Dr. B.C. Roy Engineering College - [BCREC], Durgapur - Reviews

Durgapur, West Bengal AICTE, NBA Estd 2000 MAKAUT, Kolkata Private 2 Questions Answered

College Rating

Based on 136 Students RatingClaim this college

7.7 out of 10
7.9/10Academic
7.3/10Accommodation
7.7/10Faculty
8.0/10Infrastructure
7.2/10Placement
7.8/10Social Life
Filter By
StreamCourse TagCourseBatch
SORT BY :
Relevance

Engineering (107)
Computer Applications (8)
Management (2)

Most Popular Tags

Campus (72)
Engineering (70)
Internship (66)
Faculty (62)
Fee Structure (59)
Department (56)
Admission (50)
Good Placement (48)
Hostel Fee (44)
Semester Fee (40)
Semester Exam (39)
Hostel Room (31)
Entrance Exam (28)
Course Curriculum (24)
Core Branch (19)

136 Reviews found


SK
8.0 /10

Remarks :

I chose this college because one of my relatives had studied here and now she is in a very good company. I referred collegedunia, shiksha.com to check the ratings and reviews about the college. This college has everything what a student needs whether it be academics or extra curricular activities and of course the placement is very good. This college assures 100% ragging free campus. The infrastructure the labs and auditoriums are very well equipped. So, if anyone is thinking of joining this college, he/she should go for it. Also, this college received award for excellence in education last year.

Admission :

Exam- WBJEE, JEE MAINS Year- 2018 Score- 35782

8 /10 faculty
8 /10 placement
8 /10 social life
8 /10 course
8 /10 hostel
8 /10 campus life
report
Read More
MK
6.0 /10

Course Curriculum Overview :

BTech in CSE is the most demanding branch. I love to code for software. My reason that I chose this college was that I can secure a seat not very easily but possibly. Brief about faculty-student ratio I can say is 2:5. The qualification of the faculty is very good. The faculty here is highly qualified. The teaching method is not much appealing all I can say is. Faculty focuses more on extracurricular than on teaching in the classroom. Exams are held timely it is not very very tough to pass.

Remarks :

Starting with the good aspects of this college, The infrastructure and the social life here is very encouraging. The admission is done through WBJEE. Once the entrance results are out the admission starts from the month of July. My reason for preferring this college over others is the campus life here. When I was searching for colleges I used Google and found this one. This college can completely satisfy the need for an average student. Now beginning with the bad aspects of this college I can say, fee structure may be much higher for some people. Studies are less and extracurricular activities are much much more present over here.

6 /10 placement
7 /10 college
6 /10 course
5 /10 hostel
6 /10 campus life
report
Read More
MS
6.8 /10

Placement Experience :

Have a lot of companies came there in each year but the thing is that u should have a lot of knowledge to grab the opportunity Capgemini it take 120 approx. students from 2020 pass out batch 60% are placed I want job

Remarks :

Because teaching is best here teaching environment is also good placement is good but sometimes teacher don't cooperate hostel food is also bad

5 /10 placement
6 /10 college
9 /10 course
7 /10 campus life
report
Read More
S
8.9 /10

Placement Experience :

Mainly students get eligible for campus placements from 7th semester onwards. Highly ranked and reputed companies come for recruiting students from our college. The highest package till now is around 15 lakhs and average package is around 3.5 lakhs to 6 lakhs. Almost 95% students get their placements in reputed companies.

Course Curriculum Overview :

I pursued electrical engineering because I'm interested in pursuing it. In my class section there are 52 students and in total there are 115 students. There are two sections in electrical engineering.Most of a professors has good qualifications. Most of them have completed Masters and PHD. Their communication skills are good. They also guide us for improving our communication skills and team management also for building confidence in life. Our teacher always give live examples for explaining the topics that they are teaching.We have two internal examinations in each semester which includes practicals as well. And at the end of the semester we have our final semester examination. Question paper toughness is moderate and sometimes lengthy.I have scored 10 SGPA in my last semester examination and my YGPA was 9.1.

9 /10 faculty
8 /10 placement
8 /10 social life
9 /10 course
10 /10 hostel
8 /10 internship
10 /10 campus life
report
Read More
AR
9.3 /10

Placement Experience :

From sixth semester students are eligible. L&t. Byjus, etc. No. Of offers made is around 40% of the students. Highest package is 7 lakhs and minimum package is 1.8 lakhs. 40% student get placement. My plan after getting degree is to further study.

Remarks :

Faculty is good, Infrastructure is good. Hostel facility is also excellent. Superb atmosphere. The college Authority is supportive. Exam are on time. Well equipped ground for games and sports. Well maintained mess and Canteen. A bank is also inside the college. Two ATM's.

9 /10 placement
9 /10 college
10 /10 course
9 /10 campus life
report
Read More
AD
7.7 /10

Remarks :

Our college has almost all the necessary infrastructure,facilities and equipments those are needed for the academic years. We don't have smart boards in classrooms, library, sports centers or laboratories but they have few smart boards in some special classrooms and laboratories, they are used for taking special or important classes. They are well mainted and we have a free WiFi inside college campus. The food in canteen and hostels are not hygienic enough and the living spaces are quite clean.

Placement Experience :

I have not yet gone for placements because I'm in 3rd year but as I have seen and heard from our seniors, the quality of placements are good enough and almost all the students were placed. I don't have the exact idea about the highest salary package but it was not from core related jobs. The average salary offered is about 2.5 lakh per annum maybe. College seems to be quite supportive but I don't have proper idea or experience.

8 /10 faculty
8 /10 placement
7 /10 social life
report
Read More
AA
8.0 /10

Remarks :

It was near to my native place and I wanted to be as near as possible to my home. Apart from this, this was the only good college where I got Computer Science & Engineering Branch which I got through WBJEE so I had to take admission in this college.

Placement Experience :

Quite a good. Almost 80%+ students of CSE, ECE, IT get placed in many companies. For ME, CE, EE there is some trouble as not many companies come to take core branch students.

8 /10 faculty
9 /10 placement
7 /10 social life
report
Read More
SA
6.7 /10

Remarks :

Because of Counseling,and had no other option left, as the college environment is also good so I choose that, few teachers are supportive and guide us well, except for academics,physical activities are also given importance which includes sports, NCC

Placement Experience :

Not so good,not so bad,Capgemini, Congizant,Reshmi LTD,Extramarks,Byju's come for on-campus placement, else for more opportunities you need to apply for off-campus

6 /10 faculty
5 /10 placement
9 /10 social life
report
Read More
TK
9.3 /10

Remarks :

I want to study in computer science and I got this course from this college and there is a very good campus and placement also better. And the faculties are also top good.Classes, laboratories,library,canteen everything are present in this campus.NCC and Karate are also organized by this college.

Placement Experience :

Cognizant, TCS, Mahindra tech, Wipro and even according to performance Microsoft is also come in the college campus and many companies are come to offer job.

10 /10 faculty
9 /10 placement
9 /10 social life
report
Read More
MS
9.0 /10

Remarks :

I think BCREC is the best option if your rank is a bit less and you did not get JU, KGEC, JGEG, IEM and HIT in the online counselling. Talking about the placement of this college, its around 90% for non-core(CSE/IT/ECE) department.Even in the recent years the placement percentage of core departments has equally improved. Apart from Academics, College had huge campus with extra-curricular activities(like NCC/NSS/Karate) which attracted me and huge cricket and football ground which rarely a college in WB has. I opted for ECE department as in this modern era of AI and Machine Learning, I thing ECE is the only by which you can shift your career in any direction you want, say it IT sector, DRDO or even govt services.

Placement Experience :

Companies like TCS, Wipro, Capgimini, Cognizant, Infosys, Byju's, L&T, Sankalp Semiconductor and many more visit the college campus for placement. Talking about the number of students placed, almost all eligible students of non- core departments gets place as no of candidates hired by these companies are much higher to than that of core departments. The placement process starts with a aptitude test, followed by Technical Round, GD and then PI.The average package offered is approx 3.8 lk /annum. Apart form Campus placement, many students go for off-campus placement for better career opportunities and pay scale. Even some of BCREC alumina have cracked prestigious examinations like DRDO, GATE, BPSE. Few meritorious students even gets internship offers by their skills.

9 /10 faculty
9 /10 placement
9 /10 social life
report
Read More

Comments



NO COMMENTS TO SHOW

Similar Colleges

Academy of Technology -  [AOT]
REVIEWS RATING
8.1 /10

Academy of Technology - [AOT]

Hooghly, West Bengal
BE/B.Tech 4.4 1.04 LFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Narula Institute of Technology - [NIT Agarpara]
REVIEWS RATING
7.9 /10
BE/B.Tech 6.2 4.08 LTotal Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
JIS College of Engineering - [JISCE]
REVIEWS RATING
7.9 /10
BE/B.Tech 5.0 1.30 LFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Bengal College of Engineering and Technology - [BCET]
REVIEWS RATING
7.1 /10
BE/B.Tech 4.9 1.04 LFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
MCKV Institute of Engineering - [MCKVIE] Howrah
REVIEWS RATING
7.1 /10
BE/B.Tech 4.8 1.16 LFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Durgapur Institute of Advanced Technology & Management - [DIATM]
REVIEWS RATING
7 /10
BE/B.Tech 4.5 80 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES

Nearby Colleges

National Institute of Technology - [NIT]
REVIEWS RATING
7.7 /10
BE/B.Tech 7.4 1.49 LFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Bengal College of Engineering and Technology - [BCET]
REVIEWS RATING
7.1 /10
BE/B.Tech 4.9 1.04 LFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Bengal College of Engineering - [BCE]
REVIEWS RATING
5.7 /10
BE/B.Tech 4.9 98.50 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
The New Horizons Institute of Technology - [NHIT]
REVIEWS RATING
8.2 /10
Diploma in Engineering 4.7 1.48 LTotal Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Durgapur Institute of Advanced Technology & Management - [DIATM]
REVIEWS RATING
7 /10
BE/B.Tech 4.5 80 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Sanaka Educational Trust's Group of Institutions- [SETGOI]
REVIEWS RATING
7.9 /10
BE/B.Tech 4.4 1.02 LFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES

NewsView All

MAKAUT Time Table
May 03, 2021
MAKAUT Time Table

The Time Table for the Maulana Abul Kalam Azad University of Technology has been published on the university's official website, makautexam.net.  On this page, students can view the MAKAUT Time Table. MAKAUT Time Table shows the exam date, time, day, stream, paper code, an

JEE Main 2021 (March) Schedule Revised, Exam to Commence From March 16; Check Here
March 14, 2021
JEE Main 2021 (March) Schedule Revised, Exam to Commence From March 16; Check Here

March 14, 2021: National Test Agency (NTA) has revised the examination dates for JEE 2021 session. According to the revised schedule, the exam will now commence from March 16, 2021.  As per JEE Main 2021 Revised Schedule, the examination for the March session will begin on March 16, 2021, an

CMAT 2021 Exam Date Postponed, Application Window Reopened @cmat.nta.nic.in; Check Revised Exam Pattern, Dates Here
February 15, 2021
CMAT 2021 Exam Date Postponed, Application Window Reopened @cmat.nta.nic.in; Check Revised Exam Pattern, Dates Here

CMAT 2021 exam date has been postponed to the last week of March or first week of April 2021. National Testing Agency (NTA) is yet to release the exact dates, however, the CMAT 2021 application window has been reopened at the official website: cmat.nta.nic.in.  Earlier, CMAT 2

GATE 2021 Environmental Science and Engineering (ES) Paper Analysis (Available), Question Paper and Answer Key
February 08, 2021
GATE 2021 Environmental Science and Engineering (ES) Paper Analysis (Available), Question Paper and Answer Key

GATE 2021 Environmental Science & Engineering (ES) paper is one of the two newly introduced papers in GATE 2021. The paper was successfully conducted in the afternoon session on February 7, 2021. According to the initial students’ reaction, the overall difficulty level of the paper was eas

GATE 2021 Biomedical Engineering (BM) Paper Analysis, Question Paper and Answer Key
February 05, 2021
GATE 2021 Biomedical Engineering (BM) Paper Analysis, Question Paper and Answer Key

GATE 2021 Biomedical Engineering (BM) paper is scheduled to be conducted on February 6, 2021. The paper will be held in the afternoon session from 15:00- 18:00 hrs.GATE 2021 Biomedical Engineering Paper Analysis will be updated here soon after the conclusion of the exam based on the initial student

GATE 2021: Last-minute Preparation Tips
February 01, 2021
GATE 2021: Last-minute Preparation Tips

GATE 2021 is just a week away and is scheduled to be conducted on Feb 6, 7, 13 & 14, 2021 in two sessions- Forenoon and Afternoon. Within these few days, students should practice, analyze and revise the course thoroughly without feeling stressed. Getting at least a minimum of six-hour sleep and

GATE 2021 Exam Day Guidelines and Important Instructions
January 28, 2021
GATE 2021 Exam Day Guidelines and Important Instructions

GATE 2021 is scheduled to be conducted on February 6, 7, 13 and 14 in two sessions- Forenoon (9:30- 12:30 hrs) and Afternoon (15:00- 18:00 hrs). IIT Bombay has released the exam day guidelines for smooth conduct of GATE 2021 and for the safety of students, staff involved in conducting the exam and t

JEE Main Test Series Trigonometry: Previous Year Questions & Solutions and Quick Formulas for Revision
January 26, 2021
JEE Main Test Series Trigonometry: Previous Year Questions & Solutions and Quick Formulas for Revision

Trigonometry is one of the most important topics in JEE Main exam. Every year about 1-3 questions are asked from this topic. The overall weightage of Trigonometry in JEE Main Question Paper is of 7%. Mostly questions asked on Trigonometry can be solved by simply applying trigonometry formulae, howev

interested in this College ?

Top Courses
B.Tech Computer Science Engineering AVG FEE - ₹ 93,920/Yr
4 Years
4 Years
B.Tech Electrical Engineering AVG FEE - ₹ 93,920/Yr
4 Years
Other Colleges In The Same Group
Placements
company
company
company
company
company
company
Faculties
Dr. Sanjay Biswas Professor, Department of Computer Science & Engineering
Dr. Chandan Konar Professor & HOD, Department of Computer Science & Engineering
Bappaditya Das Assistant Professor, Department of Computer Science & Engineering
Reviews
8.6 /10 Student Satisfactory Rating

"A Walk Through BCREC"

Being a guy from Durgapur itself I formerly had a very wrong perception about the college. I presumed that this institution won't stand a chance besides other colleges of great fame. But naturally due to the COVID situation I got up to this college and now I realize that I'm actually blessed. The foremost thing to talk about would be the arena it creates for all students. The best thing is that it endeavors all sorts of talents in students and helps them nurture them to their fullest. I like the thing that only this college had once got into a special guest SRIKANTO ACHARYA, who has a splendid singer from KOLKATA. Such rich culture about Music is truly fascinating about this college. Bes

by Tanmoy
7.3 /10 Student Satisfactory Rating

"More internship more experience"

The college has a good campus. Facilities are so interactive and supportive. Academic is too good, lab, library all are well maintained. Placement is also good with an average package salary. The location is also super up. The college has a well maintained management system. The college takes admission through wbjee, jee mains, and donation too. Overall it's a good college in West Bengal so you can go for it.

by Subhash Kumar
8 /10 Student Satisfactory Rating

I chose this college because one of my relatives had studied here and now she is in a very good company. I referred collegedunia, shiksha.com to check the ratings and reviews about the college. This college has everything what a student needs whether it be academics or extra curricular activities and of course the placement is very good. This college assures 100% ragging free campus. The infrastructure the labs and auditoriums are very well equipped. So, if anyone is thinking of joining this college, he/she should go for it. Also, this college received award for excellence in education last year.

by Sudeepta Kar
Students also visited
Bengal College of Engineering - [BCE]
Bengal College of Engineering - [BCE], DurgapurBE/B.Tech, ₹98.50 K First Year Fees
5.7
RCC Institute of Information Technology - [RCCIIT]
7.2
Institute of Engineering and Management - [IEM]
7.5
Heritage Institute of Technology - [HIT]
Heritage Institute of Technology - [HIT], KolkataBE/B.Tech, ₹1.16 L First Year Fees
7.8
Haldia Institute of Technology - [HIT]
Haldia Institute of Technology - [HIT], HaldiaBE/B.Tech, ₹1.16 L First Year Fees
7.8
NSHM Knowledge Campus
NSHM Knowledge Campus, DurgapurBBA/BBM, ₹1.68 L First Year Fees
8.3
BP Poddar Institute of Management and Technology
7.4
Asansol Engineering College - [AEC]
Asansol Engineering College - [AEC], AsansolBE/B.Tech, ₹1.34 L First Year Fees
7.8
Netaji Subhash Engineering College - [NSEC]
Netaji Subhash Engineering College - [NSEC], KolkataBE/B.Tech, ₹99.50 K First Year Fees
7.4