UNIVERSITY OF CALGARY, CALGARY, ALBERTA - REVIEWS

Calgary, AlbertaLOCATION
UniversitySCHOOL TYPE
Estd 1966Established Year
  30000Enrollment

College rating

based on 9 students ratings

7.5/10

8/10academic
7.7/10infrastructure
6.8/10placements
7.4/10faculty
7.9/10extracurricular
7.4/10accommodation

Reviews

avatar image
Sam geist, CANADA Actuarial science
University of Calgary
Alumna/alumnus , Batch : 2018
5.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

THE REAL STUDENT EXPERIENCE AT UOFC

Proximity to my family and how the program would set me up for financial success in the long term but this changed over the course of my degree. I guess I have to add more detail but I don't really have much else to say.


Course Curriculum - 

It was really good at preparing students for life in the workforce and I think that all students would benefit from this type of learning environment where both teaching and learning are taken seriously.

7 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
4 /10
infrastructure
3 /10
accomodation/food
3 /10
placement
8 /10
extracurricular
25, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Andrea dumitru, CANADA Mechanical engineering
University of Calgary
Current student , Batch : 2020
7.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

ANDREA'S UNIVERSITY REVIEW

Firstly, I choose this university because it's located where I currently live. I couldn't afford to go to another province or even city so I just opted for the cheapest option. However, turns out the school has a great mechanical engineering program and has had a lot of success thus far in my degree.


Course Curriculum - 

I find it very difficult and stressful at times. I do like the material a lot, however, usually the people who teach it don't care about teaching and end up giving me a negative opinion on the courses. The main issue is not the curriculum but the professors.

8 /10
academic
6 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
7 /10
accomodation/food
9 /10
placement
7 /10
extracurricular
25, Apr 2019 read more
avatar image
Claire, CANADA School and applied child psychology
University of Calgary
Current student , Batch : 2020
8.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

SACP

I choose this college because of the program and location, only a few colleges in Canada offers this program. It is also a competitive program to get into, taking approximately 10 students out of 120 applicants.


Course Curriculum - 

It is very course heavy even though it is a Master's thesis program. This is because you can become a school psychologist after the Master's program in Alberta. The course load is to ensure that individuals who want to terminate at the Master's level have the appropriate courses.

9 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
8 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
9 /10
placement
8 /10
extracurricular
30, Nov -0001 read more
avatar image
Leena tanakoor, CANADA Mechanical engineering
University of Calgary
Current student , Batch : 2022
9.7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

INTERNATIONAL STUDENT'S EXPERIENCE AT THE UNIVERSITY OF CALGARY.

The university was ranked among the top 10 universities in Canada. Calgary is a very safe and clean place to live as well. The tuition fee was not too high compared to other places and I was offered a scholarship there.


Course Curriculum - 

The Course curriculum is well planned and everything is cohesive. The first year consists of courses from all fields of engineering that help students get to know which major they want to go better.

10 /10
academic
10 /10
faculty
10 /10
infrastructure
10 /10
accomodation/food
9 /10
placement
9 /10
extracurricular
30, Nov -0001 read more
avatar image
Emma claire roberge, CANADA Psychology
University of Calgary
Current student , Batch : 2022
6.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

UOFC REVIEW

I wanted to go to this college because it is close to home and my family and friends. It is also a good school with a nice campus and a good reputation. Many of my friends were attending this school as well.


Course Curriculum - 

I think most of the course curriculum is good although some of it seems incoherent such as in my anthropology class. My psychology has an interesting curriculum and I quite enjoy it. Some of the classes can be lecture heavy and slightly boring.

7 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
6 /10
infrastructure
7 /10
accomodation/food
5 /10
placement
6 /10
extracurricular
30, Nov -0001 read more
avatar image
Fatima, CANADA Communication and media studies
University of Calgary
Current student , Batch : 2021
5.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

MY UNI EXPERIENCE

Because it's the best one in my city. It is an excellent institution that brings out the best in kids. There is however still a lot of stigmas involving mental health but for the most part, I've found the university to be a home away from home.


Course Curriculum - 

It lets me express my creativity quite a bit, which is the best part of my major. I love my profs and the way they are from all across the country. I am excited to explore what opportunities I will gain when I graduate.

5 /10
academic
3 /10
faculty
7 /10
infrastructure
7 /10
accomodation/food
2 /10
placement
9 /10
extracurricular
30, Nov -0001 read more
avatar image
Leena tanakoor, INDIA Bachelor of mechanical engineering
University of Calgary
Current student , Batch : 2022
9
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

FROM THE EYES OF AN INTERNATIONAL STUDENT AT THE UNIVERSITY OF CALGARY.

I followed the British curriculum and completed my A levels in Maths, Chemistry, and Physics. I got A* in all of them. I wanted to go to a university that has a good ranking. UofC (university of Calgary) is constantly one in the top ten in Canada. Its tuition fees is also relatively cheaper than the other prestigious universities like UofT and McGill. Moreover, there was a lot of entrance scholarship and I managed to get a really good one. The admission process was very simple. I think it cost around $45 (not quite sure). You just have to go to the website and click on new students and apply. I would recommend to apply as early as you can (even with your forecast results if you can) because, in that way, you have a better chance of obtaining a scholarship.


Course Curriculum - 

The academic level is really good, I'd even say quite high for engineering because the faculty wants only the good candidates to graduate. The first year is pretty competitive because of program placement into your desired major that depends on your GPA over the academic year. Teaching methodology depends on the professors. We have really nice professors. They always have office hours and want to help. You will still have to do a lot of learning on your own though.

9 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
10 /10
infrastructure
9 /10
accomodation/food
9 /10
placement
8 /10
extracurricular
30, Nov -0001 read more
avatar image
Kartik sehajpal, INDIA Meng chemical engineering
University of Calgary
Current student , Batch : 2020
10
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

STUDENT LIFE ON CALGARY

Renowned University for masters in chemical engineering and lots of alumni are working in well-renowned industries in a good position and are overall satisfied with the quality of education they completed in school.


Course Curriculum - 

This is mandatory for chemical engineers practicing in the oil and gas industry as this course teaches us basic concepts in the oil and gas industry, challenges which are faced by the oil and gas industry and methods to solve industrial problems.

10 /10
academic
10 /10
faculty
10 /10
infrastructure
10 /10
accomodation/food
10 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
30, Nov -0001 read more
avatar image
Chloe, SCHRIEMER Bachelor of science
University of Calgary
Current student , Batch : 2022
4.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

STUDENTS OPINION OF U OF C

I chose the University of Calgary because it is located in my home town. It doesn't have an amazing reputation for its science department but the convenience of its location and the associated affordability made up for that.


Course Curriculum - 

The course curriculum for a physics major is extremely structured at the University of Calgary, which is typical for any physics program. The unfortunate part here is that the recommended degree sequence is being adjusted which has caused some difficulty in planning and scheduling.

5 /10
academic
5 /10
faculty
4 /10
infrastructure
4 /10
accomodation/food
4 /10
placement
4 /10
extracurricular
30, Nov -0001 read more
avatar image
Tarjani patel, CANADA Bachelor or arts
University of Calgary
Current student , Batch : 2023
9.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

MY PERSPECTIVE ON THE UNIVERSITY OF CALGARY

It is one of the most prestigious universities in Canada and it happens to be in my city so I would save money on residence as I'd be able to stay at home with my family. The admission process is straightforward; between October and March, anyone is able to apply to any 2 programs of their choice and they will be evaluated on their highschool transcripts.


Course Curriculum - 

It's relative information to the course and makes sense in terms of grade weightings and the expectations.

10 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
10 /10
infrastructure
9 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
30, Nov -0001 read more
Apply Now DOWNLOAD BROCHURE  
INTERESTED IN THIS COLLEGE ?
Get free counselling

Follow & Share this college to get information about admission

FACULTY, SCHOOLS AND CAMPUSES
COLLEGES IN ALBERTA, CANADA
The King's University Edmonton, Alberta
University of Alberta Edmonton, Alberta
Athabasca University Athabasca, Alberta
MacEwan University Edmonton, Alberta
Mount Royal University Calgary, Alberta
NEAREST RANKED COLLEGES
University of Glasgow , Glasgow Avg Fee: $26.65K/Yr 6.2
University of Warwick , Coventry Avg Fee: $20.03K/Yr 6.1
Arizona State University , Tempe Avg Fee: $33.91K/Yr 5.5
University of Montreal , Montreal Avg Fee: $9.66K/Yr 6
University of Leeds , Leeds Avg Fee: $23.62K/Yr 5.9
University of Arizona , Tucson Avg Fee: $46.02K/Yr 5.3
Free University of Berlin , Berlin Avg Fee: $10.79K/Yr 6.1
McMaster University , Hamilton Avg Fee: $32.39K/Yr 5.5
University of Utah , Salt Lake City Avg Fee: $45.07K/Yr 5.4
Monash University , Melbourne Avg Fee: $31.25K/Yr 5.9