Indian Institute of Management - [IIM], Sambalpur - Reviews

Sambalpur, Orissa MHRD Estd 2015 Autonomous University 5 Questions Answered Ranked 76 For MBA By NIRF 2020

College Rating

Based on 33 Students RatingClaim this college

8.8 out of 10
8.7/10Academic
8.5/10Accommodation
8.9/10Faculty
8.8/10Infrastructure
9.1/10Placement
8.5/10Social Life
Filter By
StreamCourse TagCourseBatch
SORT BY :
Relevance

Management (29)
Arts (1)
Management (25)
Program (22)
Sambalpur (15)
Total Fee (15)
Hostel (14)
Course Curriculum (13)
Top Recruiter (10)
Summer Internship (9)
Course Structure (8)
Faculty Member (8)
Salary Package (8)
Average Salary (7)
Campus Life (7)
Fee Structure (7)
Final Placement (7)

33 Reviews found


DT
8.1 /10

Placement Experience :

The institution has achieved 100% placement all year, the average package is around 11 LPA and Highest is around 60 lakh per annum, a lot of companies visited our campus every year. Many good companies like Accenture Strategy, Deloitte, HDFC Bank, Infosys, KIA Motors, L&T Infotech visits our campus.

Remarks :

iim Sambalpur is situated in the orisha, no doubt it is the best MBA college in India. It has a very big campus, it is growing its quality every year, to take admission CAT examination is mandatory and anyone has to score 95 percentile and above for this college.

8 /10 placement
8 /10 college
8 /10 course
8 /10 hostel
8 /10 interview
9 /10 internship
8 /10 campus life
report
Read More
S
8.5 /10

Remarks :

IIM Sambalpur is rapidly developing third generation IIM in India. It is Ranked 76 by NIRF 2020. The admission is merit based on CAT scores and having good placement records. The reason of preference was to get an MBA with IIM tag. Even though a new IIM it is having all the essential features like that of reputed established IIMs.

Placement Experience :

The placements statistics showed increase in year after year. In summer placements of 2019-2021, the Highest Domestic CTC was INR 1,60,000, Median CTC was INR 50,000 and Average CTC was INR 55,432. In the case of Final placements of 2018-2020, the Highest Domestic CTC was INR 18.92 ,Median CTC was INR 10.50 LPA and Average CTC was INR 10.87 LPA.Bajaj Allianz, Aditya Birla Capital, Deloitte India, Ernst & Young, Amul, Vedanta, HDFC Bank, Evalueserve, IBM, Ramco Systems, Tech Mahindra, Mindtree, Motilal Oswal, Deloitte, Ernst & Young, Vedanta, Reliance Jio, OYO Rooms, Ericsson, Motilal Oswal, IQVIA, Newgen, Evalueserve, Parekh Group, HDFC Bank, SBI Life, Aarthi Industries and AGS Transact etc were top recruiter in campus placements. .

8 /10 faculty
9 /10 placement
9 /10 college
8 /10 course
9 /10 hostel
8 /10 interview
9 /10 internship
8 /10 campus life
report
Read More
S
7.8 /10

Remarks :

IIM Sambalpur offers PG, doctoral and MDP programmes to the students in the field of Management and has ranked 27th in B-Schools in India as per MBAUniverse.com ranking 2020. The reason for choosing this IIMS is my purpose of continuing higher studies for PhD.

Placement Experience :

Final Placement of 2018-2020 shows highest annual CTC at INR 18.92 LPA, average CTC of INR 10.87 LPA and a median CTC of INR 10.5 LPA. The prominent recruiters such as Bajaj Allianz, Aditya Birla Capital, Deloitte India, Ernst & Young, Amul, Vedanta, HDFC Bank, Evalueserve, IBM, Ramco Systems, Tech Mahindra, Mindtree, Motilal Oswal, etc. In 2020 summer placement the highest stipend offered was INR 1,60,000 domestic and average stipend of INR 82,640, and median stipend at INR 55,432. The top recruiters are Boston Consulting Group, Google, Walmart, McDonald?Ûªs, Amul, Aditya Birla Fashion & Retail (Pantaloons), Bajaj Allianz General and Life Insurance, Bajaj Finserv, DSM Group, Ernst & Young, IBM, Justdial, Jubilant Life Sciences, KPMG, Kotak Mahindra Bank, Reserve Bank of India, SIDBI, Tata Steel BSL, Tata Consultancy Services (TCS), V- Guard etc.

8 /10 faculty
8 /10 placement
8 /10 college
8 /10 course
7 /10 hostel
7 /10 interview
8 /10 internship
8 /10 campus life
report
Read More
As
9.0 /10

Remarks :

The reason why I applied for the MBA program at IIM Sambalpur is its placement record and excellent education facilities. My college days went smoothly with the help of extra guidance from the teachers, and fun curriculum activities. At the end of the program, the college conducted a placement drive where many recruiters visited the campus ground to recruit students for various post vacancies.

Admission :

The admission process consists of shortlisting of candidates, which is done based on an interview round conducted by the exam authority. Students who secured minimum qualifying marks have appeared for the interview, and according to which they will be further selected for the admission process.

9 /10 faculty
9 /10 placement
9 /10 college
9 /10 course
9 /10 hostel
9 /10 interview
9 /10 internship
9 /10 campus life
report
Read More
FS
8.7 /10

Placement Experience :

Over 100 companies participated in the final placement process of IIM Sambalpur. The highest salary package offered is recorded as INR 18.92 LPA and the average salary package offered is INR 10.87 LPA. Some of the top recruiters of the IIM Sambalpur final placement process are Bajaj Allianz, Aditya Birla Capital, Deloitte, Ernst & Young, Amul, Vedanta, HDFC Bank, IBM, Ramco Systems, Tech Mahindra, and MindTree.

Remarks :

Initially, IIM Sambalpur prepares a list of selected candidates based on their CAT score. The selected candidates will be then called for the personal interview process. The final selection list will be based on the CAT score, Personal Interview score, profile score which includes the work experience and past academic performance.

10 /10 placement
8 /10 college
8 /10 course
9 /10 hostel
7 /10 interview
10 /10 internship
9 /10 campus life
report
Read More
N
8.5 /10

Remarks :

My reason behind choosing this institution is that, they have a great placement record. I wanted to secure my future and this was best I could choose and I'm very happy that I did. To get in, I had to submit an application form at the official website of the college. The application fee that I had to pay for that was ?1900.

Admission :

After I passed the first round and got selected in the basis of my CAT score in which I had a score of 78%, I was then informed that I've been selected and the second phase includes a personal interview and a written test in which I'll be writing an essay. The PI went on for about 20 mins and for the WAT, I was given 25 mins to write about something they related to the growing effect of social media. I don't exactly remember it.

8 /10 faculty
9 /10 placement
9 /10 college
9 /10 course
8 /10 hostel
8 /10 interview
9 /10 internship
8 /10 campus life
report
Read More
LM
7.8 /10

Placement Experience :

In this academic year, IIM Sambalpur received the highest Annual CTC at INR 18.92 Lakhs and an average CTC of INR 10.87 Lakhs. The institute conducts campus selection after the completion of the 4th semester. Prominent companies like Deloitte, Newgan, SBI life, OYO Rooms, and many more have participated in the placement drive.

Remarks :

The institute is situated amidst the hills and placement program is IIM Sambalpur follows the Common Admission Process (CAP) for offering MBA admission. The institute is also surrounded by the MNCs where the students get real-life experience for the current market requirements. The admission process starts from the month of June every year.

8 /10 placement
7 /10 college
8 /10 course
8 /10 interview
8 /10 internship
8 /10 campus life
report
Read More
JA
8.8 /10

Remarks :

IIM Sambalpur stood out to me because it was close to my grandparents' home in Odisha. After doing my graduation in Mumbai and working for two years at a startup, I wanted to reorganize my career goals, so I decided to do an MBA. I applied for CAT, keeping IIM Sambalpur as my third or fourth preference, and actually scored in the 90 percentile. I got a call for interview from IIM Sambalpur, gave my personal interview after submitting an application, and was later informed that I had got in. I knew that the IIM brand value would stay with me no matter if I chose a first-gen IIM or a third-gen one, and I wanted to make use of that opportunity to connect with my distant family.

Placement Experience :

100+ companies visited our campus for placements, including Aditya Birla Capital, Bajaj, Deloitte, EY and Vedanta. The average annual salary package offered was INR 10,87,000 and the highest was INR 18,92,000. I accepted a position in Tech Mahindra for a salary of INR 12,50,000 per year, and now I work in the marketing department there. Overall I think the placements at IIM Sambalpur are getting better and better each year, as more recruiters arrive with more lucrative offers.

9 /10 faculty
9 /10 placement
8 /10 college
9 /10 course
9 /10 hostel
8 /10 interview
9 /10 internship
9 /10 campus life
report
Read More
IM
9.3 /10

Placement Experience :

More than 100 companies participated in the final placement process of IIM Sambalpur. The highest salary package offered is INR 18.92 LPA and the average salary package offered is INR 10.87 LPA. Some of the top recruiters of the final placement process are Bajaj Allianz, Aditya Birla Capital, Deloitte, Ernst & Young, Amul, Vedanta, HDFC Bank, IBM, Ramco Systems, Tech Mahindra and MindTree.

Remarks :

The admission process of IIM Sambalpur consists of CAT examination and shortlisting of candidates for personal appearance (PA) process which consists of Personal Interview (PI). The final selection will be based on the CAT score of the candidates, PA score and profile score including the work experience score as assessed during the PA process and score for Past Academic Performance (PAP).

10 /10 placement
9 /10 college
8 /10 course
9 /10 hostel
9 /10 interview
10 /10 internship
10 /10 campus life
report
Read More
SR
8.3 /10

Remarks :

Considering it is among the newest IIMs, I was attracted by the 'IIM brand' along with its comparative affordability. I was convinced about a great placement and getting India’s finest academic and industrial exposure at such an affordable price. There were also good faculty coming from IIM Amritsar which assured me of my choice. Eventually, I weighed in all the factors and decided it was better to go here as it was closer to my home as well.

Admission :

I had to appear for an interview after securing a 93 percentile in CAT. They consider your work experience a lot and I had an advantage of having over 5 years of experience. They also give about 45% weightage to your overall academic profile before offering you a place here.

8 /10 faculty
8 /10 placement
9 /10 college
9 /10 course
8 /10 hostel
8 /10 interview
8 /10 internship
8 /10 campus life
report
Read More

Indian Institute of Management - [IIM], Sambalpur : 5 answered questions

VIEW ALL

Ques. Is it worth joining IIM Sambalpur? I have converted IMT Ghaziabad and got a call from IIM Sambalpur. Would it be better than IMTG and IMI?

● Top Answer By Pratyush Samal on 22 May 21

Ans. You should go for IIM Sambalpur, rather than IMT Ghaziabad or IMI. Here are some facts I have heard from my friends studying at these institutions -  You might get an equal placement at IMT G but IIM Sambalpur has its edge.  Also, in the long term prospect, you will get huge network access and tag which makes a huge difference in your career. Although, choosing IMTG will be a good choice as it has been 30 years since its establishment has a brand, alumni base. You will be well placed with above-average marks.  IMT G and IMI have their location advantage and IIM Sambalpur doesn’t.  Also, with the presence of so many IIMs, the IIM brand has diluted over the years.  But again choose wisely. As you know tag plays a major role and also IIM Sambalpur will grow eventually with time. It will be better if you are working; then give the next shot rather than joining any of them. But my suggestion will be IIM Sambalpur if you want to enroll in this year itself.Read more
0
0
1 Answer
●●●

Ques. What is the average package of IIM Sambalpur?

● Top Answer By Sudipta Jha on 11 Feb 21

Ans. IIM Sambalpur offers decent placements to the students. According to the placement statistics of recent years the average CTC offered at IIM Sambalpur is around 9 LPA. If you are lucky, you will get a salary package of 10-11 LPA. Everyone does not get placed in the placement drive.  According to the student reviews, many students do unpaid internships for summer placements.  Placement Statistics: The placement statistics for IIM Sambalpur over the few years are given below.  Particulars 2017-19 2018-20 Average CTC 11.33 LPA 10.87 LPA Median CTC 9.23 LPA 10.5 LPA Highest CTC International - 58 LPA, Domestic- 20 LPA 18.92 LPA Total no of visiting companies 49 100 The number of visiting companies has increased over the years. Some of the major recruiters at IIM Sambalpur include Aditya Birla Capital, Deloitte India, Bajaj Allianz, Ernst & Young, BFSI, Mindtree, HDFC Bank, IBM, etc.  Though IIM Sambalpur is a new IIM, it is mentored by IIM Indore. The quality of education at the institute is on the same level as the other IIM. With time the placement is also improving.Read more
0
0
1 Answer
●●●

Ques. Are there any IIM Sambalpur students here? What are your experiences? Would it be worth joining IIM Sambalpur?

● Top Answer By Monica Aswani on 11 Feb 21

Ans. There are several reviews of IIM Sambalpur students available online in different mediums. Everyone has their own perspectives about the institute. A few personal opinions are discussed below in the key highlights. The table below gives a brief statistical overview of IIM Sambalpur. NIRF ’20 Rank 76-100 Total Fees (PGPM/ MBA) 10.65 Lakhs Highest Salary Offered 19 LPA Median Salary Offered 10.5 LPA Cut-off (CAT) 95 percentile Key Highlights: If you want brand fame, you should opt for the institute. Sooner or later, the degree with an IIM tag will be proved fruitful. If you are looking forward to IIM Sambalpur for faculty and knowledge, you should definitely go for it. If you want excellent infrastructure and facilities, like old IIMs, you would be disappointed. For good infrastructure and facilities go for other B-schools. The placement started in IIM Sambalpur just a few years back. According to recent reports, it is decent. The average CTC offered is not as good as older IIMs, but has a good figure. It would be a wise decision to opt for IIM Sambalpur if it is the only IIM you got converted to.Read more
0
0
1 Answer
●●●

Ques. Which one should be chosen between XIMB and IIM Sambalpur?

● Top Answer By Gitali Saha on 29 Jan 21

Ans. Xavier Institute of Management, Bhubaneswar (XIMB) is a better choice than IIM Sambalpur. The former is one of the finest business schools in Eastern India.  Important details about both the institutes are tabulated below. Category XIMB IIM Sambalpur NIRF Ranking as per Management Institutes 31 76 Highest CTC INR 26 LPA INR 18.92 LPA Average CTC INR 15.42 LPA INR 11.61 LPA Placement rate 100% 100% No. of recruiters 140+ 100+ In terms of placement opportunities, alumni network, faculty, and infrastructure, XIMB is clearly the better Business School. Although you will lose the IIM brand, there is no point in doing MBA from baby IIM as it is commonly called. In 10–12 years, these IIMs will be well-established. But you can’t get the benefit right after graduation.  XIMB is clearly the better college when compared to IIM Sambalpur. The latter is new to the field of management studies and has a great deal of potential for growth. While XIMB is a well-established business school for management studies with better placement opportunities and one of the oldest alumni networks.Read more
0
0
1 Answer
●●●

Ques. What is the average package of IIM Sambalpur?

● Top Answer By Geetanshu Sachdeva on 29 Jan 21

Ans. IIM Sambalpur is a fairly new IIM, but it is mentored by IIM Indore. The learning ambiance at the institute is quite equivalent to other IIMs. The average package at IIM Sambalpur is likely to rise in the near future.  In the year 2019 also, during the summer placement sessions, all the students were placed successfully according to the placement record published by the institute. IIM Sambalpur- Placement Stats (2020): Particulars Stats as per 2020 Highest CTC INR 18.92 LPA Average CTC INR 11. 61 LPA Placement Rate 100% No. of Recruiters 100+ companies IIM Sambalpur is a new IIM yet it is one of the fastest-growing IIMs under the tutelage of IIM Indore. Every year, the number of recruiting companies visiting the campus placement drive increases along with better placement offers. This year alone saw an increase of 104% in the total number of companies visiting the on-campus placements.Read more
0
0
1 Answer
●●●

Comments



NO COMMENTS TO SHOW

Similar Colleges

Indian Institute of Management - [IIM]
REVIEWS RATING
8.5 /10
MBA/PGDM 7.7 7.83 LFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Indian Institute of Management - [IIM]
REVIEWS RATING
8.9 /10
MBA/PGDM 5.5 6 LFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Indian Institute of Management - [IIM]
REVIEWS RATING
8.7 /10

Indian Institute of Management - [IIM]

Sirmaur, Himachal Pradesh
MBA/PGDM 5.4 11.75 LTotal Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Department of Business Economics, University of Delhi - [DBE]
REVIEWS RATING
8.5 /10
MBA/PGDM 12.38 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Indian Institute of Management - [IIMU]
REVIEWS RATING
9 /10
MBA/PGDM 8.2 18.50 LTotal Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Indian Institute of Management - [IIM]
REVIEWS RATING
8.9 /10
MBA/PGDM 7.9 7.28 LFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES

Nearby Colleges

KIIT School of Management - [KSOM]
REVIEWS RATING
8.4 /10
BBA/BBM 7.5 2.80 LFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Xavier University - [XUB] / XIM University
REVIEWS RATING
8.2 /10
MBA/PGDM 7.0 8.60 LFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
International Management Institute - [IMI]
REVIEWS RATING
9 /10
MBA/PGDM 6.7 6.26 LFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Regional College of Management - [RCM]
REVIEWS RATING
7.8 /10
BBA/BBM 6.5 2.40 LTotal Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Institute of Management and Information Science - [IMIS]
REVIEWS RATING
8.2 /10
MBA/PGDM 6.4 2.58 LFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Gandhi Institute of Management Studies - [GIMS]
REVIEWS RATING
6.4 /10
BBA/BBM 6.3
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES

NewsView All

IIM Personal Interview Questions
June 02, 2021
IIM Personal Interview Questions

IIMs are the top institutes of management education and research in India. There are 20 IIMs and these mostly offer post-graduate, doctoral and executive programs. Every MBA aspirant hopes to get into an IIM for a management program. IIMs admission process begins in the month of February each year w

Guesstimate Questions
June 16, 2021
Guesstimate Questions

Guesstimates questions are often used by Top Management college Placement Interview panels at the time of intake or to assess the decision making analysis and estimation ability of a candidate.In this scenario, candidate is expected to estimate a number based on very limited information (hence

Baby IIMs
June 02, 2021
Baby IIMs

Baby (New) IIMs are the recent addition to the list of Indian Institute of Mangement, autonomous colleges funded by Government of India. All the baby/ new IIMs known for their flagship MBA/ PGP programs, in which admissions are granted generally, on the basis of CAT score followed by Group

IIM SAP: Dates, How to Apply, Cut off, Selection Criteria
February 23, 2021
IIM SAP: Dates, How to Apply, Cut off, Selection Criteria

IIM Bodh Gaya and IIM Jammu will conduct the Supplementary Admission Process (SAP) for the year 2021 for students who have not received any call from the CAP 2021. SAP is conducted by IIMs when seats are still vacant after the CAP is complete. The application process for the SAP 2021 ended on Febr

CAT 2020: Kerala HC Refuses to Conduct Retest for Covid-19 Positive Candidates; Check Details Here
January 10, 2021
CAT 2020: Kerala HC Refuses to Conduct Retest for Covid-19 Positive Candidates; Check Details Here

January 10, 2021: Kerala High Court has denied the order to conduct a retest for the candidate who failed to appear for the CAT 2020 Exam due to being tested positive for COVID-19. Justice PB Suresh Kumar has refused to permit the retest for the applicant, stating that it will take time to p

CDAC C-CAT 2021 Admit Card Released @cdac.in
January 07, 2021
CDAC C-CAT 2021 Admit Card Released @cdac.in

The Centre for Development of Advanced Computing (CDAC), Noida has released the admit card for the CDAC C-CAT 2021 on January 6, 2021 on its official website @cdac.in.  Applicants can now download the CDAC C-CAT 2021 admit card from the official website by entering their application number/i

IIM Sambalpur: PM Modi to Lay Foundation of Permanent Campus Today (Jan 02); Read Here
January 02, 2021
IIM Sambalpur: PM Modi to Lay Foundation of Permanent Campus Today (Jan 02); Read Here

On January 1, 2021, Prime Minister Narendra Modi took to Twitter to address that he would lay the foundation stone of IIM Sambalpur’s permanent campus on January 2 (Saturday), at 11 AM through video conferencing.  Education Minister Ramesh Pokhriyal and Odisha CM Naveen Patna

CAT 2020: Final Answer Key Released @iimcat.ac.in, Check Details Here
December 31, 2020
CAT 2020: Final Answer Key Released @iimcat.ac.in, Check Details Here

IIM Indore has released the final answer key of CAT 2020 on the official website iimcat.ac.in. Candidates can now check the official answer key to calculate their raw score and expected percentile. The final answer key of CAT 2020 has been released after the analysis of the challenges and objecti

interested in this College ?

Top Courses
MBA Financial Management AVG FEE - ₹ 651,500/Yr
2 Years
MBA Information Systems AVG FEE - ₹ 651,500/Yr
2 Years
Placements
Highest Package 6,074,000
Average Package 1,055,000
company
company
company
company
company
company
Faculties
Prof. Alka Chadha Adjunct Associate Professor
Prof. Ashutosh Tripathi Assistant Professor
Prof. Atri Sengupta Assistant Professor
Students also visited
Indian Institute of Management - [IIM]
8.8
International Management Institute - [IMI]
9.0
Xavier Institute of Management - [XIMB]
Xavier Institute of Management - [XIMB], BhubaneswarMBA/PGDM, ₹10.80 L First Year Fees
8.1
Indian Institute of Management - [IIMJ]
8.8
Indian Institute of Management - [IIM-BG] Bodh Gaya
8.7
Indian Institute of Management - [IIM]
Indian Institute of Management - [IIM], NagpurMBA/PGDM, ₹13.75 L Total Fees
9.0
Xavier University - [XUB] / XIM University
8.2
Indian Institute of Management - [IIMR]
9.0
Indian Institute of Management - [IIM]
8.9