Bethune College, Kolkata - Reviews

Bethune College, Kolkata - Reviews

Kolkata, West Bengal NAAC | Estd 1879 University of Calcutta, Kolkata Government

College rating

based on 10 students ratings

7.5/10

9.0/10academic
6.3/10accommodation
8.5/10faculty
7.8/10infrastructure
5.1/10placements
8.1/10social
CLEAR ALL
View All Streams
CLEAR ALL
View All Course Tags
CLEAR ALL
View All Courses

POPULAR TAGS

fee structure
everything
admission
government
scholarship
notice
course
provide
knowledge
management
hostel
placement
campus
memory
entrance
S
Shreyasee SahaBSc in ChemistryBatch : 2017
8.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Bethune College

Remarks -
8.5 /10

Bethune college is the first woman college in India. Famous women of our country like kadambari Devi Chandramukhi Devi studied here and also there taught in this college. But only negative thing about this college is we need more teachers in our college and the the recruitment process should be enlarged and they should have to take care about the washrooms of our college.


Admission -

After our 12th result they have published the application form and after the submission of the application form online and after the payment my name was there in the 1st merit list after publication of merit listI went to the college on the schedule date and the counselling beganand I got selected on the day and after that my classes started after 3 weeks.


10/10academic
9/10faculty
7/10infrastructure
9/10food & accom
7/10placement
9/10social life
S
Shreyasee SahaBSc hons in ChemistryBatch : 2017
8.7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Bethune College.my pride

Remarks -
8.7 /10

This is the first ever Women's college in India and played an important role in Independence movement.It has a glorious history and its previous students Kadambari devi, Mrs. Chandrmukhi they were one of the glorious women of India. The only negative remark about college is the washrooms should be clean and more hygenic.


Admission -

After the admission procedure started,I applied for BSc in Chemistry,and then i paid the application fees in the bank,after that I got a chance to attend the first counseling as I was able to secure position 18 in merit list,then after counseling got selected for the course and paid the tution fees and from the next day classes had started.


10/10academic
9/10faculty
8/10infrastructure
8/10food & accom
8/10placement
9/10social life
D
Debolina BhattacharjeeB.Sc. Economics HonsBatch : 2019
8.5
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

One of the best Colleges in kolkata and the oldest women college of India still holds its intigrity

Remarks -
8.5 /10

Our college has always helped us in academics as well cultural careers. They have been very strict in case of poor performance in classes and always organize a parent teacher meeting. They make sure students maintain a minimum attendence. Also our teachers are very helpful in reasearch and project works. The college has provided a clean and proper canteen where every staff can get food at minimal cost. Our college always embrace street animals and never posted a ban on them which encourages a care giving nature among all the people


Admission -

Admission in my course was entirely based on merit list. The capacity was of 35 students. And the first 50 or 70 students from merit list were called for the first admission. I was not chosen in the first admission. Within few weeks few students transferred to other colleges and there were many vacant seats. That is when the next few students from the merit list were called for the second admission and this time I got selected.


9/10academic
8/10faculty
9/10infrastructure
7/10food & accom
8/10placement
10/10social life
Moumita BiswasBachelor of Arts [BA]Batch : 2018
5.7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Great!

Remarks -
5.7 /10

It was good, overall. I had one bad impression-ragging. It created panic among us at the beginning of our college life. Though management was good enough and handled the situation efficiently. Overall, college life is a golden memory for me. All faculty and friends are assets to my life.


Entrance Preview -

This is the best in the city! Actually, I had always wished to get into this college since childhood, mostly because my parents wanted to but when it was time for me to finally enroll myself in college, I couldnt help but think of anything else. To be very honest, it is one of the premium institutes for girls, one should actually try their best and get enrolled over here.


8/10academic
6/10faculty
4/10infrastructure
4/10food & accom
3/10placement
9/10social life
Sweta BiswasBachelor of Science [B.Sc] (Zoology)Pursued 2nd year
8.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

The place for moulding your future

Remarks -
8.2 /10

NoIt's very nice as the teaches guide us with everything and then they properly keep noticing the students. The teachers provide strict guide as they notice very carefully whether any students are cheating or not and they make sure that there must not be any unfair means.


Entrance Preview -

This college is considered one of the best college in Kolkata under cu.. The most important thing is their discipline in every field. It not only teach our books but also provide self and other essential knowledge. The teachers are highly qualified and are very much friendly. I'm lucky that I got admitted in this college.


9/10academic
9/10faculty
10/10infrastructure
10/10food & accom
1/10placement
10/10social life
A
Apurba GangulyBachelor of Arts [BA] (English)Pursued Second Year
BATCH : 2020
9.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Heritage and Modernity come hand in hand here at Bethune College

Remarks -
9.3 /10

Well, there are no such complaints regarding the college management. Every thing in Bethune College is nearly perfect.


Entrance Preview -

I gave the entrance exam for English honours. I had scored 40/50 in the exam. The cumulative score, after including my +2 marks, made me eligible for the Phase 1 Admissions at Bethune College.I've always wanted to pursue English honours, and to study in a government college. To be honest, professors at government colleges are more hardworking and devoted to academics.


10/10academic
10/10faculty
9/10infrastructure
8/10food & accom
9/10placement
10/10social life
N
Nandini SabooBachelor of Science [B.Sc] (Chemistry)Batch : 2016
5.7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Three somewhat memorable years

Remarks -
5.7 /10

The management is OK. The college is good for those who only wants to study. Otherwise I won't recommend this college.


Entrance Preview -

I got admission on the basis of my ISC marks which was 88%. My name was on the first list and my admission was done dlby counseling. I Opt chemistry because I want to make medicines and this seems the right course for me.


8/10academic
7/10faculty
9/10infrastructure
3/10food & accom
1/10placement
6/10social life
Apurba GangulyBachelor of Arts [BA] (English)Pursued 2nd year
9.3
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Heritage and Modernity come hand in hand here at Bethune College

Remarks -
9.3 /10

The college management is organized and updated. Our college officials are approachable, and punctual indeed. Necessary Information is communicated to the students and respective departments as soon as possible.


Entrance Preview -

I had scored 40 out of a total marks of 50 in the College Admission test last year. I opted for Bethune College not only because it is a Government college with a brilliant historical background, but also for it's gifted faculty. Our college, specially the Department of English, is proud to have Women of Letters as college professors. Humility and dedication brims in everywhere in this place. No wonder why I've fallen for this college so much.


10/10academic
10/10faculty
9/10infrastructure
8/10food & accom
9/10placement
10/10social life
T
Tanusree BanerjeeBachelor of Science [B.Sc] (Economics)Batch : 2006
6.7
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS

Golden memory of my life.

Remarks -
6.7 /10

I had one bad impression-ragging. It created panic among us at the beginning of our college life. Though management was good enough and handled the situation efficiently. Overall, college life is a golden memory for me. All faculty and friends are assets to my life.


Entrance Preview -

Bethune College is famous for its own culture of education. I think, it is prestigious for all students, even today to get chance to be admitted here. I got admitted in this college through a special scoring followed by this college, that is, total score in H.S plus score in English plus score in Math.


9/10academic
9/10faculty
6/10infrastructure
5/10food & accom
4/10placement
7/10social life
A
Aishi Bachelor of Science [B.Sc] {Hons.} (Psychology)Pursued Second Year
BATCH : 2018
4.2
STUDENT SATISFACTION RATINGS
Entrance Preview -

Calcutta University is the first in india to provide psychology. The library is very well stacked, which is extremely important as psychology books are very expensive. The practical lab is very updated compared to other colleges in the city.


Course Curriculum -
7 /10

Very well structured, but the general is rather disturbing to deal with honours


7/10academic
8/10faculty
7/10infrastructure
1/10food & accom
1/10placement
1/10social life


Load More reviews

Comments

Comments



No Comments To Show

Similar Colleges

Vidyasagar College - [VSC], Kolkata logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING6.8 / 10

Vidyasagar College - [VSC]

Kolkata, West Bengal
NAAC
South Calcutta Girls College, Kolkata logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING8.3 / 10

South Calcutta Girls College

Kolkata, West Bengal
NAAC
Bidhannagar College, Kolkata logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING7.4 / 10

Bidhannagar College

Kolkata, West Bengal
NAAC
Asutosh College, Kolkata logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING7.5 / 10

Asutosh College

Kolkata, West Bengal
AICTE
University of Calcutta, Kolkata logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING7.3 / 10

University of Calcutta

Kolkata, West Bengal
NAAC
Maulana Azad College - [MAC], Kolkata logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING/ 10

Maulana Azad College - [MAC]

Kolkata, West Bengal
NAAC

NEARBY COLLEGES

St. Xavier's College - [SXC], Kolkata logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING8.2 / 10

St. Xavier's College - [SXC]

Kolkata, West Bengal
NAAC
Scottish Church College, Kolkata logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING7.8 / 10

Scottish Church College

Kolkata, West Bengal
NAAC
West Bengal University of Animal and Fishery Sciences, Kolkata logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING8.4 / 10
NSHM Knowledge Campus, Kolkata logo
follow
REVIEWS RATING7.7 / 10

NSHM Knowledge Campus

Kolkata, West Bengal
AICTE

news view all

January 20, 2020

Calcutta University Result 2020: Exam Schedule, BA, B.Sc, B.Com

Calcutta University Latest result Updates are given below. Calcutta University publishes the result for UG & PG courses. Students can check their respe

January 30, 2020

Bethune College Result 2020: Merit List, Timetable

Bethune College, Kolkata runs BA/BSc/PG courses under its 16 department viz. English, Physics, Chemistry, Zoology, Bengali, Philosophy, Computer Science, Economics, Hindi, Mathematics, Poli

apply now Download Brochure
INTERESTED IN THIS COLLEGE ?
Get free counselling

Follow & Share this college to get information about admission

top courses

B.Sc (Hons.) MathematicsAVG FEE - ₹1,371/Yr
3 Years
BA (Hons.) PsychologyAVG FEE - ₹1,196/Yr
3 Years
B.Sc (Hons.) ChemistryAVG FEE - ₹1,371/Yr
3 Years
view more courses[21]

news

faculties

Dr. Kamal Kanti SomAssociate Professor, Department of Physics
Dr. Santa BandopadhyayAssistant Professor, Department of Physics
Dr. Gautam BandyopadhyayAssociate Professor, Department of Chemistry
view all faculties[8]

reviews

8.5/10 student satisfactory rating

"Bethune College"

Bethune college is the first woman college in India. Famous women of our country like kadambari Devi Chandramukhi Devi studied here and also there taught in this college. But only negative thing about this college is we need more teachers in our college and the the recruitment process should be enlarged and they should have to take care about the washrooms of our college.
by Shreyasee Saha
8.7/10 student satisfactory rating

"Bethune College.my pride"

This is the first ever Women's college in India and played an important role in Independence movement.It has a glorious history and its previous students Kadambari devi, Mrs. Chandrmukhi they were one of the glorious women of India. The only negative remark about college is the washrooms should be clean and more hygenic.
by Shreyasee Saha
8.5/10 student satisfactory rating

"One of the best Colleges in kolkata and the oldest women college of India still holds its intigrity"

Our college has always helped us in academics as well cultural careers. They have been very strict in case of poor performance in classes and always organize a parent teacher meeting. They make sure students maintain a minimum attendence. Also our teachers are very helpful in reasearch and project works. The college has provided a clean and proper canteen where every staff can get food at minimal cost. Our college always embrace street animals and never posted a ban on them which encourages a care giving nature among all the people
by Debolina Bhattacharjee
view more reviews[7]

STUDENTS ALSO VISITED

Jadavpur University, Kolkata logo

Jadavpur University, Kolkata

BE/B.Tech , ₹ 2.4 K FIRST YEAR FEES
8.4
Women's College, Kolkata logo

Women's College, Kolkata

BA , ₹ 2.94 K FIRST YEAR FEES
8.3
Scottish Church College, Kolkata logo

Scottish Church College, Kolkata

B.Sc , ₹ 18.99 K FIRST YEAR FEES
7.8
Acharya Prafulla Chandra College - [APCC], Kolkata logo

Acharya Prafulla Chandra College - [APCC], Kolkata

B.Sc , ₹ 3.15 K FIRST YEAR FEES
7.9
St. Xavier's College - [SXC], Kolkata logo

St. Xavier's College - [SXC], Kolkata

B.Sc , ₹ 85 K FIRST YEAR FEES
8.2
Gokhale Memorial Girls' College, Kolkata logo

Gokhale Memorial Girls' College, Kolkata

BA , ₹ 27.14 K FIRST YEAR FEES
7.1
Presidency University, Kolkata logo

Presidency University, Kolkata

BA , ₹ 2 K FIRST YEAR FEES
7.9
Shri Shikshayatan College, Kolkata logo

Shri Shikshayatan College, Kolkata

BA , ₹ 34.4 K FIRST YEAR FEES
8.0
Loreto College, Kolkata logo

Loreto College, Kolkata

BA , ₹ 24.12 K FIRST YEAR FEES
7.8
×