ALGONQUIN COLLEGE, OTTAWA, ONTARIO - REVIEWS

Ottawa, OntarioLOCATION
UniversitySCHOOL TYPE
Estd 1967Established Year

College rating

based on 8 students ratings

8/10

8.6/10academic
8.3/10infrastructure
7.4/10placements
8.4/10faculty
7.1/10extracurricular
8/10accommodation

Reviews

avatar image
Emily harper, CANADA Bachelor of hospitality and tourism
Algonquin College
Alumna/alumnus , Batch : 2017
7.7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

ALGONQUIN COLLEGE

The hands-on experience that the classes give you. Being well-known for the program. Being able to get an academic degree at a technical college, a perfect mix of both. The professors really cared about the program and its success.


Course Curriculum - 

The course curriculum was well thought out, however, it could have had more classes on the tourism side. It was definitely more structured to a hotel side but also with restaurant classes as well. Still overall very good.

9 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
7 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
6 /10
placement
8 /10
extracurricular
18, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Shayla hotchkiss, CANADA Law clerk
Algonquin College
Current student , Batch : 2020
9.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

ALGONQUIN COLLEGE

It's close to home for me, it's in a part of town that isn't too busy or boring. I love that it cares for its students and also has a lot of free activities for us. The school is connected by pedestrian walk bridges which makes it easy to get around. College square is also amazing because, well, FOOD.


Course Curriculum - 

I love it. It would be better if it had more criminal law. Profs are pretty great and explain everything well. Its a good mix but connects well with other courses you have for the term. You learn the same concepts all around but it helps you remember them later.

10 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
9 /10
infrastructure
8 /10
accomodation/food
10 /10
placement
9 /10
extracurricular
30, Mar 2019 read more
avatar image
Jeremy, CANADA Business management
Algonquin College
Current student , Batch : 2019
6.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

INTERNATIONAL STUDENT DIARY

I chose to go to Algonquin because I was from out of the city and I had family there so I moved here to study and live. I don't plan to leave after school unless I chose to study outside of Algonquin.


Course Curriculum - 

It's fair, could be more current and updated as well it could just have better content quality in classes that is more current as well. Sometimes it shows that the teachers don't know the content as well.

6 /10
academic
7 /10
faculty
7 /10
infrastructure
7 /10
accomodation/food
5 /10
placement
7 /10
extracurricular
15, Apr 2019 read more
avatar image
Jonathan forrest, CANADA Law clerk program
Algonquin College
Alumna/alumnus , Batch : 2012
10
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

ALGONQUIN COLLEGE, GREAT!

It was nearby and had a good reputation. I had also heard that it was known for its Law Clerk program so I knew that it would be a good choice for me and lead me in the career direction that I want to go in.


Course Curriculum - 

The course and curriculum were great! I found it to be very easy to follow and very informative without being too information heavy. I never felt as if I was going to be at risk of not understanding what I was learning.

10 /10
academic
10 /10
faculty
10 /10
infrastructure
10 /10
accomodation/food
10 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
16, Apr 2019 read more
avatar image
Maddy, CANADA Community and justice services
Algonquin College
Current student , Batch : 2020
7.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

ALGONQUIN COLLEGE REVIEW

I chose this college because I wanted to get away from the small town I lived in before, and move to a big city. Plus I had heard really good things about Algonquin, the location, and Ottawa as a whole so I decided to go there.


Course Curriculum - 

I think it's good but too rushed. We had 8 courses a semester and barely got to indulge in the information and really gain all we could from it. It's condensed quite a bit and that takes away from the learning.

8 /10
academic
8 /10
faculty
10 /10
infrastructure
6 /10
accomodation/food
8 /10
placement
5 /10
extracurricular
24, Apr 2019 read more
avatar image
Kaylea, CANADA American sign language
Algonquin College
Current student , Batch : 2020
7.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

ALGONQUIN SHOULD KEEP THE ASL PROGRAM

Algonquin is Close to home. And the only college around me that offered the American sign language program. I had gone to a different college before in Belleville and since moving home it was a course I had wanted to take.


Course Curriculum - 

Had the course not been in a phase-out it would still be really good but it seems rushed in the curriculum. The American sign language course was one I wanted to take since I was a child do being able to take it now was amazing.

9 /10
academic
9 /10
faculty
7 /10
infrastructure
9 /10
accomodation/food
5 /10
placement
5 /10
extracurricular
29, Apr 2019 read more
avatar image
Eric, CANADA Business administration
Algonquin College
Current student , Batch : 2019
5.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

COLLEGE EXPERIENCE REVIEW

Close to home which saves on living and travel costs. Also this was the college I knew the most about and was most comfortable attending. Also, living at home provides more support. These are just some of the reasons that I chose Algonquin.


Course Curriculum - 

Relevant to current industry standards. Workload is heavy and there is a lot of responsibility to manage time well. You are expected to have an exsisting understanding of the field when you enter the program.

7 /10
academic
6 /10
faculty
6 /10
infrastructure
6 /10
accomodation/food
5 /10
placement
3 /10
extracurricular
30, Nov -0001 read more
avatar image
Aya, CANADA Pre health sciences pathway to diplomas and certificates
Algonquin College
Current student , Batch : 2019
10
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

ALGONQUIN STUDENT

In my home city and I like the atmosphere. The college is new and social. The college has a lot of extra curriculars available. I like the city Ottawa and didn't want to move away. It doesn't take long to bus to the college.


Course Curriculum - 

It's great and useful for future programs. It teaches you the basics that will be needed later on in the health field. It'll help me to take another health science program in the future if that's what I desire.

10 /10
academic
10 /10
faculty
10 /10
infrastructure
10 /10
accomodation/food
10 /10
placement
10 /10
extracurricular
30, Nov -0001 read more
Apply Now DOWNLOAD BROCHURE  
INTERESTED IN THIS COLLEGE ?
Get free counselling

Follow & Share this college to get information about admission

COLLEGES IN ONTARIO, CANADA
Algoma University Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario
Carleton University Ottawa, Ontario
OCAD University Toronto, Ontario
University of Waterloo Waterloo, Ontario
University of Windsor Windsor, Ontario