
Study Abroad Content Writer | Updated On - Oct 19, 2026
The University of Bonn announced a joint European Master’s in Neurotechnology degree. The two-year degree opens to Indian applicants from the 2027/28 intake. The NeurotechEU alliance confirmed the formal launch on October 8, 2026. The programme replaces single-university masters with a seven-campus European mobility model.
- The curriculum spans Brain Systems, Clinical Applications, Technology Development, and Computation. The European Master’s degree in Neurotechnology announcement lists all four areas.
- Seven NeurotechEU universities across six European countries deliver the 120 ECTS degree. Bonn coordinates the alliance.
- Standard German public master’s degrees carry no tuition fee. That cuts the main cost barrier for Indian applicants.
Neurotechnology sits at the junction of neuroscience, computing and medical devices. Indian students chasing this field had to pick a single-country master's earlier. The NeurotechEU design lets them study across seven campuses in one degree.
Currency note: All INR figures in this article use €1 = ₹ 106.32, the live rate on 19 Oct 2026

Also check: University of Bonn 2026: Popular Programs, Fees
Seven NeurotechEU Universities Deliver the Joint Degree
The programme is coordinated from the University of Bonn in Germany. 6 partner universities will teach it across the 2027/28 academic year. Each campus brings a distinct research strength to the 120 ECTS curriculum. The alliance was formed under the European Universities Initiative.
| Partner University | Country |
|---|---|
| University of Bonn (coordinator) | Germany |
| Radboud Universiteit | Netherlands |
| Universidad Miguel Hernández de Elche | Spain |
| Boğaziçi Üniversitesi | Turkey |
| Universitatea de Medicină și Farmacie Cluj-Napoca | Romania |
| Université de Lille | France |
| Háskólinn í Reykjavík | Iceland |
Students move between these campuses across four semesters. The NeurotechEU Project Office at Bonn will set the mobility sequence.
What it means for Indian Students: One admission opens seven campuses across six European countries. Non-EU applicants rarely get this reach in one two-year window.
Also check: Cost of Living in Germany for Indian Students
What the Two-Year Programme Teaches
The EMN curriculum is built around four pillars. Each pillar maps to a distinct career exit in neurotechnology. Ethics, legal rules, and societal impact run through every pillar.
- Brain Systems: How neural networks produce behaviour, cognition and disease states.
- Clinical Applications: Translating brain research into patient care and medical devices.
- Technology Development: Building brain-computer interfaces, neural implants and recording tools.
- Computation: Modelling, data analysis and AI applied to neural signals.
The 120 ECTS load is standard for a European Master’s. One ECTS equals 25 to 30 study hours under Bologna rules. The degree runs for four semesters full-time. Graduates can enter academia, biotech firms, or medical device companies.
Also check: MS in Germany 2027: Top Universities, Fees
What It Costs Indian Students to Study at Bonn
The University of Bonn charges no tuition for standard master’s degrees. Only a semester contribution applies for enrolment and services. The winter 2026/27 contribution was €363.07 per semester (costs and financing for international students).
At ₹92 per euro in October 2026, that equals ₹33,400 per semester. The contribution funds the Deutschlandsemesterticket for national public transport.
| Cost Head | Amount (EUR) | INR (at ₹92) |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition standard master’s | €0 | ₹0 |
| Semester contribution | €363.07 | ₹33,400 |
| Living cost per month in Bonn | €1,000 | ₹92,000 |
| Blocked account per year (visa) | €11,904 | ₹10.95 lakh |
Partner universities set their own fees for mobility semesters. The source does not specify a combined EMN tuition for non-EU students. Health insurance adds another required cost for Indian applicants.
Key Insight: A tuition-free German degree beats a one-year UK Master’s on total cost. The blocked account proves funds, not a fee you lose.
Also check: Cost of Studying in Germany 2026: Fees and Living
Who Can Apply from India
The NeurotechEU alliance has not yet released the full admissions handbook. The source does not specify a cut-off GPA or test score yet. The 2027/28 application deadline is also not public. Partner institutions typically require the following:
- A bachelor’s degree of at least three years in a relevant field.
- Backgrounds in neuroscience, biomedical engineering, computer science, physics, or psychology.
- Proof of English proficiency through IELTS or TOEFL scores.
- Academic transcripts, a motivation letter, and references.
Indian four-year B.Tech. degrees meet the German three-year equivalence bar. Three-year B.Sc. degrees go through case-by-case review on the Anabin database.
Also check: German Student Visa Checklist for Indian Students 2026
Is a German Master’s Recognised in India?
Germany is a signatory to the Bologna Process. A 120 ECTS German Master’s equals an Indian Master’s for jobs. Both employment and PhD admissions accept it. The Association of Indian Universities (AIU) issues equivalence certificates for degrees.
AIU equivalence is typically required for Indian government jobs and UGC-funded PhD seats. Private sector employers often hire directly on the German transcript. Research labs and biotech firms in India often hire German master’s graduates.
Indian students targeting the EMN have time to prepare now. The NeurotechEU application call will open before the 2027/28 intake. The programme begins in September 2027 across seven European campuses.
Action Plan for Indian EMN Applicants
The alliance has not yet opened a central application portal. Prospective applicants can take these steps now:
- Watch the NeurotechEU alliance site for the official admissions call.
- Email neurotecheu@uni-bonn.de or call +49 228 73-9632 for direct queries.
- Line up an IELTS or TOEFL score early for English proof.
- Start the bachelor’s degree equivalence check on the Anabin portal.
- Open a blocked account of €11,904 (₹ 12.65 lakhs) once admission is confirmed.
Keep an Eye On the 2027/28 Intake: The NeurotechEU alliance will publish the admissions call during 2027. Watch the alliance site and neurotecheu@uni-bonn.de for application dates.

























Comments