Scottish Church College Rankings

×

Ranked 48 for Arts by The Week 2020
Ranked 48 for Arts by The Week 2019
Ranked 40 for Science by The Week 2019
Scottish Church College, Kolkata - Reviews

Scottish Church College, Kolkata - Reviews

Kolkata, West Bengal Estd 1830 University of Calcutta, Kolkata Private NAAC Grade A 1 Question Answered Ranked for Overall by NIRF 2020+2 more

College rating

based on 36 students ratings

7.7/10

8.3/10academic
7.7/10accommodation
8.1/10faculty
8.0/10infrastructure
5.9/10placements
8.0/10social
FILTER BY
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL

    POPULAR TAGS

    Hostel
    Church
    Faculty
    Admission
    Department
    Experience
    Merit List
    Fee Structure
    Gender Ratio
    Course Curriculum
    Extracurricular
    Placement Cell
    Year Course
    Charge Fee
    Generic Elective

    36 Reviews found

    8.5
    STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

    Scottish church college - An overview

    Placement -
    9 /10

    The students become eligible for placements in the 3rd semester. The highest package was 3 lac p.a which is pretty decent given the fee they charged. Almost 80% students get placements. The different companies that visited were IndiGo, ITC , TCS, Amazon , wipro etc.

    9/10placement
    8/10college
    8/10course
    9/10interview
    8/10internship
    9/10campus life
    D
    Daipayan MaitraEconomics HonoursPursued
    BATCH : 2022
    8.8
    STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

    My college

    Remarks -
    8.8 /10

    My college management is very good and I love it and the teachers are very competent and qualified and good.

    Admission -

    This college is the best CU college for economics Honours. The economics department is known for its brilliance all around the city. I took this course because I saw there is great scope in this course because of our country's deteriorating economy, it can use a lot of economists

    9/10academic
    10/10faculty
    8/10infrastructure
    9/10food & accom
    8/10placement
    9/10social life
    K
    Klein Joy ChatterjeeEnglish HonoursBatch : 2014
    3.7
    STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

    My Review

    Remarks -
    3.7 /10

    The college is a cesspool of political drama and a tyrannical principal. Please avoid at all costs.

    Admission -

    Scottish Church College is a well known name in terms of English Honours. The process is simple, as a Christian College, they offer quota admission and it's based on 12th pass marks. They select candidates then after a small test which is given on the day of joining. Immediately they collect payment.

    6/10academic
    4/10faculty
    2/10infrastructure
    6/10food & accom
    1/10placement
    3/10social life
    S
    StudentEconomics HonoursBatch : 2022
    7.7
    STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS
    Remarks -
    7.7 /10

    It is an ancient college with more of studies and less of politics and amusement. It was my first preference and I applied and got admission at one shot. My school teachers had also suggested Scottish Church college.

    Placement -
    5 /10

    I don't have much knowledge about the placements but know there is a part of the college working on it. I'm still in first year and I have no idea how much or how well this works. I don't have any connection with an senior.

    7/10academic
    8/10faculty
    9/10infrastructure
    7/10food & accom
    5/10placement
    10/10social life
    S
    StudentBSc HonoursBatch : 2000
    8.0
    STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS
    Remarks -
    8 /10

    Scottish Church College is the best and one of the oldest colleges for BSc and Ba courses. It was my family’s first choice. My dad is the alumni member of that college too. The Faculties are very good from the very old days.

    Placement -
    8 /10

    We have a very good placement cell in Scottish Church College. Corporate companies like Tata Consultancy Servies, Cognizant Technical Solutions, Deloitte and more are the recruiters. They provide an average package of 1-2 lakh annually.

    8/10academic
    8/10faculty
    9/10infrastructure
    7/10food & accom
    8/10placement
    8/10social life
    S
    StudentBSC HonoursBatch : 2000
    7.8
    STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS
    Remarks -
    7.8 /10

    Scottish Church College is one of the oldest and most reputed colleges in Kolkata. It has a very notable list of alumni. Even before enrolling myself in this college, I was informed of its education and grooming. It prepares the student in and out, with all the knowledge about their subjects and helps them to explore their talents.

    Placement -
    8 /10

    I exactly do not know much about placement. Most of the students of our college opt for higher studies (masters and doctorate). But we do have a placement cell with recruiters like Infosys, Amazon, TCS, etc providing an average package of 1-2 lakhs per annum.

    8/10academic
    8/10faculty
    8/10infrastructure
    7/10food & accom
    8/10placement
    8/10social life
    S
    StudentB.Sc. Microbiology (hons.)Batch : 2021
    7.8
    STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS
    Remarks -
    7.8 /10

    This college is extremely good and known for its discipline and the stress it puts on the importance of studying. Also, there are many extra curricular activities thag one can take part in, and the teachers are helpful and encourages for a better future and are also vert capable. I opted for the course because any biology related course excites me and this college has one of the best faculty for this course.

    Placement -
    8 /10

    There is a placement cell that helps in guiding students to get job opportunities. They brief about work experience. I don't know much about it as I am still in 2nd year so I have not been there. But I have heard placement in good companies are encouraged.

    9/10academic
    8/10faculty
    8/10infrastructure
    7/10food & accom
    8/10placement
    7/10social life
    R
    Ram JaiswalBachelor's of Business AdministrationBatch : 2008
    5.5
    STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS
    Remarks -
    5.5 /10

    Overall the college is good with prime focus on imparting quality education with minimal fees.

    Admission -

    This course was approved by Calcutta University. Scottish Church College is a very old and reputed institution in kolkata. The course fee was affordable as compared to other institutions. It has a strong alumni association. The teaching staff was experienced and skilled. They had a written test followed by interview for admission.

    8/10academic
    7/10faculty
    6/10infrastructure
    3/10food & accom
    3/10placement
    6/10social life
    R
    Rahul LugunB.Sc Computer SciencePursued
    BATCH : 2021
    7.3
    STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS
    Remarks -
    7.3 /10

    I can say that Scottish Church College is a good college when compared with other colleges which is under Calcutta university. The teacher really focuses on you and they will try there best to keeping pushing you upward to score good grades.

    Admission -

    I wanted to study bachelor's in computer science whisch is near my my home place as i live in North Bengal. Since it is one of the reputed college which is affiliated to Calcutta University with good academic history that's why i chose this college.

    8/10academic
    7/10faculty
    7/10infrastructure
    8/10food & accom
    5/10placement
    9/10social life
    R
    Ritu HalderBBABatch : 2014
    7.7
    STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

    Best of days in Scottish

    Remarks -
    7.7 /10

    This is one of the best best best college in kolkata on every aspect.

    Admission -

    Based on the marks merit list was published, we were called for written exams. then based on written exams another list was published to call students for GD and interview on different dates. FINALLY the main merit list was published in June which was based on the weightage of marks we got in the above process.

    10/10academic
    10/10faculty
    8/10infrastructure
    6/10food & accom
    3/10placement
    9/10social life

    Load More reviews

    Comments

    Comments


    1 Comment
    B
    Biswajit Chatterjee

    what is the eligibility criteria for studying BA/BSc Economics (Hons) in Scotish Church college Kolkata?is it compulsory to have Mathematics in class XII course ?

    28 Jan, 2020 15:20
    S
    Shobhna Chaturvedi

    Hi Biswajit, candidates seeking admission in this course must have passed intermediate from a recognized board. Mathematics is not compulsory.

    28 Jan, 2020 16:45

    - No more comments -

    Similar Colleges

    Gokhale Memorial Girls' College, Kolkata logo
    follow
    REVIEWS RATING7.9 / 10

    Gokhale Memorial Girls' College

    Kolkata, West Bengal
    BA 6.6 ₹13.42 K first year fees
    St Paul's Cathedral Mission College, Kolkata logo
    follow
    REVIEWS RATING7.4 / 10
    Amity University, Kolkata logo
    follow
    REVIEWS RATING8.1 / 10

    Amity University

    Kolkata, West Bengal
    Jadavpur University - [JU], Kolkata logo
    follow
    REVIEWS RATING8.4 / 10

    Jadavpur University - [JU]

    Kolkata, West Bengal
    University of Calcutta, Kolkata logo
    follow
    REVIEWS RATING7.6 / 10

    University of Calcutta

    Kolkata, West Bengal
    Bethune College, Kolkata logo
    follow
    REVIEWS RATING/ 10

    Bethune College

    Kolkata, West Bengal

    NEARBY COLLEGES

    Bethune College, Kolkata logo
    follow
    REVIEWS RATING/ 10

    Bethune College

    Kolkata, West Bengal
    NIMAS, Kolkata logo
    follow
    REVIEWS RATING9.6 / 10

    NIMAS

    Kolkata, West Bengal
    West Bengal University of Animal and Fishery Sciences, Kolkata logo
    follow
    REVIEWS RATING8.4 / 10
    Amity University, Kolkata logo
    follow
    REVIEWS RATING8.1 / 10

    Amity University

    Kolkata, West Bengal

    news view all

    September 27, 2020

    Calcutta University Exam Dates Clash with JNU Entrance Tests, Student Group Approaches VC’s

    Calcutta University exam dates for final year BA and BSc examinations have clashed with several entrance tests in Jawaharlal Nehru University (JNU), which are scheduled to be conducted on October 5, 7, and 8. The issue of overlapping of dates has come as a setback for several Calcutta University

    September 20, 2020

    Calcutta University Final Exam 2020 Timetable(Released), Exam Time Reduced after UGC's Disapproval

    Calcutta University has released the Part III Final Exam Time Table 2020 at its official website. Moreover, it has reduced the time allotted to submit answer sheets from 24 hours to 3 hours. Read the article to know how to download the time table. Calcutta University is all set to conduct the Par

    September 14, 2020

    UGC Approves WB Education Minister's Plea for Conducting Final Year Exams in October; Read Full Story Here

    West Bengal Minister of Education Partha Chatterjee on Thursday, i.e. September 10, 2020 said that the State had written to the University Grants Commission ( UGC) to share its plans for the final semester of the university in October.  The Minister also stated that he expects a favourable r

    September 12, 2020

    West Bengal: ISC, CBSE Students Disadvantaged at College Admissions 2020

    The concept of ‘Complete Marksheet’ amid the COVID-19 pandemic has seriously disadvantaged college admissions for ISC and CBSE students in top colleges in West Bengal. As the cut-offs soar higher, scoring a 96% is too less for admissions in colleges in Kolkata. At Surendranath Co

    September 07, 2020

    AKTU Schedules Three Exams in a Day amid COVID-19: Students demand online exams

    Dr APJ Abdul Kalam Technical University (AKTU) scheduled three papers on one day for B.Tech final exams starting September 8. Meanwhile, changed question paper format irked students who demand online exams like other universities. B.Tech students pointed out, AKTU has scheduled 3 theory papers

    September 04, 2020

    Calcutta University: State Educationalists Concerned Over Varsity’s Move to Allow Students to Write Exams from Home

    A few days back Calcutta University announced to conduct the final semester examination from October. Following which educationalists in West Bengal have raised concerns about whether the move to allow students to write exams from home would help in evaluating their actual performance. Educationa

    September 04, 2020

    No Change in Question Pattern for Calcutta University Final-Year Exams

    Calcutta University officials have announced that the question pattern for the final-year BA and B.Sc examinations will remain similar, even though the modalities will go through drastic changes due to the pandemic. The question papers for BA and B.Sc have already been set, while that of B.Com h

    September 02, 2020

    Calcutta University: Final Semester Exams to be Conducted Online from October 1

    Calcutta University on Wednesday announced that it will be conducting final semester exams online from October 1 to 18. The vice-chancellor of the Calcutta University, Sonali Chakraborty Banerjee has confirmed that students of the undergraduate and postgraduate level will take the exams during th

    apply now Download Brochure
    INTERESTED IN THIS COLLEGE ?
    Ask a Question

    Follow & Share this college to get information about admission

    top courses

    B.Sc (Hons.) Computer ScienceAVG FEE - ₹22,955/Yr
    3 Years
    BA (Hons.) EnglishAVG FEE - ₹4,734/Yr
    3 Years
    B.Sc (Hons.) MicrobiologyAVG FEE - ₹30,289/Yr
    3 Years
    view more courses[16]

    news

    Placements

    faculties

    Rabindranath SasmalAssociate Professor, Department of Physics
    Dr. Rana SenAssociate Professor, Department of Chemistry
    Sm. Sudebi BhattacharyyaAssociate Professor, Department of Mathematics
    view all faculties[8]

    reviews

    STUDENTS ALSO VISITED

    St. Xavier's College - [SXC], Kolkata logo

    St. Xavier's College - [SXC], Kolkata

    BA , ₹ 32.6 K FIRST YEAR FEES
    8.3
    Maulana Azad College - [MAC], Kolkata logo

    Maulana Azad College - [MAC], Kolkata

    BA , ₹ 1.55 K FIRST YEAR FEES
    8.0
    Asutosh College, Kolkata logo

    Asutosh College, Kolkata

    B.Sc , ₹ 7.25 K FIRST YEAR FEES
    7.5
    Shri Shikshayatan College, Kolkata logo

    Shri Shikshayatan College, Kolkata

    BA , ₹ 35.36 K FIRST YEAR FEES
    7.7
    Loreto College, Kolkata logo

    Loreto College, Kolkata

    BA , ₹ 21.94 K FIRST YEAR FEES
    8.0
    Presidency University, Kolkata logo

    Presidency University, Kolkata

    BA , ₹ 2 K FIRST YEAR FEES
    8.0
    Acharya Jagadish Chandra Bose College, Kolkata logo

    Acharya Jagadish Chandra Bose College, Kolkata

    B.Sc , ₹ 10.7 K FIRST YEAR FEES
    6.2
    Seth Anandaram Jaipuria College, Kolkata logo

    Seth Anandaram Jaipuria College, Kolkata

    BA , ₹ 4.57 K FIRST YEAR FEES
    7.1
    ×