Gauhati University - [GU], Guwahati - Reviews

Guwahati, Assam AICTE, UGC Estd 1948 State University NAAC Ranked 72 For Overall By NIRF 2020 +3 more

College Rating

Based on 105 Students RatingClaim this college

8.1 out of 10
8.4/10Academic
7.6/10Accommodation
8.7/10Faculty
8.3/10Infrastructure
7.1/10Placement
8.7/10Social Life
Filter By
Affiliated CollegesStreamCourse TagCourseBatch
SORT BY :
Relevance

Gauhati Commerce College (43)
Central Institute of Technology - [CIT] (42)
Handique Girls College (38)
Nalbari College (36)
Bongaigaon College (35)
K.C. Das Commerce College (32)
Guwahati College (25)
Arya Vidyapeeth College - [AVC] (22)
Debraj Roy College (21)
JB Law College (21)
B. Borooah College (20)
Goalpara College (20)
Kaliabor College (19)
Pandu College (19)
Jagiroad College (18)
Royal Global University - [RGU] (18)
Institute of Distance and Open Learning, Gauhati University - [GUIDOL] (18)
Asian Institute of Management and Technology - [AIMT] (14)
Bhattadev University (11)
Darrang College (11)
Pragjyotish College (11)
BH College (10)
Dispur College (10)
Dakshin Kamrup College (9)
NEF Law College (9)
Pub Kamrup College (9)
Tezpur College (8)
Morigaon College (7)
Nagaon GNDG Commerce College (7)
Birjhora Mahavidyalaya Degree and Science College (7)
Kohima Science College - [KSCJ] (7)
lumding college (7)
Bhawanipur Anchalik College (6)
Bineswar Brahma Engineering College- [BBEC] (6)
Anandaram Dhekial Phookan College - [ADP] (5)
Kokrajhar Government College (5)
Lalit Chandra Bharali College (5)
Paschim Guwahati Mahavidyalaya (5)
Dispur Law College (5)
Lokanayak Omeo Kumar Das College - [LOKD] (5)
Tihu College (5)
Barak Valley Engineering College - [BVEC] (5)
Biswanath College (4)
Royal School of Engineering and Technology - [RSET] (4)
Chaiduar College (3)
Dimoria College (3)
Kharupetia College (3)
Tezpur Law College (3)
Bilasipara College, Bilasipara (3)
Bhola Nath College (2)
Bikali College (2)
Lanka Mahavidyalaya (2)
Madhab Choudhury College (2)
Nabajyoti College (2)
Radha Govinda Baruah College (2)
Sonapur College (2)
Barama College (2)
Abhayapuri College (2)
Mangaldai Commerce College (2)
Baosi Banikanta Kakati College - [BBK] (1)
Bengtol College (1)
Bhawanipur Hastinapur Bijni College - [BHB] (1)
Goreswar College (1)
Moirabari College (1)
Nowgong College (1)
Raha College (1)
Rupahi College (1)
Suren Das College (1)
Assam Govt Homoeopathic Medical College and Hospital - [AHMCH] (1)
Dhanamanjuri College of Teacher Education (1)
Royal School of Commerce (1)

Most Popular Tags

Admission (22)
Faculty (18)
Department (14)
Entrance Exam (14)
Hostel (14)
Fee Structure (13)
Course Curriculum (12)
Experience (11)
Odd Semester (10)
Campus Placement (9)
Placement Cell (8)
Exam Structure (5)
Merit List (5)
Education Loan (4)
Mess Fee (4)

105 Reviews found


UB
8.3 /10

Remarks :

My admission was through CEE exam whose Counselling process is automated & we just give college preferences. Then according to ranks we are allotted to different colleges in Assam. So I was allotted to this Institution. Some other factors are:-1. Guwahati is a beautiful city with a lot of professional exposure.2. Gauhati University is the topmost state-owned University in Assam. 3. The campus is beautiful with lush green environment.4. The professors are always reachable & guide us through any difficult situation we face.All in all I'm satisfied to have joined GUIST.

Placement Experience :

Placements are not as good as other colleges, rather the studies are better than the others. Most of the people opt for higher studies & among the rest, last year 90% got placed in companies like Wipro, TCS, Indian Oil, M&M, and some other companies either through the placement cell or direct interviews. As I know, highest salary was 12lakhs per annum(CSE) & lowest was around 3.5lakhs PA(ECE) & average salary was around 4.5lakhs-6lakhs(actual figure unknown).

10 /10 faculty
6 /10 placement
9 /10 college
9 /10 course
8 /10 hostel
8 /10 campus life
report
Read More
AS
7.0 /10

Remarks :

1) Gauhati University is one of best infrastructure for education and all resources are available for better education. 2) best facility for students. 3) scholarship facilities for weeker section of society 4) doubt solving for students.

Placement Experience :

Placement not good average placement 10000-15000. But still our university try to upgrade the course.

7 /10 faculty
5 /10 placement
9 /10 social life
6 /10 course
7 /10 hostel
8 /10 campus life
report
Read More
AD
9.7 /10

Remarks :

I wanted to be a Science Journalist that is why I choose this course. As because I studied with the course of Botany, and I would love to explore on this subject and I adore this subject for my further study life so that Mass communication course give me an opportunity to exploring with this subject through the science latter, article writhing and so many things that I can do in between 2 years of my master degree life. I proudly succeed with this course because I have learn so many things how to write a science article, or news of science etc.

Placement Experience :

In every year of March month there are so many media company, fellowship program job requirement are held in the department. As because of our HOD sir's strong networking with every PR house and media Industry. Our department already requite 80% of students including alumni and current students.

10 /10 faculty
10 /10 placement
9 /10 social life
10 /10 course
9 /10 hostel
10 /10 campus life
report
Read More
N
10.0 /10

Remarks :

This university provides us many more facilities with minimum amount and fee structure is also less so wanted to take admission in this University which is good for students who has a financial problem.

Placement Experience :

Job placement and placement are there students got placed in good companies salary package is 3k to 5k

10 /10 faculty
10 /10 placement
10 /10 social life
report
Read More
GD
9.3 /10

Remarks :

Gauhati University is the first higher educational institution in Assam, and their faculty campus everything is outstanding for a learning environment. That's why i'm choosing this institution for further learning, and i really enjoying my days in this great institution.

Placement Experience :

IAWS- Which is related to our department and it's gives internship opportunity as well. Our alumni networking is also good they are very much helping to us. Recently some of the JRF holder teaching us for NET preparation.

9 /10 faculty
10 /10 placement
9 /10 social life
report
Read More
BH
7.0 /10

Remarks :

GU is one of the best University of North east. Also I did my graduation from Darrang College, affiliated of GU. So it is easy to take post graduation in a same University. Also the environment, the hostel life is very attractive.

Placement Experience :

I'm studying a traditional course. So job opportunities is not like that. I have to study separately for job like banking, civil service or others.

8 /10 faculty
4 /10 placement
9 /10 social life
report
Read More
AD
5.7 /10

Remarks :

College is good from an alumni point of view, but very much important to make the courses flexible according to the industry- requirements, security facilities in campus groom students accordingly for becoming industry-ready.

Admission :

Chose this course for interest in commerce, also being one of the biggest universities in the state. The admission Process included Entrance test and merit list followed by admission induction program with professors and Dean. The selection process for the course happened in a span of 1-2 months of entrance test, quite fair results.

6 /10 faculty
3 /10 placement
8 /10 social life
report
Read More
S
9.0 /10

Remarks :

I opted this course because I want a master degree in Communication and journalism as I have already done diploma in journalism. For my further study, research perpose I have developed my taste. That why I choose this subject. I have choosen Gauhati university. Because the department of communication & journalism in this university is really good. All the faculties are very helpful, resource person. I take suggestion from super seniors of this department. And I must say this department is really good for students those who wanted to do work in media house. Thats it.

Placement Experience :

We visited media houses. After intern we will be getting jobs. Placement of department is based on intern. Alumni networking is good. Rokibuz jaman da working in telegraph paper

10 /10 faculty
8 /10 placement
9 /10 social life
report
Read More
S
5.7 /10

Remarks :

Availability of academic majors, affordable admission cost, location of the college, helpful staff, well qualified professors, decent campus size, extra curricular activities, scholarship facilities for financially backward students.

Placement Experience :

The College does not offer placements which was a drawback. Therefore students had to prepare themselves for out campus interviews. The students from B.Com departments can be employed in number of areas like Human Resource Business Consultancy, Investment Banking, Human Resource, Auditing, Financial Analysis etc.

8 /10 faculty
1 /10 placement
8 /10 social life
report
Read More
AC
9.3 /10

Remarks :

The college management falls back a little as compared to the academic. you need to push the incharges to get your work done

Admission :

My course is unique and is available to only two colleges in the country (Gujrat and Gauhati university). I always had a keen interest towards the medical field and lab works. Therefore a perfect spot for me. and for the admissions, i sat for an entrance exam on the 29th june of 2019. I passed it with flying colours and topped among all the other candidates. The count of participation was huge, but seats are restricted to 10. So it was a hush. We were cslled for counselling, and later admissions were given to the selected.

9 /10 faculty
9 /10 placement
10 /10 social life
report
Read More

Comments


2 Comments
A
abhinav baruah
How is the placement for MBA in GU?
S
shobhna chaturvedi
Hi Abhinav, for placement records, visit the official website of the university or contact on 0361-2570415,2674243.
S
sandra
When is the entrance exam for Mcom???
G
garima bansal
Hi Sandra, To get entrance exam details for M.com you may contact to 0361-2570415,2674243.

- NO MORE COMMENTS -

Similar Colleges

Assam University
REVIEWS RATING
7.3 /10

Assam University

Diphu, Assam
MA 10.32 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Handique Girls College
REVIEWS RATING
7.8 /10

Handique Girls College

Guwahati, Assam
BA 5.4 5.15 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
B. Borooah College
REVIEWS RATING
7.6 /10

B. Borooah College

Guwahati, Assam
BA 5.4 5.84 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Assam University
REVIEWS RATING
7.6 /10

Assam University

Silchar, Assam
MA 12.20 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
North-Eastern Hill University - [NEHU]
REVIEWS RATING
7.9 /10
MA 6.3 4.91 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
University of Science and Technology - [USTM]
REVIEWS RATING
8.4 /10
M.Sc 5.4 1.48 LFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES

Nearby Colleges

Dispur College
REVIEWS RATING
6.1 /10

Dispur College

Guwahati, Assam
BA 5.7 8.89 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Guwahati College
REVIEWS RATING
6.8 /10

Guwahati College

Guwahati, Assam
BA 5.6
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
B. Borooah College
REVIEWS RATING
7.6 /10

B. Borooah College

Guwahati, Assam
BA 5.4 5.84 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Handique Girls College
REVIEWS RATING
7.8 /10

Handique Girls College

Guwahati, Assam
BA 5.4 5.15 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Lalit Chandra Bharali College
REVIEWS RATING
7.1 /10
BA 4.6 5.06 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Pragjyotish College
REVIEWS RATING
6.5 /10

Pragjyotish College

Guwahati, Assam
MA 4.6 24 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES

NewsView All

Gauhati University Time Table
May 29, 2021
Gauhati University Time Table

Gauhati University has released the exam schedule for the degree and OTBE exams that will be held in June 2021. Appearing candidates can download their respective course's Exam Routine from Gauhati University's official website. The exam schedule is in PDF format and includes information suc

Guwahati University to Reopen Hostels for New Students; Check Details Here
December 31, 2020
Guwahati University to Reopen Hostels for New Students; Check Details Here

Guwahati University has invited online applications for the first semester students for hostel accommodation in various UG and PG programs.  According to the latest updates, Guwahati University is inviting students who have recently taken admission in the several undergraduate&nbsp

Gauhati University B.Ed Admission 2020: Admit Card Released Check Revised Exam Dates Here
November 23, 2020
Gauhati University B.Ed Admission 2020: Admit Card Released Check Revised Exam Dates Here

Gauhati University has released the admit card for the B.Ed Entrance exam 2020. Students can check the official site for more details. Gauhati University (GU), Guwahati is a government university offering distance education and regular courses to its students.  The university has released

Gauhati University UG and PG Course Classes Start from November 1; Full Details Here
October 12, 2020
Gauhati University UG and PG Course Classes Start from November 1; Full Details Here

October 12, 2020: Gauhati University has announced the starting of its undergraduate program classes from November 1, 2020, by posting an academic calendar on its official website. Due to the coronavirus pandemic and lockdown restrictions, the classes for various programs in Gauhati University (G

Gauhati University released New Academic Calendar for the A.Y. 2020-21, New Academic session to begin from November 2020
October 08, 2020
Gauhati University released New Academic Calendar for the A.Y. 2020-21, New Academic session to begin from November 2020

The Gauhati University and its affiliated colleges will commence the new academic session from November 2020 for the First, Third, and Fifth-semester undergraduate courses as per the media reports.  The classes at Gauhati University will begin from November 1, 2020, for the undergraduate and

Gauhati University issues Revised SOPs for Online Exams, Read Details here
October 08, 2020
Gauhati University issues Revised SOPs for Online Exams, Read Details here

Guwahati: Gauhati University has issued a fresh set of Standard Operating Procedure for conducting 6th semester examinations for BA, B.Sc, and B.Com scheduled to begin from October 5, 2020. The undergraduate exams are being held in online mode but students have been facing severe technical glitch

Gauhati University:B.Ed Students Demand Conducting of Exams by September 30; Stage Protest for the Same
September 02, 2020
Gauhati University:B.Ed Students Demand Conducting of Exams by September 30; Stage Protest for the Same

B.Ed final year students held a protest demonstration on Tuesday at the Gauhati University (GU) campus demanding that the exams be scheduled before September 30, 2020. Some universities in the Northeast have started online tests for students in the final year. But GU-affiliated colleges have not

Gauhati University to conduct UG, PG Final Year Exams Offline from Sept 22; Check Notification Here
August 24, 2020
Gauhati University to conduct UG, PG Final Year Exams Offline from Sept 22; Check Notification Here

The official notification issued by the University states, 'Final semester examinations will be conducted in a blended mode, maintaining the COVID-19 protocol and the relevant SOP published by the UGC for this purpose. Gauhati University has released the Standard Operating Procedure (SOP)

interested in this College ?

Top Courses
M.Sc Botany AVG FEE - ₹ 12,315/Yr
2 Years
MA English AVG FEE - ₹ 8,975/Yr
2 Years
M.Sc Cancer Biology AVG FEE - ₹ 20,460/Yr
2 Years
Other Colleges In The Same Group
Placements
company
company
company
company
company
company
Students also visited
Royal Global University - [RGU]
Royal Global University - [RGU], GuwahatiB.Sc, ₹1.14 L First Year Fees
7.5
Cotton University
Cotton University, GuwahatiBA, ₹4.45 K First Year Fees
7.7
Pandu College
Pandu College, GuwahatiMA, ₹11.24 K First Year Fees
7.9
Dibrugarh University
Dibrugarh University, DibrugarhMA, ₹12.38 K First Year Fees
7.8
Tezpur University - [TU]
Tezpur University - [TU], TezpurBE/B.Tech, ₹58.19 K First Year Fees
8.0
Assam Don Bosco University - [ADBU]
Assam Don Bosco University - [ADBU], GuwahatiM.Sc, ₹1.14 L First Year Fees
7.8
Assam Down Town University - [ADTU]
8.2
Bodoland University
Bodoland University, KokrajharM.Sc, ₹18.86 K First Year Fees
8.5
NERIM Group of Institutions - [NERIM]
NERIM Group of Institutions - [NERIM], GuwahatiMBA/PGDM, ₹1.75 L First Year Fees
7.1