Dr. M.G.R. Educational and Research Institute, Chennai - Reviews

Dr. M.G.R. Educational and Research Institute, Chennai - Reviews

Chennai, Tamil Nadu NAAC, NBA Estd 1987 Deemed to be University

College rating

based on 41 students ratings

6.9/10

7.1/10academic
6.9/10accommodation
7.0/10faculty
7.2/10infrastructure
5.8/10placements
7.2/10social
CLEAR ALL
View All Streams
CLEAR ALL
View All Course Tags
CLEAR ALL
View All Courses

POPULAR TAGS

fee structure
entrance exam
campus life
separate hostel
course curriculum
placement scenario
faculty member
average package
lab session
internship
experience
department
semester
scholarship
engineering
V
Vasudevan MElectrical And Electronics EngineeringBatch : 2011
7.7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Expensive enjoyment .

Remarks -
7.7 /10

Very expensive in fee structure, placement need to be improved, staffs should go deeper into subjects, good cultural and sports activities.


Entrance Preview -

When I joined, it was a deemed university and therefore, I did not take any entrance exam. My uncle had influence in this college and therefore i got a chance to join B.Tech EEE in Dr. MGR University .


8/10academic
6/10faculty
8/10infrastructure
9/10food & accom
6/10placement
9/10social life
Sunny SumanB. TECH MECHANICALBatch : 2013
6.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Sweet and sour

Entrance Preview -

I have AIEEE entrance exam but unfortunately couldn't qualify. Then I got in contact with a consultant of this college who was a student himself of that college. He helped me to take an admission through donation. I chose B. Tech mechanical as i wanted to study that particular course. There was no interview taken. Simply they collected 10th standard and 12th standard documents and I was in.


Placement -
4 /10

By the time of 2013, when I passed out, there were hardly any placements. In my 4 year of engineering life, i saw only 5 or 6 companies which came for hiring. If one company comes, they would hire 40 - 45 students at one visit. IBM and some local companies also came. Once recruitment for army came. And some number of times BPO companies came. IBM and definitely offered hefty package whereas local companies and BPO offered decent packages.


7/10academic
6/10faculty
8/10infrastructure
6/10food & accom
4/10placement
8/10social life
Ashish AbhishekB. Tech.Batch : 2012
6.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS
Entrance Preview -

I took AIEEE in 2008 and scored around 110 approx and opted for this University as I had to take ECE as my subject and in other colleges this branch was full, then I heard it was a good college and seats for ECE branch were vacant, So I immediately opted for this University. However, turned out it was an average college but anyhow I managed with a campus Placement.


Placement -
4 /10

Frankly if you want to get job from this University, you need to work real hard. The list of companies coming here is really really small usually HCL, Syntel, odyssey, National Instruments and all will be coming. But they will hire only the best ones so, you need to stand out of the crowd.


8/10academic
5/10faculty
6/10infrastructure
8/10food & accom
4/10placement
6/10social life
Syed Salman AshrafB.TECH - CIVILPursued 4th year
6.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Achieved Lot's of things in the University...

Entrance Preview -

I give university entrance examination then I got admission. My choice is B.tech civil engineering, I got good marks then college give my Civil branch. After the entrance university conduct interview with guardian. I am eligible for this civil engineering branch.


Placement -
5 /10

In our college not so much core companies are come. I am in 7th semester till now only Navy and Aqua Engineer Pvt Ltd. Companies are came related to Civil Engineering. Navy results will announce in the month of November after 15th.


7/10academic
8/10faculty
6/10infrastructure
7/10food & accom
5/10placement
8/10social life
K
KaranB. TECH Batch : 2013
5.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Sweet and sour

Entrance Preview -

I took AIEEE entrance exam but couldn't qualify in that so one consultant took responsibility for my admission on donation basis, who was a student himself of the college at that time.


Placement -
4 /10

Placement and job opportunities are very rare. If one company comes, then they recruit 30 to 40 students approx. Reputed Companies like hcl and army visited once. Other than them local companies used to visit offering decent packages of 2 to 3 lakhs p.a.


5/10academic
6/10faculty
7/10infrastructure
6/10food & accom
4/10placement
7/10social life
M
7.0
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS
Entrance Preview -

I did not took any entrance exams.


Placement -
7 /10

50% people only they taken for placement,hp Hcl like company came they offer 2.5 lakhs job offer per annum.


6/10academic
6/10faculty
8/10infrastructure
8/10food & accom
7/10placement
7/10social life
P
Ppithn DasB.TECHPursued 3rd year
5.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS
Entrance Preview -

After I pass 12 I directly take admission in this college because this is a private institute.


Placement -
5 /10

Companies are came every year and they give lots of opportunities to get a good job.


5/10academic
6/10faculty
5/10infrastructure
8/10food & accom
5/10placement
6/10social life
S
Santhosh Kumar AalibilliElectronics and CommunicationsBatch : 2010
7.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS
Entrance Preview -

There is no entrance required to join this college. I joined as a lateral. College was good with respect to infrastructure and staff head count. Recent upgrades to the overall college in terms of staff, Buildings etc were made. Fee structure is good and comparatively less.


Placement -
7 /10

During my time there we a very few companies. But as the IT boomed, now campus placements are rising.


8/10academic
7/10faculty
9/10infrastructure
7/10food & accom
7/10placement
9/10social life
P
Parthasarathy PerumalB. Tech MechanicalBatch : 2008
8.0
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS
Remarks -
8 /10

The campus is big enough for any major events. Has good but not the best faculties.The college too have a good attendance that the campus will always looked populated.They have a good lab facilities both in Computer and Mechanical regions.


Entrance Preview -

I joined MGR Deemed University after completing my Diploma in Tool and Die making so there was no such entrance exams. I opted MGR Deemed University because they were one of the University who offered Evening college. I was working at Caterpillar and completed by B Tech Mech with this offer.


8/10academic
8/10faculty
8/10infrastructure
8/10food & accom
8/10placement
8/10social life
V
VikramComputer Science EngineeringBatch : 2014
8.7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Excellent collenge in tamilnadu with all facilities

Remarks -
8.7 /10

It is excellent college for all technical courses, It is one of the great college in india.


Entrance Preview -

Written TANCET examination for selection, I scored 80%, so i was eligible for study in college, because it is one of the best college/university in tamilnadu.


9/10academic
9/10faculty
8/10infrastructure
9/10food & accom
8/10placement
9/10social life

Load More reviews

Comments

Comments



No Comments To Show

Similar Colleges

Vels Institute of Science, Technology & Advanced Studies, Chennai logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING/ 10
Hindustan Institute of Technology and Science - [HITS], Chennai logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING7.4 / 10
Stanley Medical College, Chennai logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING9.1 / 10

Stanley Medical College

Chennai, Tamil Nadu
MCI
Saveetha Medical College, Chennai logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING8.4 / 10

Saveetha Medical College

Chennai, Tamil Nadu
MCI
Anna University, Chennai logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING7.7 / 10

Anna University

Chennai, Tamil Nadu
AICTE

NEARBY COLLEGES

Loyola College, Chennai logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING8.5 / 10

Loyola College

Chennai, Tamil Nadu
NAAC
Ethiraj College for Women, Chennai logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING8.1 / 10

Ethiraj College for Women

Chennai, Tamil Nadu
NAAC
Ramakrishna Mission Vivekananda College, Chennai logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING8.1 / 10

Ramakrishna Mission Vivekananda College

Chennai, Tamil Nadu
AICTE
Guru Nanak College, Chennai logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING7.6 / 10

Guru Nanak College

Chennai, Tamil Nadu
NAAC
The New College, Chennai logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING7.6 / 10

The New College

Chennai, Tamil Nadu
NAAC

news view all

February 20, 2020

Punjab MBBS Admission Through NEET 2020

MBBS admissions in Punjab State will be conducted by the Baba Farid University of Health and Sciences on the basis of the NEET scores.  NEET is now the only central medical entrance exam across the countr

February 13, 2020

CCMT GATE 2020 Cut Off for Visvesvaraya National Institute of Technology, (VNIT) Nagpur

VNIT CCMT 2020 Cut Off will be prepared separately for each category for various courses. We have analyzed the trends from past years and for your convenience prepared cut off which could be expected this year for GATE

February 13, 2020

DMRC PSU Recruitment through GATE 2020

DMRC Recruitment through GATE 2020 – DMRC released an official notification for recruitment to the post of Assistant Manager Civil Engineering through scores obtained in 

February 13, 2020

Coal India Recruitment through GATE 2020

CIL Recruitment through GATE 2020 – Coal India Limited recruits GATE qualified candidates for the post of Management Trainees. The online application form would be available as per schedule. GATE 202

February 12, 2020

NATA 2020: Changes in Exam Pattern, Marking Scheme, Syllabus & Application Fee

Council of Architecture has introduced several significant changes in NATA 2020. Changes were mentioned in the Information Brochure which was released with NATA Application Form on Feb

February 12, 2020

GAIL Recruitment through GATE 2020

GAIL Recruitment through GATE 2020: GAIL (India) is inviting applications for the post of Executive Trainee on the basis scores obtained in  GATE 2020. Candidates having an Engineering de

February 12, 2020

NHPC Recruitment through GATE 2020

NHPC Recruitment through GATE 2020 - NHPC (National Hydroelectric power corporation) Limited a Mini Ratna company which is classified as an “A” class company to work with is a Public Sector Undertaking under Government of India. NHPC will recruit the&nb

February 11, 2020

NEET 2021 Application Form, Dates, Eligibility, Pattern and Syllabus

National Eligibility cum Entrance Test (NEET) is an entrance examination for admission to MBBS courses in various medical colleges all across the country. Earlier, different medical institutes like AIIMS and PGIMER used to conduct separate medical entrance tests for admission in

apply now Download Brochure
INTERESTED IN THIS COLLEGE ?
Get free counselling

Follow & Share this college to get information about admission

top courses

B.ArchAVG FEE - ₹180,000/Yr
5 Years
B.Sc ElectronicsAVG FEE - ₹46,000/Yr
3 Years
B.Sc Visual CommunicationAVG FEE - ₹60,000/Yr
3 Years
view more courses[215]

news

Placements

faculties

Prof. R.PUSHKALAProfessor and Head, Department of English
Prof. Dr. T. JohnsonProfessor and Head, Department of Mathematics
Dr. S. RamalingamProfessor and Head, Department of Management Studies
view all faculties[15]

reviews

STUDENTS ALSO VISITED

Sathyabama Institute of Science and Technology, Chennai logo

Sathyabama Institute of Science and Technology, Chennai

BE/B.Tech , ₹ 1.75 L FIRST YEAR FEES
7.7
SRM Institute of Technology - [SRM IST], Kanchipuram logo
8.0
×