St. Xavier's College - [SXC] Rankings

×

Ranked 6 for Commerce by The Week 2020
Ranked 8 for Science by The Week 2020
Ranked 7 for Science by The Week 2019
Ranked 9 for Arts by The Week 2019
St. Xavier's College - [SXC], Kolkata - Reviews

St. Xavier's College - [SXC], Kolkata - Reviews

Kolkata, West Bengal UGC | Estd 1860 University of Calcutta, Kolkata Private (Autonomous) NAAC Grade A++ Ranked for Overall by NIRF 2020+3 more

College rating

based on 159 students ratings

8.3/10

8.9/10academic
7.4/10accommodation
8.4/10faculty
8.5/10infrastructure
7.7/10placements
8.8/10social
FILTER BY
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL
CLEAR ALL

    POPULAR TAGS

    Faculty
    Scholarship
    Internship
    Admission
    Semester Exam
    Campus
    Department
    Placement Cell
    Fee Structure
    Course Curriculum
    Good Placement
    Merit List
    Entrance Exam
    Quarter Fee
    Exam Structure

    159 Reviews found

    D
    Dattatreya MitterBachelor of Science [B.Sc] {Hons.} (Statistics)
    8.4
    STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

    DREAM COLLEGE OF KOLKATA FOR A REASON!!!

    Placement -
    8 /10

    Under BSc, about 50% of the students get placed with a median salary of 5-6 LPA which is a great number compared to other college placement in Bsc. However, in the Commerce sector, the placement scenario is much better with about 80% of students getting placed with better packages. Companies like Google, Ernst and Young, Tech Mahindra, SVF are regular visitors.

    8/10placement
    8/10college
    8/10course
    9/10internship
    9/10campus life
    R
    RoumyaBachelor of Science [B.Sc] {Hons.} (Statistics)
    8.5
    STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

    SXC - The college of my dream.

    Placement -
    8 /10

    The college provides pretty handsome placements post-BSc completion. Students become eligible after the 2nd year of their study. There are lots of high profile companies visiting our campus every year. As I myself didn't attend the placements (as I'm applying for Master's in Statistics), I wouldn't know much. But the college website has it all curated. Most students from our dept go for Masters in some of the reputed units around India & abroad. However, some did appear for Placements, & got placed in certain big shot companies. The average package was around 5 LPA.

    8/10placement
    9/10college
    8/10course
    9/10campus life
    N
    Nitesh JainBachelor of Science [B.Sc] {Hons.} (Chemistry)
    10.0
    STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

    A top college

    Placement -
    10 /10

    From 5th sem students become eligible for campus placement and offer good company comes for campus placement

    10/10placement
    10/10college
    10/10course
    10/10interview
    10/10campus life
    L
    Lakshya SarrofBcomPursued
    BATCH : 2022
    9.3
    STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

    My Review

    Remarks -
    9.3 /10

    The college is one of the top institutes in India for students pursuing commerce.

    Admission -

    One of the best institutes for B.Com in India. You have to fill a form and then wait for the cut off list to come out and after that there will be an one to one interview with the dean or the vice principal and then you will get admitted to the college.

    10/10academic
    9/10faculty
    9/10infrastructure
    9/10food & accom
    9/10placement
    10/10social life
    S
    SAYANTAN GHOSHBSc in EconomicsBatch : 2018
    8.0
    STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

    Good

    Remarks -
    8 /10

    College management is very strict. Discipline in every regard needs to be maintained. Be punctual about time and academics needs to be taken seriously.

    Admission -

    Economics has been one of the most germane discipline in Social Sciences. SXC provides good foundation for carrying on with the discipline for higher studies. Selection is based on merit(i.e. Marks in the 12th Standard). Getting through is a bit difficult as some of the best students combat for a seat.

    9/10academic
    10/10faculty
    8/10infrastructure
    7/10food & accom
    7/10placement
    7/10social life
    U
    Uttiya BhattacharyaB. Sc. MathematicsPursued
    BATCH : 2020
    10.0
    STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

    My College -- The Pros and Cons

    Remarks -
    10 /10

    The college is good. But the college management is sometimes adamant to their views. However, this is always not the case. Overall it is a friendly atmosphere.

    Admission -

    I liked mathematics so I chose maths. The selection is based on numbers, merit list. 1st and 2nd list is announced. If selected, we have to go to college and submit relevant papers to get submitted. The college stuffs are friendly and helpful, so there's not much trouble in it.

    10/10academic
    10/10faculty
    10/10infrastructure
    10/10food & accom
    10/10placement
    10/10social life
    S
    Sunirmal SahaM. Com (Accounting and Finance)Pursued
    BATCH : 2021
    8.7
    STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

    My Review

    Remarks -
    8.7 /10

    The college management is polite and very much helpful when any difficulties is faced.

    Admission -

    I opt for my master's degree to establish myself in academics field. The college was one of the most esteemed college in the city with top quality faculty. I applied online and I was selected based on my B. Com marks and my entrance exam on June 2019.

    10/10academic
    10/10faculty
    9/10infrastructure
    7/10food & accom
    7/10placement
    9/10social life
    S
    Shilposree TarafdarBsc. Computer Science Hons.Batch : 2019
    9.5
    STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

    NAAC grade A++ college review

    Remarks -
    9.5 /10

    Discipline in must in my college. Management is too much systematic. No ragging in this college.

    Admission -

    Because it is the best college in kolkata. Infrastructure is too good. Faculty, library facilities is awesome. Students do not need to buy a single book study. Each and every book is available in library. And sufficient book is available in library. Form fill up Merit list declared -15 jun,2016 Addmission date - 16 jun,2016 Induction - 1 jul,2016

    10/10academic
    9/10faculty
    10/10infrastructure
    8/10food & accom
    10/10placement
    10/10social life
    S
    StudentBsc PhysicsBatch : 2021
    8.0
    STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS
    Remarks -
    8 /10

    This college comes in top ten ranking in all india college ranking list. It has well infrastructure,with some best faculties and well equipped laboratory. Moreover it has a working observatory and a very efficient astronomical society. Apart from academic section,it also has good involvement in wide areas of art and culture.

    Placement -
    8 /10

    It has good job and placement opportunities Many companies visit throughout the year. But for bsc physics I didnot get exposure to this field But surely for bcom or mba stds this college has been helpful in this field.

    8/10academic
    8/10faculty
    9/10infrastructure
    6/10food & accom
    8/10placement
    9/10social life
    S
    StudentB.Com HonoursBatch : 2000
    8.8
    STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS
    Remarks -
    8.8 /10

    Its an autonomous university and the best one in my state. Gives a lot of extra circular activities and builds up for a better future. Have a lot of seminars and let you decide a career path if you haven't chosen one. The competition is high and helps you in shaping yourself.

    Placement -
    9 /10

    The entrepreneur cell is an advantage. Not everyone can go through all the criteria. But the placements are a must mentioned. The companies which visit are also the biggest one and grabs only the ones which are the brightest.

    9/10academic
    10/10faculty
    8/10infrastructure
    7/10food & accom
    9/10placement
    10/10social life

    Load More reviews

    Comments

    Comments


    14 Comments
    A
    Anjali Tiwari

    Is there campus placement opportunity for B.Ed course

    18 Dec, 2019 12:04
    S
    Shobhna Chaturvedi

    Hi Anjali, you can check the placement details for the concerned course in this college from here: St. Xavier's College, Kolkata Placement Record

    18 Dec, 2019 12:16
    V
    Venisha jaluka

    Sir I want to do bsc in maths which college do u recommend best in kolkata

    08 Apr, 2019 15:11
    S
    Shobhna Chaturvedi

    Hi Venisha, it will be advisable if you choose the college as per your preference and field of interest.

    08 Apr, 2019 15:55
    D
    Dolly

    Sir,I have completed my graduation in 2015....nw i want to continue my higher study again and i want to know what is procedure for PGDM admission in your and what is the last date for applying this course.Kindly reply.

    06 Mar, 2019 14:32
    S
    Shobhna Chaturvedi

    Hi Dolly, admission will start from July 2, 2019 (tentatively).

    06 Mar, 2019 16:48
    R
    Rahul Kumar Raj

    sir, i belongs to bihar board . how much percentage i should obtain in class 12th to admission in b.com. Please reply.

    27 Sep, 2018 20:21
    A
    Akansha Expert

    Hi Rahul, The basic eligibility is Candidate Passed 10+2 with an aggregate of 60% with pass marks in English for getting the admission in B Com Course in this college.

    28 Sep, 2018 11:54
    R
    Rohit Samanta

    Sir, 60% from west benga board for required eligibity, is sufficient to get admission in this college for commercial law and prelimineries of auditing.( for session 2018- 19)

    09 Jun, 2018 11:08
    G
    Garima Bansal

    Hi Rohit, The admissions are closed for this session.

    28 Aug, 2018 16:21
    M
    MONON BHATTACHARYYA

    sir,if i get chance in admission into under graduate course and want to avail hostel what will be the hostel fee per month.

    22 May, 2018 18:59
    G
    Garima Bansal

    Hi Mohan, The hostel fee is Rs 22.1 k - 22.9 k

    24 May, 2018 16:12
    R
    RUPAM SAMANTA

    Sir 92% from WBCHSE board is sufficient to get admission in this college for Chemistry hons? (year 2018-19)

    20 May, 2018 21:13
    P
    Priya Sharma

    Hi Rupam, please contact on ( 91 33) 2255-1101, to get relevant information.

    22 May, 2018 18:48
    M
    M Khupjangam haokip

    Will students who scored 60% in 10 2 get selected by the college for arts sociology honors belonging to ST??

    10 May, 2018 01:56
    A
    Akansha Expert

    Hi Haokip, Yes, you got the admission in this college for B.A. Sociology Hon. Please fulfill this

    Eligibility Compulsory Subjects in 10 2 English Aggregate Calculation English Any 3 Marks required for application 60% in Aggregate Selection On the basis of index calculated with the board marks in 2 level. Index Calculation (2 X ENG%) AGG% (OUT OF 200)

    10 May, 2018 14:01
    A
    Aman Kumar Singh

    Mam....I have done my BBA from Hindustan University, Chennai... I want to do B.ed from st.xavier Kolkata ... Can u guide me please ?

    05 May, 2018 23:15
    G
    Garima Bansal

    Hi AMAN, The eligibility for b.ed is 50% in Bachelors or Masters Degree for General Category and 45% for Reserved Categories. For the admission in b.ed,the Selection of the candidates will be done through interview on the basis of merit considering the academic performance, performance in the interview and co-curricular excellence.

    01 Jun, 2018 16:28
    A
    Aman Singh

    Can i also opt this college if i complete my intermediate with good marks through jharkhand board

    02 May, 2018 21:53
    G
    Garima Bansal

    Hi Aman, Yes you can also take admission in this college for more details contact to ( 91 33) 2255-1101,

    31 May, 2018 12:28

    Show More comments

    Similar Colleges

    University of Calcutta, Kolkata logo
    follow
    REVIEWS RATING7.6 / 10

    University of Calcutta

    Kolkata, West Bengal
    Presidency University, Kolkata logo
    follow
    REVIEWS RATING/ 10

    Presidency University

    Kolkata, West Bengal
    Jadavpur University - [JU], Kolkata logo
    follow
    REVIEWS RATING8.4 / 10

    Jadavpur University - [JU]

    Kolkata, West Bengal
    Scottish Church College, Kolkata logo
    follow
    REVIEWS RATING7.7 / 10

    Scottish Church College

    Kolkata, West Bengal
    JD Birla Institute - [JDBI], Kolkata logo
    follow
    REVIEWS RATING7.5 / 10

    JD Birla Institute - [JDBI]

    Kolkata, West Bengal

    NEARBY COLLEGES

    University of Calcutta, Kolkata logo
    follow
    REVIEWS RATING7.6 / 10

    University of Calcutta

    Kolkata, West Bengal
    Presidency University, Kolkata logo
    follow
    REVIEWS RATING/ 10

    Presidency University

    Kolkata, West Bengal
    Loreto College, Kolkata logo
    follow
    REVIEWS RATING8.2 / 10

    Loreto College

    Kolkata, West Bengal
    BA 6.9 ₹21.94 K first year fees
    Gokhale Memorial Girls' College, Kolkata logo
    follow
    REVIEWS RATING7.9 / 10

    Gokhale Memorial Girls' College

    Kolkata, West Bengal
    BA 6.6 ₹13.42 K first year fees
    The Bhawanipur Education Society College - [BESC], Kolkata logo
    follow
    REVIEWS RATING8.2 / 10
    Seth Anandaram Jaipuria College, Kolkata logo
    follow
    REVIEWS RATING7.1 / 10

    Seth Anandaram Jaipuria College

    Kolkata, West Bengal

    news view all

    September 20, 2020

    Calcutta University Final Exam 2020 Timetable(Released), Exam Time Reduced after UGC's Disapproval

    Calcutta University has released the Part III Final Exam Time Table 2020 at its official website. Moreover, it has reduced the time allotted to submit answer sheets from 24 hours to 3 hours. Read the article to know how to download the time table. Calcutta University is all set to conduct the Par

    September 14, 2020

    UGC Approves WB Education Minister's Plea for Conducting Final Year Exams in October; Read Full Story Here

    West Bengal Minister of Education Partha Chatterjee on Thursday, i.e. September 10, 2020 said that the State had written to the University Grants Commission ( UGC) to share its plans for the final semester of the university in October.  The Minister also stated that he expects a favourable r

    September 07, 2020

    AKTU Schedules Three Exams in a Day amid COVID-19: Students demand online exams

    Dr APJ Abdul Kalam Technical University (AKTU) scheduled three papers on one day for B.Tech final exams starting September 8. Meanwhile, changed question paper format irked students who demand online exams like other universities. B.Tech students pointed out, AKTU has scheduled 3 theory papers

    September 04, 2020

    Calcutta University: State Educationalists Concerned Over Varsity’s Move to Allow Students to Write Exams from Home

    A few days back Calcutta University announced to conduct the final semester examination from October. Following which educationalists in West Bengal have raised concerns about whether the move to allow students to write exams from home would help in evaluating their actual performance. Educationa

    September 04, 2020

    No Change in Question Pattern for Calcutta University Final-Year Exams

    Calcutta University officials have announced that the question pattern for the final-year BA and B.Sc examinations will remain similar, even though the modalities will go through drastic changes due to the pandemic. The question papers for BA and B.Sc have already been set, while that of B.Com h

    September 02, 2020

    Calcutta University: Final Semester Exams to be Conducted Online from October 1

    Calcutta University on Wednesday announced that it will be conducting final semester exams online from October 1 to 18. The vice-chancellor of the Calcutta University, Sonali Chakraborty Banerjee has confirmed that students of the undergraduate and postgraduate level will take the exams during th

    August 11, 2020

    Calcutta University: Admission Portal for UG Courses Becomes Operational

    The admission portal of three city universities, Jadavpur University(JU), Presidency University and Rabindra Bharati University for admission in undergraduate courses did not open up on Monday. However, the admission portal of Calcutta University for UG admission in its affiliated colleges ki

    August 05, 2020

    Calcutta University BA LLB 2020 Application Extended till Aug 14, Colleges List Revised

    Calcutta University has extended the BA LLB 2020 entrance exam applications until August 14. The exam authority of Calcutta University has also revised the list of accepting colleges. Previously, Surendra Nath Law College and South Calcutta Law College were missing from the notified list.

    apply now Download Brochure
    INTERESTED IN THIS COLLEGE ?
    Ask a Question

    Follow & Share this college to get information about admission

    top courses

    BA (Hons.) EnglishAVG FEE - ₹29,600/Yr
    3 Years
    B.Sc (Hons.) PhysicsAVG FEE - ₹33,200/Yr
    3 Years
    BA (Hons.) Political ScienceAVG FEE - ₹29,600/Yr
    3 Years
    view more courses[50]

    news

    Placements

    average package ₹950,000
    HIGHEST PACKAGE ₹1,400,000

    faculties

    Dr. Suchandana Bhattacharyya (SB)Assistant Professor and (HOD), Department of English
    Prof. Bertram Da SilvaAssociate Professor, Department of English
    Dr. Farhat Bano (FB)Assistant Professor (HOD), Department of Political Science
    view all faculties[10]

    reviews

    8.4/10 student satisfactory rating

    "DREAM COLLEGE OF KOLKATA FOR A REASON!!!"

    The College is affiliated with an A++ NAAC rating and there are plenty of reasons as to why. First, the placement cell is quite good. Under Science, about 50% of students get placed which is a pretty good number considering the degree constraints. In commerce, however about 80% gets placed. Second, the classroom and laboratory facilities are top-notch with the best of updated equipment. Faculty is A grade, and the syllabus is competitive examination friendly, thus giving an upper hand to its students. If someone wants to study in Kolkata, I cannot find one reason why this is not going to be someone's dream college.
    by Dattatreya Mitter
    8.5/10 student satisfactory rating

    "SXC - The college of my dream."

    Mainly because of its reputation, I opted for SXC initially. The admission process was pretty thorough, & the volunteers were extremely helpful. The present profs of your dept would verify the marks & all, & welcome you to the dept formally. SXC is basically the best college in Kolkata, period. Especially for graduation in BSc, BA & somewhat B.Com - you can't look away from SXC. Just look at its eminence & record over the years.
    by Roumya
    10.0/10 student satisfactory rating

    "A top college"

    It's India 7th college. the admission procedure is to that first we have to fill the form after the results come out then merit list will come after that if our name is in the merit list you can get the admission
    by Nitesh Jain
    view more reviews[156]

    STUDENTS ALSO VISITED

    Asutosh College, Kolkata logo

    Asutosh College, Kolkata

    B.Sc , ₹ 7.25 K FIRST YEAR FEES
    7.5
    Bethune College, Kolkata logo

    Bethune College, Kolkata

    B.Sc , ₹ 1.37 K FIRST YEAR FEES
    8.0
    Shri Shikshayatan College, Kolkata logo

    Shri Shikshayatan College, Kolkata

    BA , ₹ 34.4 K FIRST YEAR FEES
    7.7
    Seth Anandaram Jaipuria College, Kolkata logo

    Seth Anandaram Jaipuria College, Kolkata

    BA , ₹ 4.57 K FIRST YEAR FEES
    7.1
    Loreto College, Kolkata logo

    Loreto College, Kolkata

    BA , ₹ 21.94 K FIRST YEAR FEES
    8.2
    Amity University, Kolkata logo

    Amity University, Kolkata

    B.Sc , ₹ 76 K FIRST YEAR FEES
    8.1
    Maulana Azad College - [MAC], Kolkata logo

    Maulana Azad College - [MAC], Kolkata

    BA , ₹ 1.55 K FIRST YEAR FEES
    8.0
    St. Xavier's University - [SXUK], Kolkata logo

    St. Xavier's University - [SXUK], Kolkata

    BA , ₹ 1.27 L FIRST YEAR FEES
    8.4
    ×