YORK UNIVERSITY - [YU], TORONTO, ONTARIO - REVIEWS

Toronto, OntarioLOCATION
UniversitySCHOOL TYPE
Estd 1959Established Year
  52300Enrollment

College rating

based on 25 students ratings

7.3/10

7.8/10academic
7.4/10infrastructure
6.3/10placements
7.6/10faculty
7.3/10extracurricular
7.3/10accommodation

Reviews

avatar image
Leena muti, CANADA Biomedical sciences
York University
Current student , Batch : 2022
7.7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

HONEST CONFESSIONS OF A BIOMED BOI BY CHOICE

Campus/ the major was specialized in what I wanted to be. It was the only one amongst all the other unis that accepted me that actually directed its Biomed stream towards research, especially its iBsc stream.


Course Curriculum - 

It's difficult, being a 2nd-year student in her first year of uni. It's interesting and very relevant to my eventual occupation though, despite the fact that it lacks co-op as most universities do pertaining to the Biomed degree.

10 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
9 /10
infrastructure
6 /10
accomodation/food
6 /10
placement
8 /10
extracurricular
14, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Vanessa ds, CANADA Communication studies
York University
Alumna/alumnus , Batch : 2014
5.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

YORK UNIVERSITY REVIEW

I opted for this school so that I could fast track my courses and graduate early. There were enough courses available to position my schedule in a way that would allow me to take everything I needed in 2 and a half years instead of 4.


Course Curriculum - 

My opinion on the course curriculum is that it was too broad. Despite having a choice in which courses I wanted to take, I still had to take many general education courses and ultimately did not feel that I learned much overall.

5 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
5 /10
accomodation/food
5 /10
placement
1 /10
extracurricular
16, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Samantha goodyear, CANADA Cinema and media studies
York University
Current student , Batch : 2020
6.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

THE COST OF GOING TO SCHOOL AT YORK UNIVERSITY.

It's a great, expansive campus with lots of opportunities. As well, it has a social justice oriented student body. I also liked what my specific program had to offer in comparison to other cinema studies programs in the province.


Course Curriculum - 

The course curriculum is very interesting, but I wish it was more intersectional and inclusive. I would love to learn more about Indigenous history and theory, LGBTQ+ history and theory, disability history and theory, and hear from more academics of colour.

8 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
6 /10
infrastructure
5 /10
accomodation/food
4 /10
placement
9 /10
extracurricular
17, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Natalie paderes, CANADA Bachelor [bed] bachelor of education
York University
Current student , Batch : 2022
4.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

SCHOOL IS A SCAM

I wanna get an education. Some teachers in my past educational history have impacted me in a positive way. I wanted to be able to do the same thing for students. I wanna be able for them to want to come to school.


Course Curriculum - 

The program is okay. They could do better. Not impressed on how things are run and the history of those who go through this program. To be honest, if I could do the whole process again I would not choose to go here.

5 /10
academic
3 /10
faculty
4 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
2 /10
placement
5 /10
extracurricular
18, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Jennifer mcgouran, CANADA Theatre production
York University
Alumna/alumnus , Batch : 2017
7.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

YORK THEATRE STUDENT AND HOW THEY NAVIGATED IT

The theatre program was the most inclusive of career avenues. I was able to try a bunch of different things and that included carpentry, production management, alongside acting which I already had to interest it.


Course Curriculum - 

I feel like a lot of the curriculum did not include modern theatre or different modes of theatre outside of the devised realm when it came to live performance and the shows being put on by the faculty.

8 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
6 /10
infrastructure
7 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
8 /10
extracurricular
26, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Marco, CANADA History
York University
Current student , Batch : 2024
8.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

YORK UNIVERSITY SURVEY

I choose to attend York university as it is a highly esteemed university that is known throughout the world. York University is one of the highest acclaimed schools for History in Canada and they are excellent for educators which is my other program that I am currently enrolled in.


Course Curriculum - 

It is challenging but if you put in the work you can excel. The professors and T.As help when you need them and the projects are daily straight forward the exams are carefully thought out and allows the student time to prepare.

9 /10
academic
10 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
9 /10
accomodation/food
7 /10
placement
8 /10
extracurricular
30, Nov -0001 read more
avatar image
Catarina, CANADA International relations
York University
Current student , Batch : 2022
6
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

GLENDON COLLEGE - YORK UNIVERSITY, INTERNATIONAL STUDIES PROGRAM

Close to home and bilingual International relations program with many options for outside of the country opportunities..


Course Curriculum - 

First year has does not have enough options but thoughtout the years the programs gets more specific and you can focus on what you really enjoy studying, and prepares you for a post grad.

7 /10
academic
6 /10
faculty
6 /10
infrastructure
5 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
4 /10
extracurricular
30, Nov -0001 read more
avatar image
Erin vicente, CANADA Human rights and equity
York University
Current student , Batch : 2022
8.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

TORONTO STUDENT

Affordable and good program. It was close to home and their program was more of what I wanted. Also my older sister is an Alumni from York and she was very successful in her schooling years and said it was a good school.


Course Curriculum - 

The mandatory classes that I take are good, it's basically pre-law it's useful to me in a sense that I can better understand the routes of laws and how human rights is essentially very contradicting.

8 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
9 /10
accomodation/food
9 /10
placement
9 /10
extracurricular
30, Nov -0001 read more
avatar image
Abdulla, CANADA Computer security (ba)
York University
Current student , Batch : 2022
9.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

LASSONDE AT YORKU

My program was only offered here and at UTM and heard UTM has high dropout rate so I went to York. But all the programs were accredited so I thought I can focus on extracurricular activies and work while studying which is another reason I picked york.


Course Curriculum - 

Heavy but fair. I like that it is an accredited program so there is a standard where I know I am getting an education not getting bell curved my way to my degree. (Heard we have no bell curves for major courses in Lassonde York)

9 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
10 /10
accomodation/food
10 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
30, Nov -0001 read more
avatar image
Sydney surajram, CANADA Music
York University
Alumna/alumnus , Batch : 2018
5.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

YORK'S MUSIC REVIEW

Close to home. I commute from my house each day. The program also allows for me to choose what I would like to do. I would return for the teachers and professors. There was only one other option in the city.


Course Curriculum - 

The courses we had to take were varied. I only needed a couple but the rest was just to complete and degree and for the university to make money. We take music history classes which are useful though one was not.

7 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
5 /10
infrastructure
7 /10
accomodation/food
2 /10
placement
3 /10
extracurricular
30, Nov -0001 read more

Load More Reviews
Apply Now DOWNLOAD BROCHURE  
INTERESTED IN THIS COLLEGE ?
Get free counselling

Follow & Share this college to get information about admission

AFFILIATED COLLEGES
Glendon College Toronto, Ontario
FACULTY, SCHOOLS AND CAMPUSES
Schulich School of Business north-york, Ontario
Osgoode Hall Law School north-york, Ontario
COLLEGES IN ONTARIO, CANADA
Algoma University Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario
Carleton University Ottawa, Ontario
OCAD University Toronto, Ontario
University of Waterloo Waterloo, Ontario
University of Windsor Windsor, Ontario
NEAREST RANKED COLLEGES