filter your search allcollegesexamnews

Presidency University, Kolkata - Reviews

Presidency University, Kolkata - Reviews

Kolkata, West Bengal NAAC, UGC Estd 2010 State University

College rating

based on 7 students ratings

8.3/10

9.0/10academic
6.9/10accommodation
9.0/10faculty
8.3/10infrastructure
7.1/10placements
9.3/10social
CLEAR ALL
View All Streams
CLEAR ALL
View All Course Tags
CLEAR ALL
View All Courses

POPULAR TAGS

fee structure
gender ratio
placement cell
course curriculum
exam
presidency
semester
entrance
department
campus
structure
time
faculty
part
good
Chayan PaulBachelor of Science [B.Sc] {Hons.} (Geology)Pursued Third Year
BATCH : 2019
8.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

My college,my 2nd home!!

10/10academic
9/10faculty
10/10infrastructure
6/10food & accom
7/10placement
9/10social life
Pooja HazraBachelor of Arts [BA] (History)Batch : 2013
8.0
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

The Building Block of My Life.

Remarks -

The management was in a disarray at the time I was in the institution because it was a transition phase for Presidency as an institution from being a college to a university. It was a period of turmoil which I hope the present administration has sorted out.


Entrance Preview -

I was a student of Presidency College when it was still under the Calcutta University, from 2010 to 2013. In fact, we were the last batch of Presidency College, so we had to sit for separate entrance exams for each subject. I had applied for B.A.Honours in History as well as Political Science, in which I scored 81/100 and 79/100 respectively. I ranked 6th in the entrance for history and 11th in Political science. I also cleared the Jadavpur University Entrance Exam but I opted to study in Presid...


9/10academic
9/10faculty
8/10infrastructure
6/10food & accom
7/10placement
9/10social life
Subhanjana DasBachelor of Arts [BA] (English Literature)Pursued 2nd year
7.7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Where The Past Meets The Present and Yields To A Beautiful Future

Remarks -

The University has a wonderful vibe and energy which is well-suited for students to study and interact with. However, student politics is also very strong with 3 leading parties struggling for power. The students will be put under no pressure to participate in such activities against their will. The authority is well-functioning but there is a lot of scope for improvement. All in all, the university provides a great space for students from all cultures and economic backgrounds to come together and study in.


Entrance Preview -

The university holds entrance examinations of its own for the course I opted for (English Honours). I scored 75/100 in that entrance test. Presidency University has an exemplary faculty in the English department and is known for its liberal nature when it comes to student participation.


8/10academic
9/10faculty
7/10infrastructure
5/10food & accom
8/10placement
9/10social life
Rangan SenguptaBachelor of Science [B.Sc] {Hons.} (Mathematics)Batch : 1997
8.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS
Remarks -

No, they were efficient and helpful. They did their bit in time and I didn't face any issue for them. Sometimes I felt the numbers of clerks should be increased to cater to the huge student base.


Entrance Preview -

Mathematics Entrance Test after 10+2, scored 40/100 and I opted as I was passionate about mathematics.


8/10academic
8/10faculty
8/10infrastructure
8/10food & accom
8/10placement
9/10social life
Avinaba ChowdhuryM.Sc( Statistics)Batch : 2015
8.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS
Entrance Preview -

The college has an entrance examination which is be given only for admission into the particular college. I ranked 13th in the entrance examination.


Placement -

The placement cell was satisfactory, however it never failed to provide us with a proper job opportunity. Company like HSBc, Mindtree, Mu sigma, PWC, genpact, Wipro, En Y.


8/10academic
8/10faculty
7/10infrastructure
9/10food & accom
9/10placement
10/10social life
Suman GhoshB.SC. HONOURSBatch : 2004
9.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS
Remarks -

I have gained a lot from this college in this three years. So all I have a very good impression about this college. The College management was very active and honest in their duties. The institute has an anti-ragging committee to ensure that there will be no such incident happen to innocent newly admitted student by the seniors.


Entrance Preview -

I have taken Presidency College Entrance Exam in the respective subject Mathematics. I have secured 35 rank in that exam and gets admitted in the Mathematics Department. I have a strong base in Maths and wanted to build my career in this field. The examination was moderately difficult but I fared well to crack the written exam. There was a short interview taken by the HOD which mainly focuses on the soft skills. My dream was to get admitted in this prestigious college as Many dignified personal...


10/10academic
10/10faculty
9/10infrastructure
8/10food & accom
8/10placement
10/10social life
Dipankar BhattacharyaB.Sc (Chemistry) & M.Sc (Chemistry)Batch : 2002
7.8
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS
Entrance Preview -

Separate entrance exam for Presidency CollegeI scored 44/100 in the exam (believe me, I ranked amongst the top 10 students, it shows the level of question papers for the entrance exam)This was the best undergraduate college at that time (Ranked 2nd after St Stephens College in Time's ranking of Indian degree colleges that year).


Placement -

This is one area where Presidency College completely lacked. The college did not have a placement cell, neither do the students were actively pursued to take up industrial jobs after graduation. The whole focus was to go for research based positions in India & abroad.


10/10academic
10/10faculty
9/10infrastructure
6/10food & accom
3/10placement
9/10social life

Load More reviews

Comments

Comments



No Comments To Show

news view all

November 21, 2018

Presidency University Result 2019: Semester result, PUBDET, PUMDET, Counselling

Presidency University, established in 1817 is one of the pre-eminent centres of the higher education in the country. The university offers various UG, PG & Ph.D programs. The

apply now Download Brochure
INTERESTED IN THIS COLLEGE ?
Get free counselling

Follow & Share this college to get information about admission

top courses

B.Sc (Hons.) Mathematics
AVG FEE - ₹2,050/Yr3 Years
BA (Hons.) English
AVG FEE - ₹2,000/Yr3 Years
B.Sc (Hons.) Chemistry
AVG FEE - ₹2,125/Yr3 Years
view more courses[37]

ADMISSION

news

Placements

average package ₹500,000
HIGHEST PACKAGE ₹1,300,000

faculties

Dr. Moloy RakshitAssistant Professor, Department of Bengali
Dr. Mostak AhamedAssistant Professor, Department of Bengali
Dr. Rabindranath BhattacharyyaAssociate Professor, Department of Biological Science
view all faculties[12]

reviews

STUDENTS ALSO VISITED

Scottish Church College, Kolkata logo
7.2
Jadavpur University, Kolkata logo
Jadavpur University, KolkataBE/B.Tech, ₹ 2.4 K
6.2
Bethune College, Kolkata logo
Bethune College, KolkataB.Sc, ₹ 1.37 K
6.9
Asutosh College, Kolkata logo
Asutosh College, KolkataB.Sc, ₹ 33.51 K
5.3
×