Get $150 Scholarship!

UNIVERSITY OF CALGARY, CALGARY, ALBERTA - REVIEWS

Calgary, AlbertaLOCATION
UniversitySCHOOL TYPE
Estd 1966Established Year
  30000Enrollment

College rating

based on 18 students ratings

7.4/10

7.8/10academic
7.6/10infrastructure
6.8/10placements
7.5/10faculty
7.6/10extracurricular
7.4/10accommodation

Reviews

FILTER BY
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL

POPULAR TAGS

campus
program
internship
experience
tuition fee
course curriculum
health
scholarship
admission
high school
final exam
meal plan
support
education
exam structure
E
Emily tetrault, CANADA Bachelor of social work [b.s.w] on-campus
University of Calgary
Recently passed out , Batch : 2020
7.7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

SOCIAL WORK IN CALGARY

I chose this university because at the time I was applying, it was near my house, and both my parents were employed by the university. As their dependent, I received a discount on courses. It is also one of the best programs in the country for my degree program, and it is offered in many different formats. I like having that flexibility. For example, my courses have been entirely online for two years.


Course Curriculum - 

The course curriculum is quite good in general. I get the opportunity to learn about western views as well as indigenous perspectives and efforts of decolonization. There is no education on Asian or African schools of thought unfortunately but I don't think I would get that knowledge at any school of social work in North America or Europe.

8 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
9 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
7 /10
placement
7 /10
extracurricular
05, Nov 2019 read more
A
Ankolika kabir, BANGLADESH Master of business administration [m.b.a] (accelerated) on-campus
Haskayne School of Business
, Batch : 2020
9
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

THE ART OF BUSINESS REDEFINED!

Among all the other colleges that I had options to choose from only this college had the AACSB Accreditation. This was the prime reason for me to choose this college. Since AACSB is really tough for any college to become eligible as it ensures higher opportunity for job placements for students with competitive salaries. I registered for the program through the official website of the college, the application fee that was $145.


Course Curriculum - 

The MBA program is well-tailored for aspiring entrepreneurs or entrepreneurs who already have a business hence looking to expand and strategize their business model into a more robust and adaptive one which would be able to handle the cut-throat competitions in today's market. Assessments and the courses are highly competitive which ensures that by the end of the curriculum a student is well prepared for any hurdle in the career. MBA in Haskayne School of business can be done at a regular pace which I had opted for which spans for around 20 months or the college also offers accelerated MBA courses which nearly takes only half of that time.

9 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
9 /10
infrastructure
9 /10
accomodation/food
9 /10
placement
9 /10
extracurricular
27, Sep 2019 read more
A
Anthony ngo, CANADA Community rehabilitation and disability studies
University of Calgary
Current student , Batch : 2022
8.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

THE CRDS LIFE

I chose this school as it was close to my home and very convenient as I got to live at home with my family. Admissions is relatively easy as you submit all the information that they prompt you to submit, and wait until you hear back from them about acceptance. The application fee was fairly standard with other schools, at I believe around $75.


Course Curriculum - 

The course curriculum is fairly straight forward and easy. The faculty provides you with a list of what you have to take and your options/electives for personal interest. For required classes, the work is very heavily writing-based, along with direct service practicum where we have to volunteer our time to help out the community.

9 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
7 /10
infrastructure
7 /10
accomodation/food
9 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
27, Sep 2019 read more
T
Tarjani patel, CANADA Bachelor or arts
University of Calgary
Current student , Batch : 2023
9.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

MY PERSPECTIVE ON THE UNIVERSITY OF CALGARY

It is one of the most prestigious universities in Canada and it happens to be in my city so I would save money on residence as I'd be able to stay at home with my family. The admission process is straightforward; between October and March, anyone is able to apply to any 2 programs of their choice and they will be evaluated on their highschool transcripts.


Course Curriculum - 

It's relative information to the course and makes sense in terms of grade weightings and the expectations.

10 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
10 /10
infrastructure
9 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
08, Sep 2019 read more
D
Dhanush bhatti, INDIA Bachelor of arts [b.a] sociology on-campus
University of Calgary
Current student , Batch : 2021
6.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

CHEAPER AND A GOOD UNIVERSITY

The amount of personalization that the University of Calgary offers while selecting for the course made me apply for this university. At the time of admission, I was required to submit an application along with various documents. The documents included English proficiency test scores, a statement of purpose for studying the course, etc.


Course Curriculum - 

How to study the social structures, social processes, and cultural products are being included in my curriculum. During my studies, l will also gain statistical analysis skills, research capabilities, written and verbal communication skills, with a deeper understanding of the complex nature of society.

7 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
7 /10
accomodation/food
5 /10
placement
6 /10
extracurricular
06, Aug 2019 read more
D
Dhriti sekhar, BANGLADESH Bachelor of arts in sociology
University of Calgary
Current student , Batch : 2021
7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

CHEAPER AND BETTER

The amount of personalization that the University of Calgary offers when selecting majors and courses is what made my decision strong for this particular university. I have been allowed to have two majors and a minor or shuffle them up as I like and have my own customized program away. This is with each course at U of C. The application form was submitted online, the fee of the application was $110.


Course Curriculum - 

The program designed by the university is very well thought of and despite the large class strength, it has been easier to catch up. Being regular really helps and that is the only way one can do well.

7 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
5 /10
placement
6 /10
extracurricular
06, Aug 2019 read more
H
Hanuman rao, INDIA Master environmental design dual_degree
Faculty of Graduate Studies, University of Calgary
Recently passed out , Batch : 2020
6.7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

REVIEW OF AN OVERSEA'S STUDENT

While searching for the various courses I came across the University of Calgary. According to the organic reviews, I came to know that it has a stellar reputation as compared to other elite universities in Canada. So I too decided to try my luck at the same university. I applied to the university with the help of a common application form.


Course Curriculum - 

This unique, thesis-based degree is designed to train and nurture the next generation leaders. In order to understand and solve the complex spatial issues, we are being taught the thesis in the School of Architecture, Planning, and Landscape. My curriculum mobilizes a range of methods from different disciplines, including design explorations, participatory planning exercises, statistics, laboratory science, fieldwork, and archival, visual, and textual studies.

7 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
7 /10
infrastructure
7 /10
accomodation/food
6 /10
placement
6 /10
extracurricular
06, Aug 2019 read more
Y
Yamini musa, BANGLADESH Master environmental design dual_degree
Faculty of Graduate Studies, University of Calgary
Recently passed out , Batch : 2020
6.7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

THE UNDERDOG

The University of Calgary has a very stellar reputation as compared to other elite universities in Canada. It's the large selection of courses that are the reason behind all of this and which is exactly what attracted me towards the university. I could study something I wanted to specifically, only at U of C. Applied on the official website, paid $110 as the application fee.


Course Curriculum - 

Not being an elite university, works well in the favor of Calgary and the students as well. The curriculum is designed to support the weak students and help good students grow well. The requirements are very reasonable unlike in universities where you learn nothing but only worry about marks.

7 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
7 /10
infrastructure
7 /10
accomodation/food
6 /10
placement
6 /10
extracurricular
06, Aug 2019 read more
J
Jamshed persaud, INDIA Master of science [m.sc] math and statistics on-campus
Faculty of Graduate Studies, University of Calgary
Recently passed out , Batch : 2020
8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

BEST LEARNING PLATFORM : UNIVERSITY OF CALGARY

Being brought up to a family of maths professors, I always wanted to follow my family's profession. By securing 92% marks in high school I aimed at studying abroad. I researched the various countries to study in. Then I came across Canada. After selecting the country I applied for the various colleges and universities. And luckily I was selected at the University of Calgary.


Course Curriculum - 

The normal course load for my course curriculum is 9 units per term. In my opinion, the academics, especially in my program, is fantastic. Calgary university gives a prior focus on the overall growth of us. Moreover, the academics provided to me pays more importance on the practical side of the course instead of focusing on theory.

8 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
8 /10
extracurricular
05, Aug 2019 read more
M
Mukul bhatt, BANGLADESH Math and statistics (msc)
University of Calgary
, Batch : 2020
8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

OFFERS BEST LEARNING PLATFORM

Being brought up to a family of maths professors, I was always motivated towards learning maths, and in my 12th class, I secured 98 marks. My mother referred this college to me as one of her friends' children are also studying at this university, and informed that this offer wider learning platform to the international students. I applied on the official website, also paid the application fee of $110.


Course Curriculum - 

The degree allows students to build on their undergraduate training to develop advanced skills under the guidance of award-winning, research-active faculty. Also, we have access to events hosted by the Pacific Institute for the Mathematical Sciences.

8 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
8 /10
extracurricular
05, Aug 2019 read more

Apply Now DOWNLOAD BROCHURE  
INTERESTED IN THIS COLLEGE ?
Get free counselling

Follow & Share this college to get information about admission

FACULTY, SCHOOLS AND CAMPUSES
COLLEGES IN ALBERTA, CANADA
The King's University Edmonton, Alberta
University of Alberta Edmonton, Alberta
Athabasca University Athabasca, Alberta
MacEwan University Edmonton, Alberta
Mount Royal University Calgary, Alberta
NEAREST RANKED COLLEGES
University of Toronto , Toronto Avg Fee: $37.84K/Yr 7.4
McGill University , Montreal Avg Fee: $13.58K/Yr 6.6
University of British Columbia , Vancouver Avg Fee: $29.39K/Yr 6.7
University of Alberta , Edmonton Avg Fee: $16.03K/Yr 5.7
University of Montreal , Montreal Avg Fee: $19.6K/Yr 6
York University , Toronto Avg Fee: $22.12K/Yr 4.3
McMaster University , Hamilton Avg Fee: $24.28K/Yr 5.5
University of Ottawa , Ottawa Avg Fee: $18.08K/Yr 4.7
University of Waterloo , Waterloo Avg Fee: $26.48K/Yr 5.3
University of Saskatchewan , Saskatoon Avg Fee: $13.53K/Yr 4.3