Mount Royal University (MRU) Admissions 2026: Application Deadline, Eligibility & Fees

Mount Royal University (MRU) Admissions 2026: Application Deadline, Eligibility & Fees

Calgary, AlbertaLocation
UniversitySchool type
Estd1910established year
14258enrollment
Public
Partner [3 Courses]
8.3/10
Study Abroad Team's profile photo

Study Abroad Team

Updated on - Aug 27, 2026

Opens October 2026 (est.). The Fall 2027 primary intake for international undergraduates opens 1 October 2026, with an early admission close of 1 February 2027 for competitive programs and a regular close of 1 April 2027. Documents are due 1 May 2027 and official transcripts by 15 May 2027. The application fee is CAD 100 (around INR 6,881), paid on the Mount Royal University International Application System. Winter and Spring intakes are not open to direct international applicants from India.

Mount Royal University admissions for Indian students centre on one Fall entry for international undergraduates and Post-Bachelor’s Certificate holders. Undergraduate entry needs Class XII at 65 percent in two academic subjects, and Post-Bachelor’s Certificate entry needs a completed bachelor’s degree.

  • Fall 2027 intake: cycle opens 1 October 2026, regular close 1 April 2027.
  • Fees: UG tuition CAD 25,604 to 26,938 per year (INR 17.62 Lakhs to INR 18.54 Lakhs), plus a CAD 100 (INR 6,881) application fee.
  • Eligibility: Class XII at 65 percent in two academic subjects, Bachelor’s for post-graduate certificates, IELTS 6.5 minimum (5.5 each band).
  • Acceptance rate: estimated 55 to 65 percent institution-wide, not officially published by Mount Royal University.

Bachelor of Nursing, Bachelor of Business Administration, and Bachelor of Science in Computer Science are the programs Indian applicants most often choose at Mount Royal University, where student reviews highlight small class sizes and an applied, teaching-first approach over research prestige.

Table of Contents

Mount Royal University Application Deadlines

Mount Royal University runs one active international undergraduate cycle each year, centred on the Fall (September) intake. Winter and Spring semesters accept applications only from students already inside the MRU English pathway or from another Canadian institution, so Indian applicants planning direct entry from India target Fall alone. Dates below come from the MRU international how-to-apply page.

Currency note: All INR figures in this article use CAD 1 = INR 68.81, the live rate on 27 August 2026. Live rates may vary, so confirm with your bank before remitting.

Mount Royal University’s primary intake for Indian students is Fall (September) — most programs open here.

IntakeLevelApp OpensDeadlineApp FeePortal
Fall 2027 (September) — Primary intakeUG (early admission, competitive programs)1 October 20261 February 2027CAD 100 (INR 6,881)MRU International Application System
Fall 2027 (September) — Primary intakeUG (regular admission)1 October 20261 April 2027CAD 100 (INR 6,881)MRU International Application System
Fall 2027 (September)Post-Bachelor’s Certificate1 October 20261 April 2027CAD 100 (INR 6,881)MRU International Application System
Winter 2027 (January)Not open to direct India applicants(Not applicable)(Not applicable)CAD 100 (INR 6,881)MRU International Application System

Planning note: Competitive programs like Nursing, Midwifery, Interior Design, and Athletic Therapy fill their seats between the 1 October opening and the 1 February early close, so Indian applicants targeting these should aim for a January submission at the latest.

Official transcripts must reach Mount Royal University by 15 May 2027 for the Fall 2027 cycle, and all supporting documents including English scores by 1 May 2027. There is no central platform such as OUAC or Common App for MRU — Alberta international applicants apply directly through the university’s own portal.


Mount Royal University Eligibility for Indian Students

Mount Royal University uses an access-oriented undergraduate admission model, which means it admits most applicants who meet its stated academic and English thresholds rather than filtering by rank or reputation. Program-level cutoffs sit above the institutional floor for competitive faculties, but the numbers below are the base that every Indian applicant must clear before program-specific requirements apply.

MRU Undergraduate Academic Requirements

  • UG general entry: Class XII at 65 percent average across the top two academic subjects (English, Mathematics, Science).
  • Bachelor of Aviation Management or Aviation Diploma: Class XII at 80 percent with English and Mathematics compulsory.
  • Bachelor of Science streams: Class XII 65 percent with the science or math prerequisite for the major.
  • Recognised boards: CBSE, CISCE (ISC), state boards, and the International Baccalaureate.

MRU Post-Bachelor’s Certificate Eligibility

Post-Bachelor’s Certificate applicants need a completed bachelor’s degree from a recognised institution. The Business Administration certificates (Advanced Accounting, HR, Marketing) accept graduates from any discipline; the Athletic Therapy and Spatial Data Science certificates need a related undergraduate background.

MRU English Language Requirements

TestMinimum OverallBand Minimum
IELTS Academic6.55.5 in each band
TOEFL iBT8620 in each section
PTE Academic5855 in each area
Duolingo English Test120Not specified
CAEL7060 in each band
Cambridge English (B2, C1, C2)176Not specified

Mount Royal University IELTS Waiver for Indian Students

Indian applicants qualify for an English proficiency waiver if they have completed two years of full-time study in English at an English-medium school board and passed Grade 12 English. CBSE, CISCE, and IB stream Indian schools are recognised as English-medium; state boards that teach in English can request the same treatment on a case-by-case basis. The waiver removes the IELTS or TOEFL requirement entirely, but Nursing, Midwifery, and Social Work retain the test as a program-specific rule.


Mount Royal University Post-Bachelor’s Certificate Programs

Mount Royal University does not run a general graduate school. Its post-baccalaureate options are targeted Post-Bachelor’s Certificates that stack on top of a completed undergraduate degree. Base tuition for these certificates runs in the same CAD 25,604 to 26,938 (INR 17.62 Lakhs to INR 18.54 Lakhs) international per-year band as undergraduate programs, priced by credit load. A full course-wise fees breakdown sits on the Fees page.

ProgrammeDurationMinimum EligibilityEnglish Req. Min.
Athletic Therapy Post-Bachelor’s Certificate2 yearsBachelor’s in kinesiology, physical education, or related fieldIELTS 6.5
Business Administration Post-Bachelor’s Certificate — Advanced Accounting1 to 2 yearsBachelor’s in any discipline, with a business background preferredIELTS 6.5
Business Administration Post-Bachelor’s Certificate — Human Resources1 to 2 yearsBachelor’s in any disciplineIELTS 6.5
Business Administration Post-Bachelor’s Certificate — Marketing1 to 2 yearsBachelor’s in any disciplineIELTS 6.5
Spatial Data Science Post-Bachelor’s Certificate1 yearBachelor’s in geography, computer science, or related quantitative fieldIELTS 6.5
Embalmer Certificate1 yearBachelor’s or Funeral Service DiplomaIELTS 6.5
Funeral Director Certificate1 yearBachelor’s or Funeral Service DiplomaIELTS 6.5

Insider note: Post-Bachelor’s Certificates at MRU are treated as post-secondary study by IRCC, so they qualify for the Post-Graduation Work Permit when combined with the required credit load. Confirm your program’s PGWP eligibility before you deposit.

Note: Program-specific entry requirements, fees, and intake availability may differ from the institution-wide minimums shown above. Always confirm on the official Mount Royal University admissions page for your chosen program before applying.


Mount Royal University Undergraduate Programs

Mount Royal University offers 13 bachelor’s degrees carrying 37 majors across Arts, Business, Communications, Health Community and Education, and Science and Technology. All four-year bachelor’s degrees follow the same base fee band of CAD 25,604 to 26,938 (INR 17.62 Lakhs to INR 18.54 Lakhs) per year at the international rate, priced by full-load registration of five courses per semester.

ProgrammeDurationMinimum EligibilityEnglish Req. Min.
Bachelor of Nursing4 yearsClass XII at 65 percent, Biology and Chemistry recommended, competitive intakeIELTS 6.5
Bachelor of Science — Computer Science4 yearsClass XII at 65 percent with MathematicsIELTS 6.5
Bachelor of Business Administration — Finance4 yearsClass XII at 65 percent with MathematicsIELTS 6.5
Bachelor of Business Administration — Marketing4 yearsClass XII at 65 percentIELTS 6.5
Bachelor of Business Administration — Accounting4 yearsClass XII at 65 percent with MathematicsIELTS 6.5
Bachelor of Communication — Journalism and Digital Media4 yearsClass XII at 65 percent with EnglishIELTS 6.5
Bachelor of Communication — Public Relations4 yearsClass XII at 65 percent with EnglishIELTS 6.5
Bachelor of Arts — Psychology4 yearsClass XII at 65 percent averageIELTS 6.5
Bachelor of Science — Data Science4 yearsClass XII at 65 percent with MathematicsIELTS 6.5
Bachelor of Interior Design4 yearsClass XII at 65 percent plus portfolio reviewIELTS 6.5
Bachelor of Aviation Management4 yearsClass XII at 80 percent with English and Mathematics compulsoryIELTS 6.5
Bachelor of Health and Physical Education — Sport and Recreation Management4 yearsClass XII at 65 percent averageIELTS 6.5

Reality check: Nursing at Mount Royal University runs a supplementary application including an interview and a CASPer-style situational judgement assessment for shortlisted applicants. Indian applicants shortlisting for Nursing should plan for a January to March supplementary window on top of the main file.


Mount Royal University Application Process

The application process runs through Mount Royal University’s own International Application System. There is no central platform like OUAC or the Common Application for Alberta international applicants, which means one application per applicant covers up to two program choices at MRU. Steps below match the sequence published on the MRU international how-to-apply page.

  1. Create your MRU account and start an application on the MRU International Application System when the Fall 2027 cycle opens on 1 October 2026.
  2. Pay the application fee of CAD 100 (around INR 6,881) on the MRU International Application System by credit card.
  3. Select up to two programs. Choose one competitive program and one open program as a safety.
  4. Upload interim Class XII marksheets, forecast grades, and any post-secondary transcripts already available.
  5. Send your IELTS or TOEFL score directly from the test centre to Mount Royal University, or claim the English-medium waiver if eligible.
  6. Arrange for official Class XII transcripts and any post-secondary transcripts to reach MRU by 15 May 2027.
  7. Track your file on the MyMRU portal. Login details arrive by email within a week of submission.
  8. Receive an offer of admission by email. Decisions begin in November 2026 and continue rolling through July 2027.
  9. Pay the non-refundable tuition deposit to accept your offer and trigger the visa letter.

Mount Royal University Admission Decisions

Decisions at Mount Royal University are released on a rolling basis rather than in fixed rounds. First offers for Fall 2027 begin arriving in November 2026 or December 2026 and continue through July 2027 as files complete and seats remain in each program. The offer is a formal email that carries the program, start term, deposit amount, and any conditions attached.

  • Offer stage: Offers are released as complete files review, usually 4 to 8 weeks after submission.
  • Conditional offers: Common for Indian applicants who submit interim Class XII marksheets. The offer becomes unconditional when final transcripts arrive by 15 May 2027.
  • Deposit to accept: A non-refundable tuition deposit locks your seat, triggers your visa letter, and releases the Provincial Attestation Letter (PAL) that you need for the study permit.
  • Deferral: One-term deferrals are considered case-by-case through the international office. There is no automatic deferral to Winter or Spring.

Planning note: Provincial Attestation Letter numbers are capped across Alberta each cycle. Deposit within two weeks of receiving your offer to avoid PAL delays that push your study permit application into the summer.


Documents Required for Mount Royal University Application

The Documents Required checklist below covers paperwork you upload or arrange during the application. Academic thresholds and English scores live in the Eligibility section. Every document must arrive in English or with a certified English translation attached.

  • Valid passport: bio-data page scan showing at least 18 months validity from your intended start term.
  • Class XII marksheet and school-leaving certificate: original from board, plus certified English translation if not in English.
  • Class X marksheet: required for the date of birth and citizenship verification.
  • Post-secondary transcripts: for transfer, second-degree, and Post-Bachelor’s Certificate applicants, sent directly from the institution to MRU by 15 May 2027.
  • English proficiency score report: IELTS, TOEFL, PTE, Duolingo, or CAEL, sent by the test centre to Mount Royal University.
  • Statement of interest: for competitive programs including Nursing, Midwifery, Interior Design, and Bachelor of Education.
  • Portfolio: for Bachelor of Interior Design and some Communication majors.
  • Two reference letters: academic references for Nursing and Post-Bachelor’s Certificates in health.
  • Passport-size photographs: two colour photos as per the application form specification.

Mount Royal University Acceptance Rate

Mount Royal University does not publish an official institutional acceptance rate. Third-party estimates place the institution-wide undergraduate rate at 55 to 65 percent, based on competitive-intake program patterns and the university’s stated access-oriented approach to admission. Individual programs run tighter than the institutional band, and the gap between an open program and a competitive one is the single most useful data point for an Indian applicant deciding where to file.

Which MRU Programs Are Hardest for Indian Applicants?

Nursing, Midwifery, Interior Design, Bachelor of Education, and Athletic Therapy are the hardest programs to enter as an international applicant. Seats are capped, competition inside Alberta is high, and the effective close is closer to the 1 February 2027 early admission deadline than the 1 April 2027 regular one. If your first-choice program is competitive, always list a second, open program as a safety.

MRU Undergraduate Acceptance by Faculty

Business Administration, Communications, and general Arts are more accessible for Indian applicants who meet the 65 percent Class XII floor. Science and Technology majors including Computer Science and Data Science admit widely at the 65 percent floor but cut earlier once the intake fills. Compare each program’s ranking band and applicant-outcomes data before you commit.

Insider note: The MRU competitive-program pattern favours applicants who submit a complete file, including English scores, before 1 December 2026. Late-January submissions face the same 1 February 2027 cutoff but reach the review queue too late for meaningful competition against November filers.


Canada Student Permit Process for Mount Royal University Applicants

Indian students at Mount Royal University apply for a Canada Study Permit through Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC) after receiving their offer and Provincial Attestation Letter (PAL). Alberta issues PALs to designated learning institutions, and Mount Royal University issues yours after the tuition deposit clears. The permit application is filed online at the IRCC portal and typically takes 8 to 12 weeks to process for Indian nationals, so a deposit in February to March 2027 lines up with a July 2027 permit for a September 2027 start.

Financial proof for the permit application requires evidence of one year of tuition plus CAD 20,635 (around INR 14.20 Lakhs) for living costs, per the January 2024 IRCC update. Guaranteed Investment Certificate (GIC) route through a Canadian bank is the most common path for Indian applicants and streamlines file review. Biometrics enrolment happens at a Visa Application Centre in India within two weeks of file submission, and no in-person interview is standard.

2026 update: The Provincial Attestation Letter is a hard requirement for every Indian applicant under the current IRCC study permit rules. Your Mount Royal University offer alone is not enough to file a permit application, so do not open a permit file until the PAL email arrives.


Tips and Application Checklist for Mount Royal University

The tips and steps below are drawn from Indian-applicant patterns at Mount Royal University over recent Fall intakes, mixing timing decisions with the sequence you need to hit before 1 April 2027. Treat them as the sequencing layer that sits on top of the Documents Required and Application Process sections.

  • Book IELTS or TOEFL by August 2026: a September test date locks scores in time for a November filing on the 1 October 2026 opening.
  • Claim the English-medium waiver early: upload your Grade 12 English marksheet as proof and note the exemption in the application to avoid duplicate test uploads.
  • File before 15 December 2026 for competitive programs: Nursing, Midwifery, Interior Design, and Athletic Therapy reach effective closure in mid-January.
  • List two programs on the application: pair one competitive first choice with one open second choice inside the same application.
  • Request transcripts eight weeks before the deadline: Indian boards need lead time to issue official envelopes and courier them to Calgary.
  • Apply for MRU scholarships by 1 March 2027: the scholarship window closes before the general application deadline, and Indian applicants qualify for entrance awards on the same file.
  • Deposit within two weeks of your offer: the tuition deposit unlocks the Provincial Attestation Letter, which the IRCC study permit application cannot proceed without.
  • Prepare GIC and proof of funds by April 2027: Canadian bank GIC processing takes three to four weeks, so start the paperwork immediately after depositing.

Mount Royal University is a strong fit for Indian applicants who value teaching-first bachelor’s degrees, small class sizes, and clear post-graduation work permit eligibility over research prestige. Target the Fall 2027 intake, file by November 2026 for competitive programs, and pair the tuition deposit with a Provincial Attestation Letter request the same week.

Mount Royal University Admissions: Frequently Asked Questions

Ques. What is the application deadline for Mount Royal University Fall 2027 for Indian students?

Ans. The regular Fall 2027 application deadline is 1 April 2027, with an early admission deadline of 1 February 2027 for competitive programs including Nursing, Midwifery, and Interior Design. The application cycle opens on 1 October 2026.

Ques. Does Mount Royal University require IELTS for Indian applicants?

Ans. Yes, unless you qualify for the English-medium waiver. IELTS Academic 6.5 with no band below 5.5 is the institutional floor. Indian applicants from CBSE, CISCE, IB, or English-medium state boards can claim a waiver by uploading Grade 12 English marks.

Ques. What is Mount Royal University’s minimum Class XII percentage for Indian students?

Ans. The institutional floor is 65 percent averaged across your top two academic subjects (English, Mathematics, or Science). Aviation programs need 80 percent with English and Mathematics compulsory, and competitive programs like Nursing typically admit at higher averages.

Ques. How much is the application fee at Mount Royal University?

Ans. The non-refundable application fee is CAD 100 (around INR 6,881), paid by credit card on the MRU International Application System at the point of submission.

Ques. Does Mount Royal University accept the Duolingo English Test?

Ans. Yes. The minimum accepted score is Duolingo 120 overall. TOEFL iBT 86 (minimum 20 in each section), PTE Academic 58 (minimum 55 in each area), CAEL 70 (minimum 60 in each band), and Cambridge English 176 are also accepted.

Ques. What is the primary intake at Mount Royal University for international students?

Ans. Fall (September) is the primary intake, and it is the only intake open to direct international applicants from India. Winter (January) and Spring (May) are limited to students already inside the MRU English pathway or transferring from another Canadian institution.

Ques. Does Mount Royal University offer MBA or PhD programs?

Ans. No. Mount Royal University is a teaching-first bachelor’s degree institution and does not offer MBA or PhD programs. Post-Bachelor’s Certificates in Business Administration (Advanced Accounting, HR, Marketing), Athletic Therapy, and Spatial Data Science are the closest graduate-level options.

Ques. How do Indian students apply to Mount Royal University?

Ans. Indian students apply directly through the MRU International Application System at mtroyal.ca. There is no central platform such as OUAC, Common App, or UCAS for MRU international undergraduate admissions. ApplyAlberta is for domestic Canadian applicants only.

Ques. What is the annual tuition for international undergraduates at Mount Royal University?

Ans. International undergraduate tuition runs CAD 25,604 to CAD 26,938 (around INR 17.62 Lakhs to INR 18.54 Lakhs) per academic year for a five-course-per-semester load. Living costs in Calgary add roughly CAD 12,800 to CAD 17,400 (INR 8.81 Lakhs to INR 11.97 Lakhs) per year.

Ques. When does Mount Royal University issue offer letters to international applicants?

Ans. First offers for Fall 2027 arrive in November 2026 or December 2026, and offers continue rolling through July 2027 as files complete. Conditional offers on interim Class XII marksheets become unconditional when final transcripts reach MRU by 15 May 2027.

Ques. Does Mount Royal University accept applications through OUAC or the Common Application?

Ans. No. OUAC is Ontario-only, and the Common Application is a US platform. Mount Royal University is an Alberta institution and uses its own International Application System for all international undergraduate and Post-Bachelor’s Certificate admissions.

Ques. Can Indian students apply for the Winter or Spring intake at Mount Royal University?

Ans. No. Winter (January) and Spring (May) semester admission is open only to applicants already inside MRU’s academic English pathway or transferring from another Canadian institution. Indian applicants planning entry from India apply for the Fall (September) intake only.

Mount Royal University Program Fees & Deadlines

ProgramImportant DatesFeesApplication FeesEligibility
BN
4 years
Application Deadline For 2026 Intake (1st Feb 2026)
USD 18,503 /Yr
CAD 25,698 /Yr
150TOEFL- 4.5 | IELTS- 6.5 | Duolingo- 120 | PTE- 58

Do you think the Dates are wrong ?  Report Here

Reviews


Student StatusNationalityBatch
Sort By :
Newest First
Course (3)
Structure (3)
Amount (2)
Curriculum (2)
Everything (2)
Profession (2)
Program (2)
Review (2)
Addition (1)
Completion (1)
Project (1)
Requirement (1)
School (1)

3 Reviews Found

Taniesha Wood
9.3 /10

Overview

I opted for this college because it had a highly regarded reputation in the community, and it offered an online, as well as the fast-tracked version of the course I took. The application process was pretty standard and simple and the fees were also standard. My educational background includes completion of high school as well as another diploma program, Paralegal services, from the Nova Scotia Community College.

academic: 10/10
faculty: 10/10
infrastructure: 8/10
accomodation: 8/10
placement: 10/10
extracurricular: 10/10

J
8.8 /10

Overview

It was a local college with the program I wished to participate in, ranked higher by students than other facilities. The cost was reasonable, and they had on-campus housing, which made it significantly feasible than other facilities.

academic: 9/10
faculty: 10/10
infrastructure: 9/10
accomodation: 8/10
placement: 9/10
extracurricular: 8/10

N
6.8 /10

Overview

I chose this college because of its location, as well as the program choice. My school is located very close to me and also offers one of the best massage therapy programs in the entire city. They also have the option to go part time which I found to be very helpful.

academic: 8/10
faculty: 10/10
infrastructure: 8/10
accomodation: 6/10
placement: 7/10
extracurricular: 2/10

Comments


No Comments To Show
Videos

interested in this College ?

Get free counselling