Asutosh College, Kolkata - Reviews

Kolkata, West Bengal AICTE, UGC, DOEACC Estd 1916 University of Calcutta, Kolkata Public NAAC Grade A 1 Questions Answered

College Rating

Based on 175 Students RatingClaim this college

7.5 out of 10
8.3/10Academic
6.5/10Accommodation
8.4/10Faculty
7.7/10Infrastructure
5.7/10Placement
8.5/10Social Life
Filter By
StreamCourse TagCourseBatch
SORT BY :
Relevance

Science (92)
Arts (50)
Mass Communications (11)
Management (7)
Computer Applications (3)
Commerce (2)
Engineering (1)
Medical (1)
Vocational Courses (1)

Most Popular Tags

Scholarship (82)
Department (80)
Campus (78)
Faculty (74)
Fee Structure (59)
Hostel (57)
Merit List (52)
Knowledge (46)
Year Course (38)
Course Curriculum (35)
Course Fee (33)
Admission Form (32)
Course Syllabus (30)
Exam Structure (29)
Good Placement (29)

175 Reviews found


S
6.3 /10

Remarks :

Asutosh college is the 2nd best college in kolkata it's cs dept is also very good and the labs r also well maintained and equipped with pcs and other needed tools. Like other colleges every teacher is not good we have some good teachers and some average or you can say thay don't belong there. The admission process was simple you don't have to worry about it and the college stuffs are helpful they will help you so no worries.

Placement Experience :

5th and 6th semester students become eligible for campus placements. Ok the thing is i don't know about the placement cell i try to gather information about the cell or about companies come to our college but i didn't get any information so i have know idea.

7 /10 faculty
2 /10 placement
8 /10 social life
5 /10 course
7 /10 hostel
7 /10 internship
8 /10 campus life
report
Read More
ND
7.5 /10

Placement Experience :

There is no placement at all. At least not in our department. I am pursuing my graduation right now. Students have to find there own jobs according to their qualifications.

Remarks :

This college has a history of producing excellent scholars. I had checked on various website for best geography college in kolkata, every time i searched Asutosh college was always at the top. The professors and the faculty members here are highly experienced and friendly with the students. At present only one thing is most disturbing is that lots of bengali books are are available in the market with already made notes. Where as english version books are also available but the the topics are scattered. One single book dosent contain the details as those in bengali version. There are also professors who write their own book so I don't think that this problem will last long. Talking about the infrastructure, all the rooms are air conditioned with power backup and also a lift for specially abled candidates. It has its own three auditoriums, where every year one of the best celebrities are invited for the freshers party. It also has its football, volleyball and cricket ground and team

3 /10 placement
9 /10 college
9 /10 course
9 /10 campus life
report
Read More
JC
10.0 /10

Remarks :

The college is good.At the same time it is a reputed college.The college is renowned also.The professors are good.They are helpful also.The professors are very down to the earth.The professors are very friendly to us.The laboratory is very good.The laboratory is well equipped also.The laboratory assistants are also very good. They are very much friendly as well.The college has a huge canteen where many foods are available.It has a huge auditorium also.The college organises annual sports tournament every year.It organises fest also every year where many events are held.Last but not the least the college is one of the oldest and prestigious institution of India.It is a Centenary college named after the renowned person Sir Asutosh Mukherjee.

Placement Experience :

The college provides good placements.After the graduation program is completed some companies recruit from our college.The college also has various departments which help us train in vocational courses.

10 /10 faculty
10 /10 placement
10 /10 social life
report
Read More
S
9.3 /10

Remarks :

Asutosh College is one the reputed college of Kolkata under Calcutta University.It is A grade college under NAAC. Many popular personalities, sport persons & politicians have passed out from this college.This college gives evey possible opportunities to their students to showcase their tallent, the institution is associated with different kind of social work & provides a wide scope for the students to participate in those activities.This college has very good infrastructure & faculty for the students, fee structure is also minimal, laboratories & libraries have sufficient books and equipments & are very well maintained. Professors provides proper guidance to the students.

Placement Experience :

Quite well, proper placements, proper seminars are done, different workshops are done, job opportunities are good, well paid

10 /10 faculty
8 /10 placement
10 /10 social life
report
Read More
AG
9.3 /10

Remarks :

I decided to take admission in my college as it attracted me with it's wonderful and progressing ambience. The faculty of the particular subject which I opted for also made me take admission in the college as the faculty plays an important role for the higher education of the students in which they are opting for as it determines the quality of information and education they are trying to provide.as it differs with different colleges. Last but not the least the college in which I took admission is ranked in NAAC which is the top most well reputed college with the best academic results and with the best faculties under the Calcutta University as the university plays an important role in getting the certificates and also to prepare one for applying the best of the jobs in the future.

Placement Experience :

As I have not yet completed my graduation I can't tell about the placements and job opportunities.but yes, after studying sociology hons. one can opt for government jobs both for the state and also for the central, many banking services are also in the list which one can opt for, one can even go for joining famous and big NGO'S as studying sociology is advantageous for one to make progress in the particular field as that particular student can understand and also look at the society from a different perspective and can even cope to the problem of the masses and also of different people and can try to reach them more easily and in an advantageous way and can solve problems regarding the society in a greater and more productive level which studying sociology makes one enable to take these special steps which is quite out of the box and makes one stand a step higher from the rest.

10 /10 faculty
8 /10 placement
10 /10 social life
report
Read More
AP
8.7 /10

Remarks :

The academic career was way better in this college and the teacher desk interested me. They have a good infrastructure and good faculty. Teachers are helpful. The entire academic calender of this institution grabbed my attention. Have a good facility of my stream

Placement Experience :

Yet to get any placement as the covid 19 actually spoiled all the plans. We haven't even given our final year exams yet.

8 /10 faculty
8 /10 placement
10 /10 social life
report
Read More
AM
9.0 /10

Remarks :

Our management is good. I wont say it's best but they try to give their best.

Admission :

I believe this course is very much new to the system its quite interesting and we learn various other things which are not include in any other subject. I submitted my 10th and 12th results and then they announced merit list. They will announced three merit list one after another. Then if your name comes to merit list you've to visit college office for furthur admission procedure they're very helpful and they will guide you through it. One of the most important factors that made me choose this institution is faculty,I believe the whole faculty is very helpful and communicative.

10 /10 faculty
8 /10 placement
9 /10 social life
report
Read More
SN
7.0 /10

Placement Experience :

There is no placement cell in Asutosh College. This is a major drawback of the college. The college authorities are trying their best to get recruiters. We are although given enough industrial exposure through seminars and workshops inside and outside the college.

Remarks :

Asutosh College itself represents a brand. It is one of the most reputed and well known colleges in West Bengal and holds a very good rank in the top colleges' list. The faculties are very good and the list of notable alumni is huge.

8 /10 faculty
6 /10 placement
7 /10 social life
8 /10 course
6 /10 hostel
7 /10 campus life
report
Read More
MR
8.3 /10

Remarks :

College management is a great things. They are so helpful and will treat you like family.

9 /10 faculty
7 /10 placement
9 /10 social life
8 /10 course
8 /10 hostel
9 /10 campus life
report
Read More
DS
6.0 /10

Remarks :

Great Time! I miss my college rock.and my classrooms!My friens,techers, Even the security guard(I forgot his name.Very nice person indeed. May be Majumdar da. All of it I miss the library books. The smell of each book. Class bunks, canteen,fests. Everything related to my "19"

9 /10 faculty
2 /10 placement
5 /10 social life
9 /10 course
5 /10 hostel
6 /10 campus life
report
Read More

Comments



NO COMMENTS TO SHOW

Similar Colleges

Seth Anandaram Jaipuria College
REVIEWS RATING
7.2 /10

Seth Anandaram Jaipuria College

Kolkata, West Bengal
BA 4.57 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Scottish Church College
REVIEWS RATING
7.8 /10

Scottish Church College

Kolkata, West Bengal
B.Sc 7.8 20.25 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Presidency University
REVIEWS RATING
8.1 /10

Presidency University

Kolkata, West Bengal
BA 8.1 2 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Vidyasagar College - [VSC]
REVIEWS RATING
6.8 /10

Vidyasagar College - [VSC]

Kolkata, West Bengal
B.Sc 4.9 5.37 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Bethune College
REVIEWS RATING
8 /10

Bethune College

Kolkata, West Bengal
B.Sc 6.9 1.37 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Jogesh Chandra Chaudhuri College
REVIEWS RATING
6.8 /10

Jogesh Chandra Chaudhuri College

Kolkata, West Bengal
BA 3.3 4.75 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES

Nearby Colleges

Lady Brabourne College - [LBC]
REVIEWS RATING
7.6 /10

Lady Brabourne College - [LBC]

Kolkata, West Bengal
B.Sc 8.1
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Scottish Church College
REVIEWS RATING
7.8 /10

Scottish Church College

Kolkata, West Bengal
B.Sc 7.8 20.25 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Bethune College
REVIEWS RATING
8 /10

Bethune College

Kolkata, West Bengal
B.Sc 6.9 1.37 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
JD Birla Institute - [JDBI]
REVIEWS RATING
7.5 /10

JD Birla Institute - [JDBI]

Kolkata, West Bengal
B.Sc 6.9 1.75 LFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Global Institute of Fashion Technology - [GIFT]
REVIEWS RATING
7.2 /10
6.8
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
NIMAS
REVIEWS RATING
8.9 /10

NIMAS

Kolkata, West Bengal
B.Sc 6.5
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES

NewsView All

Calcutta University VC: Practical Classes can be Held on University Campus; Read Details
January 14, 2021
Calcutta University VC: Practical Classes can be Held on University Campus; Read Details

Calcutta University Vice-Chancellor, Sonali Chakravarti Banerjee, has informed on Monday (January 11, 2021) that students can attend on-campus practical classes, however, they need to attend in small batches.  Earlier the Teacher’s Association of Calcutta University had urged VC to res

IIFT 2021: Form Correction Begins, Edit Application Forms by Jan 03; Check Important Details Here
January 01, 2021
IIFT 2021: Form Correction Begins, Edit Application Forms by Jan 03; Check Important Details Here

The IIFT 2021 form correction window is now open. Candidates who have already applied can now verify and modify the details of the application form before 3 January 2021 (11:50 PM). IIFT 2021 Form Correction process commenced today. Registered candidates may, in their IIFT 2021 application f

Kolkata College Admission 2020: Reserved Seats Opened Up for Waiting List Candidates; Read Details Here
December 30, 2020
Kolkata College Admission 2020: Reserved Seats Opened Up for Waiting List Candidates; Read Details Here

Kolkata College Admission 2020: Many colleges in Kolkata have opened up reserved seats which were vacant, for waiting list candidates to apply for admission.  For now, several colleges have already opened up seats, while some have begun de-reserving seats so that general category studen

IIFT 2021 MBA Registration Extended till Dec 30 @iift.nta.nic.in, Apply Now
December 21, 2020
IIFT 2021 MBA Registration Extended till Dec 30 @iift.nta.nic.in, Apply Now

IIFT 2021: Indian Institute of Foreign Trade (IIFT) has extended the MBA program registration last date till December 30, 2020. Additionally, no changes have been made to the IIFT MBA 2021 exam schedule. As per the circular released by the officials, IIFT 2021 will be held as per schedule on Janu

Calcutta University Sets Domicile Term for Admission to a BTech Seat, Check Details here
December 18, 2020
Calcutta University Sets Domicile Term for Admission to a BTech Seat, Check Details here

Calcutta University has released a statement on Wednesday stating that candidates applying for decentralised counselling for BTech seats have to be domiciled in Bengal. CU introduced the condition after announcing counselling for 89 BTech seats out of the 237 seats are still vacant after concludi

Research learning creates a new module of experiential knowledge to students for their betterment
December 17, 2020
Research learning creates a new module of experiential knowledge to students for their betterment

Dr. Tathagata Ray Chaudhuri. is the associate Professor at Asutosh College, Kolkata. He holds a teaching experience of twenty years. In these two decades, he has shaped the careers of several students with his knowledge and guidance to them. He has been a great support in all the fields to the

Calcutta University: Affiliated Colleges Seek More Registration Time; Read Details Here
November 28, 2020
Calcutta University: Affiliated Colleges Seek More Registration Time; Read Details Here

Several affiliated colleges have approached Calcutta University Seeking more registration time to upload the scanned documents of the students along with the testimonials on the university's website to conclude the UG admission process.  Calcutta University (CU) has set up a deadlin

Top Kolkata Colleges Report Deluge of Vacant UG Seats, Demand Centralized Counselling from 2021
November 27, 2020
Top Kolkata Colleges Report Deluge of Vacant UG Seats, Demand Centralized Counselling from 2021

Top Kolkata Colleges have been demanding a centralized counselling system, reporting a large number of vacant UG seats even when registration deadline is nearing for the academic year of 2020-21. As days pass, more Kolkata based colleges are adding to the clamour for a centralized counselling ses

interested in this College ?

Top Courses

3 Years
B.Sc (Hons.) Psychology AVG FEE - ₹ 7,250/Yr
3 Years
BA (Hons.) English AVG FEE - ₹ 4,656.67/Yr
3 Years

Placements

company
company
company
company
company
company

Faculties

Smt. Krishna Basu Associate Professor, Department of Bengali
Mr. Bhaskar Mridha Assistant Professor, Department of Bengali
Dr. Chandra Chaudhuri Associate Professor, Department of Biochemistry

Reviews

9 /10 Student Satisfactory Rating

"Best institution for science students."

I selected Asutosh college for pursuing graduation in chemistry as this college has a very good faculty for the subject which helped me a lot to clear away all my queries and know the subject better. This college also has an excellent lab facility. the admission procedure is based on merit and fees are really low. In terms of culture, the college arranges various events throughout the year where one has full exposure to different activities and to socialize. The campus is ragging free which is a very safe place for new students.

by Bidita Banerjee
9 /10 Student Satisfactory Rating

"I REALLY DONT KNOW ABOUT THIS AS BECAUSE I AM IN 1ST YEAR"

This college is very good for those who are interested in graduation. This college is basically for science students. Most degrees are offered to science students. It is a government college and the environment is very much friendly. This college is affiliated with Calcutta university. And it,s one of the best choices for graduation.

by Soumyodip Halder
9.8 /10 Student Satisfactory Rating

"My experience of asutosh college"

This is the best college that I ever heard from my relative's friends and others in West Bengal for ZOOLOGY Hons course. I visited the college and the infrastructure of the college is so good and the environment for the study is too good. Also, I heard from the x students of that college about the faculty they are so humble brilliant energetic and helpful for the students. So that's why I prefer to all the others to take admission in this college. I love being a student at this college.

by Shubham sarkar

Students also visited

University of Calcutta
University of Calcutta, KolkataMA, ₹2.31 K First Year Fees
7.6
City College
City College, KolkataB.Sc, ₹3.56 K First Year Fees
7.1
Surendranath College
Surendranath College, KolkataBA, ₹5.07 K First Year Fees
7.2
Jadavpur University - [JU]
Jadavpur University - [JU], KolkataBE/B.Tech, ₹2.40 K First Year Fees
8.4
Bidhannagar College
Bidhannagar College, KolkataB.Sc, ₹3.53 K First Year Fees
7.4
St. Xavier's College - [SXC]
St. Xavier's College - [SXC], KolkataBA, ₹32.60 K First Year Fees
8.3
Maulana Azad College - [MAC]
Maulana Azad College - [MAC], KolkataBA, ₹1.15 K First Year Fees
7.7
Acharya Prafulla Chandra College - [APCC]
7.4
Bangabasi College
Bangabasi College, KolkataB.Sc, ₹7.27 K First Year Fees
7.0