Gujarat Govt Forms 4 Sub-Committees to Prepare Roadmap for the Implementation of NEP

Samrat Roy Samrat Roy
Exam Prep Master

To successfully implement the new National Education Policy 2020, the Government of Gujarat has set up four sub-committees to prepare a road map for the successful implementation of the same.

State Education Minister Bhupendrasinh Chudasama, who heads the NEP 2020 State Task Force, announced the decision at its first meeting on 9 September at the Gujarat Council for Educational Research and Training (GCERT) in Gandhinagar.

Also Read: NEP 2020: TN Government Forms 13 Member High-Level Committee to Study Key Areas​

A Sub-Committee of former Vice-Chancellor of Saurashtra University, Kamlesh Joshipura, former Vice-Chancellor of Gujarat University, A U Patel, and Vice-Chancellor of Gujarat University, Himanshu Pandya, has been set up to reorganise, coordinate and change the governance of the universities.

A sub-committee of Gujarat Technological University, Vice-Chancellor, Navin Sheth and Rajkot Ranjana Agarwal, Principal, Kotak Science College, has been set up for colleges.

A sub-committee of the Provost of Ahmedabad University, Pankaj Chandra, and Ketan Marwadi of Marwadi University in Rajkot has been set up to change courses, programmes and curricula.

A Sub-Committee of the Indian Institute of Technology Gandhinagar, Director Sudhir Jain and KK Patel of Nirma University, has been set up to provide suggestions on the steps to be taken towards quality and results-oriented education.

Also Read: NEP 2020: Ministry of Education to Conduct Two-day Education Conclave on Schooling on September 10-11 in Online Mode; PM Modi to Address on the Second Day

During the meeting, members of the Task Force, including Minister of State for Education Vibhavari Dave, Senior Secretary for Education Anju Sharma and Director of Higher Education M Nagarajan. The Subcommittees will prepare a Roadmap for State Universities and Colleges in consultation with all stakeholders.

Last month, the Gujarat Department of Education had selected 12 colleges, one in each district that could be converted into universities.

The new National Education Policy 2020 proposed that each district should have at least one university.

Following this, the state government identified 12 districts that do not have universities as part of its immediate implementation plan – Aravalli, Bharuch, Botad, Chhota Udepur, Dang, Devbhoomi Dwarka, Dahod, Amreli, Mahisagar, Morbi, Porbandar and Tapi.

Also Read: NEP 2020: Maharashtra Education Department to Form Committee for Preparing Report on National Education Policy​