Gauhati University - [GU], Guwahati - Reviews

Gauhati University - [GU], Guwahati - Reviews

Guwahati, Assam AICTE, UGC Estd 1948 State University NAAC

College rating

based on 26 students ratings

8.1/10

8.6/10academic
7.7/10accommodation
8.8/10faculty
8.5/10infrastructure
6.5/10placements
8.6/10social
FILTER BY
CLEAR ALL
View All Streams
CLEAR ALL
View All Course Tags
CLEAR ALL
View All Courses
CLEAR ALL
View All Batches

POPULAR TAGS

entrance exam
fee structure
course curriculum
odd semester
campus placement
placement cell
exam structure
merit list
education loan
mess fee
admission
department
faculty
hostel
experience
J
Joydeep SarmaComputer sciencePursued
BATCH : 2020
8.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Wonderful campus

Remarks -
8.5 /10

Some time result declaration time is late and everything is good.


Admission -

Fromfillup and entrance are done by diceplind order then very tough to get admission you have to know the deep knowledge and study hard about the course most of the exams are Personal Interview way and it's happen in omr sheet exam multiple choice questions.


9/10academic
9/10faculty
9/10infrastructure
9/10food & accom
7/10placement
8/10social life
J
Joydeep DebnathBachelor of Technology (CSE)Pursued
BATCH : 2021
8.0
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Good for Engineering

Remarks -
8 /10

Good for Engineering specially Electronics engineering department is much good here and faculties are also good.


Admission -

I am a 6th semester student currently. I got admission here in 2017 after clearing the state level CEE entrance exam. Admission process is quite easy if you follow the steps. First we have to clear CEE assam /JEE entrance exam. After getting ranks one can opt for engineering here. A notification will be out which can be seen in newspapers by the University for the admission.


8/10academic
9/10faculty
9/10infrastructure
6/10food & accom
7/10placement
9/10social life
A
Amitabh BaruahB.A.LL.BBatch : 2016
5.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Experience

Remarks -
5.2 /10

The management needs a huge change. They must try to sort out the issues of the students. They often ignore our demands. We had different issues with the authority regarding academics, elections. Overall remarks about the collegee was not too good.


Admission -

I got admitted into the college by giving entrance exam. I opted this University because it is nearby and also has a decent ranking in top Universities. I opted BALLB because its a professional course and also i am passionate about Advocacy. It gives me the freedom to work, a status in the society and knowledge about governance and justice.


7/10academic
6/10faculty
6/10infrastructure
5/10food & accom
1/10placement
6/10social life
A
Anurag NagB.A. LL.B(Hons)Pursued
BATCH : 2023
9.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

One of the best law colleges in the not only the Northeast but also in India.

Remarks -
9.2 /10

Every place has its pros and cons. It is undoubtedly one of the best colleges but the faculty can't help you if you can't help yourself. The moot courts which highlight any law college is equally popular here but you need to show your interest to seniors and teachers.


Admission -

So I had to apply for the entrance online through the website. Had to submit my details with my 10th and 12 marksheets. Then after that the dates were released for the entrance and admits were given out online. After the entrance shortly my name was declared in merit list at 6th and I then fulfilled the remaining formalities by paying the admission fees and some paperwork.


10/10academic
10/10faculty
8/10infrastructure
9/10food & accom
8/10placement
10/10social life
A
ARIF KHANBABatch : 2015
7.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

My College

Remarks -
7.2 /10

Non Teaching Staff are very rude and they are not helping and money minded. They always look for bribe in every task we asked about.


Admission -

Firstly need to purchase Prospectus for admission and fill up the application form for admissions and submit the admission form. After a gap of few days they prepared the merit list based on academic percentage of the students and we can admit ourselves admission. I took admission on 20th June 2012.


8/10academic
10/10faculty
6/10infrastructure
9/10food & accom
1/10placement
9/10social life
A
Abdul Jalil AkramB.techBatch : 2018
8.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

My college gauhati University

Remarks -
8.8 /10

There are no such bad remarks. I am very happy with the management.


Admission -

I got admission by entrance exam. 01.07.2014. First we have to pass the JEE entrance exam for the engineering. The college invites the qualifier of the selection. And according to the marks we got in JEE entrance exam we get admission. The student with highest marks get the first priority and go on.


9/10academic
9/10faculty
9/10infrastructure
9/10food & accom
8/10placement
9/10social life
A
ARNAB DHARB.techPursued
BATCH : 2022
8.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Best college experience.

Remarks -
8.5 /10

All the things are quite good just the placement stats are not that upto the mark.The college should improve on that ground and concentrate more to make students industry ready by providing industry concentrated internships.The college should also improve to provide stipend internships.


Admission -

I got the admission by state entrance exam of Assam named assam cee entrance. But students are also taken by all India entrance conducted by NTA i.e.Jee mains.20% seats are reserved for condidated seeking admission through Jee mains.


9/10academic
9/10faculty
10/10infrastructure
5/10food & accom
9/10placement
9/10social life
A
Asif HoqueM.TECHPursued
BATCH : 2020
8.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

My Review

Remarks -
8.2 /10

Our college is good in certain ways like the curriculum, coursed provided and other co-curricular activities and also cultural fests. There is an annual fest of our college which is also remarkable. Apart from that there are post offices, ATMs etc which are a must in a college campus.


Admission -

I appeared in an entrance examination set by Guwahati University. Then I cleared the examination & went through the admission process by submitting my documents (Marksheets of 10th, 12th & Graduation).


9/10academic
8/10faculty
9/10infrastructure
7/10food & accom
7/10placement
9/10social life
A
Arnab DharB.techPursued
BATCH : 2022
9.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Best college experience

Remarks -
9.3 /10

No negative remarks just one request that the placement statistics should be improved so that the position of the college can be better.Otherwise the college experince is quite nice with beautiful infrastructure.


Admission -

The student willing to take admission have to appear for either all india entrance test i.e.Jee mains or all assam engineering entrance i.e.Cee entrance.After you qualify,follow the college website for the notification of councilling.20% of the seats are reserved for admission through Jee and rest through Cee.


10/10academic
10/10faculty
10/10infrastructure
8/10food & accom
9/10placement
9/10social life
P
Pranzol NathBachelor of Technology (CSE)Pursued
BATCH : 2022
9.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

GUIST Review

Remarks -
9.2 /10

There us not much to say as I had already mentioned our institute is a new only so we are doing our best to make it's name shine in Assam then in India. As learning never ends our institute is also learning new things day by day and improving.


Admission -

GUIST intakes students on the basis of CEE marks and JEE marks. No separate entrance exam is conducted. For JEE candidates a separate counselling is done. For CEE candidates 1 counselling is common with that of CEE counselling which is done for all the government engineering colleges in Assam. One the counselling is dome candidates are supposed to take admission ina specific period of time. If any candidate fails to take admission his seat is cancelled automatically and the seat is considered vacant. If seats are left vacant another counselling is held in the college to fill the vacant seats. Agaim they are given a specific time period to take the admission. If then also seat is vacant the l...


9/10academic
9/10faculty
10/10infrastructure
9/10food & accom
9/10placement
9/10social life


Load More reviews

Comments

Comments


2 Comments
A
ABHINAV BARUAH

How is the placement for MBA in GU?

18 Feb, 2019 09:36
S
Shobhna Chaturvedi

Hi Abhinav, for placement records, visit the official website of the university or contact on 0361-2570415,2674243.

18 Feb, 2019 11:41
S
Sandra

When is the entrance exam for Mcom???

14 Jun, 2018 20:50
G
Garima Bansal

Hi Sandra, To get entrance exam details for M.com you may contact to 0361-2570415,2674243.

09 Aug, 2018 18:27

- No more comments -

Similar Colleges

Assam University, Silchar logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING7.5 / 10

Assam University

Silchar, Assam
Royal Global University - [RGU], Guwahati logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING/ 10
Kaziranga University - [KU], Jorhat logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING/ 10
Cotton University, Guwahati logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING7.5 / 10

Cotton University

Guwahati, Assam
Handique Girls College, Guwahati logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING7.5 / 10

Handique Girls College

Guwahati, Assam

NEARBY COLLEGES

Pandu College, Guwahati logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING7.9 / 10

Pandu College

Guwahati, Assam
MA 6.2 ₹11.24 K first year fees
Dispur College, Guwahati logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING6.4 / 10

Dispur College

Guwahati, Assam
BA 5.7 ₹13.84 K first year fees
B. Borooah College, Guwahati logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING7.4 / 10

B. Borooah College

Guwahati, Assam
Handique Girls College, Guwahati logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING7.5 / 10

Handique Girls College

Guwahati, Assam
Lalit Chandra Bharali College, Guwahati logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING/ 10

news view all

July 14, 2020

Gauhati University initiated unique Evaluation Procedure; Follows Blended Offline and Online Exam for students

Gauhati University (GU) Vice-Chancellor, Pratap Jyoti Handique on Monday, issued an official notification that stated the university plans to conduct exams from September. The exams are likely to be held in an offline and online mode, in line with the guidelines recently issued by UGC. The VC of

June 29, 2020

Gauhati University: No Common Entrance Test for PG Courses, Online Admission from July 15

Gauhati University is preparing to commence its admission process. The admission portal of Gauhati University will open on July 15 for the students seeking admission to postgraduate courses in the university or in the affiliated institutions.  However, In light of the current situation, the

July 30, 2020

Gauhati University Results - TDC and Distance Education (GUIDOL) 2020: Semester, Admit Card, Registration, Exam Routine

Gauhati University, located at Jalukbari (Guwahati), was founded in 1948. At present, there are approximately 326 Colleges/Institutes under this university, which are mostly located in the districts of lower Assam. Gauhati University provides bachelor's and master's degrees in domains o

apply now Download Brochure
INTERESTED IN THIS COLLEGE ?
Get free counselling

Follow & Share this college to get information about admission

top courses

M.Sc BotanyAVG FEE - ₹12,315/Yr
2 Years
MA EnglishAVG FEE - ₹8,975/Yr
2 Years
M.Sc Cancer BiologyAVG FEE - ₹20,460/Yr
2 Years
view more courses[137]

Other Colleges In The Same Group

news

Placements

faculties

reviews

STUDENTS ALSO VISITED

Assam Don Bosco University - [ADBU], Guwahati logo

Assam Don Bosco University - [ADBU], Guwahati

M.Sc , ₹ 1.14 L FIRST YEAR FEES
8.2
North-Eastern Hill University - [NEHU], Shillong logo

North-Eastern Hill University - [NEHU], Shillong

MA , ₹ 4.67 K FIRST YEAR FEES
7.6
B. Borooah College, Guwahati logo

B. Borooah College, Guwahati

BA , ₹ 5.84 K FIRST YEAR FEES
7.4
Dibrugarh University, Dibrugarh logo

Dibrugarh University, Dibrugarh

MA , ₹ 12.38 K FIRST YEAR FEES
7.6
Arya Vidyapeeth College - [AVC], Guwahati logo

Arya Vidyapeeth College - [AVC], Guwahati

B.Sc , ₹ 6.37 K FIRST YEAR FEES
7.0
Gauhati Commerce College, Guwahati logo

Gauhati Commerce College, Guwahati

M.Com , ₹ 24.3 K FIRST YEAR FEES
7.8
NERIM Group of Institutions - [NERIM], Guwahati logo

NERIM Group of Institutions - [NERIM], Guwahati

MBA/PGDM , ₹ 1.75 L FIRST YEAR FEES
7.1
Tezpur University - [TU], Tezpur logo

Tezpur University - [TU], Tezpur

BE/B.Tech , ₹ 58.19 K FIRST YEAR FEES
7.9
Assam Down Town University - [ADTU], Guwahati logo

Assam Down Town University - [ADTU], Guwahati

B.Sc , ₹ 1 L FIRST YEAR FEES
8.1
×