Bethune College, Kolkata - Reviews

Kolkata, West Bengal UGC Estd 1879 University of Calcutta, Kolkata Government NAAC Grade A Ranked 73 For Arts By Indiatoday 2020 +3 more

College Rating

Based on 43 Students RatingClaim this college

8.0 out of 10
9.0/10Academic
7.3/10Accommodation
8.8/10Faculty
7.9/10Infrastructure
6.7/10Placement
8.1/10Social Life
Filter By
StreamCourse TagCourseBatch
SORT BY :
Relevance

Science (34)
Arts (9)

Most Popular Tags

Bethune (16)
Campus (12)
Department (11)
Government (11)
Knowledge (11)
Admission (10)
Course Syllabus (8)
Everything (7)
Merit List (7)
Fee Structure (6)
Course Curriculum (5)
Placement Cell (5)
Hostel Facility (3)
Year Exam (3)
Company Visit (1)

43 Reviews found


OM
8.7 /10

Remarks

College infrastructure is very good. Faculty is excellent. Canteen need to be modified. No hostel facilities are available. It's a girls' college, which is famous for its amiability and amity. We promote anti-ragging ideas and make sure that no student is harassed by anyone in any way. Our Student Union is always there for the students, do are our professors. There is no reason to fear here, except the possibility of getting caught while bunking classes.

10 /10 faculty
9 /10 placement
8 /10 social life
9 /10 course
7 /10 hostel
9 /10 campus life
report
Read More
SS
8.5 /10

Remarks

Bethune college is the first woman college in India. Famous women of our country like kadambari Devi Chandramukhi Devi studied here and also there taught in this college. But only negative thing about this college is we need more teachers in our college and the the recruitment process should be enlarged and they should have to take care about the washrooms of our college.

9 /10 faculty
7 /10 placement
9 /10 social life
10 /10 course
9 /10 hostel
7 /10 campus life
report
Read More
SS
8.7 /10

Remarks

This is the first ever Women's college in India and played an important role in Independence movement.It has a glorious history and its previous students Kadambari devi, Mrs. Chandrmukhi they were one of the glorious women of India. The only negative remark about college is the washrooms should be clean and more hygenic.

9 /10 faculty
8 /10 placement
9 /10 social life
10 /10 course
8 /10 hostel
8 /10 campus life
report
Read More
NS
5.7 /10

Remarks

The management is OK. The college is good for those who only wants to study. Otherwise I won't recommend this college.

7 /10 faculty
1 /10 placement
6 /10 social life
8 /10 course
3 /10 hostel
9 /10 campus life
report
Read More
SB
8.6 /10

Placement Experience

8/10

From the 5th semester, students will be eligible for campus placement. Many recognized companies like TCS, WIPRO, etc. visited and offered a job with a healthy salary after the selection process. Maximum percentages of students from Bethune College are getting placements in recognized companies. I also got selected in TCS. But my plan was to continue my post graduation degree, so I left the job opportunity. My future plan is to complete my pg degree in clinical psychology and after that, I want to complete my MPhil.

Remarks

Faculties are great and they complete the syllabus positively. Specifically, the libraries(Science & Arts) of Bethune College are outstanding. No need for private tuition. There are no bad aspects except for the attendance problem. All have to attend every class every day. People from distance should take a pg/hostel to continue. The first reason for choosing this college is their "faculties" and secondly the recognition. It's one of the top colleges in Calcutta. Thirdly, there is no political ambiance. And lastly, the beautiful campus of Bethune College attracted me a lot. The admission process is conducted very smoothly completely based on merit. Check their websites regularly to get a notice about. I had read many question-answers from Quota and seen the reviews from Collegedunia and other websites too. I had done my ug (B.Sc in Psychology with two general subjects, botany, and zoology) course from here. They only offer Industrial Psychology for post-graduation courses.

8 /10 placement
9 /10 college
10 /10 course
7 /10 internship
9 /10 campus life
report
Read More

SD
8.3 /10

Remarks

The factors that made the college to be chosen is the facilities and faculties that are provided by the college. As a B.A. honors student the faculties will be fair enough and friendly enough to clear our doubts and the college is providing the same which I have wanted. apart from that about the hygiene the college is also eco friendly and the nature of the campus is very good.

Placement Experience

8/10

about the placements the college is providing good placements to the B.com students and every year the companies like TCS came to our college and provides the job and internship opportunities to the students. The placement cell is working really hard for the campus placements.

8 /10 faculty
8 /10 placement
9 /10 social life
report
Read More

SP
8.0 /10

Remarks

First of all I have looked for the good infrastructure and I have had that in this college. Secondly the most important thing for me is the faculties and facilities that are providing by the college authority is the primary thing. But here also the college impressed me a lot and thereby I have selected the college.

Placement Experience

8/10

There have a career counselling cell which conducts counselling every year.Many well known companies like TCS, Cognizant comes to college to recruit students in their BPS sectors.The salary is about 10,000 to 15,000 per month.

8 /10 faculty
8 /10 placement
8 /10 social life
report
Read More

AA
9.0 /10

Remarks

Bethune college is the first women's college in Asia. As it's a renowned college and one of the oldest college in kolkata, infrastructure is no doubt very good. Equipments in laboratories and books in libraries are enough as needed on the basis of syllabus. Science and arts libraries are separate, wifi is available. Sports centre opens only for few days before annual sports. Rest of the year it remains closed. The food available in the canteen are of reasonable price and hygienic.

Placement Experience

9/10

Placement or campussing is not so good.Campus placenent are occured by some companies like TCS,Wipro,Congnizant through test and interview.Though no of campussing is less but college is so supportive.Campus placement is occurred by some companies like TCS and Cognizant. They take some pure science students through test and interview. For these campus placement college is supportive enough but number of campusing is less.

9 /10 faculty
9 /10 placement
9 /10 social life
report
Read More
TN
6.3 /10

Course Curriculum Overview

7/10

The course curriculum followed that of the university of Calcutta under which this college falls. It was an annual graduate degree. Which was changed to a semester system from the year next to ours which is 2015 batch if I know correctly. The Faculty had very talented teachers and the ratio of teachers to students though less was still pretty well maintained. Teachers taught well and in a strict environment becoming a very good environment for educational prowess.

Remarks

It is a heritage college which lives upto its name and I consider myself extremely lucky to be an alma mater of this great pioneering institution. The Zoology faculty had an excellent ensemble of Great minds who were enthusiastic educationist and have helped me shape my life further on. I shall always be indebted to my teachers for their presence in my life.

5 /10 placement
8 /10 college
7 /10 course
5 /10 campus life
report
Read More

SG
10.0 /10

Remarks

I chose this college because firstly I preferred girls college because I feel more comfortable, secondly I heard that the faculty members of this college are really highly qualified. I have opted for this course because I want to do my higher studies in Computer Science.

Placement Experience

10/10

In bethune college the rate of placement for students in IT companies, technical fields is really high and of a good post. May it be the post of a software engineer, or a researcher, or a technical engineer, a large number of students get good proportion of recruitment and also recommendation is provided so that the student get another big benefit.

10 /10 faculty
10 /10 placement
10 /10 social life
report
Read More

Comments



NO COMMENTS TO SHOW

Similar Colleges

Shri Shikshayatan College
REVIEWS RATING
8.2 /10

Shri Shikshayatan College

Kolkata, West Bengal
BA 5.7 35.36 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
St Paul's Cathedral Mission College
REVIEWS RATING
7.5 /10
BA 2.12 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Presidency University
REVIEWS RATING
8.1 /10

Presidency University

Kolkata, West Bengal
BA 8.1 2 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
St. Xavier's College - [SXC]
REVIEWS RATING
8.3 /10

St. Xavier's College - [SXC]

Kolkata, West Bengal
BA 7.8 32.60 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
University of Calcutta
REVIEWS RATING
7.6 /10

University of Calcutta

Kolkata, West Bengal
MA 8.2 2.31 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Gokhale Memorial Girls' College
REVIEWS RATING
7.8 /10

Gokhale Memorial Girls' College

Kolkata, West Bengal
BA 6.5 13.42 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES

Nearby Colleges

Lady Brabourne College - [LBC]
REVIEWS RATING
7.6 /10

Lady Brabourne College - [LBC]

Kolkata, West Bengal
B.Sc 8.1
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Scottish Church College
REVIEWS RATING
7.8 /10

Scottish Church College

Kolkata, West Bengal
B.Sc 7.8 20.25 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
JD Birla Institute - [JDBI]
REVIEWS RATING
7.5 /10

JD Birla Institute - [JDBI]

Kolkata, West Bengal
B.Sc 6.9 1.75 LFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
Global Institute of Fashion Technology - [GIFT]
REVIEWS RATING
7.2 /10
6.8
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
George Group of Colleges
REVIEWS RATING
7.7 /10

George Group of Colleges

Kolkata, West Bengal
B.Sc 6.6 88.55 KFirst year Fees
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES
NIMAS
REVIEWS RATING
8.9 /10

NIMAS

Kolkata, West Bengal
B.Sc 6.5
VIEW ALL COURSES & FEES

NewsView All

Calcutta University VC: Practical Classes can be Held on University Campus; Read Details
January 14, 2021
Calcutta University VC: Practical Classes can be Held on University Campus; Read Details

Calcutta University Vice-Chancellor, Sonali Chakravarti Banerjee, has informed on Monday (January 11, 2021) that students can attend on-campus practical classes, however, they need to attend in small batches.  Earlier the Teacher’s Association of Calcutta University had urged VC to res

Kolkata Colleges Ask Students to Submit Reason for Admission Cancellation in Order to Get Fees Refunded; Check Details Here
January 11, 2021
Kolkata Colleges Ask Students to Submit Reason for Admission Cancellation in Order to Get Fees Refunded; Check Details Here

Kolkata Colleges: Students who have taken multiple admission in different Kolkata colleges are now asked to give explanations for reimbursement of admission fees. Candidates need to put the exact date of admission and cancellation on the form to get their fees refunded.  Many principals

Kolkata College Admission 2020: Reserved Seats Opened Up for Waiting List Candidates; Read Details Here
December 30, 2020
Kolkata College Admission 2020: Reserved Seats Opened Up for Waiting List Candidates; Read Details Here

Kolkata College Admission 2020: Many colleges in Kolkata have opened up reserved seats which were vacant, for waiting list candidates to apply for admission.  For now, several colleges have already opened up seats, while some have begun de-reserving seats so that general category studen

Calcutta University Sets Domicile Term for Admission to a BTech Seat, Check Details here
December 18, 2020
Calcutta University Sets Domicile Term for Admission to a BTech Seat, Check Details here

Calcutta University has released a statement on Wednesday stating that candidates applying for decentralised counselling for BTech seats have to be domiciled in Bengal. CU introduced the condition after announcing counselling for 89 BTech seats out of the 237 seats are still vacant after concludi

Calcutta University: Affiliated Colleges Seek More Registration Time; Read Details Here
November 28, 2020
Calcutta University: Affiliated Colleges Seek More Registration Time; Read Details Here

Several affiliated colleges have approached Calcutta University Seeking more registration time to upload the scanned documents of the students along with the testimonials on the university's website to conclude the UG admission process.  Calcutta University (CU) has set up a deadlin

Top Kolkata Colleges Report Deluge of Vacant UG Seats, Demand Centralized Counselling from 2021
November 27, 2020
Top Kolkata Colleges Report Deluge of Vacant UG Seats, Demand Centralized Counselling from 2021

Top Kolkata Colleges have been demanding a centralized counselling system, reporting a large number of vacant UG seats even when registration deadline is nearing for the academic year of 2020-21. As days pass, more Kolkata based colleges are adding to the clamour for a centralized counselling ses

Calcutta University Draft Merit List Released for MSc Ag, B Tech, MSc, MA Courses on November 18
November 18, 2020
Calcutta University Draft Merit List Released for MSc Ag, B Tech, MSc, MA Courses on November 18

Calcutta University has issued provisional merit list for MSc Ag, B Tech, and MSc MA on November 18. Applicants can download the merit list on November 21 via official website caluniv.ac.in. Calcutta University prepares the merit list on the basis of score in the entrance exam of the last qu

Calcutta University Clarifies on Intermediate Sem Exams Starting from Nov 23; Read Details Here
November 18, 2020
Calcutta University Clarifies on Intermediate Sem Exams Starting from Nov 23; Read Details Here

On Tuesday, November 17, 2020, Calcutta University has cleared all airs about conducting intermediate semester exams. Lately, Principals of many Calcutta University affiliated colleges had raised queries on the mode of conducting exams. Answering to all such queries, Calcutta University&nbsp

interested in this College ?

Top Courses

BA (Hons.) Psychology AVG FEE - ₹ 1,196/Yr
3 Years
B.Sc (Hons.) Psychology AVG FEE - ₹ 1,371/Yr
3 Years
B.Sc (Hons.) Computer Science AVG FEE - ₹ 1,371/Yr
3 Years

Faculties

Dr. Kamal Kanti Som Associate Professor, Department of Physics
Dr. Santa Bandopadhyay Assistant Professor, Department of Physics
Dr. Gautam Bandyopadhyay Associate Professor, Department of Chemistry

Reviews

8.6 /10 Student Satisfactory Rating

"Reasons for choosing Bethune College"

Faculties are great and they complete the syllabus positively. Specifically, the libraries(Science & Arts) of Bethune College are outstanding. No need for private tuition. There are no bad aspects except for the attendance problem. All have to attend every class every day. People from distance should take a pg/hostel to continue. The first reason for choosing this college is their "faculties" and secondly the recognition. It's one of the top colleges in Calcutta. Thirdly, there is no political ambiance. And lastly, the beautiful campus of Bethune College attracted me a lot. The admission process is conducted very smoothly completely based on merit. Check their websites regularly to get a n

by Swarnali Banerjee
8.3 /10 Student Satisfactory Rating

""

The factors that made the college to be chosen is the facilities and faculties that are provided by the college. As a B.A. honors student the faculties will be fair enough and friendly enough to clear our doubts and the college is providing the same which I have wanted. apart from that about the hygiene the college is also eco friendly and the nature of the campus is very good.

by Sumita Das
8 /10 Student Satisfactory Rating

""

First of all I have looked for the good infrastructure and I have had that in this college. Secondly the most important thing for me is the faculties and facilities that are providing by the college authority is the primary thing. But here also the college impressed me a lot and thereby I have selected the college.

by Sudeshna Pandit

Students also visited

Loreto College
Loreto College, KolkataBA, ₹21.94 K First Year Fees
8.3
Maulana Azad College - [MAC]
Maulana Azad College - [MAC], KolkataBA, ₹1.15 K First Year Fees
7.7
Jadavpur University - [JU]
Jadavpur University - [JU], KolkataBE/B.Tech, ₹2.40 K First Year Fees
8.5
Acharya Prafulla Chandra College - [APCC]
7.4
South Calcutta Girls College
South Calcutta Girls College, KolkataBA, ₹10.96 K First Year Fees
8.1
Vidyasagar College - [VSC]
Vidyasagar College - [VSC], KolkataB.Sc, ₹5.37 K First Year Fees
6.8
Bidhannagar College
Bidhannagar College, KolkataB.Sc, ₹3.53 K First Year Fees
7.4
Scottish Church College
Scottish Church College, KolkataB.Sc, ₹20.25 K First Year Fees
7.8
Asutosh College
Asutosh College, KolkataB.Sc, ₹7.25 K First Year Fees
7.5