Heritage Institute of Technology - [HIT], Kolkata - Reviews

Kolkata, West Bengal AICTE, NBA Estd 2001 MAKAUT, Kolkata Private (Autonomous) NAAC Grade B++ 8 Questions Answered Ranked 154 For B.Tech By NIRF 2020 +2 more

College Rating

Based on 276 Students RatingClaim this college

7.8 out of 10
7.8/10Academic
7.0/10Accommodation
7.8/10Faculty
8.4/10Infrastructure
7.5/10Placement
8.2/10Social Life
Filter By
StreamCourse TagCourseBatch
SORT BY :
Relevance

Engineering (242)
Computer Applications (3)
Commerce (2)
Management (1)
Computer Applications (1)

Most Popular Tags

Cement (216)
Campus (171)
Engineering (134)
Colleg (131)
Heritage (116)
Technology (107)
Fee Structure (89)
Course Curriculum (85)
Semester Fee (81)
Semester Exam (73)
Basketball (52)
Internal Exam (51)
Good Placement (48)
Cent Placement (46)
Computer Science (37)

276 Reviews found


AS
9.7 /10

Remarks :

It is a good place to be if you could not make it to the premium institutes of the country, it gives you all the same facilities and brilliant social exposure, nice lifestyle and various opportunities to grow and showcase both your academic and non-academic talents, inspiring and motivating teachers to guide you. Large and beautiful campus with all sports facilities, big library, smart classes. All you need to do is study hard stay motivated throughout your engineering journey, and you will achieve everything studying from here only.

Placement Experience :

Placement ratio has been really good this year. TCS, Infosys, Cognizant are the mass recruiter. Around 80% of student got placed so far. Average salary is around 4LPA.Student who have programming background are the one who got placed.

10 /10 faculty
10 /10 placement
10 /10 college
10 /10 course
9 /10 hostel
9 /10 campus life
report
Read More
IT
6.5 /10

Remarks :

Good Aspects: Not very strict Average placement Good reputation in state. Bad Aspects: No hostel Big companies do not visit campus for placements. Admission process: WBJEE counselling decides about counselling dates and process.

Admission :

Three modes of admission WBJEE, Jee main and management quota. I gave wbjee 2020 and secured AIR 10 thousand and marks 40/200.

6 /10 faculty
6 /10 placement
9 /10 social life
6 /10 course
4 /10 hostel
8 /10 campus life
report
Read More
AP
9.2 /10

Remarks :

Placement and the college campus itself.One if the best private institutions in kolkata,with very good culture and more than average college staffs.Overall for me it is the best institution atleast in Kolkata.

Placement Experience :

Amazon visits here with yearly package of more than 30 lakhs than many other mnc companies like tcs wipro Infosys are there too.

9 /10 faculty
10 /10 placement
9 /10 social life
9 /10 course
9 /10 hostel
9 /10 campus life
report
Read More
SJ
8.8 /10

Remarks :

Location from my home was very near and this is a very important factor because it saved my daily travelling time. Second factor could be that my college has a good ranking in its city. Probably in top 5 engineering college.

Admission :

Admission criteria was a candidate needs to have 60% aggregate marks in class 12 & 10. A candidate needs to qualify webjee exam with good rank around 1000-2000 to get computer science and engineering

7 /10 faculty
10 /10 placement
10 /10 social life
9 /10 course
9 /10 hostel
8 /10 campus life
report
Read More
SG
9.2 /10

Remarks :

They have great placement cell. The package students get every year is quite high than other colleges. Moreover faculties are also good. The campus is good and huge. The laboratories are also great. Teacher cares about their students difficulties. In lab every day u will get chances to do new experiments with your teachers help.

Placement Experience :

The cse, ece, it have the highest placement percentage. Many famous companies like TCS, WIPRO, COGNIZANT, TCL, HCL etc companies visit our college. Even world's largest company like Amazon also visited our college. Many students get their job letter even after 3 rd year surely. So the placement of Heritage is very very good. No need to doubt.

10 /10 faculty
9 /10 placement
10 /10 social life
9 /10 course
8 /10 hostel
9 /10 campus life
report
Read More
S
7.3 /10

Placement Experience :

From the 5th semester, I was eligible for placements. During my time almost 10 companies visited. IBM, TCS had 60% overall criteria. So I wasn't able to sit in that. But I am happy not to seat in that. The college will provide only 1 offer to 1 candidate. Means, if you have 1 offer letter, then you will not be invited to any other placements later on except its package is bigger than double. For placements, I can say deserving candidates got placed. But the package was not good enough. Cerner offered 6.2L, keros with 4L, TCS, Mindtree, IBM had 3.5L offer, remain offered too less that I don't want to share. Cerner recruited 12 of us( I was included). 28 out of 50 were placed. Don't take it low. Actually, remain were not deserving at all( except 1or 2 who didn't want to sit).

Remarks :

The good thing was: 1.college campus. It is so much large. 2. Extra-curricular activities, however, you have to find it's existence by yourself as their advertisement is not so loud 3. Library. Huge collection of books with different topics. Moderate things include: 1. Faculties: It seems to occur everywhere that you will not like every one of your faculties. Same here for me also, I will not take name but some are exceptionally good in their knowledge then some just ranked as a professor. But their proportion is so less that you can ignore this. 2. Administration: I can't say the administration is good but I have to admit that they are not bad too. It's so simple to understand if you simply go to college for studies keeping your goal, then you will have no problem with the administration but another side, they are a bit strict with their rules which include ragging, etc.

6 /10 placement
8 /10 college
7 /10 course
8 /10 campus life
report
Read More
PP
6.3 /10

Placement Experience :

The overall placements to our department is very poor. More or less, approximately 30 or 40% students get placed either in IT companies or in TCS. And, the rest go to pursue higher studies. From 3rd year, the students become eligible for the campusing. The famous companies, that come to our college in every year are TCS, Wipros, Capgemini, Ashok Leyland, L & T, HCL, etc. The highest package in our branch is 6 LPA and the minimum is 3 LPA and the average is 4 LPA. I want to get placed in any of the core industry, to be able to explore my knowledge as expandable as I can. That's why, I want to go for off campus job and to sit for written exam and interview, to those companies which recruit freshers without experience. Or, else I will do the higher studies.

Remarks :

This college is considered to be the best in the eastern region of the west bengal. The infrastructure, labs, classroom all are of high quality, having extraordinary facility, along with the projector for better understanding. All the teacher and the technical stuffs are friendly and are ready to help you, whenever need. The college is basically like a college, not very strict, you can find it at ease to deal with in any case. But, the overall campusing is really very badonly for our core departments, e.g. Mechanical Engineering. Most of the students, go to the TCS or IT based industries or some of them go to puruse higher studies. While, selecting, this college came to my mind, after about this college from many of my elder friends and brothers, and told me that, in private colleges, this is the best, one can assure. The admission process is same as that for the other colleges. I took admission through my GMR via WBJEE, in my very 1st counselling.

6 /10 placement
6 /10 college
6 /10 course
5 /10 interview
6 /10 internship
9 /10 campus life
report
Read More
S
5.0 /10

Remarks :

Various Youtube reviews and videos. Moreover from the internet i thought to prefer it in the 2nd position after IEM.Due to rank i got allocated in HIT and thus took admission here.Moreover it is very near to my house and various techers recommended it too.

Placement Experience :

The job opportunities are quite good in the non core departments like in the CSE,IT branches. Ece students also gets places but the ratio is quite less. However in the placements the core department suffers as only few students gets place who is very good in coding and that too in the IT companies.Majority of the companies are mass recruiters and IT companies and a very few tech companies with good descent package comes in our college. Many students also get placed inn the off campus placements.And a quite good number of students opt for the Masters.

6 /10 faculty
5 /10 placement
4 /10 social life
report
Read More
PS
9.3 /10

Remarks :

The college is ranked as one of the top private colleges of Kolkata.The infrastructure of this college is really awesome.The placement ratio is also good here.Many MNCs like TCS, Capgemini,Wipro, Cognizant, Infosys are the mass recruiters here.Besides the college is ideal to enjoy the college life.There are many playgrounds inside the campus.There are several technical and cultural clubs which are an ideal platform to showcase your talents and also do something productive.About the academics,the faculties are really helpful and there are lots of scopes of doing projects.Classes are held regularly here.Being an autonomous college under MAKAUT,the syllabus is slightly different and very good for the total growth of the students.The densities of the classes are also within 60.So the students get enough chance to interact with the facilities and get their doubts cleared.Overall,the college is a descent one which made me choose this college.

Placement Experience :

The placement statistics is good in this college.MNCs like TCS Capgemini Wipro Cognizant Infosys come as mass recruiters.Amazon microsoft are also some of the high package giving companies.The roles offered are mostly analyst, software developer, software Engineer, operations manager etc.

10 /10 faculty
8 /10 placement
10 /10 social life
report
Read More
S
9.0 /10

Remarks :

It has highly qualified professors and also the lab is very well equipped. Also I want to pursue higher studies in my field and heritage was the best possible option I got with my rank. And also the campus is verry goodlooking and many activities except studies can be perused. Its a culturally rich family we have in our college.

Placement Experience :

It is pretty good. Almost 80 percent people got jobs but I am not interested in doing job just after graduation. I am more interested reaserch fields.

9 /10 faculty
8 /10 placement
10 /10 social life
report
Read More

Heritage Institute of Technology - [HIT], Kolkata : 8 answered questions

VIEW ALL

Ques. Which is better: KIIT University or Heritage Institute of Technology?

● Top Answer By Susmriti Dey on 20 May 21

Ans. KIIT has more dominance in the educational sector than that of Heritage Institute of Technology due to several reasons. Both of them are private institutions, but KIIT has more tie-ups with universities abroad for special programs than Heritage.  When speaking about education we have to keep the factors of Fees, Alumni, and Placements, etc. KIIT has emerged with great colors when compared to Heritage in almost all the stats.  KIIT has a better infrastructure and campus overall. My labs are exquisitely made and well designed.  Categories KIIT University Heritage Institute of Technology Course Fee 9.75 - 18.99 lakh 2.95 - 3.93 lakh Placement Percentage 70% 95% Highest CTC 39 LPA 10-20 LPA Average CTC 6 LPA 4 LPA Recruiting Companies Dell, JSW Cement, Tata Steel, HCL, etc. TCS, Wipro, Infosys, IBM, etc. Heritage, when compared to KIIT, has less number of companies visiting the campus and the placement packages don’t go so high. At KIIT placements of all kinds are made and dream companies visit the university and recruit some capable students. KIIT is also better connected to the industry due to its internships and brand name. KIIT has higher exposure for the students in the market because of its wide alumni network and the recognition it has gained over the years.Read more
0
0
1 Answer
●●●

Ques. Which one is better: IEM Kolkata or HIT Kolkata for IT?

● Top Answer By Kajal Agarwal on 12 Apr 21

Ans. IEM Kolkata ranks higher than HIT Kolkata in various rankings. But when it comes to placement, both the institute have similar placement statistics. An almost similar set of IT mass recruit companies visit both te campuses with the same CTC.  Here is a brief overview of the IT program offered by the institutes. Parameters IEM Kolkata HIT Kolkata Placement Average  90% 80% Highest CTC 40 LPA 8 LPA Major Recruiters  Cognizant, Capgemini, Infosys, etc.  TCS, Wipro, Infosys, ITC, BYJU’s, Nine Leaves If you want a happening campus life go for HIT Kolkata. It has a sprawling campus with good infrastructural facilities. IEM lacks that as it is situated in the heart of the corporate center in Kolkata.Read more
0
0
1 Answer
●●●

Ques. Should I prefer IEM Kolkata IT or Heritage institute technology ECE?

● Top Answer By Devdeep Chatterjee on 22 Mar 21

Ans. Doing BTech from a WBUT college is not going to help you much with anything. I know a number of Heritage ECE graduates working in software companies. Also, very few IEM ECE graduates get a core-sector job from the campus placement. If you want to pursue higher studies, choose a stream you are interested in. IT and ECE both are good options. These two branches even have many topics in common such as Circuit Theory, Control systems, Microprocessors, DBMS, Data Structure, Analysis and Design of Electronics systems, Communication, Financial Management, Industrial Management.  If you want to go for management, the choice of the branch does not matter. In case you are applying for GATE or GRE, choosing IT or ECE will help.  There are more placement opportunities in IEM than at Heritage Institute Technology. But the Indian IT firms do not differentiate between branches. Sometimes, they don’t even differentiate between degrees like BTech, MCA or MSc too. For securing placement you only need the required skills. However, placements depend on the academic year on which you are passing out, and the industry requirement. IEM has got discipline, punctuality, and strictness when it comes to studies. The college also critically follows a strict dress-code. IEM is getting transparent and does not ask for unnecessary fees. College life at IEM is similar to school life but at the end of four years, you are likely to have a secured job.  Both of these colleges do not offer world-class facilities and teaching. So, don't expect that. There are few good faculties in IEM. The placements are mostly from mass recruiters such as TCS, CTS, Wipro, and Infosys of around 4 LPA packages. Heritage is also a good alternative. But IEM is more reputed among students.Read more
0
0
1 Answer
●●●

Ques. Which is better for chemical engineering, Haldia Institute of Technology or Heritage Institute of Technology, Kolkata?

● Top Answer By OP Sharma on 29 Jan 21

Ans. Both colleges are on par with one other in terms of faculty and academics. Both, Haldia Institute of Technology and Heritage Institute of Technology are approved by AICTE and private universities located in West Bengal. But if you are passionate about chemical engineering, aim for IITs. Both colleges offer Bachelors in Technology in Chemical Engineering. Discussed below are some details about the Chemical Engineering courses offered by these two institutes.  Category Haldia Institute of Technology Heritage Institute of Technology Entrance Exam WBJEE WBJEE Total Fees Rs. 3.61 Lakhs Rs. 3.93 Lakhs Total Seats 60 60 About 7-8 years ago, all or most of the current faculty of the Heritage Institute of Technology used to be part of the Haldia institute of technology. So there is no big difference in the degrees offered by these two institutes. You only get different degree certificates from HIT and MAKAUT. Above all, it is suggested to prepare for JEE so that you can choose a better or equivalent institute to IIT. Because college name matters.Read more
0
0
1 Answer
●●●

Ques. Is UEM Kolkata better than the Heritage Institute of Technology?

● Top Answer By Akankshya Pattanaik on 05 Oct 20

Ans. UEM Kolkata is ranked 3rd best college in West Bengal and is currently at the 79th Position in NIRF ranking. Heritage Institute of Technology is at the 154th position in the engineering category of the NIRF ranking.  Admission:  UME- The institute offers various courses at UG and PG level, such as BBA, BCA, B.Sc, B.Sc LL.B, BBA LL.B, Bachelor of Hotel Management, MBA, etc. For UEM, the admissions are entrance scores based. It accepts IEM JEE, CAT, MAT, JECA scores for admission to different courses. Heritage Institute of Technology- The popular courses at Heritage are B.Tech, M.Tech, MCA. For admission, it accepts JEE Mains, PGETand JECA scores.  Placement: UEM- It has a placement percentage of 123%; almost all the students get 2-3 job offers.  The average package is nearly 4.2 Lakhs per annum. The highest package offered was 40 Lakhs per annum in 2019 placements.  Top recruiting companies of the college are- TCS, Wipro, Videonetics, Codeclouds, NRI Fintech, Think analytics, Global Logic, etc. Heritage Institute of Technology- Heritage has a placement rate of 78%.  The average package offered is 4 Lakhs per annum. The highest package goes up to 16 Lakhs per annum.  Top employers’ of the college are TCS, Tech Mahindra, IBM, Cerner Corporation, Ericson, Birla, and DX Core Design. Both UEM and Heritage are reputed institutes of Kolkata. So, choose which institute will be better for you according to your convenience.Read more
0
0
1 Answer
●●●

Comments



NO COMMENTS TO SHOW

Similar Colleges

Academy of Technology -  [AOT]
REVIEWS RATING
8.1 /10

Academy of Technology - [AOT]

Hooghly, West Bengal
BE/B.Tech 4.4 1.04 LFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Techno International New Town - [TINT]
REVIEWS RATING
7.3 /10
BE/B.Tech 4.8 97.50 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
BP Poddar Institute of Management and Technology
REVIEWS RATING
7.4 /10
BE/B.Tech 4.5 1.15 LFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
University of Engineering and Management - [UEM]
REVIEWS RATING
8.1 /10
BE/B.Tech 5.1 1.61 LFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Bengal Institute of Technology - [BIT]
REVIEWS RATING
7.4 /10
Techno India University
REVIEWS RATING
8 /10

Techno India University

Kolkata, West Bengal
BE/B.Tech 5.3 89.20 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES

Nearby Colleges

Institute of Engineering and Management - [IEM]
REVIEWS RATING
7.5 /10
BE/B.Tech 6.5 1.68 LFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Maulana Abul Kalam Azad University of Technology - [MAKAUT]
REVIEWS RATING
7.7 /10
BE/B.Tech 6.2 49 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Narula Institute of Technology - [NIT Agarpara]
REVIEWS RATING
8 /10
BE/B.Tech 6.2 1.30 LFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Techno India University
REVIEWS RATING
8 /10

Techno India University

Kolkata, West Bengal
BE/B.Tech 5.3 89.20 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Brainware University
REVIEWS RATING
7.7 /10

Brainware University

Kolkata, West Bengal
BE/B.Tech 5.2 4.35 LTotal Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
University of Engineering and Management - [UEM]
REVIEWS RATING
8.1 /10
BE/B.Tech 5.1 1.61 LFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES

NewsView All

MAKAUT Time Table
June 04, 2021
MAKAUT Time Table

The Time Table for the Maulana Abul Kalam Azad University of Technology has been published on the university's official website, makautexam.net.  On this page, students can view the MAKAUT Time Table. MAKAUT Time Table shows the exam date, time, day, stream, paper code, an

GATE 2021 Environmental Science and Engineering (ES) Paper Analysis (Available), Question Paper and Answer Key
February 08, 2021
GATE 2021 Environmental Science and Engineering (ES) Paper Analysis (Available), Question Paper and Answer Key

GATE 2021 Environmental Science & Engineering (ES) paper is one of the two newly introduced papers in GATE 2021. The paper was successfully conducted in the afternoon session on February 7, 2021. According to the initial students’ reaction, the overall difficulty level of the paper was eas

GATE 2021 Biomedical Engineering (BM) Paper Analysis, Question Paper and Answer Key
February 05, 2021
GATE 2021 Biomedical Engineering (BM) Paper Analysis, Question Paper and Answer Key

GATE 2021 Biomedical Engineering (BM) paper is scheduled to be conducted on February 6, 2021. The paper will be held in the afternoon session from 15:00- 18:00 hrs.GATE 2021 Biomedical Engineering Paper Analysis will be updated here soon after the conclusion of the exam based on the initial student

GATE 2021: Last-minute Preparation Tips
February 01, 2021
GATE 2021: Last-minute Preparation Tips

GATE 2021 is just a week away and is scheduled to be conducted on Feb 6, 7, 13 & 14, 2021 in two sessions- Forenoon and Afternoon. Within these few days, students should practice, analyze and revise the course thoroughly without feeling stressed. Getting at least a minimum of six-hour sleep and

GATE 2021 Exam Day Guidelines and Important Instructions
January 28, 2021
GATE 2021 Exam Day Guidelines and Important Instructions

GATE 2021 is scheduled to be conducted on February 6, 7, 13 and 14 in two sessions- Forenoon (9:30- 12:30 hrs) and Afternoon (15:00- 18:00 hrs). IIT Bombay has released the exam day guidelines for smooth conduct of GATE 2021 and for the safety of students, staff involved in conducting the exam and t

WBJEE 2021: Board Delays Issue of Notification; Check Expected Exam Dates Here
January 19, 2021
WBJEE 2021: Board Delays Issue of Notification; Check Expected Exam Dates Here

West Bengal Joint Entrance Examination Board (WBJEEB) has delayed the issue of notification for conducting the West Bengal Joint Entrance Examination (WBJEE) 2021. In the year 2020, the WBJEEB had released the WBJEE 2021 notification in October 2019 and in February 2020, the entrance examination

GATE 2021 Exam Day Process, Guidelines for Candidates Released; Check Details Here
January 18, 2021
GATE 2021 Exam Day Process, Guidelines for Candidates Released; Check Details Here

IIT Bombay has released the exam day guidelines of GATE 2021 which is scheduled to be conducted in the month of February 2021. An informatory video has been released listing the guidelines which should be followed on the GATE 2021 exam days. During the day of the exam, candidates will be requi

WBJEE 2020 Counselling: Last Date to Apply is Dec 27; Check Details Here
December 21, 2020
WBJEE 2020 Counselling: Last Date to Apply is Dec 27; Check Details Here

Department of Higher Education, Govt. of West Bengal is accepting online applications from the candidates with valid merit rank in the WBJEE 2020 for admission to B.Tech courses of Electronics and Instrumentation Engineering (E.I.E.) and Information Technology (I.T.) for the year 2020-21. Student

interested in this College ?

Top Courses
B.Tech Computer Science Engineering AVG FEE - ₹ 98,350/Yr
4 Years
B.Tech Electrical Engineering AVG FEE - ₹ 98,350/Yr
4 Years
4 Years
Placements
Highest Package 1,600,000
Average Package 400,000
company
company
company
company
company
company
Faculties
Dr. Srabanti Basu Professor & Head, Department of Biotechnology
Dr. Riddhi Goswami Assistant Professor, Department of Biotechnology
Dr. Sulagna Chatterjee Professor & Head, Department of Chemical Engineering
Reviews
8.8 /10 Student Satisfactory Rating

"Best Private College in Bengal for Engineering"

The admission process for 2020 was tedious almost, it took 3 months this time due to covid for admissions. But generally, it is done within 1 month.No I haven't availed any quota, but there are quotas as per govt rules for students. Admission in our college can be done via WBJEE, JEE Main, Management quota(80% reserved through WBJEE), minimum marks around 80-90 in WBJEE required to get for top branches, it depends on ranking every year(if under 3000-3500, you are confident to get top branches here, like CSE, IT, ECE). The Counseling was done this year online and we are allotted colleges as per score, it is done in 3 rounds

by Student
7.4 /10 Student Satisfactory Rating

"About Heritage Institute of Technology"

I am a West Bengal JEE candidate for 2020. Thus during my admissions, Covid 19 pandemic was going on. The admissions were conducted through the online portal of the WBJEE board. I had options to select from Heritage and some contemporary colleges. However, Heritage was among my top preferred college because of its world-class facilities. The criteria of admissions were based on your JEE rank.

by Chirayush
10 /10 Student Satisfactory Rating

"Go for it"

The admission criteria is very simple and easy just go for heritage Institute of technology for choosing best engineering colleges in kolkata and grab the seats before it gets booked. If you scored max 20000 rank in wbjee you will seats according to your choice but because of limited seats first come service is applicable. With the proper documents like wbjee or jee mains result 12th and 10th marksheet and pass certificates tha school leaving certificates aadhar card and the admission fees are the mains requirements during the admission process.

by Niharika nidhi
Students also visited
RCC Institute of Information Technology - [RCCIIT]
7.5
Kalyani Government Engineering College - [KGEC]
Kalyani Government Engineering College - [KGEC], NadiaBE/B.Tech, ₹16.16 K First Year Fees
7.9
Institute of Engineering and Management - [IEM]
7.5
Techno India Salt Lake
Techno India Salt Lake, KolkataBE/B.Tech, ₹4.84 L Total Fees
7.5
Narula Institute of Technology - [NIT Agarpara]
8.0
Meghnad Saha Institute of Technology - [MSIT]
7.4
Haldia Institute of Technology - [HIT]
Haldia Institute of Technology - [HIT], HaldiaBE/B.Tech, ₹1.16 L First Year Fees
7.8
Netaji Subhash Engineering College - [NSEC]
Netaji Subhash Engineering College - [NSEC], KolkataBE/B.Tech, ₹99.50 K First Year Fees
7.4