Get $150 Scholarship!

UNIVERSITY OF ONTARIO INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY - [UOIT], OSHAWA, ONTARIO - REVIEWS

Oshawa, OntarioLOCATION
UniversitySCHOOL TYPE
Estd 2002Established Year

College rating

based on 7 students ratings

7.6/10

8.9/10academic
8/10infrastructure
6.1/10placements
8/10faculty
7.4/10extracurricular
7/10accommodation

Reviews

FILTER BY
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL

POPULAR TAGS

school
choice
faculty
program
tuition
course curriculum
health
science
example
ontario
review
semester
assistance
campus
scholarship
T
Tami babuharan, CANADA Communications and digital media studies
University of Ontario Institute of Technology
Current student , Batch : 2023
8.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

MY LOCAL TIGHT-KNIT UNIVERSITY AND ITS ACTIVE COMMUNITY

I live at home so it was the closest university to commute to. Also, my GPA was high enough to receive the entrance scholarship and UOIT gives out reasonable amounts for entrance scholarships. I knew my friends who wanted to go to the local university and I already liked my community so I was comfortable with it. UOIT is a smaller, tight-knit community and the campus is fairly medium-sized so walking around was great and had a nice feel to it. I also visited UOIT a couple of times before for other programs that I did in the past so I liked the campus already.


Course Curriculum - 

The course curriculum seems very interesting and engaging. There are modern topics and the curriculum seems to be updated regularly. Sample courses include Pop Culture, Public Relations, Entertainment Goes Global and Tweet. The program map is also super flexible as I am given a lot of choices to choose my courses that are appealing and seem fun. Therefore, it makes each semester a breeze. The same courses in the year are also available during the summer so I am less stressed.

9 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
9 /10
extracurricular
12, Aug 2019 read more
H
Hunter mott, CANADA Health sciences
University of Ontario Institute of Technology
Current student , Batch : 2021
6.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

A REVIEW FOR ONTARIO TECH UNIVERSITY AND HEALTH SCIENCE FACULTY

It was close to home, I have family that lives close to the school, I knew it was a newer school so I wanted to experience it and obtain opportunities that I knew most students wouldn't get at older schools. I also knew that the class sizes were smaller and I thought that it would also be easier to communicate with professors better.


Course Curriculum - 

I adore my course curriculum, it is a pre-med degree so I have learned many things about the human body that connects with medical school and that better prepares me for grad school and the medical field.

9 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
9 /10
infrastructure
5 /10
accomodation/food
4 /10
placement
5 /10
extracurricular
24, Apr 2019 read more
K
Krystal, CANADA Life sciences
University of Ontario Institute of Technology
Recently passed out , Batch : 2019
8.7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

UOIT - A GREAT SCHOOL WITH A BEAUTIFUL CAMPUS AND ENDLESS STUDENT ASSISTANCE OPPORTUNITIES

I weighed my options, and this school was the closest to home, at a moderate price. They also offer free public transportation as part of the student ID and access to a gym. The program was very good (as per upper-year students experiences), and the campus is beautiful and new


Course Curriculum - 

The current course curriculum is pretty good, but I feel as though many courses are kind of repetitive and our specialization could do with more medicine and pharmacy-related courses. For example, we only had an introductory anatomy class

9 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
9 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
9 /10
placement
8 /10
extracurricular
15, Apr 2019 read more
S
Sidra, CANADA Biological science
University of Ontario Institute of Technology
Current student , Batch : 2022
6
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

UNIV OF ONTARIO INST TECH REVIEW

It was a good prep for med school as I was told by recent graduates and alumni. I also read several forums online that detailed the advantages and disadvantages of the program which includes commute for me personally.


Course Curriculum - 

Quite heavy and challenging although it allows me to feel comfortable. Personally, I like the program but I do find it quite invigorating but I understand since I am in university now and it's obviously harder but they have service and to help.

9 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
5 /10
infrastructure
3 /10
accomodation/food
5 /10
placement
7 /10
extracurricular
22, Mar 2019 read more
J
Jessica, CANADA Medical laboratory science
University of Ontario Institute of Technology
Current student , Batch : 2022
7.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

UOIT STUDENT REVIEW

UOIT is one of the closest universities that offers the med lab program to where i live. The program is only offered at about 5 colleges/universities in Ontario. I also opted for the university over the college program as obtaining a bachelors degree will open more opportunities for myself in the future.


Course Curriculum - 

I am currently in my first year of the program so many of my courses are generalized and not related to the field of med lab science. This allows students to get better prepared for the program as it lays the groundwork for future courses.

8 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
8 /10
extracurricular
18, Mar 2019 read more
M
Malika, CANADA Life science
University of Ontario Institute of Technology
Current student , Batch : 2021
8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

UOIT IN A NUTSHELL

This school is right in my home neighborhood so it is a perfect choice. Also, it is more hands-on with the students. It's easier to become familiar with the profs to create relationships with your peers.


Course Curriculum - 

Most of the courses are very on par with the program. Some courses (physics for example) is not the best because it doesn't fit with many of the courses and the course feels like it's not prepared for.

10 /10
academic
10 /10
faculty
10 /10
infrastructure
10 /10
accomodation/food
1 /10
placement
7 /10
extracurricular
15, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Ramla yakub, CANADA Legal studies
University of Ontario Institute of Technology
Current student , Batch : 2022
7.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

UOIT IS A GREAT SCHOOL.

It was close to home and it had a specific Legal Studies program, which is what I wanted to do before law school, which I hope to attend after my undergraduate degree. It is also more affordable than some other schools in Ontario.


Course Curriculum - 

The course curriculum is practical and not too difficult. For the most part, I enjoy the material. I am learning a lot and I feel as though I am being prepared for my future. I hope to attend law school after my undergraduate degree.

8 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
7 /10
infrastructure
7 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
8 /10
extracurricular
12, Mar 2019 read more
Apply Now DOWNLOAD BROCHURE  
INTERESTED IN THIS COLLEGE ?
Get free counselling

Follow & Share this college to get information about admission

COLLEGES IN ONTARIO, CANADA
Algoma University Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario
Carleton University Ottawa, Ontario
OCAD University Toronto, Ontario
University of Waterloo Waterloo, Ontario
University of Windsor Windsor, Ontario
NEAREST RANKED COLLEGES