.collegedunia.com/public/college_data/images/logos/1488950580d2.png?h=72&w=72&mode=stretch)







Comments
Found 12 Comments
Tribhuvan Sahkari University (Anand, Gujarat) is a newly established university as of 2025 and does not currently offer a B.Tech course with an entrance exam or admissions process announced yet.
Tribhuvan Sahkari University has been newly established through an act of Parliament in 2025, but it is very new and not yet running established B.Tech admissions for the 2025 session.
Candidates are shortlisted based on their CAT/XAT/CMAT scores. They are then called for the next stage of the selection process, which includes a Written Ability Test (WAT) and a Personal Interview (PI). Candidates must have a Bachelor’s degree with a minimum of 50% marks (45% for reserved category) in any discipline or Students in their Final Year of Graduation.
The courses are approved by the AICTE; the application for recognition of equivalence is under consideration at the AIU. Institute of Rural Management Anand is a premier business school located in Gujarat, India. IRMA has secured 54th rank among the best business schools in India by NIRF Ranking 2023.
The campus is buzzing with activity around the year, with the Student Activity Centre as its epicentre extending to the well-equipped auditorium with a capacity of over 400 people. The cultural student body and the IRMA Staff Club organize various cultural programmes, entertainment and sports activities at the Institute. For sports and fitness enthusiasts, the campus provides indoor and outdoor infrastructure facilities for football, cricket, badminton, table tennis, boxing, billiards and foosball. The campus also has a fully equipped gym.
IRMA offers the PG Diploma, Fellowship program, EX-PGDM courses. The Institute's publication programme is a response to the need forcharting a unique path in rural management, a discipline defined and developed by IRMA. The research writings of the faculty, emerging out in the initial phase of research and consultancy projects were of three types: research reports, case studies and workshop reports. These were the first three series of publications of the Committee on Research, Publication and Seminars (CORPAS). The faculty was also coming up with cases in rural management, which was soon added to the CORPAS portfolio of publications. As academic life at the Institute began to encompass an increasing array of aspects of under-served sector, the publication programme was modified into seven series: Working Paper, Research Paper, Workshop Report, Case Study, Cases in Rural Management, Monograph and Occasional Publication.
IRMA boasts a faculty comprising 38 core members and 30 guest faculty, all hailing from diverse backgrounds and recognized as experts in the broader field of rural transformation. Their influence on students is profound because they push boundaries, ignite inspiration, and genuinely care about their student’s progress. Faculty at IRMA ensure that their courses remain current and forward-looking. These faculty members are deeply engaged in every facet of the Institute’s operations, including teaching, research, administration, and consultancy for national and international organizations. Furthermore, they actively contribute to various policymaking bodies within the Government of India.
IRMA has done consulting assignments for many major national and international bodies including Government of India, The World Bank, ILO, UNICEF, UNDP, SDC, and FORD Foundation. The Institute made its debut in the early eighties with projects in milk and oil co-operatives, but soon the Institute began to receive offers from voluntary organisations, NGOs, funding agencies involved in rural sector and even government bodies dealing with rural development. Besides, the Institute also has a provision to fund small research projects under its own Research Fund. Please see Research and Consultancy Studies for a list of ongoing and completed projects carried out by the faculty. Copies of the studies are available in IRMA Library for reference.
IRMA offers Post Graduate Diploma In Rural management which is equivalent to an MBA course. The total fee is INR 16.75 Lakhs. It is also accredited by NBA and AICTE. NIRF ranked IRMA at the 54th position in 2023. IRMA is ranked Grade 'A' by NAAC. The admission is based on CAT/XAT/CMAT/GMAT Scores followed by WAT and PI rounds.
IRMA's PGDM in Rural Management is a two-year flagship program that trains young managers to take on responsibilities and serve rural and urban communities in India. The PGDM-RM program is recognized as equivalent to a PGDM degree in Rural Management by AIU. It is also accredited by NBA and AICTE. NIRF ranked IRMA at the 54th position in 2023. IRMA is ranked Grade 'A' by NAAC. The admission is based on CAT/XAT/CMAT/GMAT Scores followed by WAT and PI rounds. In IRMA Placements 2023, the highest CTC offered was INR 26.50 LPA and the average CTC was INR 15.50 LPA. 242 students were placed with 399 offers. Some of the major recruiters included Axis Bank, ICICI Bank, Vedanta, HDFC Bank etc.
The cutoff for the XAT is 80 percentile at the Institute of Rural Management Anand
No, as per NTA rules the CMAT scores are valid for that particular academic session.