Cotton University Rankings

×

Cotton University, Guwahati - Reviews

Cotton University, Guwahati - Reviews

Guwahati, Assam UGC, MHRD Estd 2017 State University NAAC Ranked for Overall by NIRF 2020

College rating

based on 33 students ratings

7.5/10

8.3/10academic
6.9/10accommodation
8.2/10faculty
7.3/10infrastructure
5.8/10placements
8.4/10social
FILTER BY
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL

    POPULAR TAGS

    Scholarship
    Hostel
    Cotton
    Department
    Fee Structure
    Semester
    Admission Fee
    Extracurricular
    Merit List
    Indoor Stadium
    Extra Curricular
    Placement Cell
    Course Curriculum
    Entrance Exam
    Faculty Member

    33 Reviews found

    A
    Amishka BayanBachelor of Arts [BA] (Political Science)
    9.8
    STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

    Cotton review

    Course Curriculum -
    /10

    I have always wanted to learn about the political workings of our nation plus the international relation chapter is again very interesting. There are enough professors in our department and all of them are extremely qualified and devoted. Anyone would enjoy their classes whether a student of political science or not. Exams are always held on time. 40 marks sessional exams and 100 marks final exams each semester.

    10/10placement
    10/10college
    9/10course
    10/10campus life
    M
    Manash KalitaM.Sc.Batch : 2021
    7.8
    STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS
    Remarks -
    7.8 /10

    Just because of college Faculty and his best academic records or strict studying, nice campus, best guidance for your future and complete solutions of your problems. Loveable teacher,student, helping nature,

    Course Curriculum -
    7 /10

    The course syllabus is updated as per the current scenario. Computer lab facilities are available and faculties are updated with each latest trends in the course structure. e.g. in this covid-19 pandemic, we are giver online classes and the professors not only give notes, but they also maintain the offline classes' feel.

    7/10academic
    9/10faculty
    8/10infrastructure
    8/10food & accom
    6/10placement
    9/10social life
    K
    Kamal KashyapBsc. ZoologyPursued
    BATCH : 2021
    7.2
    STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

    Cotton University admission procedure for undergraduation

    Remarks -
    7.2 /10

    Best government educational institute in Assam. Apart from infrastructure everything is good.

    Admission -

    One of the oldest reputed institute of Assam and India. Good education. Admission is done on the basis of 12th marks. Link is opened in the website after 12th results and the merit list is release subsequently. About 450 students are admitted in arts and science streams each.

    10/10academic
    7/10faculty
    7/10infrastructure
    8/10food & accom
    1/10placement
    10/10social life
    D
    Deepjyoti dekaBCAPursued
    BATCH : 2021
    8.2
    STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

    Cotton universty

    Remarks -
    8.2 /10

    One of the best college in assam and india also there are so much talented student we can learn so many things from them so i like this college a lot. And the people are so good to talk. Some small things are also there which have to be changed

    Admission -

    Firtsly i did online form fillup dn they made a merit list on the basis of best three subjects which, on admission day they call us one by one and we paid the fees on the spot and then after 20 days classes started

    9/10academic
    8/10faculty
    8/10infrastructure
    9/10food & accom
    5/10placement
    10/10social life
    r
    raju basumataryMCAPursued
    BATCH : 2021
    6.7
    STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

    college review

    Remarks -
    6.7 /10

    Quite Good Nor Bad But Lastly This College is Good Because of The Staff and helpfull members

    Admission -

    I got good marks in entrance and therefore my name was put up on merit list during Admission. I got admission on last of August 2018. I opt for this course because i am interested in IT field. I choose To Study in This University As it has got vast reputation in entire State. The Admission Procedure is Quite Challenging as their are many competetors With Identical marks Against Me.

    8/10academic
    6/10faculty
    8/10infrastructure
    6/10food & accom
    5/10placement
    7/10social life
    g
    gautam bhuyanB.Sc Physics, M.Sc PhysicsBatch : 2019
    7.2
    STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

    Basic administrative and academics of my alma mater

    Remarks -
    7.2 /10

    Though my opinion is a mixed one, this Cotton University, earlier Cotton College, is a very old and renowned institute in the Northeast India region. It has a good curriculum, good professors and gives exposure to people from far-flung areas of the Northeast India.

    Admission -

    In B.Sc there was a rigorous method for enlisting the applicants as per their score in best of their 3 subjects, i.e, in which they scored more than the rest. Eg: for an applicant applying for undergraduate degree in science best 3 is either physics, chem, maths or biology. I was in the merit list and hence got the admission before the seats ran out. In the post-graduation however, the undergraduates from our institution was given two choices, one thourough a merit list reserved for Cotton University graduates and thourough an Entrance. Applicants could apply thourough either of the choices or both altogether. I got thourough the merit list again

    8/10academic
    8/10faculty
    6/10infrastructure
    7/10food & accom
    7/10placement
    7/10social life
    M
    MD SIRAZUL HAQUEbscBatch : 2016
    8.2
    STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

    COTTON - A dream of many

    Remarks -
    8.2 /10

    Cotton university is a very good university for students who want to pursue his studies from prestigious university. Cotton is the place where a student become fully independent and understandable and apart from that a good human being

    Admission -

    I choose to study in cotton university by taking science stream because it is a very prestigious university in whole northeast, and it continues to maintain its legacy from past 104yrs, getting admission in cotton university is a dream for many, for getting admission i had to fill the form, and than they called for interview process where they allot the seat to various sections.

    10/10academic
    9/10faculty
    9/10infrastructure
    6/10food & accom
    7/10placement
    8/10social life
    P
    Prarthana DeviB.Sc in MathematicsBatch : 2019
    7.8
    STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

    Cotton University

    Remarks -
    7.8 /10

    The college is very friendly, and donot let you miss your family. We have much freedom like wearing whatever we liked as it didn't have uniform. We can use our phones or laptops inside our classrooms for the study works. The teachers are good. The staff is also friendly. All over it is good. But few things need to be taken care of like the poor condition of the toilets and some classrooms are very dirty.

    Admission -

    I always wanted to study in Mathematics. So I chose it. And Cotton University is one of the best colleges in the state. I was admitted to the college via merit list. There were two days for the merit list students because there were a lot of students coming from all around the state.

    8/10academic
    8/10faculty
    8/10infrastructure
    8/10food & accom
    6/10placement
    9/10social life
    S
    Sundeep BasakBsc ChemistryPursued
    BATCH : 2021
    6.8
    STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

    SUNDEEP BASAK

    Remarks -
    6.8 /10

    In a general way it's good I must say, the syllabus structure, the faculty members, then the cultural and sports section, all are quite good in this college, But yeah labs are in very bad condition for this college, I wish they renovate it very soon, so that we could get the best practical knowledge out of it.

    Admission -

    • To get enrolled for Higher Secondary Education (class 11 and 12), they look for class 10 marks or the GPA as like many schools, i must say getting admission in COTTON UNIVERSITY is quite tough, you really need to have a good GPA if you are willing to study in this University. • To get enrolled in a Bachelor's degree programme, they look for class 12 marks (best of 3 subjects), there is so much of competition,so you must have a really good score. Similarly it goes for the Masters and Post graduate degrees.

    9/10academic
    9/10faculty
    5/10infrastructure
    8/10food & accom
    1/10placement
    9/10social life
    B
    Bhargav GogoiUG MATHEMATICSBatch : 2018
    6.8
    STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

    CU REVIEW

    Remarks -
    6.8 /10

    Yes.The hostels are not renovated or repaired properly.Since our university is an old one therefore, the infrastructure of the college and the hostels are very old and it's getting worst day by day. So, the authorities are not taking any good step in renovating them.

    Admission -

    I got admission to my college through my percentage in my Class 12.Total marks of Physics, Chemistry and Biology was calculated and a merit list was made. The application for admission was offline. Then a carpe offline counseling was held in the university itself and I got selected.

    8/10academic
    8/10faculty
    6/10infrastructure
    6/10food & accom
    5/10placement
    8/10social life

    Load More reviews

    Comments

    Comments



    No Comments To Show

    Similar Colleges

    Pandu College, Guwahati logo
    follow
    REVIEWS RATING7.9 / 10

    Pandu College

    Guwahati, Assam
    MA 6.2 ₹11.24 K first year fees
    NERIM Group of Institutions - [NERIM], Guwahati logo
    follow
    REVIEWS RATING7.1 / 10
    Assam University, Silchar logo
    follow
    REVIEWS RATING7.5 / 10

    Assam University

    Silchar, Assam
    Assam Don Bosco University - [ADBU], Guwahati logo
    follow
    REVIEWS RATING8.2 / 10
    Tezpur University - [TU], Tezpur logo
    follow
    REVIEWS RATING7.9 / 10

    NEARBY COLLEGES

    Pandu College, Guwahati logo
    follow
    REVIEWS RATING7.9 / 10

    Pandu College

    Guwahati, Assam
    MA 6.2 ₹11.24 K first year fees
    Gauhati University - [GU], Guwahati logo
    follow
    REVIEWS RATING8.1 / 10

    Gauhati University - [GU]

    Guwahati, Assam
    Dispur College, Guwahati logo
    follow
    REVIEWS RATING6.4 / 10

    Dispur College

    Guwahati, Assam
    BA 5.7 ₹13.84 K first year fees
    B. Borooah College, Guwahati logo
    follow
    REVIEWS RATING7.4 / 10

    B. Borooah College

    Guwahati, Assam
    Handique Girls College, Guwahati logo
    follow
    REVIEWS RATING7.4 / 10

    Handique Girls College

    Guwahati, Assam

    news view all

    September 02, 2020

    Gauhati University:B.Ed Students Demand Conducting of Exams by September 30; Stage Protest for the Same

    B.Ed final year students held a protest demonstration on Tuesday at the Gauhati University (GU) campus demanding that the exams be scheduled before September 30, 2020. Some universities in the Northeast have started online tests for students in the final year. But GU-affiliated colleges have not

    September 01, 2020

    Cotton University: Final Year Undergraduate Open Book Exams Conducted Successfully

    Cotton University (CU) has successfully conducted the final year of the Open Book Examination in online mode, even as the campuses of educational institutions remain closed to students in Assam. The final year of the undergraduate exams began in CU on August 18, 2020 in online mode. By doing so,

    August 30, 2020

    Cotton University set to Launch BA Course for Sports Persons

    Cotton University will be launching a BA course for sportspersons from this academic session. It will be the first of its kind in northeastern India. The general bachelor’s degree course will offer much-needed flexibility to outstanding sportspersons of the region to pursue their studies,

    August 21, 2020

    Students keep Multiple Options Open for UG Admission Due to Uncertainties Raised by COVID-19

    This year, students seeking admission to undergraduate colleges keep multiple options open because of the uncertainties that arise as a result of the pandemic. Many of the students who have already applied for Delhi University (DU)-affiliated colleges also have their names in the cut-off lists of le

    August 09, 2020

    Cotton University Receives 15,000 Applications for Undergraduate Courses, a 60 Percent Rise over last Year

    With students avoiding going outside the state of Assam to pursue higher studies (due to the pandemic), Cotton University has received a huge number of applications for its undergraduate courses. Cotton University Guwahati has seen nearly a 60 percent increase in the number of applications compar

    July 10, 2020

    Cotton University to Promote Students on the basis of UGC Formula amid Pandemic

    Due to the coronavirus pandemic, Cotton University has made the decision to promote students of selected semesters in undergraduate and postgraduate courses, who were about to take the semester-end examination in June-July. This decision comes after a directive from the University Grants Commission.

    apply now Download Brochure
    INTERESTED IN THIS COLLEGE ?
    Ask a Question

    Follow & Share this college to get information about admission

    top courses

    BA (Anthropology)AVG FEE - ₹3,717/Yr
    3 Years
    BA (Economics)AVG FEE - ₹3,717/Yr
    3 Years
    BA (Hindi)AVG FEE - ₹3,717/Yr
    3 Years
    view more courses[75]

    news

    Placements

    faculties

    R. KhongsdierProfessor, Department of Anthropology
    Dr. Ratheesh KumarProfessor, Department of Anthropology
    Raina Khanam MazumdarProfessor, Department of Arabic
    view all faculties[8]

    reviews

    STUDENTS ALSO VISITED

    Gauhati University - [GU], Guwahati logo

    Gauhati University - [GU], Guwahati

    MA , ₹ 8.98 K FIRST YEAR FEES
    8.1
    Handique Girls College, Guwahati logo

    Handique Girls College, Guwahati

    BA , ₹ 5.15 K FIRST YEAR FEES
    7.4
    Darrang College, Tezpur logo

    Darrang College, Tezpur

    BA , ₹ 8.9 K FIRST YEAR FEES
    7.2
    Royal Global University - [RGU], Guwahati logo

    Royal Global University - [RGU], Guwahati

    B.Sc , ₹ 1.14 L FIRST YEAR FEES
    7.0
    North-Eastern Hill University - [NEHU], Shillong logo

    North-Eastern Hill University - [NEHU], Shillong

    MA , ₹ 4.67 K FIRST YEAR FEES
    7.6
    Dibrugarh University, Dibrugarh logo

    Dibrugarh University, Dibrugarh

    MA , ₹ 12.38 K FIRST YEAR FEES
    7.6
    Pragjyotish College, Guwahati logo

    Pragjyotish College, Guwahati

    MA , ₹ 24 K FIRST YEAR FEES
    6.5
    Arya Vidyapeeth College - [AVC], Guwahati logo

    Arya Vidyapeeth College - [AVC], Guwahati

    B.Sc , ₹ 6.37 K FIRST YEAR FEES
    6.9
    Assam Down Town University - [ADTU], Guwahati logo

    Assam Down Town University - [ADTU], Guwahati

    B.Sc , ₹ 1 L FIRST YEAR FEES
    8.1
    B. Borooah College, Guwahati logo

    B. Borooah College, Guwahati

    BA , ₹ 5.84 K FIRST YEAR FEES
    7.4
    ×