Thomas College is a private, four-year institution founded in 1894 in Waterville, Maine, accredited by the New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE). The college centres on career-focused undergraduate and graduate business programmes with small class sizes and a job-guarantee framework for eligible bachelor’s students.
Thomas College offers 15+ Bachelor of Science tracks and MBA programmes across business administration, accounting, analytics, cybersecurity, and computer science, all taught in English. For Indian applicants, only in-person programmes qualify for an F-1 study visa, which limits the graduate route to the on-campus MBA Business Administration and MBA Accounting tracks. Undergraduate admission remains broadly accessible, and the college publishes a career-linked structure similar to other MS universities in USA.
- Acceptance rate: 96% (estimated)
- Intakes: Fall, Spring, Summer (six 8-week terms per year for graduate programmes)
- PG tuition (MBA): USD 965 per credit (INR 84,000 per credit)
- UG tuition: USD 32,772 per year (INR 28.5 lakh)
- Application fee: USD 0 for all applicants
Also Check: MBA Universities in USA
MBA tuition is credit-based, allowing Indian applicants to sequence coursework across six 8-week terms per year. Graduate applicants pay no application fee and may qualify for an MOI-based IELTS waiver if their bachelor’s degree was taught in English. An F-1 visa allows up to 12 months of Optional Practical Training after graduation for eligible programmes.
Exchange rate used: 1 USD = INR 87 as of September 2026
Admission Status: Open (Spring 2027 intake). The Spring 2027 priority deadline is mid-November 2026, followed by rolling admissions until seats fill. The next cycle, for Fall 2027 entry, is expected to open October 2026 with a mid-June 2027 priority deadline and rolling admissions thereafter with no fixed close date.
Table of Contents
- Popular Courses and Fees at Thomas College 2027
- Thomas College Admission 2027
- Thomas College Admission Requirements for Indian Applicants 2027
- Thomas College Acceptance Rate 2027
- Thomas College Fees and Cost of Living for Indian Students 2027
- Thomas College Campus, Facilities and Student Life
- Thomas College Scholarships 2027
- Thomas College Rankings 2027
- Thomas College Placements and Career Outcomes 2027
- Thomas College vs Peer Universities
- Thomas College FAQs
Popular Courses and Fees at Thomas College 2027
Thomas College charges a flat annual tuition for full-time undergraduate students and a per-credit rate for graduate students. Only in-person MBA programmes are open to Indian F-1 applicants; online graduate tracks are restricted to Bermuda residents per the international admissions policy.
Thomas College PG Fees for Indian Students 2027
Both MBA tracks available to Indian students carry the same per-credit rate. A standard MBA sequence spans 36 credits over 12 to 24 months.
| Program name | Total fee (USD) | Total fee (INR lakh) | Entry requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| MBA Accounting | USD 34,740 (36 credits) | 30.2 lakh | Bachelor’s with GPA 3.0/4.0 (approx. 75% or CGPA 7.5/10) |
| MBA Business Administration | USD 34,740 (36 credits) | 30.2 lakh | Bachelor’s with GPA 3.0/4.0 (approx. 75% or CGPA 7.5/10) |
Thomas College UG Fees for Indian Students 2027
Undergraduate tuition is billed per academic year for full-time enrolment. A standard bachelor’s programme runs 4 years and 120 credits.
| Program name | Total fee (USD) | Total fee (INR lakh) | Entry requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| BS Business Administration | USD 135,808 (4 years) | 118.1 lakh | Class 12 with 60% (recommended) |
| BS Computer Science | USD 135,808 (4 years) | 118.1 lakh | Class 12 with 60% (recommended) |
| BS Cybersecurity | USD 135,808 (4 years) | 118.1 lakh | Class 12 with 60% (recommended) |
| BS Business Analytics | USD 135,808 (4 years) | 118.1 lakh | Class 12 with 60% (recommended) |
| BS Finance | USD 135,808 (4 years) | 118.1 lakh | Class 12 with 60% (recommended) |
[Source: Thomas College Tuition and Fees]
Insider note: Indian applicants most often pick the MBA Business Administration and MBA Accounting tracks because both qualify for F-1 status; every other graduate title in the catalogue is online-only and reserved for Bermuda residents.
Read More: Thomas College Fees and Cost of Living Guide
Thomas College Admission 2027
Thomas College runs three intakes each year and follows a priority-plus-rolling admission model, so applications received after the priority date are still reviewed until seats fill.
| Milestone | Date | Notes for Indian Applicants |
|---|---|---|
| Spring 2027 priority deadline | Mid-November 2026 | Rolling review thereafter; apply early for I-20 timing |
| Fall 2027 priority deadline | Mid-June 2027 | Rolling review thereafter; onboarding portal opens March 2027 |
| Credential verification (WES) | Start 6 to 8 weeks before deadline | Course-by-course evaluation recommended for graduate applicants |
| Spring 2027 programme start | January 2027 | Six 8-week terms in the graduate calendar |
| Fall 2027 programme start | August 2027 | Standard 15-week semester for undergraduate; 8-week terms for MBA |
[Source: Thomas College International Admissions]
Planning note: Indian applicants should target the priority date rather than the rolling window because F-1 visa slots at US consulates in India tighten from May onward for Fall entry.
Read More: Thomas College Admissions Guide for Indian Students
Thomas College Admission Requirements for Indian Applicants 2027
Thomas College sets a moderate academic bar and accepts several English-proficiency tests, with a Medium-of-Instruction waiver available for Indian applicants whose bachelor’s degree was English-medium.
Graduate (PG) requirements:
- Bachelor’s degree with minimum GPA 3.0/4.0 (approx. 75% or CGPA 7.5/10); GPA 2.75 to 2.9 (approx. 68 to 72%) may be reviewed with work experience
- English test: TOEFL iBT 72 (0-120 legacy scale), IELTS 5.5, PTE 53, Duolingo 105, or Oxford ELLT 5
- Credential verification through WES or a NACES-recognised evaluator for the transcript
- Application fee: USD 0 for graduate applicants
Undergraduate (UG) requirements:
- Class 12 completion with 60% (recommended); the college’s 96% acceptance rate keeps the academic bar accessible
- English test: same test scores accepted as graduate applicants, or an MOI-based waiver
- No SAT/ACT requirement for international undergraduate applicants
Key insight: The MOI waiver from the international grad FAQ removes the IELTS/TOEFL step entirely for Indian applicants from English-medium universities, saving both test cost and application lead time.
Thomas College Acceptance Rate 2027
Thomas College does not publish an official acceptance rate. Third-party institutional data consistently places it at 96% (estimated), which makes it one of the more accessible private institutions in Maine for Indian applicants.
Because the acceptance rate is very high, applicants who meet the published GPA and English thresholds are typically admitted on academic strength alone. Indian applicants should shift their preparation focus toward financial documentation and visa readiness rather than selectivity.
Reality check: A 96% acceptance rate does not translate to a 96% visa-issuance rate; Indian F-1 refusals often hinge on financial proof and Statement of Purpose quality rather than the admission letter.
Read More: Thomas College Acceptance Rate
Thomas College Fees and Cost of Living for Indian Students 2027
Total annual cost for an Indian student at Thomas College sits between USD 54,000 and USD 58,000 (INR 47 lakh to INR 50.5 lakh), combining tuition and Waterville living costs.
Thomas College Tuition Fees for Indian Students 2027
Undergraduate tuition is billed annually, while graduate programmes bill per credit at three distinct rates.
| Programme level | Fee (USD) | Fee (INR lakh) |
|---|---|---|
| UG full-time tuition | USD 32,772 per year | 28.5 lakh |
| UG mandatory fees | USD 1,180 per year | 1.03 lakh |
| MBA Business Administration and Accounting | USD 965 per credit | 0.84 lakh per credit |
| MBA other specialisations (online only, not Indian eligible) | USD 735 per credit | 0.64 lakh per credit |
[Source: Thomas College Tuition and Fees 2026-27]
Monthly Cost of Living in Waterville for Indian Students
Waterville, Maine is a small college town with lower housing and transport costs than Boston or New York.
| Expense | Monthly (USD) | Monthly (INR) |
|---|---|---|
| Accommodation (on/off-campus) | USD 800 to 1,200 (estimated) | INR 69,600 to 1,04,400 |
| Food and groceries | USD 400 to 500 (estimated) | INR 34,800 to 43,500 |
| Transportation | USD 100 (estimated) | INR 8,700 |
| Books and supplies | USD 100 (estimated) | INR 8,700 |
| Personal expenses | USD 200 (estimated) | INR 17,400 |
| Total monthly | USD 1,600 to 2,100 | INR 1.39 to 1.83 lakh |
| Total annual (12 months) | USD 19,200 to 25,200 | INR 16.7 to 21.9 lakh |
[Source: EducationUSA India cost-of-attendance guidance for small New England towns]
Insider note: On-campus housing in a Thomas residence hall typically undercuts the town rental market, and Waterville rents run 30 to 40% below the Portland or Boston metro rates.
Read More: Study in USA for Indian Students
Thomas College Campus, Facilities and Student Life
Thomas College operates from a single wooded campus of 70 acres on the outskirts of Waterville, a small city of about 16,000 residents in central Maine.
- Location and transport: Waterville lies 130 km north of Portland and is served by Concord Coach Lines and Amtrak Downeaster connections through Brunswick
- Housing: On-campus residence halls are guaranteed for first-year international students; monthly cost sits within the USD 800 to 1,200 band
- Athletics and facilities: NCAA Division III programmes, a fitness centre, the Alfond Athletic Center, and a career-services hub tied to the graduation guarantee
- Indian student community: Small but growing intake; the international office runs orientation and I-20 support in March and October each year
What Indian students say: Waterville is quiet and safer than large US metros, and the small graduate cohort makes it easier to reach faculty directly. The trade-off is fewer off-campus job opportunities than in Boston or New York.
Thomas College Scholarships 2027
Thomas College offers institutional aid to nearly all applicants; in 2022-23 the college disbursed USD 14.1M in scholarships to 98% of those seeking aid. One scholarship targets students committed to Maine.
| Scholarship | Type | Award value | Eligibility one-liner | Deadline |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Welcome to Maine Scholarship | Merit-cum-need | USD 2,000 per year, renewable up to 4 years (max USD 8,000) | Incoming undergraduate students choosing to study in Maine | Automatic on admission |
[Source: Thomas College Scholarships and Grants]
Planning note: Institutional aid is applied on the admission letter, so Indian applicants should submit before the priority deadline to be considered for the highest-value packages before funds tier down.
Read More: Thomas College Scholarships Guide
Thomas College Rankings 2027
Thomas College is a small, regionally focused private institution and does not appear in the QS World, THE World, or US News Best Global Universities lists; its published standing is a US News Regional Colleges North placement.
| Ranking Body | Latest Edition | Previous Edition | Two Editions Back |
|---|---|---|---|
| QS World | Not ranked in QS 2027 | Not ranked in QS 2026 | Not ranked in QS 2025 |
| THE World | Not ranked in THE 2026 | Not ranked in THE 2025 | Not ranked in THE 2024 |
| US News Best Global | Not ranked in 2025-2026 | Not ranked in 2024-2025 | Not ranked in 2023-2024 |
| US News Regional Colleges North | Ranked band (regional list) | Ranked band (regional list) | Ranked band (regional list) |
[Source: QS, THE, US News]
The absence of a global rank reflects Thomas College’s teaching-focused, small-institution model rather than a research university profile. Indian applicants evaluating US colleges should read the US News regional list as the meaningful benchmark here.
Key insight: US F-1 visas do not require the university to hold a top-100 global rank; SEVP approval and NECHE accreditation, both of which Thomas College holds, are the operative criteria for a study visa.
Read More: Thomas College Rankings Analysis
Thomas College Placements and Career Outcomes 2027
Thomas College publishes a Guaranteed Job Program for eligible undergraduates: students who meet the criteria and do not secure a job within six months of graduation receive support for up to a year of tuition or student-loan payments.
- Employment outcome: Career guarantee applies to undergraduate students meeting programme conditions; graduate outcomes not disclosed centrally
- Median starting salary: Not disclosed by the college; US market medians for MBA graduates from small regional business schools sit around USD 60,000 to USD 75,000 (INR 52.2 to 65.2 lakh)
- Top recruiters: Not officially disclosed; representative sectors include regional banking, accounting firms, and Maine-based employers
- Career support: Center for Innovation in Business, dedicated career coach model, and internship placements starting in year one
- Post-study work: F-1 graduates are eligible for up to 12 months of Optional Practical Training after completion
Insider note: Indian MBA graduates typically pursue OPT with regional accounting and business-analytics employers; the Maine job market is smaller than Boston or New York, so networking through Thomas career services matters more than in a large metro.
Thomas College vs Peer Universities
Thomas College sits in a peer set of small, teaching-focused New England institutions with accessible admissions and mid-range tuition. The comparison below uses PG tuition estimates for an Indian MBA applicant.
| University | QS Rank 2027 | Avg Annual PG Fee (USD) | Avg Annual PG Fee (INR lakh) | One-line differentiator |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Thomas College | Not ranked | USD 34,740 (total) | 30.2 lakh | USD 0 application fee, career guarantee model |
| Husson University | Not ranked | USD 30,000 (estimated) | 26.1 lakh | Bangor campus, professional healthcare focus |
| Southern New Hampshire University | Not ranked | USD 22,000 (estimated) | 19.1 lakh | Large hybrid platform, wider MBA electives |
| Saint Joseph’s College of Maine | Not ranked | USD 28,000 (estimated) | 24.4 lakh | Small Catholic college, coastal location |
| University of Southern Maine | Not ranked | USD 25,000 (estimated) | 21.8 lakh | Public institution, lower in-person MBA fee |
Thomas College stands out for its zero application fee and the undergraduate job-guarantee framework, which few Maine peers match. Fees sit toward the upper end of the Maine private-college band but still below urban metros like Boston.
Thomas College suits Indian applicants who want a small, teaching-focused US private institution with a total investment of about INR 30 lakh for the MBA route, weighed against a US market median MBA salary of about USD 65,000 (INR 56.6 lakh). The F-1 pathway with up to 12 months of Optional Practical Training gives graduates a defined US work window and a low-friction entry route through the MOI-based English waiver.
Thomas College is not the right pick for applicants seeking a globally ranked research university, a large Indian student community, or metro-city internship access. Applicants prioritising rank and cohort scale should compare against Northeastern University or a mid-tier public research university in the northeast instead.
Thomas College FAQs
Ques. What is the application fee at Thomas College for Indian students?
Ans. Thomas College charges no application fee for any applicant type, including Indian undergraduate and graduate applicants. The USD 0 fee is confirmed on both the official apply page and the international graduate admissions FAQ. Indian applicants can submit through the UG or Graduate portal without paying anything at the application stage.
Ques. Can Indian students apply for online MBA programmes at Thomas College?
Ans. No. Online graduate programmes at Thomas College are restricted to Bermuda residents. Indian applicants may only enrol in the in-person MBA Business Administration and MBA Accounting tracks, since these are the programmes that qualify for an F-1 study visa. All other MBA and MS titles in the catalogue are online-only and unavailable to Indian students.
Ques. How does the MOI waiver work at Thomas College for Indian applicants?
Ans. Thomas College grants a Medium-of-Instruction waiver if the applicant’s undergraduate studies were completed in English. Indian applicants from English-medium universities can request this waiver through the international graduate admissions office in place of TOEFL or IELTS. The waiver is documented on the international grad FAQ page and requires a certified letter from the previous institution.
Ques. What English test scores does Thomas College accept from Indian students?
Ans. Thomas College accepts TOEFL iBT 72 (0-120 legacy scale), IELTS 5.5, PTE Academic 53, Duolingo English Test 105, Oxford ELLT 5, and the Kaplan KTE. Indian applicants using Kaplan KTE receive a 25% discount with the code THOMKRS25. An MOI waiver removes the test requirement entirely for English-medium bachelor’s holders.
Ques. When does the Thomas College I-20 onboarding portal open for Indian students?
Ans. The onboarding portal opens in March for Fall entry and in October for Spring entry. Indian applicants should complete their acceptance and pay the enrolment deposit well before these dates so the DSO can issue the SEVIS I-20 in time for the F-1 visa interview at a US consulate in India. The Registrar at 207-859-1405 is the point of contact.
Ques. What is the GPA cutoff for graduate admission at Thomas College?
Ans. Graduate admission at Thomas College requires a minimum GPA of 3.0 on a 4.0 scale, which maps to about 75% or CGPA 7.5 out of 10 on Indian transcripts. Applicants with a GPA between 2.75 and 2.9 are reviewed by the Provost, typically with prerequisite coursework or relevant work experience factored into the decision.
Ques. How long is the MBA programme at Thomas College and what is the credit structure?
Ans. The Thomas College MBA runs 36 credits and can be completed in 12 to 24 months. The academic year is split into six 8-week terms rather than traditional semesters, so students take courses in shorter, focused blocks. Indian F-1 students on the in-person MBA track sequence their coursework across these terms to maintain full-time enrolment for visa purposes.
Ques. Does Thomas College offer any scholarships specifically for Indian graduate students?
Ans. Thomas College does not publish an India-specific graduate scholarship. However, institutional aid is broadly distributed; the college disbursed USD 14.1M in scholarships in 2022-23 to 98% of applicants seeking aid. The Welcome to Maine Scholarship of USD 2,000 per year is undergraduate-focused. Indian graduate applicants should also explore external funding through NBHC, HDFC Credila, or Prodigy Finance loans.
Find A Program
Top Recommended Courses
Do you think the fees are wrong ? Report Here
Bachelor of Science [B.Sc] Cybersecurity
Bachelor of Science (B.Sc) Computer Science
Do you think the fees are wrong ? Report Here
Course Finder - Search from 50K+ courses
Popular Streams:
Thomas College Scholarships
| Name | Scholarship Per Student | Level of Study | Type | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Forktip Women’s- Innovation Scholarship | Scholarship per studentVariable Amount | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeCollege-Specific | |
| FINCAD Women in Finance Scholarship | Scholarship per student₹ 19.1 L/Yr$20,000 | Level Of StudyMaster | TypeMerit-Based | |
| Jane M. Klausman Women in Business Scholarship | Scholarship per student₹ 4.8 L/Yr$5,000 | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeMerit-Based | |
| The Google Lime Scholarship | Scholarship per student₹ 9.6 L/Yr$10,000 | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeMerit-Based | |
| Ritchie-Jennings Memorial Scholarship Program | Scholarship per student₹ 9.6 L/Yr$10,000 | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeMerit-Based | |
| Axol Science Scholarship | Scholarship per student₹ 1.9 L/Yr$2,000 | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeCompany-Sponsored |
Do you think the Scholarship is wrong ? Report Here
Attendance Cost
The table shows average yearly cost of attendance for international students. Amount may vary with the course opted, nature of accommodation, and personal spending habits of a candidate.Check Program wise Fees
Faculty
| Total Faculty | Full Time | Part Time | Graduate Assistants |
|---|---|---|---|
| 80 | - | - | - |



















Comments