Lady Irwin College, New Delhi - Reviews

Lady Irwin College, New Delhi - Reviews

New Delhi, Delhi NCR UGC | Estd 1932 DU, New Delhi Public

College rating

based on 10 students ratings

8.2/10

9.2/10academic
7.1/10accommodation
9.1/10faculty
8.8/10infrastructure
6.5/10placements
8.4/10social
CLEAR ALL
View All Streams
CLEAR ALL
View All Course Tags
CLEAR ALL
View All Courses

POPULAR TAGS

fee structure
day scholar
course
knowledge
science
faculty
internship
school
entrance
scholarship
hostel
admission
percentage
development
placement
Ashi soodBsc home sciencePursued
BATCH : 2019
7.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

My college doc

Remarks -

Positive remark about the college is this that it is at a very prime location and surrounded by many other food joints and entrance exam coaching centre and metro station is also at walking distance from the college. And even the bus stop. Whereas the negative remark about the college is its time table include 8:40-5:00 and there are practicals of 2 hours. If the child takes leave it somehow looses its marks as it is a continues evaluation system of marking.


Admission -

I applied for this course through Delhi University site. When the merit list came out. I had cleared that limit of marks in my cbsc 12th result. So i went to the college next day. And applied and verified all my documents over there. And finally got admission.


9/10academic
10/10faculty
8/10infrastructure
7/10food & accom
1/10placement
8/10social life
KUMARI PRIYANKAPost graduation diploma in dietetics and public health nutritionPursued
BATCH : 2018
9.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Best college for being a dietitician

Remarks -

The positive remark is the teaching quality is best of all the teachers the opportunity of extracurricular activities is also provided very well. And the negative remark is some of the teachers are very biased towards some students specially I feel the partiality of some teacher. Not all the teacher are biased only one or two teacher are biased.


Admission -

I search about this cource and intract with the teacher as well. The form is available off line which i get from the administration office. The form is free of cost. The fotocopy of required documents like 10th marksheet, 12th marksheet, graduation certificate with provisional certificate was attached with the application form and submitted to the administration office. After 10 to 15 day the merit list will posted on the college website of lady Irwin college. The merit list was posted on three round 1 the higher marks and other as well. After that original certificate with the 6 fotograph submitted in the office and fee will deposit in the account office. The classes will start after comple...


10/10academic
9/10faculty
9/10infrastructure
8/10food & accom
10/10placement
9/10social life
Chanchal khatanaBSc. Homescience (H.)Batch : 2015
7.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Social life and college academics

Remarks -

Positive remarks about lady Irwin college is its infrastructure and greenery,flowers,organized events, plenty of books in library but one negative remarks is that there is no provision to get the book issued from college Library for more than one day.


Admission -

On the basis of Merit list(Marks of 12th standard plus OBC Quota),On the basis of sports quota,on the basis of extracurricular curricular activities quota,this is for graduation but for masters there is a provision of entrance test.


9/10academic
9/10faculty
10/10infrastructure
5/10food & accom
5/10placement
5/10social life
AartiB.sc Home scienceBatch : 2017
7.7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Best college in all the categories

Remarks -

you should get here if u really want to enjoy your college life. it is little difficult to go through 2 hrs practical for each subject but enjoyable at the end. It is a girls College so boys from outside not allowed here but during fest everyone allowed.


Admission -

Apply for the Du admission then wait for the cutoff once you get the cutoff in range of your percentage You can visit the college on the mentioned day with your documents and take admission form from college fill it and get it checked by admission coordinator then finally passing it submit it to main member with the fees. u get admission in the most happening college.


9/10academic
9/10faculty
8/10infrastructure
5/10food & accom
7/10placement
8/10social life
Sonal VaidBachelor of Science [B.Sc] {Hons.} (Home Science)Batch : 2017
8.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Wonderful life experience that can't be forgotten.

Remarks -

Good Remark: The college environment made it possible for me to have great friends and be the person who I have become. The teachers and facilities of well-equipped labs, guest lectures, events, library, etc. made it possible for us to have a great campus life. Bad Remark: The college management needs to update the library norms that they have (which made it difficult for us to have books for the weekend to study) and also need to provide students with better placement opportunities from the same field as the specializations.


Admission -

I got admitted to the college on a merit basis. The process included going through the admission guidelines as provided by the University of Delhi. Since my percentage was between 75-80%, I got through the second cut-off in the honors program. The process included applying through the common application form available on the website for the University of Delhi and filling the courses that we were interested in. We had to then wait for the cut-off and post which we had to visit the college for the admission and pay fees and submit documents for the admission. The admission dates were the same as that of the University of Delhi. The admission started usually after the board results were ou...


10/10academic
9/10faculty
10/10infrastructure
5/10food & accom
5/10placement
10/10social life
Yukti khannaBachelor of Education [B.Ed]Batch : 2015
8.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS
Entrance Preview -

I had done B.ed from lady Irwin college and cleared it's entrance exam. I want to do b.ed as I was very passionate about teaching. I loved to spread knowledge in students and want the students learn not only from books but learn by doing it.


Course Curriculum -

At my time it was good . They focus on creativity, learning by doing, exposure to practical work , less theoretical.basically they more emphasized on research work not only google or computerised knowledge but we visited many areas and places to know about are research work . We gave many presentations and also got guidance side by side.


8/10academic
9/10faculty
10/10infrastructure
7/10food & accom
10/10placement
9/10social life
Tanvi ParwalB.SC. HOME SCIENCEBatch : 2009
7.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

For learning that is fun.

Remarks -

Bad remarks the college life is hectic as many subjects and practicals of each subject has to be studied that does not leave one with a lot of time. This course is not very well known in India so getting a very lavish job where one can earn in laths is difficult sometimes few teachers can be very difficult to handle.


Entrance Preview -

Admission in the college happens through 12th percentage the cut-off generally is not very high even if you score 60% you are likely to get admission in the college. I had home science as a subject in my senior school i loved the subject and that developed my inclination towards home science lady Irwin college is asia's best college in home science.


9/10academic
9/10faculty
8/10infrastructure
7/10food & accom
6/10placement
8/10social life
Deepali JainB.EdBatch : 2015
10.0
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

College life always

Entrance Preview -

I gave the B.Ed entrance exam and qualified it. Teaching is one profession that has always inspired me so I opted to do B.Ed.


Internship -

Internship was enriching. Did it with one the government schools. No stipend was given though. Teaching there help us to see the various loopholes and think on how they can be managed.


10/10academic
10/10faculty
10/10infrastructure
10/10food & accom
10/10placement
10/10social life
NidhiB.SC. HOME SCIENCEBatch : 2009
8.0
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS
Remarks -

Few bad points now If you want to earn money and if money gives you satisfaction then don't join this college. There are many formalities to be done for every small thing. For instance the examination form is very lengthy and requires ample time. Hostel is not open for day scholars and if day scholars have to stay in the hostel that too I there is an urgent need then payment has to be done. During fest hostel is open for day scholars but only if you have hostel friends. Sometimes it can be difficult to deal with the pressure as this course is extensive and requires a lot of effort time and dedication but the output is worthy.


Entrance Preview -

There is no entrance exam. Admission happens based on the 12th percentage. I scored around 75% in 12th ad easily got admission in the college.


9/10academic
8/10faculty
7/10infrastructure
9/10food & accom
6/10placement
9/10social life
Tanvi ParwalB.SC. HOME SCIENCEBatch : 2012
7.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS
Entrance Preview -

I got admission in this college through my 12th percentage. There was no entrance exam. I opted for this college because it is the best college in ASIA for Home Science.


Placement -

The college does not have a placement cell. As far as job opportunities are concerned their are jobs in the market after you do masters in Home Science of course specialized any one stream but the pay is not lavish. Given the market scenario now the pay can be somewhere in the range of 15 k to 40 k depending on your specialization and abilities.


9/10academic
9/10faculty
8/10infrastructure
8/10food & accom
5/10placement
8/10social life

Load More reviews

Comments

Comments


2 Comments
Lanleima waribam

I've scored 68.5% in my 12th exam.can I get admission in b.sc (hons)h.science

19 Sep, 2018 15:00
Akansha Expert

Hi Lanleima, You may please check the official website that this course provide by the college or not.

19 Sep, 2018 17:08
Nidhi Chauhan

I've scored 91 marks out of 296 in m.sc entrance examm.. Can I get admission.. N my rank is 98

10 Jul, 2018 14:19
Garima Bansal

Hi Nidhi, You may check the official website form the admission details

10 Jul, 2018 16:45

- No more comments -

Similar Colleges

Guru Gobind Singh Indraprastha University - [GGSIPU], New Delhi logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING7.8 / 10
Jesus and Mary College - [JMC], New Delhi logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING7.7 / 10
Jesus and Mary College - [JMC]
New Delhi, Delhi NCR
NAAC-A
BA 8.2 ₹15.61 K first year fees
Institute of Home Economics, New Delhi logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING6.8 / 10
Institute of Home Economics
New Delhi, Delhi NCR
NAAC-A
Indraprastha College for Women - [IP], New Delhi logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING7.7 / 10
Indraprastha College for Women - [IP]
New Delhi, Delhi NCR
AICTE
Amity Institute of Education - [AIE], New Delhi logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING8.5 / 10
Amity Institute of Education - [AIE]
New Delhi, Delhi NCR
NAAC-A

NEARBY COLLEGES

Hans Raj College - [HRC], New Delhi logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING/ 10
Hans Raj College - [HRC]
New Delhi, Delhi NCR
UGC
TERI School of Advanced Studies - [TERI SAS], New Delhi logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING7.2 / 10
Acharya Narendra Dev College - [ANDC], New Delhi logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING7.9 / 10
Acharya Narendra Dev College - [ANDC]
New Delhi, Delhi NCR
NAAC-A
Deen Dayal Upadhyaya College, New Delhi logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING7.6 / 10
Deen Dayal Upadhyaya College
New Delhi, Delhi NCR
UGC

news view all

June 13, 2019

DU Admission 2019: New Eligibility Criteria Debacle

The registration process of Delhi University admission has started from May 30, 2019. This year, around 2.29 lakh aspirants have registered on Delhi University’s admission portal for undergraduate courses. The University has introduced numerous changes in the eligibility criteria. As a resu

May 31, 2019

DU Admission 2019: Scholarships, Waiver and Web Tools for Aspirants

Delhi University plans to assist students whose parents are deceased or unemployed and economically weaker sections by providing scholarships and increasing number of reserved seats. The University recently shared its plan to provide full scholarship to students whose both parents are d

August 28, 2019

Delhi University 8th Cut off 2019: Check College and Course wise Cutoff

Delhi University has released the 8th cutoff list for various undergraduate courses offered on August 27, 2019. The University will further release more cutoff lists for remaining seats. As per our analysis Cutoffs for the colleges have a marginal decli

December 24, 2018

दिल्ली विश्वविद्यालय प्रवेश 2019: यूजी, पीजी, पाठ्यक्रम और शुल्क, परिणाम, प्रवेश पत्र, कट ऑफ

दिल्ली विश्वविद्यालय (DU) एक सार्वजनिक केंद्रीय कॉलेजिएट विश्वविद्यालय है जो विभिन्न स्नातक  पाठ्य�

September 18, 2019

Delhi University (DU) Results 2019: Statement of Marks, NCWEB, Revaluation result, SOL result

DU results for May-June 2019 examination has been released. Delhi University students may download the Statement of Marks for UG and PG courses under the categories of Choice

apply now Download Brochure
INTERESTED IN THIS COLLEGE ?
Get free counselling

Follow & Share this college to get information about admission

top courses

B.Sc Home ScienceAVG FEE - ₹26,025/Yr
3 Years
B.Ed
2 Years
B.Sc (Hons.) Home ScienceAVG FEE - ₹26,025/Yr
3 Years
view more courses[13]

news

faculties

Dr. Kalyani SinghAssociate Professor , Department of Food and Nutrition.
Dr. Manisha SabharwalAssistant Professor, Department of Food and Nutrition.
Dr. Ravinder ChadhaAssociate Professor , Department of Food and Nutrition.
view all faculties[11]

reviews

STUDENTS ALSO VISITED

Miranda House, New Delhi logo
Miranda House, New DelhiBA , ₹ 14.16 K FIRST YEAR FEES
8.6
Bhaskaracharya College of Applied Sciences, New Delhi logo
7.5
Hans Raj College - [HRC], New Delhi logo
Hans Raj College - [HRC], New DelhiB.Sc , ₹ 21.4 K FIRST YEAR FEES
8.0
University of Delhi - [DU], New Delhi logo
University of Delhi - [DU], New DelhiBA , ₹ 3.63 K FIRST YEAR FEES
7.6
National Institute of Nutrition - [NIN], Hyderabad logo
8.5
Gargi College, New Delhi logo
Gargi College, New DelhiBA , ₹ 12.3 K FIRST YEAR FEES
8.0
Jamia Millia Islamia University-[JMI], New Delhi logo
7.9
Lady Shri Ram College for Women - [LSR], New Delhi logo
8.4
×