California State University, Fresno admissions is an access-oriented process with a 94% acceptance rate, admitting most Indian applicants who clear Class XII with 60% or higher for undergraduate entry and hold a Bachelor’s degree with a 3.0 GPA (around 55%) for graduate entry.
- Next deadline: Fall 2027 graduate early deadline is 1 April 2027, with the late deadline on 1 May 2027 (primary intake).
- Base tuition: USD 19,921 (around ₹19.06 Lakhs) per year for undergraduates, plus a USD 70 (₹6,698) application fee on Cal State Apply.
- Eligibility floor: UG applicants need Class XII at 60% with IELTS 6.0; PG applicants need a 3-4 year Bachelor’s degree with a 3.0 GPA and IELTS 6.5.
- Acceptance rate: 94%, making Fresno State one of the more welcoming CSU campuses for Indian students.
Popular admits from India include the AACSB-accredited MBA at the Craig School of Business, MS Computer Science, MSN Nursing, and multiple MS Engineering tracks. Indian graduates typically highlight steady faculty access, manageable class sizes, and a much lower cost base than coastal California campuses. Read the full California State University, Fresno profile for campus and outcomes context.
Admission Status. Open. Fresno State’s primary intake is Fall 2027 (August 2027 start). Graduate applications on Cal State Apply opened 1 August 2026, so the file window is live now, with the early graduate deadline of 1 April 2027 and late deadline of 1 May 2027. Undergraduate applications on the same platform open 1 October 2026, with the 1 July 2027 outside-US deadline. Each submission carries a USD 70 (₹6,698) non-refundable Cal State Apply fee.
On this page
- California State University, Fresno Deadlines
- Fresno State Eligibility for Indian Students
- CSU Fresno PG Programs and English Scores
- Fresno State Undergraduate Programs
- California State University, Fresno MBA Admissions
- CSUF Application Process via Cal State Apply
- CSU Fresno Documents Required Checklist
- California State University, Fresno Acceptance Rate
- USA Student Visa Process
- Fresno State Application Tips and Checklist
- California State University, Fresno FAQs
California State University, Fresno Application Deadlines
Fresno State runs a single major intake each year for international applicants. Cal State Apply, the CSU system-wide portal, opens graduate applications on 1 August and undergraduate applications on 1 October of each cycle. The dates below are drawn from the Fresno State international admissions pages for Fall 2027.
Fresno State’s primary intake for Indian students is Fall (August start) — nearly all graduate and undergraduate programs open here.
| Intake | Level | App Opens | Deadline | App Fee | Portal |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fall 2027 (Primary intake) | Graduate — early | 1 August 2026 | 1 April 2027 | USD 70 (₹6,698) | Cal State Apply |
| Fall 2027 | Graduate — late | 1 August 2026 | 1 May 2027 | USD 70 (₹6,698) | Cal State Apply |
| Fall 2027 | Undergraduate (outside US) | 1 October 2026 | 1 July 2027 | USD 70 (₹6,698) | Cal State Apply |
| Fall 2027 | Undergraduate (in US) | 1 October 2026 | 1 August 2027 | USD 70 (₹6,698) | Cal State Apply |
Insider note: The early April 1 graduate deadline gives Indian applicants a stronger shot at teaching assistantships and campus housing preferences. Files submitted between April 2 and May 1 are still considered but often miss internal funding cycles.
California State University, Fresno Eligibility for Indian Students
Fresno State applies CSU system-wide floors, with department-level requirements layered on top. The thresholds below reflect what the Fresno State international office publishes for Indian applicants at both levels.
Academic Requirements
- Undergraduate: Class XII completion with a minimum 60% aggregate (roughly a 3.0 GPA on the US 4.0 scale) from a recognised Indian board.
- Postgraduate: A 3 or 4-year Bachelor’s degree from a recognised Indian university with a 3.0 GPA in the last 60 semester units (approximately 55% or higher).
- Programme-specific floors: Craig School MBA, MS Computer Science, MSN, and MS Engineering tracks often expect 65%+ in the relevant subject stream.
English Proficiency Minimums
Fresno State accepts multiple English tests. The table lists the accepted floors from the international admissions pages.
| Test | Graduate Minimum | Undergraduate Minimum |
|---|---|---|
| IELTS | 6.5 overall | 6.0 overall (5.5 in each band) |
| TOEFL iBT | 80 | 61 |
| TOEFL iBT (1-6 scale) | 4.0 | 3.5 |
| Duolingo English Test | 105 | 100 |
| PTE Academic | 53 | Not stated |
| iTEP | 4.5 | Not stated |
Fresno State IELTS Waiver for Indian Students
Fresno State waives the English test for applicants who have completed a full Bachelor’s degree entirely in English at an institution where English is the sole medium of instruction, verified with an official medium-of-instruction letter. This waiver rarely applies to Indian applicants unless the degree was completed at an English-medium university with proper documentation. Most Indian applicants should plan to take IELTS, TOEFL, or Duolingo.
Planning note: Applicants who studied CBSE or ISC in an English-medium school may still need the test at the graduate level. The waiver is degree-level, not school-level.
California State University, Fresno PG Programs and English Scores
Fresno State offers over 70 master’s programs across its eight schools and colleges. The programs below are among the most popular with Indian applicants and share a common graduate IELTS 6.5 floor, with a base graduate tuition of USD 18,805 (around ₹17.99 Lakhs) per academic year. For a full course-wise fees breakdown, see the programs page.
| Programme | Duration | Minimum Eligibility | English Req. Min. |
|---|---|---|---|
| MBA (Craig School of Business) | 2 years | Bachelor’s, 3.0 GPA, work experience preferred | IELTS 6.5 |
| MS Computer Science | 2 years | Bachelor’s in CS or related, 3.0 GPA | IELTS 6.5 |
| MSN Nursing | 2 years | BSN plus active RN licence, 3.0 GPA | IELTS 6.5 |
| MS Electrical Engineering | 2 years | Bachelor’s in Electrical or related engineering | IELTS 6.5 |
| MS Mechanical Engineering | 2 years | Bachelor’s in Mechanical or related engineering | IELTS 6.5 |
| MS Civil Engineering | 2 years | Bachelor’s in Civil or related engineering | IELTS 6.5 |
| MS Chemistry | 2 years | Bachelor’s in Chemistry, 3.0 GPA | IELTS 6.5 |
| MS Mathematics | 2 years | Bachelor’s in Mathematics or related | IELTS 6.5 |
| MA Special Education | 2 years | Bachelor’s in Education or Psychology | IELTS 6.5 |
| MSW Social Work | 2 years | Bachelor’s degree, related fieldwork preferred | IELTS 6.5 |
Applicants pay USD 471 (₹45,065) per unit above the base non-resident tuition, so total costs vary by programme unit load. Most Indian graduate students take 9-12 units per semester.
Note: Program-specific entry requirements, fees, and intake availability may differ from the institution-wide minimums shown above. Always confirm on the official California State University, Fresno graduate admissions page for your chosen program before applying.
California State University, Fresno Undergraduate Programs
Fresno State’s undergraduate applications for Indian students close on 1 July 2027 for Fall 2027 entry. Popular undergraduate fields include Computer Science, Business, Nursing, Engineering, and Agricultural Sciences (the Jordan College of Agricultural Sciences is one of the university’s flagship colleges).
| Programme | Duration | Minimum Eligibility | English Req. Min. |
|---|---|---|---|
| BS Computer Science | 4 years | Class XII at 65% with Mathematics | IELTS 6.0 |
| BS Business Administration | 4 years | Class XII at 60% in any stream | IELTS 6.0 |
| BS Nursing (pre-licensure) | 4 years | Class XII at 70% with Biology, Chemistry | IELTS 6.0 |
| BS Mechanical Engineering | 4 years | Class XII at 65% with PCM | IELTS 6.0 |
| BS Agricultural Business | 4 years | Class XII at 60% in any stream | IELTS 6.0 |
Base undergraduate tuition sits at USD 19,921 (around ₹19.06 Lakhs) per year for international students. Indian first-year applicants report the CSU General Education requirements as the biggest schedule shift compared with an Indian bachelor’s degree.
Note: Applicants transferring from an Indian college with over 60 semester units of credit are treated as upper-division transfers, with GPA thresholds and course-articulation rules from the specific major.
California State University, Fresno MBA Admissions
The MBA at the Craig School of Business is AACSB-accredited, a mark held by fewer than 6% of business schools globally. The programme runs as a two-year full-time track with evening and hybrid formats available, and its base MBA tuition is USD 24,583 (around ₹23.52 Lakhs) per year for international students.
Fresno State MBA Deadlines
The MBA follows the graduate cycle. The early deadline is 1 April 2027 and the late deadline is 1 May 2027 for Fall 2027 entry, both filed through Cal State Apply.
Fresno State MBA Eligibility for Indian Students
- Undergraduate degree: A 3 or 4-year Bachelor’s in any discipline with a minimum 3.0 GPA in the last 60 semester units.
- Work experience: Not mandatory, but 1-3 years is strongly preferred for cohort fit.
- GMAT/GRE: Currently waived for most applicants; strong candidates may still submit a GMAT score to strengthen scholarship prospects.
- English test: IELTS 6.5 or equivalent from the accepted test list.
Indian MBA admits usually apply with two professional references, a two-page statement, and a resume showing quantitative or leadership work. See the Craig School MBA outcomes and cost detail through the funding for Indian students page for scholarship overlap.
Note: MBA-specific entry requirements, cohort deadlines, and interview formats may differ from the general graduate rules. Always confirm on the official California State University, Fresno graduate page before applying.
California State University, Fresno Application Process via Cal State Apply
All undergraduate and graduate applications are filed through Cal State Apply, the shared CSU system portal, not through a Fresno State-specific form. The workflow below reflects the current cycle.
- Create a Cal State Apply account at www2.calstate.edu/apply. The Fall 2027 graduate cycle opened 1 August 2026 and the undergraduate cycle opens 1 October 2026.
- Select California State University, Fresno as your campus and pick the program plan code for your target degree.
- Complete the four quadrants: personal information, academic history, supporting information, and program materials. Each quadrant unlocks only when the previous one is complete.
- Upload transcripts: Attach scanned degree certificates, semester-wise mark sheets, and any professional certificates. Sealed originals or WES evaluations are submitted after admission.
- Upload English test score (IELTS 6.5 for graduate, IELTS 6.0 for undergraduate) or request the testing agency to send the report electronically to Fresno State.
- Pay the application fee of USD 70 (around ₹6,698) per campus through the Cal State Apply portal. This is the only fee collected at application stage.
- Submit and monitor status through the applicant portal. The Fresno State international office issues a decision letter and, for admits, the I-20 for F-1 visa processing.
Fresno State Admission Decisions Timeline
Graduate decisions typically arrive 4-8 weeks after a complete file is submitted. Undergraduate decisions follow rolling review with most letters going out in May and June for Fall entry. Admitted students receive an official admission letter, an I-20, and instructions to pay the enrolment confirmation. Deferrals to Spring or the next Fall cycle are allowed on written request within 30 days of admission.
California State University, Fresno Documents Required
Indian applicants should assemble the paperwork below before starting the Cal State Apply file. All documents are uploaded as PDFs during the application; originals are couriered only after admission.
- Passport bio-page scan (colour, valid for at least six months beyond intended entry).
- Class X and Class XII mark sheets and passing certificates for undergraduate applicants.
- Bachelor’s degree certificate and semester-wise transcripts for graduate applicants (all semesters, in English).
- Statement of Purpose of 500-1000 words tailored to the specific programme.
- Two letters of recommendation (academic for freshers, mixed academic and professional for those with work experience).
- Resume or CV of 1-2 pages listing academic work, internships, publications, and awards.
- English test score report (IELTS, TOEFL, Duolingo, PTE, or iTEP).
- Financial statement showing at least one year of tuition plus living costs, in a family or applicant bank account.
- Passport-size photograph as per US visa specification.
- GMAT or GRE score report if submitting one for MBA or STEM programmes.
Before you apply: Sealed transcripts and degree certificates must reach the Fresno State international office by post after admission. Order at least three sets from the Indian university’s controller of examinations to cover admission, I-20, and visa needs.
California State University, Fresno Acceptance Rate
Fresno State reports an overall 94% acceptance rate, one of the highest among CSU campuses. This reflects an access-oriented policy: the university admits most applicants who meet its published academic and English requirements, rather than filtering by scarcity.
What 94% Means for Indian Applicants
Meeting the Class XII 60% floor at undergraduate or the 3.0 GPA Bachelor’s floor at graduate largely predicts admission. The tighter filters sit at the programme level, where impacted majors (Nursing, some Engineering tracks) apply supplementary GPA screens.
How Fresno State Compares by Ranking
The university sits at US News Best Colleges National 183 (2026) and 21 for Social Mobility, reflecting outcomes for first-generation and Pell-eligible students. On the Collegedunia Study Abroad global list, Fresno State ranks 412 of 824 universities. QS, THE, and ARWU do not rank Fresno State at world level.
Insider note: The high acceptance rate should not be read as an automatic yes for scholarships. Merit awards are competitive and prioritise files submitted before the graduate early deadline of 1 April.
USA Student Visa Process for California State University, Fresno
Indian students admitted to Fresno State apply for the F-1 student visa. The process begins after admission when the Fresno State international office issues the Form I-20, the certificate of eligibility that anchors the visa file.
After receiving the I-20, applicants pay the SEVIS I-901 fee of USD 350 (around ₹33,488), complete the DS-160 online application, pay the USD 185 (₹17,701) visa application fee, and book an F-1 visa interview at a US consulate in India (Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata, New Delhi, or Hyderabad). Financial proof should cover at least one year of the cost of attendance, held in bank statements, fixed deposits, or a documented education loan. On arrival, students report to the Fresno State international office within 15 days for SEVIS check-in and enrol in a full-time course load each term to stay in status.
2026 update: US consulates in India continue to prioritise F-1 interview appointments for the Fall intake. Book the interview slot as soon as the I-20 is issued to avoid summer bottlenecks.
Tips and Application Checklist for California State University, Fresno
The pointers below are drawn from Indian-applicant patterns at Fresno State and cover both file-shaping tips and the timeline steps that decide whether a Fall admit reaches campus on time.
- Apply by 1 April 2027 to be considered for graduate assistantships and internal scholarships; the 1 May late deadline rarely reaches scholarship shortlists.
- Order sealed transcripts 8 weeks before the deadline since Indian universities often take 4-6 weeks to issue attested sets.
- Book the IELTS or TOEFL test at least 12 weeks before the deadline to leave room for a retake if the first score misses the 6.5 (graduate) or 6.0 (undergraduate) floor.
- Draft the SOP around one clear specialisation (say, machine learning within MS CS) rather than a broad tour of the programme.
- Line up two recommenders early: one who taught your final-year project and one from an internship or workplace.
- Reserve funds for the USD 70 application fee, USD 350 SEVIS fee, and USD 185 visa fee (around ₹57,887 combined) alongside tuition planning.
- Apply for the F-1 visa within 4 weeks of receiving the I-20 to secure a June or July interview slot for August start.
- Cross-check the programme’s specific unit load since non-resident tuition is charged at USD 471 (₹45,065) per unit above the base.
Fresno State admissions rewards early, well-documented files: the university’s access-oriented model favours applicants who meet the published floors and submit before the April 1 graduate window closes, positioning Indian candidates for both admission and scholarship consideration in the same submission.
California State University, Fresno Admissions: Frequently Asked Questions
Ques. What is the application deadline for California State University, Fresno for Indian students in Fall 2027?
Ans. Indian graduate applicants have an early deadline of 1 April 2027 and a late deadline of 1 May 2027. Undergraduate applicants outside the US have a deadline of 1 July 2027. All files are submitted through Cal State Apply.
Ques. What is the acceptance rate at Fresno State?
Ans. Fresno State has a 94% acceptance rate overall. Indian applicants who meet the Class XII 60% or Bachelor’s 3.0 GPA floors along with the English test minimum are strongly positioned for admission.
Ques. What IELTS score is required for Fresno State?
Ans. Graduate programs require IELTS 6.5 overall and undergraduate programs require IELTS 6.0 overall with 5.5 in each band. Duolingo (105 grad, 100 UG), TOEFL iBT (80 grad, 61 UG), and PTE 53 (grad) are also accepted.
Ques. Is GMAT required for the Craig School of Business MBA at Fresno State?
Ans. GMAT is currently waived for most MBA applicants, though strong candidates may still submit scores to strengthen their file and improve scholarship prospects. Work experience is preferred but not mandatory.
Ques. What is the application fee for California State University, Fresno?
Ans. The Cal State Apply fee is USD 70 (around ₹6,698) per campus, paid at submission through the portal. This is the only fee charged at the application stage.
Ques. Does Fresno State offer an IELTS waiver for Indian applicants?
Ans. Yes, but the waiver is narrow. It applies only to applicants who have completed a full Bachelor’s degree entirely in English at an English-medium institution, verified by an official medium-of-instruction letter. Most Indian applicants should plan to take the test.
Ques. How long does the Fresno State admission decision take?
Ans. Graduate decisions arrive 4-8 weeks after a complete file is submitted. Undergraduate decisions follow rolling review, with most letters issued between May and June for Fall entry.
Ques. What documents are required for CSU Fresno admission?
Ans. Applicants upload a passport scan, academic transcripts and certificates, a Statement of Purpose, two letters of recommendation, resume, English test score, financial statement, and photograph. Sealed originals are couriered only after admission.
Ques. Can I defer my Fresno State admission to a later intake?
Ans. Yes, deferrals to the next Spring or Fall cycle are allowed on written request within 30 days of admission, subject to program approval. The admitted student portal has the deferral form.
Ques. What is the base tuition at California State University, Fresno for Indian students?
Ans. Base undergraduate tuition is USD 19,921 (around ₹19.06 Lakhs) per year, graduate tuition is USD 18,805 (around ₹17.99 Lakhs), and MBA tuition is USD 24,583 (around ₹23.52 Lakhs). Non-resident tuition adds USD 471 (₹45,065) per unit above the base rate.
Ques. Do Indian applicants need to submit sealed transcripts or WES evaluations?
Ans. Scanned PDFs are enough at application stage. Sealed transcripts, degree certificates, or a WES course-by-course evaluation are required only after admission for enrolment verification.
Ques. What is the F-1 visa process for Fresno State admits?
Ans. After receiving the Form I-20 from Fresno State, pay the SEVIS I-901 fee of USD 350, complete the DS-160, pay the USD 185 visa fee, and book an F-1 visa interview at a US consulate in India. Financial proof for one year of the cost of attendance is required.
College Student Profiles
California State University-Fresno Program Fees & Deadlines
| Program | Important Dates | Fees | Application Fees | Eligibility | Financial Aid |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| USD 16,084 /Yr | 70 | GPA: 3.0, IELTS: 6.5, TOEFL: 80, Duolingo-105 | |||
M.S Computer Science 2 years Course Offered by: | USD 16,084 /Yr | 70 | GPA: 2.75, IELTS: 6.5, TOEFL: 80, Duolingo-105 | ||
M.B.A 2 years Course Offered by: | USD 16,084 /Yr | 70 | GPA: 2.5, IELTS: 6.5, TOEFL: 80, GMAT: 550, Duolingo-105 | ||
M.S Civil Engineering 2 years Course Offered by: | USD 16,084 /Yr | 70 | GPA: 3.0, IELTS: 6.5, TOEFL: 80, Duolingo-105 | ||
| USD 16,084 /Yr | 70 | GPA: 3.0, IELTS: 6.5, TOEFL: 80, PTE: 53, Duolingo: 105 | |||
B.S Electrical Engineering 4 years | USD 19,084 /Yr | 70 | IELTS: 6.0, TOEFL: 61, Duolingo: 100,PTE: 45 | ||
M.P.H 2 years | USD 16,084 /Yr | 70 | GPA: 3.0, IELTS: 6.5, TOEFL: 80, PTE: 53, Duolingo: 105 | ||
M.S Agricultural Science 2 years | USD 16,084 /Yr | 70 | GPA: 3.0, IELTS: 6.5, TOEFL: 80, PTE: 53, Duolingo: 105 | ||
B.S Computer Science 4 years Course Offered by: | USD 19,084 /Yr | 70 | IELTS: 6.0, TOEFL: 61, Duolingo: 100,PTE: 45 | ||
M.S Biotechnology 2 years Course Offered by: | USD 16,084 /Yr | 70 | GPA: 3.0, IELTS: 6.5, TOEFL: 80, PTE: 53, Duolingo: 105 |
Do you think the Dates are wrong ? Report Here
Course Finder - Search from 50K+ courses
Popular Streams:
Reviews
Most Popular Tags
1 Reviews Found
Overview
Cost, since it would be cheaper than other schools around, secondly it was closer than any other campus to home so I could visit family often and I could move my stuff quickly to and from home when I got accepted I accept my offer quickly.




















Comments