Goenka College of Commerce and Business Administration, Kolkata - Reviews

Kolkata, West Bengal AICTE Estd 1905 University of Calcutta, Kolkata Government NAAC Grade A Ranked 22 For Commerce By Indiatoday 2020 +3 more

College Rating

Based on 89 Students RatingClaim this college

7.8 out of 10
8.8/10Academic
6.2/10Accommodation
8.6/10Faculty
7.5/10Infrastructure
7.6/10Placement
8.1/10Social Life
Filter By
StreamCourse TagCourseBatch
SORT BY :
Relevance

Commerce (82)
Management (3)
Engineering (1)

Most Popular Tags

Scholarship (53)
Faculty (45)
Government (40)
Commerce (38)
Provide (38)
Admission Fee (30)
Merit List (29)
Fee Structure (28)
Admission Form (19)
Good Placement (18)
Gender Ratio (17)
Campus Life (14)
Hostel Facility (14)
Course Curriculum (12)
Online Form (12)

89 Reviews found


AS
9.0 /10

Placement Experience :

The placement opportunity is really great, with salaries ranging between 15000-25000, along with learning opportunities like ACCA, CPA. ETC. I got a chance at Deloitte as an associate in taxation, which is really great for BCom. Graduate.

Remarks :

Goenka college is one of the best colleges for students from the commerce field as it provides campus selection at the graduate level, which motivates the students to have their best in the upcoming years. As a government college, we all know the fees are quite affordable to all the sections of our society. Many co-curricular activities are also being performed to uplift the good qualities of students. In our college sometimes rallies and huddles affect our studies. In the beginning, we had submitted the form and paid 500 for the semester and 800 for co-curricular activities. I get admitted on 26th June 2018. I preferred this college among the others because being government it gives the best faculty in studies, books, and obviously the best teachers. I search mainly on the Goenka website where u can get each and every piece of information regarding the college norms and structure. The site name is www.goenkacollege.net.com.

10 /10 placement
8 /10 college
8 /10 course
10 /10 campus life
report
Read More
ds
9.4 /10

Placement Experience :

From then 4th semester the students are to be eligible for campus recruitment and for the placement and they get nice and better placement in better companies and with best earnings per annum and with bets package

Remarks :

It's better and with a good reputation. I applied first and the name came provisional merit list then I got selected. I preferred this college because I heard from many of my neighbors so much about this college and it has goodwill enough

9 /10 placement
10 /10 college
10 /10 course
9 /10 interview
9 /10 campus life
report
Read More
JS
7.3 /10

Placement Experience :

Students become eligible for placement after clearing 5th semester, Company that gives placement is Delloite, Percentage of students getting placed is 10%, I have no plans as such, aspiring professional courses

Remarks :

GCCBA is one of the most famous colleges in West Bengal, being an alumni of that college makes me feel special...

6 /10 placement
8 /10 college
8 /10 course
7 /10 campus life
report
Read More
JG
7.0 /10

Placement Experience :

Generally, students become eligible for campus placements from the 6th semester. Many big international companies like Deloitte have visited our college and lots of meritorious students have gotten selected from our college. Average package offered is around 30-40000 with the highest package around 50-60000. Relatively smaller portion of students get placements from our college, about 0.2% I am considering pursuing Mcom in Accountancy

Remarks :

Good aspects- this college is one of the best colleges in Kolkata when it comes to commerce stream. The teachers are extremely knowledgeable and teach with utmost patience and care. The overall ambience is good and the college faculty is helpful. Bad aspects- the college building and toilets are in real poor condition, but they are being renovated. Admission process- this year the entire admission process has been shifted online unlike other years when all was conducted offline. Reasons for preferring this college- as I said, this college is one of the best in the state for commerce students, so it was already one of my top choices. Plus my brother also studied here, so I had to follow the way.

6 /10 placement
7 /10 college
7 /10 course
8 /10 campus life
report
Read More
S
6.7 /10

Remarks :

GCCBA is one of the leading & premier commerce colleges among the other government colleges when we talk about studying commerce & other financial subjects. Excellent faculty with professional teachers who are ready to support & convey valuable teachings to their students. The only limitation is the fact that it somewhat limits the enrollment count by offering only 500-600 seats in total every new session so the cut-off marks remain high.

Placement Experience :

After the 5th semester students get eligible to sit for the placement program where companies like Deloite,Wipro,Infosys and other corporate giants come and invest in ourselves. But the percentage of students getting placement is quite low only a hand few 7-10 get placed every year in a batch of 500-600 students but usually students who get placed tend to have a high salary package. One of the highest being 12 lakh a year.

9 /10 faculty
3 /10 placement
7 /10 social life
10 /10 course
5 /10 hostel
4 /10 internship
9 /10 campus life
report
Read More
Sd
8.5 /10

Placement Experience :

Placement faculty of this college is nice as I have mentioned earlier. Companies like DELOITTE PwC FUTURE GRP etc come every year to recruit student and offers a salary package of 4.8lpa to 9 LPA. 40- 50% are placed in good companies

Remarks :

Well. Everyone is aware of the fact that Goenka college of commerce and Business Administration is one of the best colleges in Kolkata till date having the affiliation of Calcutta University. It holds the 11th rank as per the INDIA TODAY SURVEY 2017. I chose this college because I had a dream to study in one of the best colleges in commerce background and found this as the best to fulfil my dream. The fees structure of this college is reasonable that is not very expensive Bcom -1020pa. Admission is purely on merit basis, no bribing is entertained. If u have scored 90 and above percentage then I would recommend u guys to get admission in this college because it's a worth studying institution. Overview Faculty of this college is A+. Here admission process is rigorous. Placement is also worth mentioning, it offers a salary package of 4.8 LPA to 9 LPA. Companies like DELOITTE, PWC, FUTURE GRP etc recruit 40-50%. .environment inside the college is quite appreciable than outside the bcoz crowdy.

8 /10 placement
9 /10 college
8 /10 course
9 /10 campus life
report
Read More
AS
9.0 /10

Remarks :

Overall, the college is excellent for students pursuing their careers in Commerce & Accountancy as well as looking forward to complete professional courses such as C.A. ICWAI, C.S., M.B.A, Post-grad & PhD. in Commerce etc. I'd definitely recommend students to look for opportunities with this institution.

Admission :

I got admission in this college on the basis of the marks I obtained in my Class XII Board Exam. The first 200 students were selected on the basis of the merit list prepared i.e. Percentage marks obtained in the Grade 12 Board Exam. The admission process starts in the month of June, right after the Board Results are declared i.e. begins by the first week of June and ends by July. Classes start by the month of August. I choose this institution for it was the best government funded one.

10 /10 faculty
9 /10 placement
8 /10 social life
report
Read More
AD
7.0 /10

Remarks :

Goenka is one of the renowned colleges for commerce across India and me being from commerce background had a great desire to get admitted in this college. The faculty is good and also professors are very dedicated and sincere to their job. I needed to have my bachelor degree so I went for this course.

Placement Experience :

Amongst two or or three colleges I remember deloitte company visited our college for placements. The process was as follows : 1. First the students(who are interested) had to give a online exam. 2.The selected ones were called for an group discussion (in formal ofcourse). 3. The ones who were selected after group discussion were called for a final personal interview. We are just about to get our graduation certificate, so no there is no significant start ups from my batch mates yet.

7 /10 faculty
7 /10 placement
7 /10 social life
report
Read More
UC
7.2 /10

Remarks :

Goenka is one of the best college for Commerce in india as well as kolkata where students can get quality education with a nominal fees. This place is heaven of education for students and all. Goenka surely gives a good time in ones life.

Admission :

B.Com is the best course out there for commerce kids and specifically having honours courses opens a bright gate for their future. The factors which made me choose goenka over other colleges is first of all its fees which is very very low that is just 3k for three years, yes u read it right just 85 per month and admission fees of 5 rupees. Moreover it is one of the best college out there with being in top 15 commerce colleges my time. For the admission first you have to apply online through their website. After some time they will publish a provisional list where your rank according to the merit will be mentioned. Then time to time they will give the cutoff positions, just wait for your call and complete your admission process. Then they call you up for physical verification and done you are admitted.

8 /10 faculty
6 /10 placement
10 /10 social life
9 /10 course
5 /10 hostel
5 /10 campus life
report
Read More
AK
9.0 /10

Remarks :

At times you may feel that it is a sarkari College and may be exams may not be conducted on time. But never worry, it's manegement is quite good. Every thing happens on its time. If you are able to get admission in this College, you are lucky.

9 /10 faculty
7 /10 placement
10 /10 social life
10 /10 course
9 /10 hostel
9 /10 campus life
report
Read More

Comments


2 Comments
V
vivek pareek
I want full procedure of pwd admission in it...
S
shobhna chaturvedi

Hi Vivek, you can check the Admission Procedure of the concerned course from here.

N
nirmal pareek
There is private form available. For BCOM (Hons.) 1st year. I m from Rajasthan.
G
garima bansal
Hi Nirmal, You may contact to 033-22412216 for the admission details regarding m.com

- NO MORE COMMENTS -

Similar Colleges

Seth Anandaram Jaipuria College
REVIEWS RATING
7.3 /10

Seth Anandaram Jaipuria College

Kolkata, West Bengal
BA 4.57 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Shri Shikshayatan College
REVIEWS RATING
8.2 /10

Shri Shikshayatan College

Kolkata, West Bengal
BA 5.7 35.36 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Prafulla Chandra College
REVIEWS RATING
6.7 /10

Prafulla Chandra College

Kolkata, West Bengal
BA 5.07 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
St. Xavier's University - [SXUK]
REVIEWS RATING
8.4 /10

St. Xavier's University - [SXUK]

Kolkata, West Bengal
BA 5.3 1.32 LFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Heramba Chandra College - [HCC]
REVIEWS RATING
7.1 /10

Heramba Chandra College - [HCC]

Kolkata, West Bengal
BA 5.28 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Maulana Azad College - [MAC]
REVIEWS RATING
7.8 /10

Maulana Azad College - [MAC]

Kolkata, West Bengal
BA 6.3 1.15 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES

Nearby Colleges

Indian Institute of Management - [IIMC]
REVIEWS RATING
8.9 /10
NSHM Knowledge Campus
REVIEWS RATING
7.8 /10

NSHM Knowledge Campus

Kolkata, West Bengal
BBA/BBM 7.0 1.65 LFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
International Management Institute- [IMI]
REVIEWS RATING
8.3 /10
MBA/PGDM 7.0 6.28 LFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Annex College
REVIEWS RATING
7.9 /10

Annex College

Kolkata, West Bengal
BBA/BBM 6.6 1.74 LTotal Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Indian Institute of Social Welfare and Business Management - [IISWBM]
REVIEWS RATING
7.8 /10
MBA/PGDM 6.6 3.09 LFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Calcutta Business School - [CBS]
REVIEWS RATING
8.5 /10

Calcutta Business School - [CBS]

Kolkata, West Bengal
MBA/PGDM 6.5 3.50 LFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES

NewsView All

CMAT 2021 Exam Date Postponed, Application Window Reopened @cmat.nta.nic.in; Check Revised Exam Pattern, Dates Here
February 15, 2021
CMAT 2021 Exam Date Postponed, Application Window Reopened @cmat.nta.nic.in; Check Revised Exam Pattern, Dates Here

CMAT 2021 exam date has been postponed to the last week of March or first week of April 2021. National Testing Agency (NTA) is yet to release the exact dates, however, the CMAT 2021 application window has been reopened at the official website: cmat.nta.nic.in.  Earlier, CMAT 2

Calcutta University VC: Practical Classes can be Held on University Campus; Read Details
January 14, 2021
Calcutta University VC: Practical Classes can be Held on University Campus; Read Details

Calcutta University Vice-Chancellor, Sonali Chakravarti Banerjee, has informed on Monday (January 11, 2021) that students can attend on-campus practical classes, however, they need to attend in small batches.  Earlier the Teacher’s Association of Calcutta University had urged VC to res

Kolkata Colleges Ask Students to Submit Reason for Admission Cancellation in Order to Get Fees Refunded; Check Details Here
January 11, 2021
Kolkata Colleges Ask Students to Submit Reason for Admission Cancellation in Order to Get Fees Refunded; Check Details Here

Kolkata Colleges: Students who have taken multiple admission in different Kolkata colleges are now asked to give explanations for reimbursement of admission fees. Candidates need to put the exact date of admission and cancellation on the form to get their fees refunded.  Many principals

Kolkata College Admission 2020: Reserved Seats Opened Up for Waiting List Candidates; Read Details Here
December 30, 2020
Kolkata College Admission 2020: Reserved Seats Opened Up for Waiting List Candidates; Read Details Here

Kolkata College Admission 2020: Many colleges in Kolkata have opened up reserved seats which were vacant, for waiting list candidates to apply for admission.  For now, several colleges have already opened up seats, while some have begun de-reserving seats so that general category studen

Calcutta University Sets Domicile Term for Admission to a BTech Seat, Check Details here
December 18, 2020
Calcutta University Sets Domicile Term for Admission to a BTech Seat, Check Details here

Calcutta University has released a statement on Wednesday stating that candidates applying for decentralised counselling for BTech seats have to be domiciled in Bengal. CU introduced the condition after announcing counselling for 89 BTech seats out of the 237 seats are still vacant after concludi

Calcutta University: Affiliated Colleges Seek More Registration Time; Read Details Here
November 28, 2020
Calcutta University: Affiliated Colleges Seek More Registration Time; Read Details Here

Several affiliated colleges have approached Calcutta University Seeking more registration time to upload the scanned documents of the students along with the testimonials on the university's website to conclude the UG admission process.  Calcutta University (CU) has set up a deadlin

Top Kolkata Colleges Report Deluge of Vacant UG Seats, Demand Centralized Counselling from 2021
November 27, 2020
Top Kolkata Colleges Report Deluge of Vacant UG Seats, Demand Centralized Counselling from 2021

Top Kolkata Colleges have been demanding a centralized counselling system, reporting a large number of vacant UG seats even when registration deadline is nearing for the academic year of 2020-21. As days pass, more Kolkata based colleges are adding to the clamour for a centralized counselling ses

Calcutta University Draft Merit List Released for MSc Ag, B Tech, MSc, MA Courses on November 18
November 18, 2020
Calcutta University Draft Merit List Released for MSc Ag, B Tech, MSc, MA Courses on November 18

Calcutta University has issued provisional merit list for MSc Ag, B Tech, and MSc MA on November 18. Applicants can download the merit list on November 21 via official website caluniv.ac.in. Calcutta University prepares the merit list on the basis of score in the entrance exam of the last qu

interested in this College ?

Placements
Highest Package 600,000
company
company
company
company
company
company
Faculties
Dr. Sujit Kumar Roy Associate Professor, Department of Accountancy
Shri Udayan Ray Chowdhury Associate Professor, Department of Business Law
Dr. Parimal Kr. Sen Associate Professor, Department of Business Organisation & Management & Secretarial Practices
Students also visited
Umes Chandra College - [UCC]
Umes Chandra College - [UCC], KolkataB.Com, ₹3.77 K First Year Fees
7.0
University of Calcutta
University of Calcutta, KolkataMA, ₹2.31 K First Year Fees
7.7
Scottish Church College
Scottish Church College, KolkataB.Sc, ₹20.25 K First Year Fees
7.8
Sivanath Sastri College
Sivanath Sastri College, KolkataBA, ₹7.72 K First Year Fees
7.2
JD Birla Institute - [JDBI]
JD Birla Institute - [JDBI], KolkataB.Sc, ₹1.75 L First Year Fees
7.6
City College
City College, KolkataB.Sc, ₹3.56 K First Year Fees
7.0
St. Xavier's College - [SXC]
St. Xavier's College - [SXC], KolkataBA, ₹32.60 K First Year Fees
8.3