filter your search allcollegesexamnews

St. Xavier's College - [SXC], Kolkata - Reviews

St. Xavier's College - [SXC], Kolkata - Reviews

Kolkata, West Bengal UGC, NAAC-A++ | Estd 1860 University of Calcutta, Kolkata Private (Autonomous)

College rating

based on 68 students ratings

8.2/10

9.0/10academic
7.4/10accommodation
8.3/10faculty
8.3/10infrastructure
7.5/10placements
8.7/10social
CLEAR ALL
View All Streams
CLEAR ALL
View All Course Tags
CLEAR ALL
View All Courses

POPULAR TAGS

entrance exam
fee structure
placement cell
semester exams
alumni network
hostel facilities
good
exam
course
year
part
help
many
mark
campus
Mudit ChowdharyBachelor of Business Administration [BBA] (Marketing)Batch : 2018
8.0
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Holistic Development

Remarks -

The college management was helpful whenever help was sought.


Entrance Preview -

Best college in the city for subjects like commerce, management, economics. Located in the heart of the city SXC provides the best network, infrastructure, and culture. Also, the 150+-year-old heritage is icing on the cake. The alumni base is undoubtedly extremely strong.


8/10academic
8/10faculty
8/10infrastructure
7/10food & accom
8/10placement
9/10social life
Manohar BengBachelor of Commerce [B.Com] (Marketing)Batch : 2018
8.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Good college in West Bengal

Remarks -

The college is really good for all-round development provided the student takes active participation.


Entrance Preview -

1.Its rich heritage in educational history, especially it being one of the best colleges in India for B.Com degree. 2. Its fees structure is comparably cheaper compared to other private colleges. 3. There is no political involvement inside the campus. 4. The students are very competitive.


8/10academic
8/10faculty
9/10infrastructure
8/10food & accom
7/10placement
9/10social life
Olivia Mondal Bachelor of Arts [BA] (English)Batch : 2016
8.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Finding Myself

Remarks -

The college management is great in terms of administration but if there is one thing that can be changed perhaps it would be the lift of clothing rules since a lot of students struggle to keep up with it.


Entrance Preview -

The English department of my college is one of the best in the city with them offering not just several aspects of English Language and Literature to the students for study but also the faculty is extremely experienced and able. Besides, they have several seminars which allow the students to enhance their presentation skills.


9/10academic
7/10faculty
10/10infrastructure
6/10food & accom
7/10placement
10/10social life
Shreya GoelBachelor of Commerce [B.Com]Pursued 1st year
8.7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS
Remarks -

The bad is there is no Air condition and we can't use lift


Entrance Preview -

This is the best college in Kolkata that focuses on inner growth and development. It focus on inside building and moreover teachers are so educated that they teach in such a way where we learn not only the subject we start learning the subject. I like my college.


10/10academic
9/10faculty
7/10infrastructure
9/10food & accom
7/10placement
10/10social life
KALLOL KUMAR SARKARBachelor of Commerce [B.Com] (Accountancy)Batch : 2011
8.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Temple of learning

Remarks -

The rules are strict and everyone is bind by it. The emphasis on discipline and innovative learning is the best part.


Entrance Preview -

I had gone through the undergraduate course. So my class 12 results followed by an interview call. Met with the Vice e Principal and Dean. It was a very good experience meeting them and their encouragement to work hard and succeed in future.


9/10academic
9/10faculty
10/10infrastructure
8/10food & accom
4/10placement
9/10social life
Souvik DasBachelor of Commerce [B.Com] (Accountancy)Pursued 1st year
8.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Good vibes for future

Remarks -

The college management is really co-operative. They solve the problems and grievances of students in the most appropriate manner.


Entrance Preview -

I scored 92.75% in my ISC examinations. I opted for this particular college because it is one of the best in the country and probably the best in my city.


9/10academic
8/10faculty
8/10infrastructure
7/10food & accom
8/10placement
9/10social life
Siddharth ShresthaBachelor of Commerce [B.Com]Pursued 2nd year
9.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Sxc-life changer

Remarks -

College is one of the best of the country. You can know from this if it is a good or bad. However, the bad part is all classrooms not have air conditioning facilities and they should renovate the classrooms.


Entrance Preview -

The admission was just on the basis of marks scored in class 12 examinations. You need not to give any entrace examination for bcom. This is one of the best colleges in the country so it was always a target for me and i achieved it.


10/10academic
10/10faculty
8/10infrastructure
10/10food & accom
9/10placement
10/10social life
RISHABH SHAHBachelor of Commerce [B.Com] (Marketing)Pursued 3rd year
8.0
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

St xaviers college bankbone of Indian education

Remarks -

On a personal experience these 3 years in college have been the best 3 years of my life. I've been good friends met great professors who have helped me beyond college. The college has given me a face value and recognition.


Entrance Preview -

I took BBA entrance at st xaviers, christ and symbiosis but then I went ahead with Bcom honors from sxc calcutta as it is the most reputed college and course here.


8/10academic
7/10faculty
8/10infrastructure
7/10food & accom
9/10placement
9/10social life
SurabhiB.ComPursued 2018
7.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

It was like a roller coaster ride. All the ups and downs captured as memories in our minds.

Placement -

We had the best Firms in India come to our college for Placements like Ernst and Young, Deloitte US India, KPMG, etc. Their packages were around 3lakhs p.a. Atleast 10% of students who have applied get selected in each campus drive.


Course Curriculum -

The course is how it is supposed to be. We have the relevant commerce subjects. The college emphasizes a lot on practical learning which is the reason we are supposed to get Academic, Non Academic as well as Social credits to pass our college. We also have to do atleast 6 weeks of internship compulsorily. Apart from that we have proper, non political elections in our college for electing the College General Secretary and Assistant General Secretary and everyone irrespective of their Gender, Caste or Colour are given equal opportunities to be represented fairly.


8/10academic
8/10faculty
8/10infrastructure
5/10food & accom
8/10placement
8/10social life
Vidhi SuranaB.ScPursued 2018
7.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Three years of ups and downs

Remarks -

Considering it is so hot, they must switch on the AC. The ACs are installed. But are not switched on for BA BSc. The campus is big. The library is off campus which is a drawback.


Entrance Preview -

There was a cutoff which had to be met for the economics course. Once your class 12 board marks meet the cutoff you get direct admission after completing the formalities. Economics has a wide scope today and will have tomorrow.


8/10academic
8/10faculty
6/10infrastructure
7/10food & accom
6/10placement
8/10social life

Load More reviews

Comments

Comments


13 Comments
Venisha jaluka

Sir I want to do bsc in maths which college do u recommend best in kolkata

08 Apr, 2019 15:11
Shobhna Chaturvedi

Hi Venisha, it will be advisable if you choose the college as per your preference and field of interest.

08 Apr, 2019 15:55
Dolly

Sir,I have completed my graduation in 2015....nw i want to continue my higher study again and i want to know what is procedure for PGDM admission in your and what is the last date for applying this course.Kindly reply.

06 Mar, 2019 14:32
Shobhna Chaturvedi

Hi Dolly, admission will start from July 2, 2019 (tentatively).

06 Mar, 2019 16:48
Rahul Kumar Raj

sir, i belongs to bihar board . how much percentage i should obtain in class 12th to admission in b.com. Please reply.

27 Sep, 2018 20:21
Akansha Expert

Hi Rahul, The basic eligibility is Candidate Passed 10+2 with an aggregate of 60% with pass marks in English for getting the admission in B Com Course in this college.

28 Sep, 2018 11:54
Rohit Samanta

Sir, 60% from west benga board for required eligibity, is sufficient to get admission in this college for commercial law and prelimineries of auditing.( for session 2018- 19)

09 Jun, 2018 11:08
Garima Bansal

Hi Rohit, The admissions are closed for this session.

28 Aug, 2018 16:21
MONON BHATTACHARYYA

sir,if i get chance in admission into under graduate course and want to avail hostel what will be the hostel fee per month.

22 May, 2018 18:59
Garima Bansal

Hi Mohan, The hostel fee is Rs 22.1 k - 22.9 k

24 May, 2018 16:12
RUPAM SAMANTA

Sir 92% from WBCHSE board is sufficient to get admission in this college for Chemistry hons? (year 2018-19)

20 May, 2018 21:13
Priya Sharma

Hi Rupam, please contact on ( 91 33) 2255-1101, to get relevant information.

22 May, 2018 18:48
M Khupjangam haokip

Will students who scored 60% in 10 2 get selected by the college for arts sociology honors belonging to ST??

10 May, 2018 01:56
Akansha Expert

Hi Haokip, Yes, you got the admission in this college for B.A. Sociology Hon. Please fulfill this

Eligibility Compulsory Subjects in 10 2 English Aggregate Calculation English Any 3 Marks required for application 60% in Aggregate Selection On the basis of index calculated with the board marks in 2 level. Index Calculation (2 X ENG%) AGG% (OUT OF 200)

10 May, 2018 14:01
Aman Kumar Singh

Mam....I have done my BBA from Hindustan University, Chennai... I want to do B.ed from st.xavier Kolkata ... Can u guide me please ?

05 May, 2018 23:15
Garima Bansal

Hi AMAN, The eligibility for b.ed is 50% in Bachelors or Masters Degree for General Category and 45% for Reserved Categories. For the admission in b.ed,the Selection of the candidates will be done through interview on the basis of merit considering the academic performance, performance in the interview and co-curricular excellence.

01 Jun, 2018 16:28
Aman Singh

Can i also opt this college if i complete my intermediate with good marks through jharkhand board

02 May, 2018 21:53
Garima Bansal

Hi Aman, Yes you can also take admission in this college for more details contact to ( 91 33) 2255-1101,

31 May, 2018 12:28
simi varghese

How can i get admission for bsc course in this collage pls tell me the eligibility and admission procedures

02 May, 2018 07:57
Akansha Expert

Hi Simi, To get the information about the B.Sc course please follow this link :-

Admission details

Course Eligibility Criteria

02 May, 2018 11:54

Show More comments

news view all

May 21, 2019

Calcutta University Result 2019: Exam Schedule, BA, B.Sc, B.Com

Calcutta University Latest result Updates are given below. Calcutta University publishes the result for UG & PG courses. Students can check their respe

November 21, 2018

St. Xavier's College Kolkata Result 2019: Cut off, Entrance Result

St. Xavier’s College is an autonomous college in West Bengal affiliated by the University of Calcutta. The college offers undergraduate and postgraduate degrees in Arts and Sc

November 21, 2018

St. Xavier's College (SXC) Result 2019: Students Selection, Time Table

St. Xavier’s College is an autonomous college in West Bengal affiliated by the University of Calcutta. The college offers undergraduate and postgraduate degrees in Arts and Sc

apply now Download Brochure
INTERESTED IN THIS COLLEGE ?
Get free counselling

Follow & Share this college to get information about admission

top courses

B.Com
AVG FEE - ₹42,967/Yr3 Years
B.Sc (Hons.) Chemistry
AVG FEE - ₹33,200/Yr3 Years
B.Sc (Hons.) Computer Science
AVG FEE - ₹81,000/Yr3 Years
view more courses[34]

ADMISSION

news

Placements

average package ₹950,000
HIGHEST PACKAGE ₹1,400,000

faculties

Prof. Christina MirzaAssistant Professor, Department of English
Prof. Bertram Da SilvaAssociate Professor, Department of English
Dr. Prothoma Rai ChaudhuriAssistant Professor, Department of Political Science
view all faculties[8]

reviews

STUDENTS ALSO VISITED

Loreto College, Kolkata logo
Loreto College, KolkataBA, ₹ 24.08 K
6.9
Bethune College, Kolkata logo
Bethune College, KolkataB.Sc, ₹ 1.37 K
6.9
Asutosh College, Kolkata logo
5.3
×