Kwantlen Polytechnic University admissions for Indian students runs on three intakes with staggered deadlines for open and limited programs. Undergraduate entry needs Class XII at 60%, and postgraduate diplomas require a bachelor’s with a 2.67 GPA (around 70%).
- Next live deadline: Fall 2027 limited-intake programs close 1 March 2027.
- Base tuition: CAD 808.67 per credit (₹56,186), application fee CAD 120 (₹8,338).
- Eligibility floor: Class XII 60% for UG, bachelor’s at 2.67 GPA for PG, IELTS 6.5.
- Acceptance rate: Estimated around 60% since KPU does not publish an official figure.
Indian students at Kwantlen Polytechnic University most often enrol in the Graduate Diploma in Global Business Management, the Bachelor of Business Administration, and the Post-Baccalaureate Diploma in Accounting. Alumni sentiment on collegedunia reviews cites the paced polytechnic teaching model and PGWP-eligibility as the strongest pulls.
Table of Contents
- Kwantlen Polytechnic University Application Deadlines
- KPU Eligibility for Indian Students
- Kwantlen Polytechnic University PG Programs and Fees
- KPU UG Programs and English Scores
- Kwantlen Polytechnic University Application Process
- KPU Admission Decisions and Offer Timeline
- Kwantlen Polytechnic University Documents Required
- KPU Acceptance Rate for Indian Students
- Canada Student Visa Process
- Tips and Checklist for Kwantlen Polytechnic University
- Kwantlen Polytechnic University Admissions FAQs
Kwantlen Polytechnic University Application Deadlines
KPU accepts international applications for three intakes per year, Fall (September), Spring (January), and Summer (May). Each intake carries two windows: limited-intake programs with capped seats and firm deadlines, and open-intake programs that stay accessible until the later cutoff. All dates below are per the KPU international application timelines page.
KPU’s primary intake for Indian students is Fall (September). Most degree and diploma programs open here with the widest seat availability.
| Intake | Level | App Opens | Deadline | App Fee | Portal |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Spring 2027 (Jan), Limited | UG and PG | 1 February 2026 | 1 August 2026 (Closed) | CAD 120 (₹8,338) | KPU online portal |
| Spring 2027 (Jan), Open | UG and PG | 1 February 2026 | 1 November 2026 | CAD 120 (₹8,338) | KPU online portal |
| Summer 2027 (May), Limited | UG and PG | 1 June 2026 | 1 December 2026 | CAD 120 (₹8,338) | KPU online portal |
| Summer 2027 (May), Open | UG and PG | 1 June 2026 | 1 March 2027 | CAD 120 (₹8,338) | KPU online portal |
| Primary intake, Fall 2027 (Sep), Limited | UG and PG | 1 October 2026 | 1 March 2027 | CAD 120 (₹8,338) | KPU online portal |
| Primary intake, Fall 2027 (Sep), Open | UG and PG | 1 October 2026 | 1 July 2027 | CAD 120 (₹8,338) | KPU online portal |
Fall 2026 windows have all closed. Indian applicants active in August 2026 can still target Spring 2027 open-intake programs or the full Summer 2027 and Fall 2027 cycles that remain live.
Planning note: KPU’s limited-intake programs, such as Interior Design and Nursing, may close weeks before the published deadline once quotas fill. Submit at least six weeks early where seats are capped.
Kwantlen Polytechnic University Eligibility for Indian Students
KPU sets clear academic and English proficiency floors for Indian applicants. The 2.67 GPA threshold for postgraduate diplomas maps to roughly 70% on the Indian percentage scale. Undergraduate entry is more accessible, opening most bachelor’s programs at a Class XII score of 60%.
- UG academic floor: Class XII at 60% overall from CBSE, ISC, or a State Board.
- PG academic floor: A recognised bachelor’s degree with 2.67 GPA (around 70%).
- Prerequisite subjects: BSc programs need Class XII Science; BTech in IT needs Mathematics.
- PG portfolio needs: Statement of intent (800 to 1000 words) and two professional references.
KPU accepts several English proficiency tests. Scores must be no older than two years at the term of admission, and no single subscore can dip below the stated minimums.
| English Test | Minimum Overall | Subscore Rule |
|---|---|---|
| IELTS Academic | 6.5 | No band below 6.0 |
| TOEFL iBT | 88 | No subscore below 20 |
| PTE Academic | 61 | Not stated |
| Duolingo English Test | 110 | Not stated |
| CAEL | 60 | No subscore below 50 |
Indian applicants below the standard English floor can enter through the KPU Pathway to Undergraduate Studies, a two-tier bridge that lifts learners from IELTS 4.5 to 6.5 across two semesters before mainstream admission. This works instead of a country-of-prior-study or MOI exemption, which KPU does not publish for India.
Kwantlen Polytechnic University PG Programs and Fees
KPU delivers postgraduate credentials as two-year Graduate Diplomas and Post-Baccalaureate Diplomas, all PGWP-eligible for Indian graduates. Base tuition sits at CAD 808.67 per credit (₹56,186), pushing a full 60-credit diploma to roughly CAD 22,000 per year (₹15.29 Lakhs). For a course-wise fees breakdown across every KPU credential, see the dedicated Fees page.
| Programme | Duration | Minimum Eligibility | English Req. Min. |
|---|---|---|---|
| Graduate Diploma in Global Business Management | 2 years | Bachelor’s with 2.67 GPA, statement of intent, two references | IELTS 6.5 (6.0/band) |
| Graduate Diploma in Green Business Management and Sustainability | 2 years | Bachelor’s with 2.67 GPA, statement of intent | IELTS 6.5 (6.0/band) |
| Post-Baccalaureate Diploma in Accounting | 2 years | Bachelor’s with 2.67 GPA in any discipline | IELTS 6.5 (6.0/band) |
| Post-Baccalaureate Diploma in Human Resources Management | 2 years | Bachelor’s with 2.67 GPA | IELTS 6.5 (6.0/band) |
| Post-Baccalaureate Diploma in Operations and Supply Chain Management | 2 years | Bachelor’s with 2.67 GPA | IELTS 6.5 (6.0/band) |
| Post-Baccalaureate Diploma in Technical Management and Services | 2 years | Bachelor’s with 2.67 GPA and a technical background | IELTS 6.5 (6.0/band) |
Insider note: KPU’s Global Business Management diploma also runs an admissions interview at the shortlist stage. Prepare a two-minute pitch tying your Indian work experience to Canadian business exposure.
Note: Program-specific entry requirements, fees, and intake availability may differ from the institution-wide minimums shown above. Always confirm on the official Kwantlen Polytechnic University page for your chosen program before applying.
Kwantlen Polytechnic University UG Programs and English Scores
KPU’s undergraduate catalogue spans four faculties, Business, Arts, Science and Horticulture, and Design, along with the Wilson School of Design and the Melville School of Business. Most bachelor’s programs run four years and accept the standard IELTS 6.5 minimum with no band below 6.0.
| Programme | Duration | Minimum Eligibility | English Req. Min. |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bachelor of Business Administration (Accounting, HR, Marketing, Entrepreneurial Leadership) | 4 years | Class XII at 60%+ from a recognised board | IELTS 6.5 (6.0/band) |
| Bachelor of Arts (Psychology, Sociology, Political Science) | 4 years | Class XII at 60%+ | IELTS 6.5 (6.0/band) |
| Bachelor of Design (Fashion and Technology) | 4 years | Class XII at 65%+ and a design portfolio | IELTS 6.5 (6.0/band) |
| Bachelor of Interior Design | 4 years | Class XII at 65%+ and a design portfolio | IELTS 6.5 (6.0/band) |
| Bachelor of Science in Applied Psychology | 4 years | Class XII at 60%+ with Science stream | IELTS 6.5 (6.0/band) |
| Bachelor of Horticulture Science | 4 years | Class XII at 60%+ with Biology or Chemistry | IELTS 6.5 (6.0/band) |
| Bachelor of Technology in Information Technology (CSIT) | 4 years | Class XII at 60%+ with Mathematics | IELTS 6.5 (6.0/band) |
Design and Interior Design programs sit in the limited-intake bucket and cap seats each cycle. Business, Arts, Science, and Horticulture bachelor’s degrees usually stay in the open-intake bucket with the later application cutoff.
Kwantlen Polytechnic University Application Process
Indian applicants apply directly through KPU’s own online portal at kpu.ca/apply. There is no central Canadian platform such as OUAC or EducationPlannerBC for KPU international admissions. The application is single-stage, with credential review and English proficiency assessment happening in-house.
- Choose one program and confirm whether it sits in the open-intake or limited-intake bucket.
- Create an account and start the application on the KPU online portal.
- Pay the application fee of CAD 120 (₹8,338) on the KPU online portal to submit.
- Receive the Next Steps Letter with your KPU student ID within one to two weeks.
- Upload official Class XII or bachelor’s transcripts, English test scores, and supporting documents.
- Wait for the Letter of Acceptance and accept the offer to lock your seat.
- File the Canadian study permit through IRCC and complete online orientation before travel.
Before you apply: KPU asks for original-language transcripts along with certified English translations. Order both from your Indian board or university before starting the application to avoid a mid-review pause.
Kwantlen Polytechnic University Admission Decisions and Offer Timeline
KPU issues admission decisions on a rolling basis once each application file is complete. Open-intake decisions usually land within four to six weeks. Limited-intake programs review in batches after the deadline, so decisions may take six to ten weeks.
- Conditional offers: Issued when your final Class XII marksheet or bachelor’s transcript is still pending.
- Acceptance deadline: Confirm your seat within four weeks of the Letter of Acceptance date.
- Deferrals: Allowed once, up to the next same-name intake, on written request to the international office.
- Waitlists: Limited-intake programs run informal waitlists if quota fills before the deadline.
Kwantlen Polytechnic University Documents Required
Documents at KPU cover identity, academic history, English proficiency, and financial capacity. The checklist below is what an Indian applicant physically or digitally submits, distinct from the eligibility thresholds those documents prove.
- Passport: Valid for at least two years beyond your intended program end date.
- Class XII marksheet and passing certificate: For undergraduate applicants, from CBSE, ISC, or a State Board.
- Bachelor’s transcripts and degree certificate: Consolidated marksheet plus provisional or final degree, for PG applicants.
- English test score report: IELTS, TOEFL, PTE, Duolingo, or CAEL, sent electronically to KPU.
- Statement of intent: 800 to 1000 words for Graduate Diploma programs such as Global Business Management.
- Two professional references: Signed reference letters from managers or professors, for PG diplomas.
- Updated CV or resume: Two-page cap, covering academics and any work experience.
- Financial proof: Bank statements or GIC receipt showing funds for tuition and CAD 22,895 (₹15.91 Lakhs) annual living costs.
- Passport-sized photograph: Required for post-offer registration and study permit paperwork.
Kwantlen Polytechnic University Acceptance Rate for Indian Students
Kwantlen Polytechnic University does not publish an official institutional acceptance rate. Third-party trackers place the estimate between 58% and 68%, based on KPU’s polytechnic admission pattern that admits most applicants meeting the stated Class XII 60% and IELTS 6.5 minimums into open-intake programs.
KPU Open-intake vs Limited-intake Odds
Open-intake programs, including most BA, BBA, BSc, and Post-Baccalaureate diplomas, admit roughly seven in ten qualified Indian applicants. Limited-intake programs such as Interior Design, Nursing, and Journalism operate with capped seats, so their functional acceptance rate can fall to around 25 to 35%.
Kwantlen Polytechnic University Indian Applicant Profile
Successful Indian applicants typically show Class XII scores above 70% for competitive UG programs and bachelor’s GPAs above 3.0 for PG diplomas. See KPU’s ranking band on collegedunia for the wider peer context in British Columbia’s polytechnic segment.
Insider note: Strong statements of intent and a stated intent to enrol on-campus at Surrey or Richmond noticeably improve chances at Melville School of Business programs.
Canada Student Visa Process for Kwantlen Polytechnic University Applicants
Indian students admitted to Kwantlen Polytechnic University need a Canadian study permit issued by Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC). Apply online at ircc.canada.ca after receiving the Letter of Acceptance. The Student Direct Stream (SDS) fast-track was discontinued in late 2024, so all Indian applicants now use the regular study permit route. Required inputs include the KPU Letter of Acceptance, a Provincial Attestation Letter (PAL) from British Columbia (KPU is a public Designated Learning Institution and issues PALs directly), proof of funds covering tuition plus CAD 22,895 (₹15.91 Lakhs) in annual living costs, biometrics, medical exam, and a purpose-of-study statement.
Once approved, register with the KPU international office on arrival for orientation, health insurance enrolment, and course registration. Processing time in August 2026 averages three to eight weeks for Indian nationals through the regular route.
2026 update: As of April 2026, 80% of Indian study permit files are decided within three weeks, down from the eight to twelve week norm through most of 2025. Apply at least three months before your program start date to keep margin.
Tips and Checklist for Kwantlen Polytechnic University
The following tips and steps are drawn from Indian-applicant patterns at Kwantlen Polytechnic University over the past two intakes. They combine timing advice with sequencing steps that keep the file clean at review.
- Lock English test six months out: Book IELTS or PTE at least 24 weeks before the target deadline.
- Request WES if needed: KPU accepts direct transcripts, but WES helps for older bachelor’s degrees.
- Draft statement early: Start the 800 to 1000 word statement of intent eight weeks before submitting.
- Line up references: Confirm both referees six weeks out, share program details before they draft.
- Apply in the first month: File within four weeks of the intake opening for the strongest limited-intake shot.
- Book biometrics in advance: VFS Global slots in Delhi and Mumbai fill fast, book within a week of LOA.
- Prepare GIC or funds proof: Arrange a Scotiabank or ICICI GIC before starting the study permit file.
- Track KPU emails daily: The Next Steps Letter carries login credentials with a short response window.
- Read Indian student reviews: Cross-check housing and part-time-work patterns near Surrey and Richmond before you commit.
Kwantlen Polytechnic University keeps admissions accessible for Indian applicants who clear the Class XII 60% or bachelor’s 2.67 GPA thresholds. File early in the primary Fall intake, keep the CAD 120 application fee, English scores, and Provincial Attestation Letter ready, and the process from application to study permit typically wraps in four to six months.
Kwantlen Polytechnic University Admissions: Frequently Asked Questions
Ques. What is the primary intake at Kwantlen Polytechnic University for Indian students?
Ans. Fall (September) is the primary intake and carries the widest program coverage. Fall 2027 applications open on 1 October 2026, with limited-intake programs closing 1 March 2027 and open-intake programs closing 1 July 2027.
Ques. What English proficiency scores are accepted at KPU?
Ans. KPU accepts IELTS Academic 6.5 (no band below 6.0), TOEFL iBT 88 (no subscore below 20), PTE Academic 61, Duolingo English Test 110, and CAEL 60. All scores must be less than two years old.
Ques. Does KPU accept a 3-year Indian bachelor’s degree for PG diploma admission?
Ans. Yes, KPU accepts three-year bachelor’s degrees from recognised Indian universities such as Delhi University, Mumbai University, and Bangalore University for its Graduate Diplomas and Post-Baccalaureate Diplomas, provided you clear the 2.67 GPA minimum.
Ques. What is the minimum Class XII percentage for UG admission at KPU?
Ans. The general Class XII minimum is 60% from CBSE, ISC, or a State Board. Limited-intake programs such as Interior Design and Fashion Design typically look for 65% and above, along with a submitted portfolio.
Ques. How much is the application fee at Kwantlen Polytechnic University?
Ans. The application fee is CAD 120 (₹8,338) for international applicants, paid on the KPU online portal at the time of submission. The fee is non-refundable regardless of the admission decision.
Ques. Can I apply to multiple KPU programs on a single application?
Ans. No. Each program requires a separate application and a separate CAD 120 fee. Applicants are advised to pick one primary program and one backup rather than filing three or more parallel applications.
Ques. What happens if I miss the limited-intake deadline at KPU?
Ans. You can still apply to open-intake programs within the same cycle since those carry a later cutoff. For example, missing the Spring 2027 limited deadline of 1 August 2026 still leaves the Spring 2027 open-intake window until 1 November 2026.
Ques. Does KPU require GRE or GMAT for PG diploma admission?
Ans. No. KPU’s Graduate Diploma and Post-Baccalaureate Diploma programs do not require GRE or GMAT. Admission decisions rest on your bachelor’s transcripts, English proficiency scores, statement of intent, and references where applicable.
Ques. How long does it take to receive the Letter of Acceptance from KPU?
Ans. Open-intake decisions typically land within four to six weeks of a complete application. Limited-intake decisions run in batches and can take six to ten weeks after the deadline. Conditional offers are common while final marksheets are pending.
Ques. Are KPU programs PGWP-eligible for Indian graduates?
Ans. Yes. KPU is a public Designated Learning Institution, so its bachelor’s degrees, Graduate Diplomas, and Post-Baccalaureate Diplomas of at least two years are PGWP-eligible, allowing up to three years of post-graduation work authorisation in Canada.
Ques. Can Indian students defer their KPU admission to a later intake?
Ans. Yes. KPU allows a one-time deferral to the next available same-name intake on written request to the international admissions office. Approval is not automatic and hinges on program capacity in the target cycle.
Ques. Do I need a Provincial Attestation Letter (PAL) for the KPU study permit?
Ans. Yes. Undergraduate and Post-Baccalaureate Diploma applicants need a British Columbia PAL for the study permit. KPU issues the PAL alongside the Letter of Acceptance since it is a public DLI. Master’s-level students at public DLIs are exempt from January 2026.
College Student Profiles
Kwantlen Polytechnic University Program Fees & Deadlines
| Program | Important Dates | Fees | Application Fees | Eligibility | Financial Aid |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| USD 19,205 /Yr CAD 26,674 /Yr | 120 | GPA: 2.67, IELTS: 6.5, TOEFL iBT: 88 |
Do you think the Dates are wrong ? Report Here
Course Finder - Search from 50K+ courses
Popular Streams:
Reviews
1 Reviews Found
Likes
- Good university in British Columbia and provides suitable environment.
Overview
It is amazing and I am learning a lot there. Meet with new peers is a different kind of experience.




















Comments