Get $150 Scholarship!

UNIVERSITY OF GUELPH - [UOFG], GUELPH, ONTARIO - REVIEWS

Guelph, OntarioLOCATION
UniversitySCHOOL TYPE
Estd 1964Established Year
  29500Enrollment

College rating

based on 24 students ratings

8.3/10

8.5/10academic
8/10infrastructure
7.5/10placements
8.3/10faculty
8.5/10extracurricular
9.2/10accommodation

Reviews

FILTER BY
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL

POPULAR TAGS

guelph
professor
faculty
residence
school
program
campus
course curriculum
semester
scholarship
exam structure
fee structure
meal plan
office hour
job opportunity
V
Vikrant baalkrishan tata, INDIA Associate diploma agriculture on-campus
University of Guelph, Ridgetown Campus
Recently passed out , Batch : 2020
9.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

UNIVERSITY OF GUELPH- AGRICULTURE DIPLOMA

I opted for the diploma course in agricultural sciences at the University of Guelph because I was always interested and curious to learn about the agricultural business and production. I did a lot of research and finally chose to apply at this college as it was a highly ranked college. I had applied to this course through an online application form and a cumulative GPA of 8.9 in my bachelor's course was a major aid in my admission to the course.


Course Curriculum - 

My course curriculum focused on applied knowledge and practical approach in agricultural production and business along with excellent theoretical explanations from industry experts. My course included subjects like agribusiness, crops, livestock, or fruit and vegetable production. My course curriculum offered flexibility in course selections, which enabled me to explore and learn various other subjects related to the field that interested me the most along with my regular studies.

10 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
9 /10
infrastructure
10 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
9 /10
extracurricular
05, Dec 2019 read more
A
Allison, CANADA Theatre studies
University of Guelph
Alumna/alumnus , Batch : 2017
9.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

THEATRE STUDIES AT GUELPH

The campus was beautiful and easy to get around. Everyone on campus seemed so nice and welcoming. It also had professors who were well known in the industry I was looking to pursue. Giving me the opportunity to have them as references on my resume.


Course Curriculum - 

I enjoyed it. I was given the opportunity to learn from experts in my field who, while teaching was still working in the industry. It is also a program that lets you look at all sides if the industry without just focusing on one facet.

9 /10
academic
10 /10
faculty
9 /10
infrastructure
10 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
9 /10
extracurricular
03, Dec 2019 read more
M
Madeleine williams, CANADA Biomedical science
University of Guelph
Current student , Batch : 2023
6.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

UNIVERSITY OF GUELPH: AN UNDERRATED GEM FOR THE MED SCHOOL HOPEFUL

I received a full ride to the school (scholarships based on grades), I liked the upper year course selection (ex. Cardiology course), the campus and city were close to home and familiar to me, and I liked the amount of research at the school. I applied to five schools with similar degrees (all biology) and had a 96% average in grade twelve.


Course Curriculum - 

Good, but I wish the first year was less general and more specific to 'Biomedical Science', it's currently very broad and not too dissimilar to high school.

8 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
7 /10
infrastructure
7 /10
accomodation/food
5 /10
placement
3 /10
extracurricular
10, Nov 2019 read more
S
Sam, CANADA Classical studies
University of Guelph
Current student , Batch : 2022
8.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

GO TO GUELPH!

I opted for this particular university because it had the program I wanted and throughout the tour I just felt like it was a place where I should go the school. Everything I was exposed to before I applied met my needs both through education and as a living means. It's easy to go out and do things but there are so many resources available to do really well in school.


Course Curriculum - 

I think the course curriculum is decent, the work is spread out and as long as you're good with time management you'll be okay.

9 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
10 /10
accomodation/food
7 /10
placement
9 /10
extracurricular
04, Nov 2019 read more
avatar image
Anamika dutta, INDIA Bio-medical science
University of Guelph
Current student , Batch : 2021
7.7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

A HOME AWAY FROM HOME - UNIVERSITY OF GUELPH

University of Guelph's ambassadors regularly visited our high school to offer more information and answer any questions we may have about any faculty. They provided several brochures which gave us plenty of insight into the campus life as well. I also attended an event known as "Ontario Universities' Fair" in Toronto where we were able to have conversations with a lot of current students at different universities before selecting which ones we wanted to apply to. I applied to about 4 universities and my top two I had trouble choosing between Guelph and Waterloo. I selected Guelph because it was a smaller school, I would be closer to home, and because I heard positive things about their science programs from upper-year students.


Course Curriculum - 

I believe it is a well-rounded curriculum. All the courses build upon one another and there is a fair amount of freedom to choose electives. One can choose whether they want to focus on human or mammalian physiology as well which I find helpful as some are aspiring to be medical students but there is a lot of students wanting to be a veterinarian (Ontario Veterinary College is based in Guelph).

8 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
9 /10
accomodation/food
7 /10
placement
7 /10
extracurricular
25, Aug 2019 read more
avatar image
Max jewers, CANADA Commerce
University of Guelph
Current student , Batch : 2022
10
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

COLLEGE REVIEW

The values of the program and focus on sustainability. Ease of finding information and very welcoming seems like a person rather than a number. I got to know about this college by a reference from a friend, then looking into the school I found that it tied into my personal values and goals for what I want to make a career.


Course Curriculum - 

It's very organized and balanced.

10 /10
academic
10 /10
faculty
10 /10
infrastructure
10 /10
accomodation/food
10 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
21, Aug 2019 read more
M
Meagan, CANADA Applied human nutrition
University of Guelph
Current student , Batch : 2020
7.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

UNIVERSITY OF GUELPH

Beautiful campus and friendly atmosphere, students were very welcoming and I have not had a bad experience here, opportunities to meet people in different cities before moving to Guelph for school, food is rated very well on campus and choices are diverse, application fees were not more than any other university in the area.


Course Curriculum - 

Very interesting.

8 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
9 /10
accomodation/food
7 /10
placement
8 /10
extracurricular
11, Aug 2019 read more
R
Rajesh munshi, INDIA Bachelor of engineering [b.eng] computer engineering on-campus
University of Guelph
Current student , Batch : 2021
8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

AN ENGINEERS JOURNEY AT UNIVERSITY OF GUELPH

Studying abroad and settling down there has always been my dream. Since Guelph is a cleaner and much safer city as compared to other cities. I chose the city for my further education. I applied to many of the colleges and universities of Guelph. Then I was selected at the University of Guelph. Applying through the International Student Application made the process much more easier for me.


Course Curriculum - 

As a U of G engineering student, I am getting a chance to Design, create, and solve. I am also getting to explore real-world issues, design solutions, and systems. Along with collaborating with my peers. During my first year, I had already completed one major design project. This hands-on design sequence is providing me a competitive advantage.

8 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
8 /10
extracurricular
06, Aug 2019 read more
I
Ishat prabhat ray, INDIA Bachelor of applied science [b.asc] applied human nutrition on-campus
University of Guelph
Current student , Batch : 2020
8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

LEARNING MADE EASY AT THE UNIVERSITY OF GUELPH

After researching a lot about the courses offered by the University of Guelph in the science stream. I found it to be the best university to study at. I got impressed with the diversified courses being offered. I applied for the course through a common application form that cost me $70.


Course Curriculum - 

My curriculum allows me to study both the aspects i.e. the biological and the social facets of human nutrition. It focuses on nutrition from a preventive, maintenance and therapeutic perspective. We are also getting to learn about nutrition and its application to the maintenance of health and the prevention and treatment of disease.

8 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
8 /10
extracurricular
06, Aug 2019 read more
A
Anna suwala, CANADA Biomedical toxicology
University of Guelph
Current student , Batch : 2022
8.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

EXPLORE GUELPH!

I decided to go to the University of Guelph because for one, it was closer to home as I live in Hamilton. This school gave me a lot of financial help and bursaries, more than the others that I have applied to. I applied to 4 other schools, all with the intention of studying science. The admission average was around 80% and was a little lower compared to other schools like McMaster and Waterloo. I found that Guelph had specific science programs like genetics, biological physics that other universities had more general programs such as Life science or health science. Guelph had specific types of science which I really found intriguing. My average was 85% in grade 12 so I got into most schools. Another thing was that Guelph didn't require you to fill out an additional form for background information about yourself. I have heard many things about Guelph and loved how the campus was not so big and the food was more cultural. As well as the city is a nice, small and quiet place.


Course Curriculum - 

The faculty of biological sciences is very well organized. The professors are amazing and really easy to get to know and work with. They are now starting to incorporate use of technology which is a good sign. But, some professors still have trouble with getting used to using technology in the classroom. Also, some of the lab equipment is outdated and needs to be replace. The TA's are very helpful and knowledgable. Obviously, the student to professor ratio is high to low with there being more students than professors, but they are very easy to reach and apply to emails quickly. Their office hours are flexible and reasonable.

8 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
9 /10
accomodation/food
9 /10
placement
8 /10
extracurricular
07, Jul 2019 read more

Apply Now DOWNLOAD BROCHURE  
INTERESTED IN THIS COLLEGE ?
Get free counselling

Follow & Share this college to get information about admission

FACULTY, SCHOOLS AND CAMPUSES
COLLEGES IN ONTARIO, CANADA
Algoma University Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario
Carleton University Ottawa, Ontario
OCAD University Toronto, Ontario
University of Waterloo Waterloo, Ontario
University of Windsor Windsor, Ontario
NEAREST RANKED COLLEGES
University of Windsor , Windsor Avg Fee: $35.2K/Yr 4.1
Laval University , Quebec City Avg Fee: $11.08K/Yr 4.9
Queen's University , Kingston Avg Fee: $31.56K/Yr 5
Western University , London Avg Fee: $23.28K/Yr 5
University of Alberta , Edmonton Avg Fee: $16.03K/Yr 5.7
Dalhousie University , Halifax Avg Fee: $14.17K/Yr 4.9
University of Manitoba , Winnipeg Avg Fee: $13.5K/Yr 4.8
University of Victoria , Victoria Avg Fee: $18.69K/Yr 4.7
Simon Fraser University , Burnaby Avg Fee: $21.17K/Yr 4.8
York University , Toronto Avg Fee: $22.12K/Yr 4.3