Maheshtala College, Kolkata - Reviews

Kolkata, West Bengal Estd 1971 University of Calcutta, Kolkata Public NAAC

College Rating

Based on 25 Students RatingClaim this college

7.5 out of 10
7.9/10Academic
7.5/10Accommodation
7.7/10Faculty
7.6/10Infrastructure
6.4/10Placement
7.6/10Social Life
Filter By
StreamCourse TagCourseBatch
SORT BY :
Relevance

Arts (8)
Science (3)
Admission (21)
Faculty (17)
Internship (14)
Semester (13)
Fee Structure (12)
Course Curriculum (11)
Year Fee (11)
Application Form (8)
Campus (8)
Extra Curricular (7)
Total Fee (7)
Calcutta (6)
Job Available (6)
Time Job (6)
Extracurricular (5)

25 Reviews found


S
7.3 /10

Admission :

I got admission into the college because I had the aggregated marks of my top four subjects were 50% above in my 12th standard, which was the requirement of the course i chose. I was shortlisted into the subject combinations course and had to go to the college for documentation.

Placement Experience :

There are a variety of placement and internship opportunities provided by the college. Most of the companies that visited were local radio stations, printing presses, television stations. We also got to do field works for these places with the guidance of our HOD.

9 /10 faculty
6 /10 placement
7 /10 social life
report
Read More
T
7.3 /10

Admission :

If you want to see what competition really is fill the application form of this college. There are several applicants who applied for this college as admission was based on merit list we have nothing in a hands just after we got our result we applied for this college in one week or two they release their first merit list which was of 84% and my percentage was 86% and therefore I became happy member of this college.

Placement Experience :

Their internships offers were better than the placement offers... During our summers, internships were compulsory for the students.....this helped us in getting good jobs.... placement offers were not up to the mark.. packages offered by the companies was merely between 15k to 20k.

7 /10 faculty
7 /10 placement
8 /10 social life
report
Read More
PG
6.3 /10

Admission :

I got admission directly in the college based on my performance at the class 12th level. I obtained 85 percentage marks in aggregate at the 10 + 2 level and based on that score I made an application in the college for admission by filling in the detailed application form after purchasing it from the counter of the reception. Once my application was accepted and documents were verified I was granted the admission.Being a popular and almost 50 years old college in our area it was a natural choice for me.

Placement Experience :

Placement and job opportunities are not very good in our college. Though the Calcutta University organises job fair getting a good offer there is not possible because mostly thereare 10+2 level low paying jobs at offer. Internships are not offered for most of the Science based and other courses and in my course it is not necessary.

7 /10 faculty
5 /10 placement
5 /10 social life
7 /10 course
6 /10 hostel
8 /10 campus life
report
Read More
S
6.7 /10

Remarks :

The college is affiliated to Calcutta university. And is really good for education of the students of minority communities. The campus is good. And allover college life here is great. I am experiencing worth remembering days here.

Admission :

I got my admission here on the basis of my merit. You have to pass 10+2 with atleast 45% Online applications are been filled for the further procedure of admission. There are limited seats in every department. I chose journalism over any other course as I want to be a news reporter .

7 /10 faculty
5 /10 placement
8 /10 social life
report
Read More
R
7.0 /10

Remarks :

My college is really good. The fees is very feasible, the campus life is great. Various Cocurricularchere activities are performed for students by students. And it's also affiliated to the university of Calcutta.

Admission :

I chose this course as I have a keen desire to be in the field of journalism also it's an emerging field today. You don't have to give any interview or entrance exam in my college. Your admission is merit based. And you have to fill online application and give Rs.150 as the fee of application for the admission.

7 /10 faculty
6 /10 placement
8 /10 social life
report
Read More
TK
7.8 /10

Admission :

I got admission into this college through the higher secondary examination marks. you need to apply online in order to get admission into this college for which you need to upload your passport size photograph and signature and then bring other valuable documents for verification.

Course Curriculum Overview :

The college provide bachelor's degree in Science commerce and arts both honours and general degree. My course of bsc has been really good. There are mid term internals practicals and two semesters per year.

7 /10 faculty
7 /10 placement
8 /10 social life
8 /10 course
9 /10 hostel
8 /10 campus life
report
Read More
D
7.3 /10

Admission :

I have been selected directly in this college based on my profession at the class 12th.My mask was 85% marks in 10 + 2 you and I have filled the application form of this college. My application was accepted and the documents were verified and this college is corporate and also so it is 50 years old college in our area that is why I recommend to take admission in this college

Course Curriculum Overview :

For the course syllabus of all the UG level and PG level courses along with the certification course the college relies on the guidelines and instructions from the Calcutta University. As per the rules semester wise division of the program is done where whereby semester examinations are held two times in a year.

8 /10 faculty
5 /10 placement
8 /10 social life
8 /10 course
8 /10 hostel
7 /10 campus life
report
Read More
J
8.0 /10

Remarks :

Overall , this is a great college for good and feasible fees . the environment is fine for the studies and people are very helpful and supportive of you. The infrastructure is nice and after getting a degree here you will have many options for further also.

7 /10 faculty
8 /10 placement
9 /10 social life
7 /10 course
9 /10 hostel
8 /10 campus life
report
Read More
A
7.2 /10

Admission :

The admission did not require any entrance exam. Their only eligibility was at least 50% marks in 12th class after which they called us up for an interview on merit basis. Students selected in the interview process would join the session.

Placement Experience :

Since my course is a basic bachelor's degree there are no placement opportunities for us and most of the students go for further studies so there is no need as well. If any student wants to take up a job, he or she has to do it on his own.

7 /10 faculty
6 /10 placement
8 /10 social life
8 /10 course
7 /10 hostel
7 /10 campus life
report
Read More
T
7.3 /10

Admission :

My admission process was easy. All I had to do was register on their official website and the eligibility criteria was 50% marks in 12th class. There are no entrance exams and students are selected on merit basis.

Placement Experience :

There are no placement and internship opportunities available in my college. The students have to look for jobs themselves after getting completing the education. But the kind of education that the college provides prepares us for the jobs that we want.

8 /10 faculty
5 /10 placement
8 /10 social life
8 /10 course
6 /10 hostel
9 /10 campus life
report
Read More

Comments



NO COMMENTS TO SHOW

Similar Colleges

Rammohan College
REVIEWS RATING
7.4 /10

Rammohan College

Kolkata, West Bengal
BA 4.9 2.96 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
New Alipore College
REVIEWS RATING
7.1 /10

New Alipore College

Kolkata, West Bengal
BA 5.66 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Brahmananda Keshab Chandra College - [BKCC]
REVIEWS RATING
7.1 /10
B.Sc 6.47 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Barasat College
REVIEWS RATING
6.3 /10

Barasat College

Kolkata, West Bengal
Bangabasi College
REVIEWS RATING
7 /10

Bangabasi College

Kolkata, West Bengal
B.Sc 7.27 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Ananda Mohan College - [AMC]
REVIEWS RATING
6.5 /10

Ananda Mohan College - [AMC]

Kolkata, West Bengal
B.Sc 5.12 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES

Nearby Colleges

University of Calcutta
REVIEWS RATING
7.7 /10

University of Calcutta

Kolkata, West Bengal
MA 8.2 2.31 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Presidency University
REVIEWS RATING
8.1 /10

Presidency University

Kolkata, West Bengal
BA 8.1 2 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
St. Xavier's College - [SXC]
REVIEWS RATING
8.3 /10

St. Xavier's College - [SXC]

Kolkata, West Bengal
BA 7.8 32.60 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Jadavpur University - [JU]
REVIEWS RATING
8.4 /10

Jadavpur University - [JU]

Kolkata, West Bengal
BA 7.4 2.40 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Loreto College
REVIEWS RATING
8.3 /10

Loreto College

Kolkata, West Bengal
BA 6.9 21.94 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Gokhale Memorial Girls' College
REVIEWS RATING
7.8 /10

Gokhale Memorial Girls' College

Kolkata, West Bengal
BA 6.5 13.42 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES

NewsView All

Calcutta University VC: Practical Classes can be Held on University Campus; Read Details
January 14, 2021
Calcutta University VC: Practical Classes can be Held on University Campus; Read Details

Calcutta University Vice-Chancellor, Sonali Chakravarti Banerjee, has informed on Monday (January 11, 2021) that students can attend on-campus practical classes, however, they need to attend in small batches.  Earlier the Teacher’s Association of Calcutta University had urged VC to res

Kolkata College Admission 2020: Reserved Seats Opened Up for Waiting List Candidates; Read Details Here
December 30, 2020
Kolkata College Admission 2020: Reserved Seats Opened Up for Waiting List Candidates; Read Details Here

Kolkata College Admission 2020: Many colleges in Kolkata have opened up reserved seats which were vacant, for waiting list candidates to apply for admission.  For now, several colleges have already opened up seats, while some have begun de-reserving seats so that general category studen

Calcutta University Sets Domicile Term for Admission to a BTech Seat, Check Details here
December 18, 2020
Calcutta University Sets Domicile Term for Admission to a BTech Seat, Check Details here

Calcutta University has released a statement on Wednesday stating that candidates applying for decentralised counselling for BTech seats have to be domiciled in Bengal. CU introduced the condition after announcing counselling for 89 BTech seats out of the 237 seats are still vacant after concludi

Calcutta University: Affiliated Colleges Seek More Registration Time; Read Details Here
November 28, 2020
Calcutta University: Affiliated Colleges Seek More Registration Time; Read Details Here

Several affiliated colleges have approached Calcutta University Seeking more registration time to upload the scanned documents of the students along with the testimonials on the university's website to conclude the UG admission process.  Calcutta University (CU) has set up a deadlin

Top Kolkata Colleges Report Deluge of Vacant UG Seats, Demand Centralized Counselling from 2021
November 27, 2020
Top Kolkata Colleges Report Deluge of Vacant UG Seats, Demand Centralized Counselling from 2021

Top Kolkata Colleges have been demanding a centralized counselling system, reporting a large number of vacant UG seats even when registration deadline is nearing for the academic year of 2020-21. As days pass, more Kolkata based colleges are adding to the clamour for a centralized counselling ses

Calcutta University Draft Merit List Released for MSc Ag, B Tech, MSc, MA Courses on November 18
November 18, 2020
Calcutta University Draft Merit List Released for MSc Ag, B Tech, MSc, MA Courses on November 18

Calcutta University has issued provisional merit list for MSc Ag, B Tech, and MSc MA on November 18. Applicants can download the merit list on November 21 via official website caluniv.ac.in. Calcutta University prepares the merit list on the basis of score in the entrance exam of the last qu

Calcutta University Clarifies on Intermediate Sem Exams Starting from Nov 23; Read Details Here
November 18, 2020
Calcutta University Clarifies on Intermediate Sem Exams Starting from Nov 23; Read Details Here

On Tuesday, November 17, 2020, Calcutta University has cleared all airs about conducting intermediate semester exams. Lately, Principals of many Calcutta University affiliated colleges had raised queries on the mode of conducting exams. Answering to all such queries, Calcutta University&nbsp

Calcutta University Admission 2020: UG, PG Registration Process goes Online; Details Here
November 19, 2020
Calcutta University Admission 2020: UG, PG Registration Process goes Online; Details Here

Calcutta University Admission 2020: Calcutta University is conducting an online registration process for candidates who have completed the admission process for UG and PG courses offered by the university. In view of COVID-19 pandemic, Calcutta University has decided upon ensuring

interested in this College ?

Top Courses
BA (Journalism) AVG FEE - ₹ 2,435/Yr
3 Years
BA (Economics) AVG FEE - ₹ 2,025/Yr
3 Years
BA (Hons.) Journalism AVG FEE - ₹ 2,460/Yr
3 Years
Faculties
Dr. Suchandra Bhattacharya Associate Professor, Department of Bengali
Dr. Indrani Ghosal Associate Professor, Department of Bengali
Dr. Rumpa Das Associate Professor, Department of English
Students also visited
Budge Budge College
Budge Budge College, KolkataBA, ₹6.21 K First Year Fees
7.7
Charuchandra College
Charuchandra College, KolkataB.Sc, ₹6.35 K First Year Fees
6.2
Veerayatan Group Of Institutions
Veerayatan Group Of Institutions, RajkotBE/B.Tech, ₹60 K First Year Fees
Jamini Roy College
Jamini Roy College, BankuraBA, ₹2.90 K First Year Fees
6.9
Vivekananda College
Vivekananda College, KolkataB.Sc, ₹8.32 K First Year Fees
7.5
Chittaranjan College
Chittaranjan College, KolkataBA, ₹3.21 K First Year Fees
7.1
Syamaprasad College
Syamaprasad College, KolkataB.Sc, ₹16.01 K First Year Fees
6.4
Sarsuna College
Sarsuna College, KolkataB.Sc, ₹10.97 K First Year Fees
7.1